Last Excuse. Another memory revisited.

57 90
Avatar for ARTicLEE
2 years ago

I'm not sure if I wrote an article about my experience with a mango tree when I vacationed at my aunt's place. I can't seem to find it.

Anyway, I'll get to that later.

After I wrote Memories of Agoo: Home of Dinengdeng Festival another memory persisted. I think my brain wants to clean stuff out like my phone kept showing a warning that memory is low so I have to clear some space. I have to do that later on or else I couldn't store new things. I think that's what's happening with my mind. It needs cleaning out when in fact my mind is empty. What is there to clean?

There are certain memories that keep playing over and over in my head. As someone said in noise, clearing of space in phone memory or computer is writing down our memories. I use to journal before but then got lazy until eventually I stopped.

I was in grade 3 or 4 when my aunt brought me with her to their province. School just ended so my mom let me go.

When I arrived there, a neighbor who was a couple of years older than me became my instant buddy during my stay there. I forgot his name for that was many summers ago and I was only there once. On days that my aunt had to go somewhere, he would come fetch me from my aunt's home and bring me places. He brought me to the dam which I can still picture in my head. It was deep, cold and I remember feeling scared like something will come out of the water to snatch me and bring into the deep with it.

We searched for crabs in the river. He introduced me to some of the kids too. He would take me to neighbors to watch movies. That is the way then for TV is a luxury. Those who has one were kind enough have neighbors come over and watch.

Saigo No Iiwake (Last Excuse) by Hideaki Tokunaga was a song that was sung by the kids during their closing ceremony. Our aunt's house was just a few steps from the school. When we arrived there, school was just over and the next day is the closing ceremony. I watched the students perform that song both in Filipino and Japanese.

I have heard that song before but only in Filipino. To hear it sung in Japanese was a new experienced for me. I was amazed then. I thought all the kids there know how to speak Japanese. That's why whenever I hear that song, it always takes me back to that place.

The experience that I was referring to was when I tried to climb a mango tree after a rain. Me and my playmates decided to climb a tree. I don't know how to climb a tree then but seeing them do it made it seem like an easy task. I tried but unfortunately I slipped and as I did, my shirt was caught in a nail sticking out ripping my shirt and leaving a gash on my torso. I was bleeding, bruised and dirty. I hurriedly went home to my aunt who attended to me tenderly.

I still have that scar as a reminder.

To this day, I haven't asked my aunt who the kid was who was ever so kind to be my friend during my stay there. It's only know that my memory of that time seem to be persistently occurring. I'll remember to ask my aunt about that and hopefully she remembers.

I am grateful for that kid for making me feel home.

Have you had memories that kept playing over and over for a day or two? Could it be a sign? Could it be that the persons in those memories are reaching out?

All the photos above were taken from my walk this morning when I was out for a jog/walk. It feels so good to be out and about of course maintaining distance and wearing mask when in crowded places.

I thought I will be able to spend more time here since noise is down most of the day but I just can't. So I just had to do what I can do.

Catch with you again later. Cheers!

28
$ 10.39
$ 9.62 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Jane
$ 0.05 from @gertu13
+ 19
Sponsors of ARTicLEE
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for ARTicLEE
2 years ago

Comments

Yeah I also have memories of the past and I think it applies to everyone especially when it is a wholesome memory you dnt want to let go!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Most of the times though it's the bad ones that keep recurring lol!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Woww!!! One of the things I miss is getting crabs in the river too.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I remember finding one but it slipped away from my hand scurrying quickly somewhere. That was enough for me. At least I saw one :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I remember you have told us this story before. You never told us about your mom's reaction. I know you went through a lot of scolding haha

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I don't remember her scolding me though :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Some memories appear in our minds suddenly and remain for a while. I also wonder if it is a signal of something.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

With all that's happening in this world especially with pandemic, it makes me wonder how he was. I hope he is okay.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

In not sure if you have read my article about fall like a feather where I mentioned my childhood experience of falling from a tree 😅 It was really hard and my heart stopped for a while and I was out of breath. I even thought I will die that day . lol.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Oh no, that's scary! That kind of out-of-breath feeling will make one panic for sure.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Memories that always wondering in our mind cam lead us to misinterpret some times. Like Filipino we have this briefs that if butterfly land near at us some say it was our beloved who passed away.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That's a popular belief indeed.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha what's the moment when you was falling from the tree. I also falling from the swing in my childhood. And my mother scolded me a lot.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I had an experience with a swing where I hit my head and it bled. I have a scar on my head from that.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I remember falling from a mango tree too, I was 6 that time and we always love to bring salt with us whenever we are climbing that tree so that we can stay there for a while while eating fresh mango. I was eating peacefully that time and then when I lay on the branch at my back it fall down. The moment I open my eyes I saw my friends in panic I lost consciousness for time being and they're scared maybe I'll die hahaha

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I hope you were okay and not seriously injured that time. That's scary.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Is it a norm that whenever we go visiting any close relation we must get injured? Lol...

