Where blood killed the fish in the river

100 127
Avatar for ARTicLEE
2 years ago

According to an Ilocano story of old, there was an extraordinary man named Lam-ang who went in search for those who murdered his father and killed them all singlehandedly. Soaked from dirt and blood from all the killings he had done, he then bathed in a river. The dirt and blood that was washed off from him killed all the fish and animals that it came contact with.

That river is the Amburayan River.

You can read more about the epic Biag ni Lam-ang here.

A couple of days after New Year last year, with nothing planned to go or visit that day, my family and I decided to go for a picnic at Amburayan River. Whoever was available that time, joined us and off we go.

This is my first time to travel here in part of Benguet. My siblings and my mom have been going to Kapangan and/or Kibungan occasionally. Some of my siblings would hike to schools there and give donations that they have collected from kindhearted sponsors. These schools are hard to reach so they have limited supplies.

For me and some of my companions though, that was the first time that we are seeing this part of our province.

We started out as early as we can be. When your family decides to go somewhere, there will always be delay so it takes patience.

From our town to the river is about an hour and a half drive. Most of us are still not that rested from the New Year celebration so we dozed off or took naps along the way.

We stopped at the view deck which is close to where the river is.

At the Taba-ao Viewdeck
Clouds above mountain ranges and rice fields

After taking as much photos as we like, we then headed to the river.

There were already lots of vehicles parked along the road for the parking are was already full. Or so we thought. So we parked along the road as well.

We registered and paid the necessary fee and then we were told that there are still available parking at the back so that's where we parked.

Each of us took what we can carry and went in search for a spot.

There were lots of people lining the riverbanks and many are in the water swimming and having fun. I feel jealous already I want to go swim right away.

We did not want to go far and good thing we were able to find a good spot.

We positioned ourselves across this rock.

I'm not sure if you can see it but I can see the outline of a face of woman/man with long hair.

The water here is about chest deep so many dared to dive and jump off from this rock or swam to this rock.

The kids tested the water right away and tried to search for fish or crabs or whatever interesting thing they can find. Unfortunately, they were disappointed.

Below is a reminder to clean as you go and keep the river clean. However, there are still those who leave their trash behind. Be a better person always. Do not throw your garbage anywhere wherever you go.

These guys enjoyed swinging from these vines. Different groups would go and do that too and then leave. I guess they were testing their strength as to who can pull the vine but no one succeeded for the vine was still there until we left. Nature is powerful.

My desire to swim was cut short for when I tried crossing the river, I felt the chill.

The Amburayan River's source is the mountains of the Cordilleras. January is still a cold month here in the mountains so the water traveling from the mountains to the creeks and other tributaries before joining the river is cold and refreshing but I can't stand it for a long time.

This almost 100 km body of water travels to three provinces namely Benguet, La Union and Ilocos Sur before rushing out to South China Sea.

I just enjoyed observing the people, enjoying the sound of splashing water, sounds of laughter, smoke from somebody's cooking, the rushing river, the coolness of the air just a relaxing day it was.

Nothing lasts forever though.

My reverie was broken by a cry from one of my nephews. I knew instantly it was a cry of pain and horror and help. His cry of "Mommy!" just grips you with concern. It cuts through the air. Apparently, a sharp object, probably a stone edge sticking out cut through between his toes cutting one of his toes. He is not that used to blood yet and it freaks him out to see blood. Seeing that amount of blood coming out from his wound is too much for him. I quickly ran to him and carried him to his mom and she tended to it. Good thing we brought along a first aid kit.

Always bring a first aid kit when you are outdoors especially when you have kids with you for you do not know what can happen.

It was about time to go home anyway for we still have to travel more than an hour and we want to go home while there is still light. So we decided to pack our stuff and leave so we can tend to our nephew's wound better.

At the registration booth, we asked the staff if they can tend to my nephew's wound. They directed us to the health clinic further up the road. Since we don't know the area, one of the staff was kind enough to come with us to show us where the clinic is.

