Is Technology Good for the Kids?

51 127
Avatar for tired_momma
2 years ago

I prefer my kids to play outside but I don't deprive them of technology like phones and other gadgets. As when I was a child, I wished I had what other kids have but sadly my parents couldn't afford them.

The world keeps changing. Time flies and what we used to do when we were young, the new generation will not appreciate. I remember there's no such thing as an indoor game in my time. You will be chase out by your parents to play outside. We climb trees, we play rough games, we walk barefoot, we get our body and clothes dirty and that's what we called 'play'.

There are no gadgets in our time. We have rubber bands, paper dolls, slippers, tin cans, spiders inside the match, Chinese garter, playing cards, text, yo-yo, spinning tops and many more. We don't know anything about technology. Then all of a sudden it exists. They started this brick game, Tamagotchi, game consoles and there it starts to know who's parents got money and who have nothing to spare.

And I can tell you I was so jealous just to see my neighbours playing their brick game. And sometimes I save money to have a go on it. And how I cry to ask for my Mama and Papa to buy me one but those days was tough. Money was hard to earn just enough and sometimes not even enough to buy rice. So I understand those bits.

But that was before. Time changes everything, people change, technology keeps changing and we are in a new era where kids are smarter than before. And technology is everywhere. And the used to be playtime becomes technology time.

My kids outdoor play includes:

  • Riding the bike

  • Running in the garden

  • Playing tennis

  • Playing basketball

  • Playing football

  • Going to skatepark and ride the scooter and skateboard.

  • Riding the quad

Is it good or bad?

I'm going to answer this based on my experience, not with science or how other's people view it. And in technology, I'm only emphasizing the use of mobile phones as this is I'm familiar with. I have two kids and both of them I not deprived to learn new things and having gadgets. But as I said at the start of my article I prefer them playing outside.

But..

I want them to be familiar with the technology. I love to see them learning. I love how technology teaches them so many things. My kids have mobile phones, Nintendo Switch, Xbox and they have their TV to watch their programs.

I am so thrilled every time my 5-year-old daughter Tia, show me things she learned. I love how she learn great stuff watching YouTube and playing with different games.

One day, I was sitting in the chair and Tia on the couch when she suddenly sings a song and to my surprise, she knew the song. She knows the lyrics of it even I don't know that song. She has this game on her phone that she plays on the keyboard and sing with it. And she can have a perfect score and I was like, what?! My baby is really good!

There's this hairdresser's game that she's playing and she's good at cutting hair, colouring it, putting make-up on the virtual model and she can do it beautifully. We only have paper dolls in my time.

She also can play this Minecraft and build a house and everything. Even ask her granny what kind of house she likes, the colour, how big and she really can build it with the garden, toilet, bed in it. I don't have a clue how can she do that and even she shows me it is too complicated for me. But I was really impressed.

My 11-year-old son loves to play games and watch on YouTube. He is the one who thought Tia how to play Minecraft and build houses. And I see nothing wrong with that. They could be my future engineer.

The thing about technology is if we let the kids abuse it. THERE SHOULD ALWAYS LIMITATION. Too much screen time ruin their eyes and their development. If they only play games on the phone, they will not play outside just stay in the house the whole day. And I can tell you it can be very addictive and that is not good. But I set rules for my kids:

  • If they're watching movies or cartoons they can only finish one movie and in a maximum of 2 hours then they have to take a break.

  • If they're playing on phones, they can play or watch for about an hour. But good thing Tia and Jigz only take a notion to play their phone. They still love to play with toys and outside the house.

  • And I always tell them not to watch too close to the tv or don't hold their gadgets too close to their eyes.

  • No phones in their room. So I make sure that they don't play in the middle of the night.

Their phones have certain restrictions in Settings and it's under "Parental Control". It means that I have to approve what they install on their phone, what games or I can see what they search on the internet. In that way, I know if a certain app is not for them.

And you know what? That gives me a break too! If I'm cooking I know that they're just there especially Tia. I know that she's just playing with her phone. Some days we all sitting on the couch holding our phones. And sometimes we all watch a movie together and that's our bonding moment as well.

And when on flights, phones and tablets are my friends to entertain the kids. And it works like wonders.

But I must admit that as a parent we still must watch our kids using phones or other gadgets. Making sure that what their playing or watching is safe for them as not everything is appropriate for every age. And the virtual world can be dangerous and some are taking advantage of our innocent ones. Parental guidance is highly recommended. Technology is good when you use it right. Gadgets are a powerful tool and you have to take advantage of what it can offer.