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I guess so lol! It's all part of the adventure.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

When I was a child I liked to climb trees, especially fruit trees, I didn't see the risk of falling. Today I don't even manage to climb 3 meters. Excellent photos, always delighting me with these images.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I'm not sure if I can climb trees now :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yaas naalala ko yata yun sa article mo kuya yung nasugatan ka dahil nadulas ka sa puno. Yun ba yung umuwi ka rin mag-isa sa inyo?

Basta ako nung bata, akyat nang akyat kahit ilang beses nahulog. 😆

$ 0.10
2 years ago

Uy ang talas ng memorya :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nung bata ako ang inaakyat namin madalas ung puno ng balimbing ng kapitbahay namin taz may baon na kmi asin kasi sa bubong na kami nakatambay at nakain

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Parang kami lang nung high school pero sa mangga or sampalok hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ay masarap din po un hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Though memories are short lived they are the most unforgettable. Beautiful memorable Experiences may be little but they still remain evergreen in our heart.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That is the truth. Some will live forever in our memories.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I normally reach out to the friend if there is such memory. Just to make sure they are ok or something..

If they respond good. If they dont ok also if they find it weird that i am reaching out then i laugh it off. Hehe

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That's great practice and we should do that often. Sometimes we need someone to talk to.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

That is a fact!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I read that article .. I don't climb tress because my feet can't make it.. there's no playing in my head lately 😅

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I was traumatized by that experience of mine I haven't climbed a lot of trees.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Owww sana naman magkita kayo ulit kung sinuman yun. Sayang naman kung di nyo makikilala ang isa't isa.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Gang ngayon di ko pa rin natatanong tita ko tungkol sa kanya pero mukhang wala siyan contact e hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

perhaps you are longing for adventure sir.. hehe hopefully no more bruises next time you climb a tree

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Not really that expert when it comes to climbing trees as I have fear of falling :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I climb not just mango trees in my childhood days since we live in the province. It's soo good to reminisce those days. ☺️

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Those are great memories for sure.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wala na, limot ko na ibang memory ko noon. May naalala pero iilan nalang. Lalo na pag dating sa tao, haha. Pero marami pa rin akong good memory nong kabataan ko, mas malala nga lang ang kalokohan haha

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Di kasi ako exposed masyado sa tao kaya iilang lang talaga ang memories ko din hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ehhhh, shy ka noon or prefer mo lang mag isa.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Shy gang ngayon :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kaya ako takot sa mga akyat akyat puno eh. Takot ako sa heights tsaka malikot ang imagination ko, like what if mahulog ako? Tapos duguan ako, or may badurog na buto or anu pa man yan hahah!

Same din, down lagi ang noise on my end. Kaya bihira ko mabuksan.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Di na ako naakyat ng puno mula nun. Iilan lang ang mga puno na naakyat ko hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Aba dapat lang. Para di na mainjure hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Meron din po akong experience noon na matagal ko na siyang kalaro din pero nabibisita lang tuwing bakasyon ko sa bahay ng auntie. Kaso lumipat na ng bahay ung auntie ko kaya di ko na siya mabisita. Nakalimutan ko pa mahingi fb for communication.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Minsan ko lang siya nameet. Di pa uso ang cellphone nun kaya walang way na macontact nun hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We all have these types of memories. Sometimes one particular memory flashes on your mind for several days and make you nostalgic. Glad to hear that you didn’t have bad accident that day. Oh i see, you are a secret keeper. Lovely.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

You are right. I have been having recurring memories sometimes.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nice childhood memories :) I love climbing trees, especially the guava tree hehe :)

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I haven't climbed that many trees but back in high school there were some that I did since the school compound has lots of them especially star apple and tamarind.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Starapple has fragile or weak branches, I haven't tried climbing on Tamarind trees.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Star apple is more slippery too when wet.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I tried to be fall from mango tree when I was young, but I'm just glad because my hand was still holding on to the other branches of the tree.Sarap maging bata,😃

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hehe nakakamiss nga e.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I feel you! There's been a lot of times that I just space out thinking about certain memories of the past and can't focus on anything else other than trying to remember the details.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

It's frustrating sometimes to remember all the details though.

$ 0.00
2 years ago