Being a bee for a month. Some thoughts on Hive

94 109
Avatar for CoquiCoin
2 years ago
Topics: Blogging, Write, Hive

Hello, awesome people from Read.cash! Good morning and good afternoon depending on where you are. I hope everyone has a great weekend.

When I wrote my earnings report from last month, I mentioned that I had been posting on Hive and that I would do an article about my impressions there. I must clarify that I'm not an expert in the use of Hive and this isn't intended to be a guide or tutorial on how to use it. But some notes on my experience in recent weeks generating content in Hive.

My beginnings in Hive

My first Hive post was in mid-August. I posted about it here and I was able to do it thanks to a user in Noise who kindly helped me by delegating me some HivePower since when I wanted to make my intro post, I didn't even have the resources to do it. This initially shocked me a bit, I didn't understand why in order to make a post I needed to have resources. And at first, I was overwhelmed by the entire operation of content management directly linked to the Hive blockchain.

Like everything, when you are taken out of what you are used to, you feel a certain apprehension. And Read.cash and Noise.cash are so simple in that sense that Hive can seem complicated at first glance.

Blogging platforms are associated with the Hive token blockchain, and they function running resources from the blockchain. For this reason, to obtain more resources, it's needed to put Hive token into stake, which is what is known as the HivePower. Obviously, when we start, we don't have any Hive. For those who are starting, there is a page with a faucet where you can claim some resources every hour, but the most important thing is that you can request the delegation of HP, which is like borrowing without interest. The page often runs out of resources, but with patience at some point, you make it. On the page, you get approx 16 HP delegated for a period of 7 days that you can use to publish while you generate your own resources. The page is giftgiver.site.

So my first weeks at Hive, I was totally lost. I didn't even know where to start. I did a few posts, mostly photos that got nowhere. Until at the beginning of October, when my dear friend @carolinacardoza, who many of you know here in Read, came to rescue me. Carolina guided me in relation to the communities in which it was worth publishing and what I should do to have more visibility using the correct tags.

Discovering communities

So after her advice, I made the first post in a community that I love called TheWeekend, in which the posts have to do with how their name says it with the weekend. It's a community that greatly encourages participation and engagement.

As the weeks have passed, I've been discovering other communities related to my tastes. A community dedicated to coffee lovers, Silver Bloggers, and I just discovered, thanks to my friend @gertu13, a gardening community.

The contests at Hive

One of the things that have helped me move forward at Hive is the contests and the challenges. There are lots of them in the different communities and by putting a little heart into them, we can get some good results, which help us grow our account. Because each Hive that we win is more Hive Power that we can have, and on the other hand, they help us to meet other users. So last month, I participated in an Amazing Nature community contest that I won with a post about nature in Caracas. In the Silver Bloggers community, I was a runner up with the challenge of telling Halloween memories. And one of the contests that I've joined twice is that of Shadow Hunters in the community of the same name. And last week, I was one of the winners with the shadow of my son doing a handstand. I discovered this contest thanks to @ gertu13 who invited me to participate a couple of weeks ago for the first time.

And these are just some of the many contests that are available each week, so there is something for everyone.

Channels on Discord

If something bothers me about Hive, it's the insistence in every community that you join a Discord channel. I don't like Discord. And in general, I'm bad at group chats. And at first, I couldn't understand why they ask to join channels on Discord and don't encourage comments within community posts. But now, seeing how easy it's to run out of resources, especially when you are new, I understand the reason a bit.

Who are the curators

I'm not going to explain in detail how the reward system works in Hive. But generally speaking, those who vote for your post are called curators and they get 50% of what a post they vote generates, weighted by their voting power. This in turn is related to HP and their reputation within the Blockchain. So obviously when we make a post, we want to draw the attention of a curator with weight within the blockchain, who are also the ones who usually influence the voting of other users with similar interests.

Learning about Pegged tokens

The Hive ecosystem encompasses many applications, and the ones we use to generate content are just a few of them. When we publish content many times we are earning other tokens. I'm still very lost about it, but yesterday for the first time I entered the Hive Engine and discovered a number of tokens that I've been earning with the content that I published. To say anything about it would be to lie to you, so it's a task to be done and I need to research more about it.

