Memories of Agoo: Home of Dinengdeng Festival

56 84
Avatar for ARTicLEE
2 years ago

I have yet to attend Agoo's Dinengdeng Festival. Dinengdeng is a vegetable dish that is cooked in banga or clay pot during the early times. This festival replaced the Tobacco Festival. Because tobacco festival is very common in this region, the municipality decided to come up with another festival. Thus, the birth of Dinengdeng Festival. Source

What I want to share with you instead are those times that I have been there.

Agoo is a first class municipality in the province of La Union. This is about 230+ kilometers from Manila, the capital of Philippines. Source

This is an hour away from Baguio City.

My bestfriend's roots are from La Union. When he was still studying here in Baguio, we would pay a visit to his relatives down in Agoo. The first time I visited that place was when he brought me along. I remembered their grandfather who was bedridden that time was being attended to by my bestfriend's mom.

I also remember we attended a wedding of one of his cousins. We helped in decorating the church. Another time was going to the housewarming of the house of one of his aunts that he designed and built.

I have shared that photo before in one of my articles here.

That time, it was my first time to visit the beach of Agoo. We went to one of the fishing villages there. There was one resort but the beach was not good and it looked like the resort was neglected so we went to where the fishing boats were.

There were only huts then.

We arrived there around 1 p.m. and it was really hot so we rested for a bit. Good thing the clouds gathered to block off the heat from the sun. I remembered it was my first time to see a seahorse there. It was really tiny not bigger than my pinkie. It was a lone seahorse and it was swimming with us. I was so fascinated by it. I haven't seen another seahorse since then in any of the beaches that I have been to.

I was trying to find the other photos that I took that day. I have one particular photo of the sunset then but I just couldn't find it.

For additional reading, click here.

The photo above is the Basilica Minore of Our Lady of Charity. This is located in the center of the town. This church was finished in 1978.

You can read more about this church here in this blog. That was the other blogging site that I joined.

The influence of Spanish ear is evident wherever you go here in the country. Churches like this can be seen almost everywhere. They conquered the country and introduced their culture and religion which we have adopted.

Churches are one of the things that I like to see whenever I travel to a place. The Ilocos region is full of them.

We visited the church one time when we have had enough of the rain that inundated us here in the mountains. We don't feel like going to the beach just yet but we just want to feel the heat. This was before pandemic times of course when we were free to travel.

We haven't explored Agoo that much so we decided to visit their church.

This is the way going to some of the relatives of my bestfriend. The road is still not paved.

Unfortunately, the last time I visited Agoo was not a happy one.

My bestfriend is working abroad. Whenever he had a chance, he would visit his relatives there and us here in the city. I think it was a couple of years or more since the last time we saw each other before this one.

I brought with me my sister and my mom. My sister and my bestfriend's sister are batchmates. My mom and my bestfriend's mom haven't seen each other in a long time. It was sort of a reunion when we went there but sadly, it was not a happy meeting for the purpose of our visit was to pay respects to my bestfriend's uncle (his mom's brother) who passed away. The other siblings of his uncle locally and abroad were able to visit as well and I got to meet them all.

Me, my mom and my sister waited for my bestfriend at the bus stop and then headed to his uncle's house.

My friend told me that this is the house that we slept when we helped one of his cousins on his wedding. How can I forget that? I don't know but I honestly did and until know I can't recall ever going there. I know we went to a house somewhere that time and slept but I can't recall the place.

While there we visited his aunt's house, the one he designed and built and had refreshments and snacks there.

After that, we had to say our goodbyes and headed home.

More about that here.

I took a break from noise and read yesterday. I really wasn't feeling it. It's not that there are no ideas to write but it's just one of those days that you just don't want to do anything else but rest. So that's what I did.

If you noticed, I don't reply to your comments right away. Again, it's not that I'm ignoring you but this is how it works for me. I read all your comments but it takes time.

I'm not sure why but my visits in Agoo had been playing in my mind the whole day like a last song syndrome so I decided to write about it.

28
$ 8.76
$ 7.97 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Crackers
$ 0.10 from @Rezanur
+ 16
Sponsors of ARTicLEE
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for ARTicLEE
2 years ago

Comments

Well, I don’t know about others but now I am in Agoo... 😍 You brought me here in this beautiful place.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That's the purpose of this :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow such a beautiful place I have heard of the church but I never saw the pics, thank you for showing me this!❤

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Glad you liked it :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kunak nu j agoo daytoy nga awanak. Jay ada seahorse ken yellow submarine hehe!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Adu adu nga yellow submarine haha!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

it's a wonderful place i think. Anyway I don't know about the others,But now I'm at the forefront I mean agoo . I came here in the middle of a dream.Which I really like.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Good to know. Cheers!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sometimes a memory takes you back to a different world. I understand your feelings because I too felt the same when I remembered something. I even dreamed of it when I think of it too much. I'm interested of the seahorse you find though. I wished you had a photo of it.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

In my excitement, I haven't thought of taking a photo of it. At first I thought it was just a fish that I ignored it only when it kept swimming with us did I took a closer look.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have that experience too Kuya Lee when I suddenly recall an event from the past and it lingers in my mind throughout the day. Good thing you shared it with us and now I got to see that beautiful church of Basilica Minore of Our Lady of Charity.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Bakit kaya ano? May pinaparemind siguro pero kadalasan di ko alam kung ano hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ang sarap po ng dinengdeng, madalas namin ulam pag medyo gipit haha. Ang dami pong underrated places dito saatin, bawat lugar may kanya-kanyang attraction.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Mas prefer ko pa rin ang gulay :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Memories are cool but that feeling of wanting to do it again but you know you can't get that maximum enjoyment again, because saddening.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That's right. I hope we can all be free to go travel again.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I wanted to see a seahorse in person. In fact, I wanted to have it as a pet hihi.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Muntik ko na nga iuwi un e kaso mag isa lang nya hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The picture of Basilica Minore of Our Lady of Charity looks amazing and a bit scary at the same time, I don't know why though!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I do get a feeling like that especially when it gets dark. It's good to go in though for it cools you off from the scorching heat outside. It's the statues that give me the creeps the most.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Basta dinengdeng. Ilocano food tlaga hehe. Miss ko na kumain ng version ni papa ko ng ganito. Yung bagoong isda Yung gamit.

$ 0.02
User's avatar Yen
2 years ago

Iba din kasi magluto ang mga Ilocano e hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oo tapos bilib ako Kasi kapag sinalang nila Hindi na nila hahaluin hahahaha. As in tanchado nila lasa 🤣

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
2 years ago

Rest if your body needed it to. I love watching historical churches. I've been to Ilocos Norte and Church of San Agustin in Paoay has a spectacular views.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

So far Paoay is my fave church. I hope to go back there again.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

balik ka na sa steemit ... di na kelangan ng maraming words... join ka sa steemitphilippines.. active mga tao and there's a contest sa mga magppaverify from luzon.. eto link: https://steemit.com/hive-169461/@loloy2020/steemit-philippines-community-s-new-verification-process-07-20-2021 and eto ung contest: https://steemit.com/hive-169461/@fycee/steemit-philippines-luzon-monthly-report-august-2021-or-also-introducing-an-onboarding-contest

inform mo ko kung nakapag verify ka sir...

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Ah now ko lang nabasa to hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Good that dishes are being replaced for tobaccos. Hope you had a wonderful time with your family and friends on your visit to Agoo. Nice road pic. You should take a break when you need to. Sometimes being mentally free makes our day full fledged.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

We all need a break from time to time :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Indeed very true, friend

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The church filled with statues in front of it is very beautiful. The architectural design is very unique and also like buildings during the European Empire

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Iba din kasi ang mga churches na ganyan e. Nakaka attract lang hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Aww the smiling pic of kids made me smile ear to ear and the inside of the church looked so pretty, what a nice architecture :)

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Those kids I will always remember.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Your memories of your visits in Agoo are full of feelings, of meetings with loved ones. And sometimes of farewells, like that of your best friend's uncle. For your last comment, the same thing happens to me when answering comments. I have problems with the connection, I always answer with hours of difference.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

These are just the few times that I have been there to Agoo that's why I can still remember them. This is already a month-long article and I'm still checking the comments and replying to some lol!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Namiss ko tuloy mag ulam ng dinengdeng . Dipa kasi namumunga mga tanim na gulay dito eh 😅.. That church is looking great ..by the way.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Namiss ko na din haha! May mga luto ako nyan na gusto ko kaso di ko makuha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Even I can somehow get LSS lol. Agoo was lovely, pare

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Ou din. Sarap sa probinsya.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Siguro malaki lang impact sayo pag naalala mo yung lugar pre.it's the same for many of us also...i love the capture of the church though☺

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Parang ganun nga yata hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nice pictures and nice places! You don't have to be guilty about your absence, we all need breaks sometimes :) Thanks for sharing!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thanks! :) Indeed, me time is all the time :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

matagal kana palang user ng steemit kuya, (stalk ako saglit) teehee. ako this year ko lang na discover eh tas nakalimutan ko din agad password ng account ko HAHAH

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Ou kung san blog sites pa ako galing bago napunta dun hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Grabe para nadin akong nakatravel dahil sa imagination ko na nanyan ako🙈

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Gang imaging na lang muna tayo hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Diningding is masherep. Haha mahilig ka din pala magphotographs ng mga churches! We have many church on our province! Hehe

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Isa sa mga wishes ko ang ma picturan lahat ng churches sa bansa natin hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It catches my attention the statues outside the church. It isn't something very common.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Two churches I have been too have the same concept, statues outside the church. I have not seen that many statues here in the churches in our city though.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The Basilica Minore of Our Lady of Charity got my attention. It was built many years ago but looked so beautiful. ❤️

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Indeed. Churches are fascinating :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Malapit lng ba La Union sa Apayao?

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Ah malayo layo siya, @Jane. Mga 8-9 hours siguro.

$ 0.00
2 years ago