2nd oldest working lighthouse in South Africa

3 23
Avatar for Pixidust
2 years ago

The lighthouse is situated at Agulhas close to the most southern tip of africa in South Africa. It's also the 3rd lighthouse to be built in South Africa and the 2nd oldest still working.

It was built in 1848 or 1849, not 100% sure and it's built from sand stone. A few more facts I found on internet is that it's 27m (89ft) high and the lights range is 30 nmi (56km). Also that the light was first lit on 1 March 1849.

It's not small at all to be taken into account that it was built in the mid 1800s. It's bright at night as I see it often and is something special for me.

I took a closeup shot. A means of perspective is maybe to take the door as a companion for size estimation. I've been inside once before all the way to the top and the view is spectacular. I must say that the stairs to the top is very steep and I remember holding tightly to the rails at the top as the wind was blowing.

Once we get some sense of normality with the pandemic, I'll go up again to take in the view.

I made a small video clip to watch. I took it from inside my vehicle to get out of the wind noise and it seeing the lighthouse from the sea side.

https://odysee.com/@Pixidust:6/Lighthouse:8

1
$ 0.03
$ 0.03 from @ARTicLEE
Avatar for Pixidust
2 years ago

Comments

Couldn't fully watch the video for it stops after some seconds. I'll try again later. That is really old and to think it's the second oldest. That's amazing! I haven't been inside a lighthouse. I've been to three I think but no chance to get to the top.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'll go up again sometime after restrictions are lighter and snap away from top. Some locals tell me that I might be lucky to see the color difference from the lighthouse but it's apparently more visible futher down the wester coast line

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Looking forward to that :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago