Understanding Schizophrenia And Suicide

107 101
Avatar for Bloghound
2 years ago

Disclaimer:

In reference to Filipino "sensitivity", this can apply in some ways - maybe more on the Bipolar Depression side. Read at your own risk.

The reason for this post is to educate people about Schizophrenia and to clarify some misconceptions about "Suicide" as well as those who suffer from this illness.

U.S. National Library of Medicine describes schizophrenia this way:

"Schizophrenia is a mental disorder that makes it hard to: Tell the difference between what is real and not real; Think clearly; Have normal emotional responses; Act normally in social situations."

I would strongly urge anyone who has a false idea of a schizophrenic person's ability to control their actions, thoughts, or emotions to read this.

  • Delusions

  • Hallucinations

  • Incoherence

  • Hyperactive Behavior

  • Flat Effect

A person who is suffering from this often experiences these symptoms as a result of a "trigger", whether it is a loud noise that reminds them of aggression, or whether it is emotional reminding them of a traumatic childhood experience. It could be a feeling of not being loved even which sends them into a very self-destructive state of self-hate that often brings out the other personality that encourages them to kill themselves.

Suicide is not always an act of being a coward or selfish. Sometimes it is the act of someone who is very sick, a sickness in the fact that they did not create, and often times do not acknowledge, nor can they control.

These people are not "crazy". They are injured with scars deeper than can be imagined and in some cases memories buried so deep in their subconscious that they don't actually remember what happened to them. They do not need people to feel sorry for them, they need people to love them, to protect them, and to help them understand what they are going through.

I have witnessed my own younger sister - my only sibling (she passed away 3 years ago in a mental institution). We have struggled with her, cried with her, and even begged the person who was not her (a different personality who did not recognize me) to bring her back to hear us.

I, myself have been through the darkness as well. It is very real.

How to deal with someone who is very "sensitive"?

Stay with them and be very patient, very sensitive to their sensitivities until they come to trust you enough, and then they will get stronger and you can relax more.

It's a very hard and long road, so you need to know yourself well enough to determine if you have the backbone for it. Being supportive does not eliminate the illness, but it strengthens them more so that the triggers are not quite as influential on them emotionally.

I read a sad story yesterday about a teenager who committed suicide jumping off a freeway overpass. She was a straight-A student, a member of a competitive robotics team, and per family, friends, and other classmates were not only one of the smartest kids but also the happiest.

After her death, a journal was found that showed the emotional opposite. She was completely lost in her own mind. Nobody made her feel small, unworthy, dumb, or in the way. Just that one monster in her head. Her. You don't even know what someone is going through. I suppose it's human nature to judge what we see, but if we look at ourselves in that position, how many of us can say that everyone really knows who we are?

We all hold something back, insecurities, and sadness. Some of us might completely smile on the outside, but be lost to depression and self-hate on the inside. Be kind, it's really not that hard to do.

People pray every single day for their loved ones to heal and survive. My heart breaks every time someone dies. Sometimes I don't even know them.

If you or someone you know has an invisible illness (PTSD, Anxiety, Bipolar, Depression, etc.) Never judge what you don't understand.

A bit of random "Bloghoundism" today:

I can smile because I've known sadness...

I am tough because I've seen my pains...

I am fearless (working on it) because I once was afraid...

Good afternoon, dear read.cash friends. Let's search for ways where we can be kind, and where we can shed a little light into this world. Take good care of yourselves too. It's a process.

One love

@Bloghound

July 30, 2021

4:25 pm

Philippines

(All photos are my own and taken by me - unless otherwise stated)

42
$ 16.73
$ 13.52 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.53 from @Telesfor
$ 0.51 from @Pichi28
+ 25
Sponsors of Bloghound
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Bloghound
2 years ago

Comments

Schizofrenia is a very serious illness, but is not to be confused with depression (which is also very bad). The schizophrenic people have delusions, see what normal people do not see. They think that nobody understands them (which is usually true). Suicide is not an act of weakness, it's an act of desperation. I am very sorry about your sister. It should not have happened in a mental institution.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Aw thank you for the kind words and the visit, Telesfor. I do appreciate it, my friend!

$ 0.06
2 years ago

The voices inside us. Sometimes it was hard to deal with. Somehow it shows in behavior, moods when being triggered that often times other people misunderstood it.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Hi, sis. Glad seeing you here. That is sooo true and I am only speaking based on my experiences. Sulat ka na din, sis :) Good evening!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Me too. I'm talking to myself sa comment ko :) Nagbabasa lang ako dito. feeling ko maprepresure na ako kung magsusulat pa ako.hehehe I need to be easy with my brain.😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Maganda nga yan para may outlet ka :) See yo around. Wait ko first blog mo :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks sissy sa article na ito. Marami ang makakabasa nito dito at pwede itong maging daan upang masabihan ang mga may kamag-anak o kaibigan na may ganitong pinagdadaanan.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Salamat, sis.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Walang anuman sis :-)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Enjoy your Sunday po.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ikaw din po

$ 0.00
2 years ago

salamat, sis

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We often dismiss what we don't understand. We really should be more aware, considerate enough, patient and willing to understand others. We go have problems but we are not the same. Some struggle more than others.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Ammun ladtan hehe. Thank you, adu adu!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

ang ganda ng topic. ao kasi kadalasan tinatago ko nararamdamanko saka sasabihin nalang na masaya ako, minsan kasi feeling ko walang makikinig sakin o walang willing makipagusap

$ 0.05
2 years ago

You need people around you who are willing to listen without judgment, sis. Xoxo

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Its true that sometimes people hide their feeling and cover it with a happy one. we should learn to ask them what they feel and never judge that person. Sorry for what happened to your younger sibling. Understanding them and be with them can help them a lot.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Salamat, sis. Yes, always be kind. We just don't know what other people are going through.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Interesting topic, I read about schizophrenia in wattpad. It's hard to suffer in mental disorder. I have this one classmate who suddenly experience like what they said being “crazy”, he had a mental disorder but it was not severe, maybe a mild disorder and can still control. People are going away when he approached them but I did the opposite, one thing on my mind that time is “If I will go away and avoid him, it's possible that he will be stressed and cause of severity of his condition” so I am always talking to him like a normal conversation. Good thing is he looks fine now, hopefully he will be fine!

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Hi, Lau. Thank you for stopping by. I admire you for what you did. Sometimes, a simple smile and hello make a huge difference to them. To be honest, I was also diagnosed with a "mild" bipolar syndrome when I was a lil younger. Yun pa lang, sobra na pinagdaanan ko. Parang nasa loob ka ng balon sigaw ka ng sigaw pero walang nakakarinig. It's hard. I hope people would understand the deeper meaning of this illness. God bless you, bunso!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's hard to understand it if a person is narrow-minded haha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

true. lalo na if pilosopo pa. panalo lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago

One of the sensitive topic but only a few understand it 'coz we tend toto judge them instead of understanding why they have that kind of illness.

Hirap i pronounce yung title sis.haha

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Amen sis. Bawal judgemental.

Haha. Ganto sis,

" skit - suh - freh - nee -uh"

:)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nice. Thanks sis

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Welcome, sis :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I can smile because I've known sadness... I am tough because I've seen my pains...

still learning on how to overcome this kind of feeling...

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Big hugs to you, sis.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

😍😍😍😍😍

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is a very serious topic and mostly those who are experience this hide it from anyone. They try to solve it with themselves but when it gets deeper they become severe and even a nearby help is useless. I have a friend who is our clown and took his life by drinking gasoline because he can't do it anymore.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

True that, Grecy. Sorry to hear about your friend. Halos pareho pala kami. Ako nun is isang litrong rubbing alcohol. Tinakbo ako nila article sa hospital.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Omg sis, buti na takbo ka agad. Naiyak naman ako dito.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, sis. 3 times ata ako nag attempt eh

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is really a disheartening story and I feel sorry for the young girl who took her own because of what was going on in her head.