As for my goals in Hive, for now, the only one I have is to grow in HivePower. I hope this month I can exceed 100 HP.

Of course, my heart is still here in Read.cash. And my priority is to publish here and above all to interact with my readers and read the articles of other users. But if I want to take blogging as an additional source of income, it's good to have more options.

If you are in Hive and I don't follow you, leave me a comment with your user to do it and interact a little there too.

To you, my dear readers. Thank you so much!

Thank you to my wonderful sponsors. You all rock! And today especially thanks to @carolinacardoza that besides being my guide in Hive is my new sponsor here. Thanks with all my heart!

All images and writing are my own unless otherwise stated.

© CoquiCoin  

You can find me also at Noise.Cash ⊛ Hive ⊛ Torum ⊛ Twitter

Until next time! ;)

November 6, 2021

37
$ 10.12
$ 8.77 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.11 from @soyunasantacruz
$ 0.11 from @fantagira
+ 28
Sponsors of CoquiCoin
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for CoquiCoin
2 years ago
Topics: Blogging, Write, Hive

Comments

I go by the same name @badbitch on Hive. Quite a lot of people here that ain't understanding the system, well, it's pretty simple tho.

Having Hive staked not only grants you resources, it directly gives you an influence on the blockchain, as a stake holder you equally own Hive, although the amount of impact you can make in terms of governance will depend on how much stake you hold.

Also, holding a stake makes you a curator as well, that also applies to Hive Engine tokens. Staking tokens comes with a benefit of getting higher curation rewards and in turn, it protects your account value because it puts those tokens away from secondary markets which in turn helps stabilize the price...

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thank you very much for all this information :) And you're right, once you understand how it works it's pretty simple.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I was very happy to see you get to hive, when I saw one of your first posts so well laid out I didn't think you needed additional help, it seems to me that you are doing very well, but if you know anything, just give me a shout and I will come as fast as possible to the rescue.

I join you in the discord, who knows me knows that I don't like to interact directly in the posts with comments. However I do use it to promote my posts sometimes, I have rarely joined curation programs and I confess that I still don't know how to use the microphone well.

In Hive you never stop learning, and there are thousands of ideas to create content. As you go I come, we are both on this road in opposite directions but on the same track. I love read.cash and every day I spend more time here than at hive.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Thank you Ana Maria! I'm more on track now in Hive. I confess I'm not too good at Discord but I'm trying hehe.

But of course, my heart is here in Read and it's where I spend most of my blogging time.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have had an account in Hive since it was created, hahaha, but I never managed to captivate me, it would be because I entered a time when there were wars of the so-called "Whales" if a comment from you did not like him or simply if you were friends with someone else that he did not consider good For him, they made life impossible for you and even made you lose your count of so many negative votes you received. I have told many around here that they are dabbling in those places and now it is causing me curiosity. 905 in tha house LOL I forgot to write it ...

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hehe, hi Kike in tha house. Whales exist in Hive but I think there is room for everyone and I think the thing is to interact in communities that are truly akin to our tastes. If you want to try to be a bee in the hive, there I am.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm sorry but why are you giving me this? LOL now I must imagine myself as a bee. LOL. It is not a bee but so imagine it https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yFc0vMGzhZA

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Now I'm not going to be able to get the image out of my head. Now you are Kike, the Bee Colibri 🤣🤣 Don't work too hard!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'll explore HIVE now. Already registered. :)

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Are you there with the same user name?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'll try to explore Hiv too, Coqui. Thank you for sharing the overview. ,☺️

$ 0.01
2 years ago

You are welcome. Let me know if you join to follow you ;)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes Coqui. I will. ☺️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Congratulations for all those awards, I started on hive some time ago, but I saw it too slow, I continued in the search of other platforms finding read.cash, I liked it.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thank you! I love Read.cash too. But it's good to don't rely just on one option ;)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You're right, that's why I'm also with the play to earn, although I have not won much and studying scalping.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have not had good experiences with Scalping. It's like gambling, too risky I prefer mid-term trades ;)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hive sure sounds interesting. I created account a long time ago, but I haven’t done anything there. Hopefully one day I’ll be able to explore it too 💙

$ 0.03
2 years ago

There are some communities that I'm sure you'd enjoy :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm sure! I'll get in touch when I'm ready to make my first steps there 💙

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have heard quite a bit about Hive, and while I have some interest, I am not sure from what I have heard it appeals to me. Can't really make that full assessment since I have not gone over there to explore a bit.

But I CAN say I don't like the "earning the power to post" or do other things there. I don't mind working my way to build an audience of course. That's just the nature of things. But I'd prefer to be able to focus on writing and let the posts do what they are supposed to, which might be what ultimately happens—but I don't want to focus my time on the write to be read necessarily. If that makes any sense.

It is something I may eventually take a closer look at. But on the surface it just seems like something that would not be for me.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I get your point. And that's a bit of a shock when you start at Hive. I felt the same way. We aren't used to managing content on a blockchain that consumes resources. But beyond that and once we understand how it works, I think it has a lot of possibilities.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I began my blogging journey through Hive, and although I still don't completly understand it, I still do some stuff over there. I try to publish from time to time, and at least once a day I log in to upvote posts and that way I still get passive income. So overall, it's worth it even if like you, my heart still is on read.cash ❤️

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Absolutely, my heart is in Read. The community that has been formed here is great. But that shouldn't stop us from looking at other worthwhile options. See you in the hive too, saludos!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hive seems to be an interesting platform, but until now I'm still torn between joining in or just staying in this read platform. My problem is that maybe I couldn't handle two blogging platforms and might end up abandoning the other one.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Until now, the approach that I have given to each one is different. In Hive I make shorter publications and I plan to do some travel blogs that here in Read is a topic that doesn't go very well.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I also want to learn how to do this. Woah congrats to you sis, keep going!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thank you! :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you sis for this. It is a great help for me as well and many thanks for guiding me too :) I believe you will achieve your goal of 100+HP. Cheers to blogging and beyond!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

You are welcome, sis! My pleasure to help. Cheers to us and blogging :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I open an account in recent months there but don't get much about how it works because am not that good in crpytocurrency but am still posting sometime.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Well, you can actually write about anything else not related to cryptocurrencies, greetings!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I will be there now I have four days off. I have been waiting for this post and you rock!

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Let's rock the Hive, super bee Ed!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You know I love bees we need to become ones Eli!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm already a wee bee, but we need to become bigger ones 😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hehe we do and we shall!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

CoquiCoin I hated Hive, I felt very lost. There were communities that I liked such as pets and plants. Unlike Noisecash which earned well and on Hive it was 0. So I preferred not to write on a site where no one reads me. Besides I lost the password 😅.

Do you think I can make myself another account to try again, won't there be problems with the IP thing?

Good luck to you ☘️

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Hi Juany! thank you :) I think it is easy to hate it if no one guides us. It's overwhelming and frustrating at first and it seems everyone is on their own business. It's not like Read. But it offers many possibilities, and I think that if you want to dedicate yourself to blogging on cryptocurrency platforms, you shouldn't leave Hive aside.

I don't think you will have any problems creating another account, it doesn't say anywhere that accounts with the same IP are prohibited. Remember that the rewards there aren't given by a robot, but by people. I created my account through the Peakd.com app

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I hope you join again, I just started there!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You did well. I have an account there, but I have no intention of coming back, for now. I think it has been months already. I got dizzy trying to understand the basics 😂 Too complicated for me. LOL.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Haha, at first is overwhelming. If I hadn't received Carolina's help, I would have maybe given up, hehe. But after the first shock, when you understand a little, you can enjoy it because it offers many possibilities

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm glad you enjoyed posting on hive. Thanks for the mention. And I hope you get to keep going there.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thank you, my friend! for the support, you have been giving me there! :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You are welcome, my friend. I'll see what other contest I can invite you to next.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Son tantas cosas las que hay que aprender. Es muy bueno leer este tipo de artículos que lo hace ver más sencillo de lo que parece. Que bueno que ya lo estés disfrutando.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

La verdad es que cuando te lo explican y te orientan no es tan complicado como parece. Y lo bueno es que hay muchas posibilidades y comunidades para todos los gustos. Saludos

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks for the Enlightenment on Hive. I never had any idea about it before

$ 0.01
2 years ago

You are welcome!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

i'm interested in Hive because of its growing blockchain, but Idk if I could ever have time juggling my day job, read.cash, noise and some other stuffs lol!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Haha, in case you give it a try, I'll see you there too ;)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm happy to hear you are doing great. Few days back, someone explain how it works for us on a group but when we all tried to create an account it failed. I think it wrote "Opening account not available right now" or something close to that.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Oh! A few minutes ago @jasglaybam told me the same thing. I know there are several ways to register on Hive. I used the Peakd.com app to sign up.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Okay, i will try that too

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I´m back coqui! I´m back! Hive looks interesting but I feel a little comfortable in read.cash right now, actually the big issue is I can't help remember steem by checking the hive platform, and it was a little headache in the past. Maybe I will give It a chance sooner ;)

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Read is my comfy place and it will remain been my top 1, but sometimes it's good to expand the horizons;) If you had an account on Steem maybe you already have one on Hive, hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I should create an account on Hive, but lately time is money for me. It is not enough for me.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

What is not enough the money or hive? ;)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I still don't know how to make a start on the hive or where to start. But I think read cash is enough for me. You are doing great mate. I hope people will start loving your work on hive. After all, you are a good writer.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thank you so much for your kind words. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I don't know about hive but base upon your info, maybe its not for me. Good luck to your journey at hive anyway.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thank you!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am happy you made it to hive! It is pretty overwhelming in the beginning, but it is a place of endless opportunities!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hi Plint! Yep, I made it and I'm enjoying it, to tell the truth. And I agree, it offers so many opportunities. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you for this and I really love how you made it simple because I joined Hive recently and I’m still lost till this moment... Going to save this and work towards getting better..

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I can relate since I was lost at the beginning too. I'll be happy to help you anytime if you need it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I’ll find my way faster to you when I get lost... thank you Coin

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Godbless in your Hive journey Ma'am. Have fun in Hive.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thank you! :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I saw your entry there and grats for winning 😁 I can't post every day on Hive as my power is always insufficient... Do you know how to power up fast?

$ 0.02
2 years ago

You can request delegated power on https://giftgiver.site They often run out of resources. But I've been lucky sometimes. They will delegate 16 HP to you for 7 days. And thank you! :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks..I'll check it

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I hope you have luck. Also if you have some HBD, you can exchange them for Hive and then power up. Let me know if don't know how to do it. ;)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Are you now enjoying Hive? I tried to visit the page and signed up but I think it was already full.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yep, I enjoy it :) What do you mean by full?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The website said I cannot create an account and had to use another platform to register. Sorry, I did not wanna confuse you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's strange. I'm not confused but I wonder in case I can help you. ;)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I will try to sign up again and let you know if the issue is still the same, thanks Eliana!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You are welcome, my friend :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Happy weekend!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow! I would like to check it out and join. It sure sounds like an interesting platform. Thanks for sharing your thoughts. It was a good read.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

You are welcome and thank you for stopping by!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Congrats on your Hive journey, amiga. Haven't visited mine in a long time.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thank you amiga! xoxo

$ 0.00
2 years ago

xoxoxo

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I opened am hive account once around june or something but totally got lost and quit after two days as it was too complicated. I'd be glad if you could put me through during your free time.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I would be glad to help. Anytime ask me. You can contact me here or on Twitter anytime as you wish. Or in discord, but I don't look at it so often, hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The site looked kind of intimidating at first when I attempted lol. Your article is very useful. Guess I'd give it another shot.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes, it's a bit intimidating, but because it isn't what we are used to. But when you understand the basics and start, everything flows. Good luck!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks! I will check it out again!😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I would like to have more friends like you, you are smart, you do good work, you act well and you support many people here in the community, you deserve much more, believe it.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Thank you Carolina for your nice words! I love having a friend like you. And once again, thank you so much :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I started hive but then didn't continue. Lack of times.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

If you decide to come back, I'll see you there too;)

$ 0.00
2 years ago