How To Write A Story

50 93
Avatar for snapping.turtle
2 years ago

Alright everyone.

After much thinking and contemplating, I have decided to teach you on how to write a story. Why? Because...writer's block haha. But don't worry, this is very easy and it's going to be really quick. Just bear with me.

First off, we need a weapon. Yup, pen and paper, that's our weapon. If you prefer to bring your tablet or smartphone, that would do too.

Next, you buckle up. We are going to travel. But don't worry, no need for passports and such, we only need our mind. That's a fun way to travel. Now you decide in which direction; eastward, northward, wherever--it's up to you.

Then you decide which mode of transportation you'd like going there. Flying is the fastest way to do it. But if you are up for an adventure, then walking, or riding a car, or riding a train like that in Platform 9 ¾ is the way to go.

Rule of thumb, do not stray. If you have chosen to ride the train in Platform 9 ¾, you don't go about writing Harry Potter fanfiction, there are a lot already. That's the same if you chose to fly. You don't go about writing Superman or Wonder Woman fanfics. Let's write our own, shall we?

Okay, let's say you choose flying. Then let's fly. Let's look for a person to be our main character.

Do you see that girl sitting on the bench? Her hair looks nice, smooth and silky. How about we make her our main character? Let's write a story about a girl trying to get into a shampoo commercial. But she can't, right? We need to have a conflict in the story. Let's see…

Are you up in writing horror? How about let's make her hair a monster. It moves on its own. Yup, that's a conflict. Then let's make her hair camera shy, it eats everyone in the set. Gross.

Okay, scratch horror. I don't write in that genre either.

How about romance? Everyone likes romance. Alright. But we need to find a leading man, that's how romance works--two to tango.

How about that guy over there. Ooh, nice car. No? Too old? You're right, he looks like a grandpa to her. That's a questionable age gap. Okay, not him.

How about that guy inside the building? Hard working kind of guy. Young and handsome, knight in shining abs. He's perfect, right? Let's choose him.

Alright, now that we have a leading man, let's go back to our conflict. Remember that she can't get into the shampoo commercial. Let's say that she is really shy. Nah, that's too shallow. How about let's make the leading man her childhood enemy and he's the manager of that shampoo commercial. There, we have another conflict.

Alright, let's recap. The girl can't get into the shampoo commercial because the manager is her childhood enemy. There's no way around it because for some weird reason they kept on bumping into each other. What a messy conflict we have. But as the writer, it is our responsibility to solve it. We need to. We won't be able to finish it if we won't.

And nope, we can't turn the hair into a monster and make it eat the manager. Remember the rule of thumb, do not stray. We are writing romance, not horror. And also, that's gross.

Let's see…

Remember that they kept on bumping into each other? How about they get tired of hating each other and the guy decided on inviting the girl for a cup of coffee? No?

How about the guy actually had a girlfriend? Do you see that slender girl applying make-up? Sassy. She's a good candidate for a girlfriend.

Okay, the guy doesn't actually love his girlfriend. His parents just arranged it for him. But the girlfriend loves him because...let's say he was her childhood crush.

Now the girlfriend is too clingy, and the guy wants to stay away from her. Now enter our main character and yes, they bump into each other, say in a mall. Yup, the mall is very convenient, the guy can invite the girl for a coffee.

And the guy said, "How about let's trade, you get the shampoo commercial in exchange that you pretend to be my new girlfriend. I can't stand that sassy girl."

There we have it! Conflict solved! Where's the romantic part, you ask? Of course we make it flowery in the middle. They have pretend dates of course, flowers and chocolates included. They fell in love in the end. Then, that's it--the end.

What? You want fantasy-adventure? After all the trouble in plotting a love story, you want fantasy and adventure?

Jeez...

Hello, ladies, and gents.

Thank you for reading this turtle's humble article. If you enjoyed the ramble above, you might want to try some of my previous ones too.

I'm Not Here

What time is it?

Bored Logos

Girl Gamer 101

If I'd be a Princess

I listed five because my list is getting longer.

Alrighty!

Thanks again. Smile and have a nice day.

18
$ 17.96
$ 17.26 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.20 from @JLoberiza
$ 0.10 from @carisdaneym2
+ 9
Sponsors of snapping.turtle
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for snapping.turtle
2 years ago

Comments

I never had the chance to create a story here that is not my own experience. I am thinking though but I don't know how to start. Thanks actually for sharing it really help ☺️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you for this Snapping.Turtle...Write more please

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Thank you for dropping by. I also have some rather silly things listed in my profile if you like 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Awesome tip! And I love the way you presented it! But....

I was hoping you'd turn it into a romance - drama, -horror-comedy story! 😅😅😅😅🤣.