There are restrooms where you can change near the booth. When everyone has changed and ready to leave, we got into our care along with one of the staff and headed to the clinic where they patched up my nephew, good as new and he was his normal self again.

We passed by this rice terraces on our way home. I didn't notice this when we were on our way to the river for I was napping in the car. We stopped by the road and took photos. There were still patches where the rice were not harvested but almost all were done with their harvest.

It was not captured in this photo but there were flower gardens too where only a few flowers remain.

That was our last stop and then we headed straight home.

We have planned on going back to Amburayan River when we had a break from constructing our house. However, it was not possible because of restrictions brought about by COVID. I hope soon we can go back again and make more memories.

Thank you for stopping by and for your support.

Until the next blog.

43
$ 13.26
$ 11.69 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Jane
$ 0.10 from @gertu13
+ 29
Sponsors of ARTicLEE
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for ARTicLEE
2 years ago

Comments

I enjoyed while reading it, it was amazing, you experienced a new location and you spent your time with your siblings. It was nice suggestions by you to carry a first aid kit while outing.

Two years ago, we went to Koh Muree (a famous touring place in Pakistan ) for visiting. While playing in the snow my little brother was hit by a wooden stick on his leg, we were so worried about him. After 20 minutes, we found a clinic then the doctor badged him. Because of the cold, he was not bleeding enough but we were scared of the cut on his leg.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

That must have hurt. I hope your brother's leg is okay though, nothing serious?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

By the grace of God, It was just a cut on his leg. Thank you,

$ 0.01
2 years ago

That's a relief!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

What a good trip and amazing photos as always. Sorry about your nephew. But thank goodness they treated him quickly, and it wasn't something serious. Of course, I see the profile of the long-haired woman on the stone. Hopefully, you will be able to enjoy that place again soon.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Once this wet season is over and no restrictions imposed, maybe we can go back there again. I imagine it will be colder since around this time the temperature starts to drop.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Good morning dear friend, how are you?.

I love to read these kinds of articles because they are fascinating, they help you to transport you to those beautiful places like the one you visited, I find curious the history of that river because it fits, it has logic, what they say, because it is not so normal that a river that is suitable for bathing has no fish or crabs, I find it very mysterious, visit that site must be a unique experience, God I felt like going and hahaha.

I agree with your advice, when we go out anywhere, with or without children, we must have a first aid kit, we do not know when something tragic can happen.

Once again I have to congratulate you on your beautiful pictures, they were spectacular, I fell in love with each one of them, you have places near you really magical, my respects, greetings.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Good day! Thanks for appreciating! Indeed we don't have to travel far just to see beauty of nature. We should explore more what's near us and find the wonders hidden therein. I hope we will preserve and protect what's left of our nature so there's more that the next generation will see.

It's only then that I have realized the importance of bringing a first aid kit wherever you go. In the end, it's a learning experience for me.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I also thought it's a woman with a very long hair lol!!..poor baby di sanay masugatan..ang ganda nang lugar pre lalo na yung rice terraces

$ 0.01
2 years ago

First time ko pumunta jan. Naamaze nga din ako sa terraces e. Di ko lam may ganyan pala jan.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

super ganda pre

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kaya nga e. Buti navisit ko na hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's a good idea to have the wound tended to immediately. You have no idea what kind of microbes lurk in the river. Btw, I'm quite creative I think but couldn't figure out the face of a woman/man with long hair. LOL.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hehe...focus on the left edge of the rock and you will see the outline of a face :)

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I had to put my face 'this' close to the screen to see clearer. wish i could say, aha, i got it but nope. but it does look like a profile of an ape head though.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I saw the ape lol! Tagged you in noise :D

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Great. Saw that and replied. Hope you'll get some sunshine soon.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I really hope so.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ang ganda nag mka picture tsaka good for the health na mag pasyal or hiking be honest wla akong alam sa story pro hoping to read more article of you travels

$ 0.01
User's avatar RM
2 years ago

Tinuturo nun sa school un story na un hehe. Nakalimutan ko na nga din story e. Nigoogle ko lang hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hindi ko alam ang story ni lam-ang pero ng dahil sayo nalaman ko ito :) ang gaganda ng place. Gusto ko din makapunta sa benguet dahil don nakatira mga kapatid ng tatay ng jowa ko sobrang lamig daw don 😊

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Sana nga mavisit mo sila pag okay na ang lahat :) Maganda pumunta January or February kasi un ang months ma malamig talaga.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Biag ni Lam-ang is one of my report in my class back then it is an epic story and he was bathed by 99 maidens there in Amburayan. That place is so amazing and the scenery along the way is beautiful also. Well, you're right that there are people who still leave their garbage hays. Why can't they just be responsable.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I had to google how was this river related to Lam-ang. I honestly forgot about the details of the story. I think I've read it once or twice. It's really sad about the rubbish. There were a lot strewn everywhere still.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Very interesting read. It was like I experienced it with you. Incredibly adventurous. I'm looking forward to your next one

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thanks a lot for the appreciation. Cheers!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I want to thank you for always taking me through your journey with your article,Is as if I am there also with you all,the pictures are fine and looking very nice. Can't wait to join you next on your adventure.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thanks so much! I'll be posting it next :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Love the big stone with Leave Nothing etc, it really irks me people leaving their trash. A great day out you had and I hope you wee nephew was okay.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

He was okay a day after like nothing happened. He didn't even seem like he's hurt :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Woah... Such an amazing adventurous story about Lam Ang

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I'm sure you have great epic tales too :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow did you take these pictures yourself they look so amazing .. Weldon !! this is really nice

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thanks a lot! I appreciate you too :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Last nga nagna ak or linmabasak halsema kaskada benguet ket di 2007 pay samet di napanak bontoc. Amupay man ta han ko talaga bucket list pasyaren t benguet hehe! The beach is always a landslide vote to go to kanyak hehe!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Haha! Syempre nauma kan ti bantay.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ganda ng view sis.. Naririnig ko rn yang story ni Lam-Ang dati nung bata pa ako

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Ako din pero di ko maalala un buong kwento. Sir po ako ei hihi!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love the story about Lam-Ang. I am afraid of still waters in a river coz of leeches but I did have good memories about it. Hope the wound didn't stop your nephew from finding new adventures.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

He was okay after a few days :) I didn't notice if there were leeches there.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Usually sa stagnant water yung mga linta, I fear them really :P

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sa maputik na area ko sila nakikikita or sa mga garden hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

yeah I think another type of leech sa garden yuck hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha! yuk it is :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I did notice the man/woman figure in the rock. All of your adventures in Benguet is amazing. especially the photo of the terraces. I feel bad about your nephew being unnerved by the accident though, but it can be a learning experience.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

It truly was a learning experience for me to always bring a first aid kit :D

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I am familiar with Biag ni Lam-ang for it has been taught since elementary. Definitely the river is so refreshing. Why your place has a lot of beautiful place tho hahaha!, Makes me wanna go there and visit

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I have to refresh my memory of the story. I know there's Biag ni Lam-ang but I forgot all about it :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha me too!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is a very refreshing post, except for the part about the boy's accident. I too love going to the river and hanging a hammock while watching others jump in the water. Too bad there were no pictures of the flowers, I love them.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Next time, I will bring a hammock. You have given me a great idea! :D We were really there for a few minutes for we need to go home. The flower garden is some distance.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Another day you will post the flowers lol.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Wow! One of my dream is rice terraces I hope someday I can go there.. What a nice adventure ARTicLEE.. ❀️😍

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I hope you can so we can both visit :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Soon ARTicLEE...😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Bakit ang ganda ng mga kuha mo ? Lahat ng view nabibigyan ng buhay kapag ikaw ang kumukuha ng litrato. πŸ’—

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hala salamat naman ng marami sa pag appreciate :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Walang anuman πŸ’—

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow Ang ganda nong place. Super peaceful. πŸ₯°πŸ₯°

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Oo nga e. God's gift :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sana maalagaan at pahalagahan Ng Tao

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Buti talaga kahit sa readcash lang, nakakagala pa rin ang mata ko hahaha.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Haha! Hanggang ganun na lang tayo ngayon e :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The shots are so refined, the first aid kit very very important. Beautiful experience with you

$ 0.01
2 years ago

It was at that time that I have valued bringing a kit with you all the time.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Good of you πŸ’ͺπŸ’ͺ, it did make you realize something

$ 0.01
2 years ago

refreshing riverside leisure time. Ouch for the nephew but good he was attended to as well. Huhu. Naiimagine ko lang . Thank you for the tour!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Naiiyak nga din ako nung nakita ko. Nakakaworry pag mga ganung bagay hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I see you had a nice time, even when your nephew cut it short by getting himself wounded

Well, did the river have blood as the tales speaks of it Killing fishes as a result of that man's blood 😁?

Yes, I can envision that man's face with a long hair.... I am talking about the rock

Thanks for sharing this experience with us 😊

I enjoyed the tour

$ 0.01
2 years ago

The blood from my nephew was added but fortunately no fish were killed :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Your photos make me wanna visit the place too.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Me too haha! I really hope we can revisit this place.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Need to check if Kapangan has special requirements for a visit :D

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I want to commend the photography. Ang ganda po

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Maraming salamat po sa pag appreciate! :)

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Kainggit 😭 Ang dami nyo nang napuntahan . Sana din ako soon hahaha

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Haha sana all na lang din me haha

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hehe...tara na pag okay na lahat byahe tayo :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hooooy! Sama ako jan!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks for taking me on the journey as it feels as if I was with you on this trip.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Glad you enjoyed it!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ngayon ko lng nakita ang Amburayan River. Akala ko, there was never an Amburayan in the first place 🀣🀣🀣 ang gaganda pa ng kuha mo ng lugar....

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Ang tagal nga e bago ko to napuntahan. Ganda pala hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ang ganda pala talaga ng river na iyan.. At gumala na naman ako sa iyong artikulo po..Nakita kopo ung outline ng babae sa bato 😊.Another place to be added on the list and to explore soon.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Nung una kung tingin jan dalawang mukha bat di ko na makita un isa hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Napakagaling niyo sir sa mga origin na yan. At napuntahan niyo pa. Galing.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Buti na lang di kalayuan to sa amin hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ang ganda NG mga pic. Parang pag tinitignan ko lumalamig paligid ko.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Mas lalong malamig pag nandun ka hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kaso mahina ako sa LAMIG. "kaya nga nun nanlamig sya sakin, nanghina ako"..

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Ah lahat talaga manghihina pag ganyan hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nagmayat met dayta manen nga napanan u,... Basta my tubig solve.. 🌊 Mapa bundok pa yan o sa baba... 🏊

Tama lagi magbaon ng 1st aid kit, neccessity yan. 😊

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Sabali talaga ti nanang nya advance mag isip haha! Imbag na lang ada balong ni manang.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kasjay tlga nu nanang, girls sccout dpat☺️

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Isu pay.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nice spot😍 As what you said earlier First aid kit should always in to bring about especially there are kids. Yes it is very important having kit in doing activities outside.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

It was only then that I realized how important it was to bring a kit with you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Maymayat koma piman nu han da sinuratan jay bato. Mayat gayam dita. Adda karuprupa na nga karayan ayanmi with big rocks met lang.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Mayat garud first time ko mapan. Makitkitak lang jay pix kakabsat nukua. Ay isu? Baka Amburayan met lang hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Jay San Gabriel. After San Juan. Adu piman agpipicnic ijay.

$ 0.01
2 years ago