Encourage outdoor play and at the same time allowing them to use gadgets in moderation and with parental guidance, I think will not do them any harm.

I would love to hear your side parents or soon to be parents! 😊

Thank you for reading.

39
$ 14.19
$ 12.63 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.11 from @King_Gozie
$ 0.10 from @Jane
+ 27
Sponsors of tired_momma
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for tired_momma
2 years ago

Comments

Moderation always tastes better! A healthy mind in a healthy body.

Nice article tired_momma, I'm encouraging you again here.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

that's a good way of balancing things.. I have known kids who are just playing on their ipads all day. my niece is one and I am glad she now has some friends whom she can play with outside the house...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Naabutan ko din po yung panahon na di pa uso ang mga gadgets at ang laro talaga ay outdoor. Para sakin mas masaya nga po talaga yung laro na nakakapag interact ka sa ibang tao ng personal dahil mas nakakaenjoy po sya. And okay naman din po yung mga games online yun nga lang po kailangan talaga may limitations.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

sa atin nakasanayan natin puro outdoor games and that's one of the reason bakit ang saya ng childhood memories natin then sa brick games alam mo yung nang hihiram lang sa pinsan ganun. hehe. Mainam din talaga na gumagamit ang mga bata ng gadgets kasi ng eevolve na ang ways of living natin. Maganda yung ginagawa mo na may parental control pa din.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Maganda mag outdoor activities madam kung malaki ang lawn at kumpleto ang gamit. Hehe pero tayo mga Pinoy always finds its way to look for fun. 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kailangan lang talaga yung tamang pag gabay,wala nmang masama sa pag gamit ng phone,dahil may makukuha ding aral dito, basta ang importante yung nagagabayan at may limitasyon sila.😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We lack in setting limitations and being an example to them. Good for you for you seem to be doing the right thing. Also, kids are smart for some knows how to go around the parental control :D

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Then they know I will get their phone if they try to do so. 😅

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I think its not unimportant to realize the choice between keeping the kid inside our outside depends largely on the location where you live. In more rural areas or in quiet suburbs the choice to kick the kids out to let them play outside seems a logical one and less concerning than when you're in a city or suburb where there are more concerning things to worry about outside than there are concerns about keeping them inside the house.

I can understand that kicking the kids outside to let them play is an attractive option for parents, especially with kids that tend to be overactive. Having the house quiet down and being able to get things done without interruption can be very nice at times. But when you're in a city these days, at least in the area where i am, could be the shortcut to a world of misery no parent should suffer. When the kid is outside they're basically unsupervised, and there are many ways the kid can get in trouble, some of which you as a parent could be left totally unaware of.

Especially when peer pressure comes into play, the kid can get exposed to an altogether different social environment than that of a family or school environment, and it's one a parent rarely is fully aware of, or control over. You have no idea who's out there, nor can you control who your kid meets and interacts with.

Generally, in cities, the odds that the kids your kid meets outside are from lower class backgrounds and/or have questionable moral and ethical personalities are greater than you'd want to know. And because there is no or little supervision from adults the social rules get determined by the children's rule of majority and the rules of the strongest. Often one of the first rules in groups of kids in unsupervised environments tends to be Omerta. Don't tell your parents anything about what happens outside.

So even though kicking the kid outside to play outside "just like when we were kids" feels like the right, logical and smart thing to do, protecting them from the bad influences of technology besides giving you as a parent some much needed peace and quiet, it might be the worst thing you can do for your kid. You might be setting the kid up on the road to crime, addiction and misery.

Not saying this is inevitable or even likely but if you live in a city or near an area in which there are many lower income families you might want to reconsider very hard whether keeping the kid inside, and giving them a broader range of possebilities to do by giving him/her a computer (ban mobile devices, smash them, destroy them) instead of a console, isn't the a whole lot better and safer than sending them out to play with the neighborhood juveniles.

$ 0.20
2 years ago

This should be an article. And got your point! As I knew people and places that would rather let their kids stay inside the house just like you said, it's much safer.

Where we used to live our house was just in front of the street, with no play area for the kids so they just have to go to neighbours houses to play or our relatives and mostly they only play PSP. So I have to send the kids to the province and experience real play where they can climb trees and play with other kids and get dirty.

But playing outside with others have consequence, hearing curses and learning to use them and I see kids at a very young age smoking, it's really not easy so as much as possible I want to guide my kids to learn what is right and enjoy them being kids.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Don't have a kid yet but I have a 3 year old brother. My brother learned a lot by using mobile phones. Well, he only watch videos there. He can also search for the video he like to watch by just pressing the voice recorder and let google search it for him. Lol. So that's why we always monitor him on what kind of movie or cartoon he watch. And just as you said, never let them abuse it. Everything should be in moderation.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

That's right. And do you agree that the kids are far smarter nowadays? They really are! 😅

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Everything has its pros and cons. Likewise, with gadgets, I truly believe that its really beneficial yet we should use them in moderation. Though it is highly advisable that we should use it moderately, some don't even totally do it at all, including me.

Well, I love how you were able to check them and include using gadgets for recreational activity. I think it really works in wonders.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Yes Frances, I have to. And I'm really happy when they show me new things they learned and how excited they are!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Everything has its limits talaga. There must be balance in everything coz if not magkakaproblema ka na sa pag disiplina. It's a lesson for everyone in general.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Yes dear, and that's how you discipline them as well.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This topic has been debated over time over and over again honestly technology has its good sides and bad side in the sense that it has made things easy especially for the younger generation but it has bad sides too Which is anybody anywhere in the world can Influence the outcome of an event or person with just typing words

Anyways nice article by the way I love this

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Thank you Jumper. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The good is much more than the bad that's if they are guided and not expose to the one that can damage and destroy their future.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

That's right Adereign. Proper guidance and restrictions should be done by the guardian.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The is of technology is good for kids but you gotta limit the way they use it so they wouldn't be exposed to certain things beyond their ages. Parental guidance and all. Let them play outside and enjoy the childhood I never had.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

That's what I do dear. :) Thank you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It does go both ways! The kids will live in a world full of technology! So it is good that they do start with it early. Some games also does teach them to find solution and thinking outside of the box! But playing with non technology toys, does need them to use their imagination or does means doin something physical! So no technology is bad, but too much also!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Same thoughts bhe, I want my child to explore outside to have a wonderful memories of her childhood but I don't deprived her in using gadgets because we are now in digital era and she can't be behind since it's in her generation already, she must learn how technology works.

It aslo helps her to learn things faster as she can see it often on videos but there's always a but, I have to limit her exposure time as well to avoid radiation addiction. It's on us parents how we will going to guide them.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Technology, it has both goof side and bad side. He problem is we let our children using bad side most. As you said you prefer them playing outside.this is important. But at the same time they should have technological knowledge so that they beome aware of this digital wold

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Probably? Ahh should be parents knows their actions in front of there kids becuase kids what sees in their parents can apply easily even parents didn’t teach them, so that parents should be always responsible in every actions that they do.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's a good thing that they are responsible when it comes to technology. They know how to set time with it while still being able to get outside and play. Yung mga pinsan ko at ibang nakababatang kamag-anak mas madalas nakatutok ang mata sa screens.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Di din naman talaga masama na eallow ang kids sa paggamit ng smartphone or other gadgets. Basta sana alam nila ang limitations nila madam ano. Saka maigi yang anakis mo at nakakalabas pa rin. Unlike ung ibang kids nakakulong lang talaga ss loob ng bahay, maghapon pang naka gadgets. Di nila alam unang maaapektuhan ang mata nila kaka ganoon nila. Aguyy.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ako din dati nun maliit pa ang anak ko eh natutuwa ako kapag nakikita ko sya na natututo gumamit ng computer, gadgets kasi kailngan nila yun matutunan para di mahuli sa bilis ng takbo ng mundo. Mahirap din un napg iiwanan at masabihan ka ng ignorante. Pero ngayon eh nasobrahan naman, hahaha.. Maghapon sa gadget pero okay na din, kesa maglalabas sya with friends and di ko alam kung saan naglalakwatsa..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love that you never restrict your kids to use gadgets po but still, na me maintain yung physical activities nila. That's right. Dapat kasi talaga balance lahat ng bagay. Gadgets actually gives a lot of learnings and information to the kids nowadays. Minsan nga mga pamangkin ko po, ang fluent ng english dahil sa pinapanuod nila sa youtube. Basta lang may limitations 😇