Thanks for this, now I have to rethink that minotaur story of mine. It's been in my head for years!!!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha adding horror to it would really be messy. Hey, write your minotaur story. I'm sure that minotaur wants to be known to the world. Go, go, go!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm pretty sure that writing is your passion.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Yes po, it is! I love writing stories. Stories that doesn't make sense most of the time XD

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That was a blessing. Sana all hilig magsulat hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

No, I wanted a horror-fantasy-adventure-rom-com and you just did all that lol!

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Oh, thank you for dropping by. I didn't realize that I had all that genre in one hahaha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Woow hahahah. I can't stop myself from chuckling while reading this 🤣🤣. You are so good in writing. I prefer to mix the rmance and horror story hahaha. Make the girl's hair a monster and eat the manager 🤣

$ 0.05
2 years ago

I'm so glad you enjoyed it. But that's so messed up if the hair eats the manager hahaha. I can't bear to imagine it 😱

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahahaha mahilig kasi ako sa horror ahhaha. Natatawa ako sa mga bida eh 😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Jusko, hindi ko kaya ang horror. Buti ka pa natatawa, ako nakatago na sa likod ng unan.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha antatakot din naman ako. Kaya lang mas natatawa ako sa reaction ng mga actors hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha kakaiba rin ang trip mo. Di ko talaga kaya yan, matakutin ako 😵

$ 0.00
2 years ago

🤣🤣 sabay tayo manuod 🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nyahaha ayoko! Kahit anong genre wag lang horror.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahahah

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh my days! When i saw the title i laughed and thought it will just be some long article explaining what we already know. But this looks like a practical. I was envisioning each scenario. This is really great ma'am. Let me go write a story

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha gotcha there. I was also thinking about that when I was writing this. But I also think that it's going to be cumbersome to read. So I made it playful. Thank you, thank you for dropping by.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

me... How to write a story...

Tru my imagination and in my dreams. hahaha Since I'm also writing stories. and that was my top hobby. I even made more than a hundred of stories since 90s...

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Dreams is a great source of story. I really would love to read your stories. I'm going to sub you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Suuure

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hehe that was brilliant, it seems I have been using read to write stories , not that I am complaining. I loved this and you described the story making process really well.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I feel proud of myself whenever you drop by. I give myself a pat in the shoulder that I might be doing a good job. Thank you, thank you 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You are doing more than a good job, you don't just write nonsense to meet a one a day quota, it is cool because I never know what to expect when I start to read your articles, but they are always engrossing and engaging! Have a well deserved pat on your back 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Giving myself a pat on my back now, and a hot cup of coffee 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hehe well done !

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Okay, next time I will try to make a fiction story

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Please do tag me so that I may read it. Thank you for stopping by.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

okay

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You almost lost me there when the girl's hair started moving. I hate horrors. 😂 I'm still convinced that I'm bad at writing stories. Once I've made up a conflict, I'll get entangled and never get out of it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's why I don't write horror, I won't be able to sleep at night hahaha.

Speaking of conflicts, you can write a story with hanging conflict. That's a thing. But your readers are going to be mad at you for it 😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha..a cliffhanger that has no conclusion. I hate that. Almost all horror movies employ this technique. That's why I don't watch. Don't like to be scared sh1tl3ss and left hanging. 😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

They leave the ending to your imagination 😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

They should pay me for watching then since they can't come up with an ending and needs my imagination. Hahaha..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

If only they would, we'd be rich just by watching horror movies 😎

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Not a writer of fiction or any genres but this is kinda fun. And I really love the platform 9 3/4, and with that I'm gonna read HP again mwhehehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That platform was so iconic. It was the start of Harry Potter's adventures in Hogwarts. Thank you for dropping by, mommy.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is cute! And yes let's don't write a horror story, might have goosebumps on every part of my body haha. Thank you for this! I can imagine what you were saying there :) 🌼

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I don't like writing horror story too. I can't finish a book on that genre too hahaha. Thank you, thank you for passing by.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hehe it's my pleasure :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks for this turtling 😂 i enjoyed how you plot this article maybe one of these days i can try it out 🤭

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, yes! I really would love to read it. Antayin ko yan ha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'd love to see this in a big screen!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha kaloka. Hindi ako marunong magsulat ng love story, frend. Baka maging corny.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

gawing mong thriller love story na may pakidlat kidlat pa hehe. galing. natuuwa talaga ako sa mga posts mo.inuli kong binasa eh hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Baka matamaan si guy ng kidlat, baka madedo hahaha. I'm glad that you enjoyed it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

haha wag naman sana po

$ 0.00
2 years ago