Truly we often say things or judge people with the things we see meanwhile there is more to it. It is the first time I will be hearing about Schizophrenia, the mental world is a challenging one as well.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

it is very sad, my friend.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Its unfortunate that people call them crazy, coward and selfish. They are actually mentally disturbed and should be treated properly.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

they truly are deeply wounded, my friend

$ 0.00
2 years ago

True

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's a very deep subject and one that need some reflection after reading. I do feel sad whenever I read about someone taking their lives. Given the chance, these individuals might have been able to live to a ripe old age and touch many other lives. Anyone suffering from depression need to be able to identify it and get help immediately. Many NGOs are equipped to provide counsel and support. Each of our live matter. There are many other lives waiting for us to touch. Your article, I'm sure has touched and will continue to touch many who reads it.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Thank you for the kind sentiments, Dood. It is difficult to understand suicide unless we have been in the situation ourselves. #eachlifematters

$ 0.06
2 years ago

This is so saddening to know that a lot of people suffers from this kind of disease every single day. Praying for their healing ❤

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Thank you for the prayers, sis!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Super love the bloghoundism...

Navigating life ain't always easy for everyone. let's love real by being nice and and choosing to understand and letting them know and feel they are loved

Much hugs ate...

--(-_^)--<

$ 0.05
2 years ago

You know what's up, Pich. Thankiee!! Muah!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

lotsa love ate.. ;) muwahhhh

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Xoxoxo

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Let me huggg youuu for a minute Bloghound 🤗 tap tap tap ( me tapping your back) 🥰 We all have this so-called dark and scary experiences in life. Let us all be brave enough to face those fears. We can overcome it !

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Thank you for the hug, Bread!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

my pleasure 🥰

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This post is so sad sis.. reading about your sister and the young lady.. there are so many people suffering from this real condition... i hope they'll be comforted and be healed

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Thank you, sis.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love ya, wicked friend. Thank you for this. We have to be always there for our loved ones.♡ And loved so much your random "Bloghoundism" today! Hugs!

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Love you too, Coqui! Thank you for being kind to me. Xoxo

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I am really thankful that I don't suffer from this kind of sickness or phenomenon in my life. May the Lord heal those of this kind.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

I'm with you on that, kabsat!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Take you for sharing such an article! I think this is the time that Filipinos and everyone should understand such circumstances and problems that these people have been experiencing.

Indeed, they needed the utmost care and priority more than anything else. The first step is to understand them more than ever. Seek professional help and keep going. Kaya po yan, tiwala lang!

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Maraming salamat, sis.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am not sure why I am afraid of them, maybe because I am an empath and I feel their emotions? I totally agree we should try to be more understanding and patient to those who have suffered a lot and be just thankful that we are not in their place.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

I am an empath, sis. You definitely are one too!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes sis and it is not easy :) It is both a blessing and a curse.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm working to be fearless because I once was afraid. Thank you so much for your thoughts Ms. Bloghound, for spreading a fact that everyone should be sensitive and kind because no matter how happy a peson on the outside is, we never really know what sadness resides inside. Huggggsssss

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Hugs back at ya, Mura! Xoxo. Thank you!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

People go through a lot. They wear clothes to cover all the aches and pains they feel. Depression is one thing that should be avoided as much as possible.

Unfortunately, many youths are keeping too many pains and shames and would rather take actions that become detrimental to their lives.

Some of the losses we experience in society are pretty much avoidable.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

It's sad and it's happening silently, Pearlkel. I hope all is well with you, my friend.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am hale and hearty my dear friend @bloghound. I like the way you write and I hope to keep coming around. Many thanks for the sponsorship. I appreciate it a lot.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nice o meet you again, my friend. Thank you very much!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

People with this kind of disease should not be left alone because he or she is sensitive since he or she cannot recognize anyone. The fact remains that, some people who has suffered for this kind of illness has overcome it. These people can always do what is in their mind. This is why we must stay with them at all cost.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Well said, cool08! Thank you, my friend.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I've been in that situation where I feel like darkness wants to take over me. The feeling when you're so happy enjoying the moment with friends then later on everything feels so down.