$ 0.00
2 years ago

As of now, even a 1 year old baby know how to hold phone, and it's not that good, the radiation and light from phone can damage the eye. And as they grew old using phone all the time they wouldn't see the real meaning of life

$ 0.00
2 years ago

sad to say my one year old baby enjoying watching cocomelon😔 yes its too dangerous for her age but we do limit using gadgets, hoping for new normal life , free to play outside , no virus, from now all i can say is to stay at home for safety.Keep safe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Mas maganda ibalance madam. Yung ma experience yung naexperience natn nunf kabataan pa.. At matoto sa technology. And. I guess you are doing it well 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Technology is good but for an extent.. too much indulging in technology is not good for kids.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

IAM against of giving technology to the child because at time they need to play outdoor game . But they are spending their time on playing game like PUBG. But it's own parents rather they allow or not .then they need to do they should said to their kid that always play outdoor games daily

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You have said right! Parents have a big responsiblity in terms of using gadgets, just like what Im doing with my baby, If I said stop and eat first, whether she likes it or not, i will collect the phone and eat first and afternoon i let her play outside and the next time she can hold the phone is after dinner and cleaningbher body

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We need to understand that whether we allow these children to get involved with technology and all the gadgets that come with it, they will always have a way around it and that is when it gets very ugly.

Allow them to flow with the changes that come with technology but not without a close inspection and direction.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am not against a child using gadgets or phones, even I would love to get them for my children but there should be limit because too much of addiction over it can damage and influence them negatively. As parents, they need to monitor what they use their phones for. They should learn from technology and not the other way round.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

As much as i wanted them to play outside as for now its quite impossible unlike before... I just limit their use of gadget

$ 0.00
2 years ago

If I compare the life before than right now, all I can say is, life before is the full of enjoyment and happiness, as a kid before, w don't have gadgets and we can't afford to buy one that's the reason why we prefer to play outside the house, running in the field, climbing at trees and get lots of bruises but the most memorable is a hard stick that hit in legs hahaha that was fun. Sadly, here on Philippines, even a 6 year old kid are already engage on streaming, he's sitting there all day just just play the game and didn't go outside to play, how sad this society I have today. That's why it's important that parents should guide their kids not tolerate them in using gadgets.😢

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love your analysis of this and that's so true. I would love my children to familiarize themselves with technology because it helps them, increased their thinking rate and of course to learn new things and not be left out amongst their peers but as expected, it should be checked. I love the outdoor engagements of your children because it helps their human to human relations with others which is important as well.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I really love your view about this. Technology has been really helpful and there are lots of benefits it has to offer kids with the guidance of their parents.

Kids can easily get distracted and you know what the virtual world looks like, it could be dangerous for kids to navigate through the virtual world all alone.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I used to spend so much time playing outside that I often even ate lunch outside with my hand. I would even consider the time to pass while eating inside as a waste. On the contrary, current families do not want to keep their children out too much, which is right. There are quite a few dangers out there. They think that it is best to spend time at home with a tablet, phone or computer.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This topic is quite controversial. I think there is both an upside and a downside to kids using technology. It now then depends on if the upside outweighs the downside.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

There are both advantages and disadvantages to using technology. Personally, it is good for children if parents educate them to use it for educational purposes.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I can't agree with you less ma'am. So far there is parental control, kids should be allowed to use gadgets. We are in a technology age. If parents don't allow them to use it they will be forced to learn how to use it outside. And that is bad because they will learn both the bad.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

And the reason that I'm not a techy mom. They knew more than me and I don't want my kids to be like that. Just like you said we are in the technology age. I don't want them to be left behind.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Seriously, i wouldn't like it, there is going to be am abuse of it, here in Nigeria addiction always set in, where children even cry to have the gadget before they can make peace. Growing up, my parents wouldn't let us have it, they do not want us to be distracted, but life has changed now though. They both look beautiful, make it a moderation please

$ 0.05
2 years ago

I know and see it many times on the internet but it depends on the parents and how they let their kids use their gadgets. Some parents are too busy providing for the family that they let their kids have unlimited use leading to addiction to gadgets which is the problem.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

So true sis. Sabi nga nila, everything is good but in moderation. Hindi naman talaga masama ang gadgets ehh.. They are very useful if we use them in the right way. :) You're such a great mommy. :)

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Technology has its benefits just depends if we use it's right. Just like you said Hindi naman Malaga masama :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago