Remembering that time in Diguisit

87 158
Avatar for ARTicLEE
2 years ago

A few months before my brother and niece were to fly somewhere for good, we decided to visit places and one of them is Aurora. Aurora is located in the Eastern Central part of Luzon, Philippines. It is a province that is bordered by Quezon, Isabela, Nueva Vizcaya, Nueva Ecija and Bulacan.

The province is full of attractions from mountains to sea. One of those beaches is found in Diguisit. From the town proper of Baler, which is Aurora's capital, we drove about an hours or so to Diguisit.

I have mentioned in pixidust's post about not being to the top of a lighthouse until I remembered this one that we have been to.

That is indeed true although partially.

This lighthouse (or parola in Filipino) is no longer operational. It's about three stories high and once on top you get a 360 view of the inviting beach and the endless sea and lushness of the mountains. You get to see the best of everything.

Towering on top of a hill, it's white color is just a reminder of its former glory. Two lighthouses have taken the purpose of being beacons located on different areas.

So I've been to the top of a lighthouse but this lighthouse is not operational anymore.

The hike to the hill is easy to hard for one must be careful of the rocky parts where some are loose so one must be sure of footing. It took us maybe 10-15 minute hike.

The lighthouse has a concrete step that will take you to the top although it can only accommodate a few persons at the top at a time. The gate has been destroyed which just shows how neglected this place was.

The islets that you see near the beach are called the Aniao Islets or Lukso-Lukso Islets, it's like a giant can jump from one islet to the other.

We enjoyed the view at the lighthouse. Although it was an overcast day, we thanked the heavens for the clouds protected us from the sun.

We would have wanted to stay longer but after taking enough time for photos, we then slowly descended the hill and explored the beach below.

I love the green mossy stones. It gives character and additional color to the whole landscape. It's interesting for these groups of rocks were isolated in an area of the beach and I didn't see it anywhere else. I don't know if you can see it but in the far distance on the right is the lighthouse and on the left is one of the Aniao Islets.

Walking along the beach, we saw lots of shells scattered everywhere. Some were melded with the rocks. The stones and rocks there were colorful. They have a reddish to orange hue just like the rocks that were also on the hill where the lighthouse was. These were things that we we haven't seen before.

We also saw lots of sea urchins and brittle starfish. One have to be careful where you place your foot for you might step on one of these. That's how plenty they were. There were small fishes too but I could not take a photo of them for they swam really fast and getting close to them was impossible.

The rock formations there were also interesting. There were patterns that were made like the crisscrossing blacks lines which I haven't seen before. These were shaped and sharpened by the sea over the years. We did climb some of these rocks to take photos of course.

It was a rocky beach for us to swim but we did manage to find a place where we can safely do so. We didn't stay for long for we explored other places nearby.

There is a place here where there are cottages for rent. We haven't inquired about the rates though. There is also a small store nearby where you can buy some food and other stuff you might need.

This tour to Diguisit is a wonderful day tour that we have had. There were other places of interest along the way but that is for another day.

The landscape of Diguisit changes. I guess that is brought about by the season. Maybe the next time we visit this place, it's a different landscape again.

If you ever plan to visit Aurora, it's worth it to visit Diguisit.

How was your day? It's the end of Saturday here.

It had been a rainy Saturday again and I had more time to spend here in read since we can't go out although we wanted to but I'd rather stay indoors. We are hoping for sun this coming days. We badly needed it.

I had fun editing these photos which were done in Canva and some in Pixlr. Sometimes it is the editing part that eats up my time when making an article.

I hope you stay safe wherever you are.

38
$ 13.64
$ 11.84 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.21 from @Pichi28
$ 0.20 from @Crackers
+ 30
Sponsors of ARTicLEE
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for ARTicLEE
2 years ago

Comments

I have long dreamed of visiting the Philippines. Friends say it's very beautiful there. I hope it works out someday)

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I really hope so too! There are lots of beaches to visit :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm just seeing this lovely piece now, cant believe I waited this long.....you took me on a journey with this, makes me wonder how you do get a clear picture of every little creation around you. Those rock formation looks great ...stay safe

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I'm glad you enjoyed it as much as I did :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Spent the day indoors today. weather was a bit iffy too. Hoping for some more sun tomorrow so we can go for a walk. Looks like you had a lovely time. Quite stunning coastal vistas.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Still cooped up too. We did enjoy the place a lot.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Never been to the top of a lighthouse...i just realized that now... the mossy rocks ang fave ko dito

