Things I'm Glad that I Did In My Teenage Life

3 42
Avatar for CrazyRichFilipina
2 years ago

When we were kids, we basically appreciated small things around us and we tended to smile for even simple reasons such as a coin that was given to us, a playmate, and simple drawings we made. But as we grow older and enter our teenage years, we seek more reasons to feel a greater satisfaction in our life, and because of that there are many times we often neglect our relationships to others and things that are much more valuable in our lives.

This is only my personal thoughts, and it doesn’t mean that you are wrong or you are a bad person for doing or not doing any of these things. Here is my personal list of things I am grateful for during my teen years and I consider this as general life advice to other teenagers and even to non-teenagers as well. 

1. I am glad that I kept close to my family

A relationship with family is so important because the love it gives is not expecting anything in return. What I meant by family is not just biologically, but a family which is a group of persons who makes you feel like home. Whoever they are, we are blessed to have them around. As for me, I am not that expressive in showing my affections to them but every single day I am truly thankful because I am nothing without them beside me as I grow up, especially to my parents.

2. I am glad I kept a close circle of friends

Most of our teenage years are spent in school and we know that school is where we found most of our friends who we shared a lot of time with. During high school, I was not friendly enough to make friends with a lot of people. But I am grateful for keeping a close circle of friends who I can share a bunch of memories with, who can help me reinforce my good qualities, and who can be there in case I need a hand.

"You are the average of the five people you spend the most time with."

Choose carefully.

3. I am glad I didn't start to drink alcohol excessively at young age

There's nothing wrong with trying out alcohol at an early age. But if you are someone who craves it every now and then, there's something wrong. I am glad that I have a healthy relationship with alcohol and I don't depend on my enjoyment upon drinking it.

4. I am glad I never engaged in smoking cigarettes and drugs

Personally, smoking cigarettes and trying out illegal drugs are a waste of money and putting oneself health at risk. I am glad that I don’t have anyone who pressured me to engage in smoking cigarettes and trying out drugs.

5. I am glad I never attempt of committing suicide

I have already heard several news across the internet, television, and even in our town about teenagers who have attempted and died because of suicide. As a teen, I understand that feeling down for many different reasons is inevitable— may it be about family, academics, pressure, and other factors. There are too many options to figure out how to handle problems in a better way or option. However, being suicidal will never be a good idea to escape problems.

6. I am glad hook-up culture didn't hooked me

Millennials are very interested in dating; most of them are active on online dating done via different apps like Tinder, Bumble, etc. Everyone is now appreciative of their sexuality, so they engaged in casual intimacy, no-strings-attached trend. It has its consequences and I know that I have no right to judge persons who are involved in it. Personally, I am grateful that hook-up culture didn't hook me and I have no plans to be hooked. Life is short so I'd rather spend my time with meaningful relationships rather than hook-ups. I highly value my worth as well as my time.

“When you don’t know how much you are worth, you will sell yourself cheap.”

—Breeny Lee, 2018

Below is a pep talk of Breeny Lee. It is one of my favorite pep talks and so many lines for you to highlight. If you are interested, you can watch this and let me know your thoughts about it.

7. I am glad I didn't spend money extremely

Growing up, I have always been somehow good at budgeting, saving up, and calculating my expenses. I am thankful that I had an early exposure to financial management through surfing the internet. Because of that, I have saved and invested my money instead of spending it on things that don't add much value to my life.

Those were some of the things that I am glad I did in my teenage years or ever, really.

Now, I would love to hear from you. What's the one or two things you're grateful for that you did in your teenage life?

7
$ 1.07
$ 1.00 from @Meyzee
$ 0.05 from @Jeaneth
$ 0.02 from @Caroline17
Sponsors of CrazyRichFilipina
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for CrazyRichFilipina
2 years ago

Comments

When you don’t know how much you are worth, you will sell yourself cheap.”

Rawr know your worth!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes. Know your worth, then add tax 😉 Thanks for reading and for your generous tip po ❤️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I enjoyed reading. No prob! Haha. Learned something real. Really that quotes hit me hard! Haha. Rawr.

$ 0.00
2 years ago