I thought it would be over in less than an hour

45 94
Avatar for ARTicLEE
1 year ago

I like how the title rhymes.

There you go.

I did mention before that I applied for renewal of my passport. This is my second time to renew. This last passport I had was never used outside the country.

My original appointment was supposedly October 31 but then it was declared a holiday so I was given the option to either go on November 11 or November 2. If November 2 will be declared a holiday again, then I would have to stick for November 11. This is usually the case because November 1 is a holiday and people are just coming back from vacation so naturally the next day is supposedly a rest day still to recuperate before going back to work.

Thankfully or not, November 2 was not declared a holiday, which is today.

My scheduled appointment was for the slot of 12:00-13:00. The day indicated in the email was wrong for it said Friday instead of Wednesday but I still went today.

I started preparing an hour early because I was thinking of walking some within and around the mall for my blog.

The DFA was located inside the mall so it was convenient.

I arrived at the mall a few minutes after 11 and headed straight to the floor where I thought there was a computer shop.

I got there and lo and behold, nothing. There was an information booth nearby and I inquired if there were still computer shops in the mall and I was informed there were none.

My guess was due to pandemic and also it is no longer a lucrative business since almost everyone is already connected online through their devices.

The worrier that I am, I frantically went out the mall in search for a shop to have some papers printed. I am supposed to print my application form and e-receipt because I already paid it online. Everything is done online these days.

The shops around the mall's area were also gone. To save time, I went to the area near the universities and I was in luck for I found one shop that prints.

It's pretty convenient too for they have wifi available. I was about to load so I could have data to connect to the web. Clients will just have to connect to their wifi and send to the shop's email what you want to print. Quick and easy.

I checked my phone for the time and it was already 12:00 p.m. I underestimated the time. I quickly walked back to the mall and straight to the DFA where I then processed my passport.

When I got there, we were required to photocopy our old passport. Good thing there was a photocopy area within the agency.

From checking of application to processing, it was faster than I was expecting. It was on the last part where one had to be photographed and fingerprinted that there was a delay. It was there that my time was consumed the most.

When it was my turn, during the fingerprinting process, I had to be asked by the officer to wipe my hands off because it was wet lol!

When taking the photograph, you are shown how you look like whether you want to change the photo or not. What I noticed was that guys don't give a damn lol! Hair awry, shiny/oily face - don't care. It seems we have waited too long enough that we just want to get out of there. Even the officer was in a rush too so they can accommodate as many people as possible. What's important is that the information in your passport is accurate and correct.

This photo was taken at a bank below the mall. I took this photo while waiting for my turn on the atm. Our rent is due so I have to withdraw some cash. There was a short line but I didn't mind. It was the last thing I needed to do anyway. I didn't go for a walk anymore because I was hungry and I have not eaten anything yet.

I arrived home past 2:00 p.m. What I thought was a process that would take about an hour took about three hours but all is well that ends well. My new passport will be available for pick up on the 22nd. I hope I won't encounter any mishap with that.

The lead image was taken from this post. Check it out to find out.

28
$ 1.89
$ 1.14 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Coolmidwestguy
$ 0.05 from @esmeesmith
+ 20
Sponsors of ARTicLEE
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for ARTicLEE
1 year ago

Comments

Felicidades ya logro su pasaporte a pesar de todas las vicisitudes del día, Meta lograda.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Indeed and I am thankful for it :)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

And don't you just love how Filipino passport is valid for 10 years now?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

True para di waste sa mga kagaya namin na hindi nagagamit ang passport lol! Dapat kasi isang passport number lang bawat tao parang SSS ba.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oo nga that is actually a great idea. It's easier to remember too.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It was fun adventure with you. From reading your article it seems like I have been seeing it myself and or I was with you

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thanks a lot for appreciating!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

These things take a lengthy process in our country roo. As it is our requirement no matter what we have to wait patiently

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That's a sad thought. I hope agencies can come up with quicker way to do things.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Pag renewal mabilis lng tlga Yan at lahat Ng photo ko sa passport is Chaka hahaha. Need to renew na nmn c passport ko😁..

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Same din nung nagapply kami hehe. Wala kasi ako naging problema. Un pag claim ang mabilis na lang.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Katagal naman noon, pero at least diba natapos naman in the end. Di umuwing luhaan. Ang malala yan tung nag antay ka tas walang napala, haha magwawala wari ako pag ganyan, lol

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Tama at least natapos. Un ang importante.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You also be grateful you accomplish the task, even it was 2hours late

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It's beyond my control so I just went with it :)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You went through a lot to get it registered.. Must have been a long day for you, i could remember when i tried to get just national Id took literally the whole day... Have a good night

$ 0.00
1 year ago

When I registered for national ID, it was quick. It took about 10 minutes. However, it's been a year now and I still haven't received my ID same with others who applied.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

this reminded me to get valid ids na soooon. Typical na gov't offices talaga madalas aabutin ka ng mahigit isang oras para sa gagawin mo ih.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Dapat talaga nakalaan ang half day para lang sa isang agency lol!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I haven't tried to have a passport heheeh

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Un pagkuha lang ng schedule ang mejo mahirap din pero pwede na ata walk-in ngayon.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I have done mine last November too. Anyway congratulations, atleast it's already done and you'll going to have your new passport soon. Ten years na din yan.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

True. Pero sana magamit sa purpose nya talaga haha!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That means the new passport would be used outside the country? You didn't expect to spend such hours out there but you did. Sorry about that and thankfully, you got your passport done successfully.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hopefully I can travel to other countries soon. Please BCH be kind lol!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I didn't had a hard time on my passport this year. There were lots of people too but I didnt stayed for longer than 20 minutes. And yes I printed my documents and even photocopy it. Still the processing as of today is slow as told by many

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Good for you. I think because it is more lenient now that's why more are able to go out and about.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It is very hard to renew a passport or even get one here in my country. It depends on money. Those people need to bribe the workers there before they make it fast. The normal process may take up to four months

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That sounds worse :(

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That's a classic.... waiting for bureaucratic tasks, paying the taxes and so on and then you realize you need photocopies and print papers!!! and everyday it's most difficult to find those places to take physical objects not only digital or online. You were very patient and you got it! By the way... I saw a word on that form: empleyado (is it employee??) in Spanish is empleado, so still some similar words as numbers too, right? ;)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You have a keen eye :) Yes, it means employee. Depending on how it is used, it could also mean workplace or occupation :)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Glad tapos na din sir lee. Hintayin nalang kailan I released. Minsan talaga akala natin matatapos lang ganung oras tas hindi pala.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Kaya nga e

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Here in my country, the process of renewing or even registering a new passport could be quite unnerving. One wait in line for as long as 4 months

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I cannot imagine that long wait.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Bet gutom na gutom k na after that, 3 hours b nman jeje.. u weren't able to take a shot of ur lunch na 😁

$ 0.00
1 year ago

D naman masyado :D

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Never had one though since wala naman syang purpose pa as of the moment. lol. Thus, ayun na nga ang ganda ng photo shems.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Kuha ka na. Gang 10 years na yan :D

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Naku ung akin maeexpired na kasi 5years paun eh

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Parenew ka na hehe. 10 years na ngayon.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I'm glad you were able to process it today.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Me too :)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Malaki ba ang gastos pag kukuha ng passport sir clee?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

1k pag regular process. Same pag renewal or hindi.

$ 0.00
1 year ago