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I actually forgot that I did until I decided to post this.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Uy wow you got to climb the light house! The time I visited the lighthouse, it was 12 noon and the sun was really making it a hard steep climb. When we got to the top.. no shade even ahaha. but the view was superb indeed!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

The was one with us when we were there. It was windy at the top I got anxious I had hard time looking down lol! Challenging myself, I was able to stay there for a few minutes and enjoyed the view.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Amg ganda po ng lugar, parang pinagsama yung Pangasinan at New Zealand na coastal areas!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Wow un sa New Zealand ha :D Ganda talaga ng Pinas. Lilibutin ko talaga ang bansa natin balang araw.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Waaah! I've been there too! I miss going to that place! Ang ganda talaga ng view pag nasa top ng lighthouse. Hihi. Worth it yung sakit sa tuhod ko sa pag-akyat haha.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

First time ko sat tuktok ng lighthouse. Katakot kasi wala na masyado hawakan hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hello, Thank you for sharing those beautiful photos, I liked the Diguisit landscape, Keep enjoying those special moments and sharing it around here. Thank you.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I like it too! I haven't been to other beaches but not like this. Thanks a lot for appreciating!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Im not sure pero jaan nakatira lolo ko noon and twice narin ako nakapunta jaan sa beach haha Super ganda po ng view jaan lalo na yung mga rock formation ang gaganda

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Tiga jan ba lolo mo? Swerte naman ganda ng place kaya.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Jan po sila nakatira noon pro nanjaan parin ibang kapatid niya pati na rin po kamag anak namin

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Ang saya naman.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This was our plan to visit last year but the pandemic came into play and boom..cancelled.πŸ˜….. At naglakbay na naman po ako sa iyong artikulo . Mas lalo tuloy akong nasabik na bisitahin ang mala paraisong lugar na iyan.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Preserved ba ung mga beaches jan kaya ang ganda. Kung may time lang talaga, bisitahin ko lahat ng beach jan hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I don't know there's place named aurora here in the Philippines. I really admire you for taking great pictures like that. Those pictures looks like in different country.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

That's a gem that needs to be visited again and again :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Beach with fine sand is beautiful but those rock formations are extremely amazing, Lee. 😍

$ 0.01
2 years ago

It's not that sandy for there were more rocks. The breakwater is far in some parts but we haven't explored that far. Thanks a lot!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh my god! 😍 I want to go there. 😘😊

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I want to go there now too :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow, you're really good at taking pictures Lee and of course great in telling every picture's story.

This is not the typical white - fine - sand beach but the rocks formation and the lighthouse gives a refreshing look.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

That's true. There were better beaches up north and we have been to one. I'll post about that soon.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You never fail to amaze me on your shots. It's like you are adding flavors to a simple recipe. May I ask if you are using your phone in taking pictures? They are so beautifully captured. Mapapasanaol ka na lang. 😊

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yup, these were all taken using my phone. Thanks so much for appreciating!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have been to Aurora Province, but didn't go to Diguisit. We traveled from Baler to the northernmost town of Dilasag.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

That's really far. We were one town short I think. Dipaculao was the farthest we've been.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I've been to Dipaculao. Pahaba po kasi ang Aurora kaya nadadaanan po pag papunta sa Casiguran and Dilasag.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Oo nga e. Ang ganda mag road trip :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Grabe po ang daan sir. Daig ang kennon, pero maicocompare ko sa Halsema sa zigzag nya. Pagkakaiba lang, mataas talaga yung sa halsema.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Kaya nga e halos mahilo na kami nun haha!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Uy ang ganda! Makes me wanna visit it too someday

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I highly recommend it. Take at least 2-3 days or more to visit.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ang ganda naman πŸ€—. Gusto ko pumunta sa tuktok ng lighthouse eh.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Nakakalula pero ang ganda ng view.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I haven't experienced to be with Parola or Light house yet, hopefully someday I can experience it. Such a beautiful photos here as usual love seeing nature pics hihi

$ 0.01
2 years ago

It was at that time that I have learned about parola. Hindi familiar ang local sa lighthouse na word. Di ko rin naman alam ang ibang name nya. Buti un hipag ko alam e un ang alam ng taga dun.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nature plays a big role in our universe. Let this beauty remain still as long as our universe exists. As usual nice photographs

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I really hope so too. It's going to be a sad and unpleasant world to live in if we don't have such beauties to enjoy. Thanks a lot!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nicely narrated your story, I love to read the whole your story each photo tells it's own identity.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