There was darkness hiding behind those sweetest smiles 🙂

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Glad you overcome na, sis. Hugs to you!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have a friend now who is currently experiencing such syndrome, he is in the US Navy and almost end his life early this year, glad his wife found him when he was about to do so , is it the same or being sensitive is schizophrenia. Hehe

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Pag Schiz kasi parang split personality mo yun. A very different person, Carewind. Sensitive eh, emotions lang pero alam nya na sya pa din yung person na yun.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ahh, me mga ganun talaga yung parang di sila yun open minded sa iba., Self centered kumbaga, tama ba sis?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ibang persona sa iisang katawan. Parang yung telenovela sa Gma7 yung kay Ken Chan na Dalawang Ikaw or search mo yung movie na Split

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ahh, hirap pala nyan sis., Basta paramg may anu pala yan sis yung minsan sinusumpong.,

$ 0.00
2 years ago

yes po ganun po

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Its something serious, should net be neglected.. Seek professional help.. ❤️🥰 So proud of you mars.. Fighting 🥰🙏

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Labyu, mars. Ammun ladtan hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

🥰❤️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is a serious matter ..and some out there don't believe in this kind of thing..but they are very wrong ..It's true and I've suffered from it..and survived it.. Sana maisaulo ng lahat ung lesson dito na huwag mong husgahan ang hindi mopa nakikita .

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Wen, ading. Imbag masurvive mo.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wen kailangan tanu madi ay nabagtit nak

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Imbag ta adda read cash ken noise, ading. I fully understand.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oo nga po ..napakalaking tulong

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Keep it up, ading!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Bear hugs sis, and i love that Bloghoundism❤

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Back at ya, sis. Thank you!!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Big and small problem, is still a problem. Let's help each other lift up and feel positive don't ever say bad things to someone especially to those who's already in pain. Spread happiness from yourself. Let's save one person from commiting suicide. Schizophrenia is a new word to me. I'll take a note for this thank you

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Maraming salamat, Snail. Xoxo.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Everyone one as one challenges or the other, what I just have at the back of my mind is whatsoever challenges am facing in life suicide is not the way out than for me to confront it and conquer it

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Indeed, sister!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hugs sis a super tight hug because i can feel the sadness here

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Hugs back, sis!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

XOXOXO

yung turtle natin at snail lagi na sila present hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

huwawwwww

$ 0.00
2 years ago

In this day and age, people are not mentally fit anyway and mental illnesses are on the rise. Many people do not even know that they are not mentally fit.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

I so agree with you, mariteen. Seems like people these days are prone to depression.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I've watched a movie who's protagonist is Gerald Anderson which suffering from Schizophrenia, he's having delusion since he was in accident. He thought that a girl save him which roled by Pia Wurtzbach, from watching that movie I've learn something about this illness and it won't cured by medication but it needs deeper attention and the person who's experiencing this must treat physiologically and support from family and friends.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

I haven't seen this movie po. Maybe gonna check it out. Thank you. But, yeah. Love and attention is the greatest of all.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you for writing about this, frend. I have people I know (not disclosing their identity) who undergoes depression. I am trying my best to be a solid support, though I really don't know what their burdens are.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Thank you to you too, Snappy. Just don't get tired of loving them. They need it most. Hugs.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sorry to hear about your loss. As one who had and is suffering from anxiety and depression, I can only say that people don't really understand us. The compassion we need is being deprived from us and even called crazy, selfish and others.. for people out there, it doesn't make you less of a person to be kind and say kumuzta ka sincerely

$ 0.05
2 years ago

I like that, sis! Sometimes, a simple hello already makes a huge difference. How are you, sis?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am so so so sorry to hear about your sister. I can only imagine the pain that you and your family must have went through. I know that the pain will never go away, but I am hoping that you are able to still live happily despite it all.

trigger warning here of suicide attempt I find this article so relatable. I remember the times were I struggled so bad with depression. Everyone thought I was tired only because of the school works but I was tired of living. They did not know it until I had my wrist slashed open dizzy of blood loss.


To be honest I do not know what else I can say as your article is well-written. Hopefully, many people will see this and be open about what you are telling them. I am wishing for you and your family the strength to continue living despite the loss you have experienced.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Thank you so much for the kind words, Zehra. Should you ever feel alone, just remember this random read.cash user down in the farm has your back. Hehe. Good afternoon, sis :)

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Not all happy are really happy.. Sometimes it's our way to mask our real emotions. . It's just so sad that we can't know the real emotions of someone to avoid bad things to happen..
Even here in HK, many teenagers are committing suicide because of this kind of illness.. Sorry again for your loss..

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Thank you, sis. You too, take care of yourself out there. Xoxo

$ 0.00
2 years ago