That's really nice for you to say! Thanks much!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I think I saw the lighthouse somewhere in movie called Shake rattle and roll with title Parola, I'm not sure if it is but they have the same appearance. BTW I knew you enjoyed well, I miss my province because of that, the rocky sea side, different rock formations and shells everywhere. I hope we could visit soon.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

That's a second movie that lighthouse was referred to. It seems that lighthouse is a popular one :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Parang nakita ko yan sa movie na Baler. Uy ang gaganda NG picture, ang gandang site seeing nito na virtual.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Oh yun yata un nimention in Jinifer sa comment nya. Di ko kasi napanood yan.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Napanood ko sa Gtv to kelan lang, a day before you posted this. Ang ganda sa picture.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Ganda nga naman talaga jan sa Baler. Kakainlove.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oo tama ka dyan

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I live near the coast. I love the sea. Seeing your beautiful images of seashells, coastal species in the sea gave me a lot of joy. They are beautiful images and it is nice to think that you had a great time and enjoyed your scenery.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

The closest beach we have here is about 2-3 hours' drive. We don't have that luxury to go as often as we wanted to so going to the beach is like a new experience every time. I imagine what an wonderful experience to live near the sea :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It is very close to the beach. This is a coastal city. The beach is 15 minutes from my house. Suitable for enjoyment and fishing. and from here and around the coast there are continuous beaches for up to a three hour drive. to one side and to the other there are beaches. And they are very beautiful too.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I'm pretty sure they are beautiful! I really hope some day I can visit Venezuela.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Luh ang ganda ng mga pebbles, naalala ko nalang noon, ang hilig ko magcollect ng bato kaso pinagbawalan na ako ni Mama lalo na pag resort, baka bawal kasi hahaha

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hehe. Pinagbabawalan ko din mga pamangkin ko as much as possible. Okay lang un kunti siguro.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The lighthouse was kinda familiar tho. I think I've seen it in a movie. Or maybe in a Filipino horror movie.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Not familiar with movies. I'll try to check more on that.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The beach is amazing 😻 A Sci Fi movie can be filmed here.. due to its strange colours..

$ 0.01
2 years ago

You are right on that one. You have an imaginative mind.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You are undoubtedly my favorite writer on here I always look forward to reading your articles and your pictures ?? Awesome Thank you πŸ™ for always delivering

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I am honored! I'm sure you'll find others out there. You just have to explore more :D

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yeah actually found a few this is such an amazing platform

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Beautiful stunning sea life. I tried getting fish on photo but when I got home I couldn't find them easily on the shots I took. Love the starfish πŸ‘‹ and the urchins looks crazy angry and scary. Stunning stunning stunning is what I can say.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

It's a challenge when you only have a phone camera to rely on when taking photos of fish.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nice place, would love to be at the top of the lighthouse, how lovely it would be to see the surrounding area especially the endless sea. 🌊😍

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Truly! Such a different experience up there plus battling the fear of heights lol!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The views are really nice, though can't say the same about the starfishes! Hahaha

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I was hoping for other sea creatures other than sea urchins and brittle starfish but there were none.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Naka apanak diguisit han ak informed dita light house

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Adu light house da dita. Ada sa two nga functional.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love this place. It seems Diguisit is worth a visit. I've always liked those places that seem natural and where it seems that man has not left his mark. Especially if they are beaches. The photos are amazing!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

The beaches of Baler, at least the ones we have visited look like that, still preserved to my eyes. It's my first time so I cannot compare.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ayyy, I've never heard of that beach before. I only know Baler. Hahaha. First I would go to Baler and then maybe I will go to that beach too. Actually I am kinda hoping Diguisit has some part reserved. It is teeming with sea creatures! You know how we people are... for sure if it gets crowded those poor creatures will suffer and might die. 😞

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Diguisit is in Baler. I'm pretty sure they have. We haven't really explored the place that extensively.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ganda din jan pero mabato a😊

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Oo tas dami sea urchins Need maghanap ng magandang place na pwede magswim.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ngayon ko lng narinig name na DiguisitπŸ˜… galing mo tlga kumuha ng pics

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Dami lugar dun nagsstart ng letter "D" hehe. Salamat!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Napintas piman jay rock formation. Sabsabali compared dagiti usual kasla ditoy koma. Jay color na pay sabsabali. Apay kasjay talaga dark?

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Wen ngay nagdark. Kasla kitdi limestone.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

mayat ya

$ 0.00
2 years ago