If I'd be a Princess

10 20
Avatar for snapping.turtle
2 years ago
Topics: Free writing, Ideas

Once upon a time, I had a lot of blogs. Most of it was on one blogging platform that I have deactivated eventually. I don't know, the contents are just too childish.

Anyway, I was tossing and turning my head upside down for a topic. But I really can't find one. So I said, "Hey, why not revisit those childish things. I still have access to it. It won't be that bad, right?"

So there I was, slowly and carefully opening the Pandora's box. Careful not to cringe so hard on some of the nasty stuff. Careful not to hate myself too much on the silliest joke. My God, did I really write this?

Somehow, some of it are nearly okay. I can somehow forgive myself. Some of it really made me laugh. I can't imagine that I was really funny back then.

And so I was browsing, I stumbled upon one of my entries titled "The Kingdom". What caught my eye was the thumbnail of a pixie that I probably got from Google. And yeah, without proper credit to the owner. I'm so sorry, I was young and had no idea on copyright. I used to just paste nice pictures there. But it's no longer searchable, it's for my eyes only. Forgive me, oh dear creators of nice pictures.

Okay going back, the content of my entry was about how I would be if I'd be a princess. Of what I would do. Any relation between the thumbnail, the title and the contents? Little to nothing. It's like three different animals in one place. That's how childish I was.

But then I asked myself, what's the difference between the old me ten years ago, and the me now when faced with this question. What if I'd be a princess?

My younger self  said she wanted the walls in her room blue; the color of the sky. It has to be big and should have a porch where she could watch the moon and the stars at night.

The me today says I want something old school. Like white paint on the walls. I would like my furnitures to have intricate carvings and should be trimmed with gold. A bed with a canopy.  A study area on one side of the room and it has to have a lot of books. I love books. I couldn't agree more on the porch thing. It's old school and a good source of fresh air.

Next, the younger me said that her room should have a secret door. The secret door would have a secret tunnel that leads to a secret garden. There, she would bring her laptop. This younger me didn't consider time appropriation. Medieval period with a laptop, seriously?

The younger me and the me today still have something in common. I say a very big YES to the secret door, and garden. I love gardens, especially with different species of flowers. I love to just get lost in a myriad of colors, to just be there and probably sitting on a swing. That's rich, right?

Then, she said she wanted to have pixies as her guardian. Now, that explains the pixie thumbnail.

She said that she didn't want fairies because fairies can be big and pixies are small. She said that pixies are portable and childish enough to agree with her to escape the castle walls from time to time.

Oh man, the younger me hasn't heard of familiars yet. They can vanish in thin air. They can be summoned anytime, anywhere. They have a lot of talents. And, they can be cute and cuddly, or fierce that breathes fire; you just have to pick your poison.

I say that I want to have a familiar that looks like a bunny cat. My familiar has teleportation power and is a master of Kung Fu. It can also transform into its most powerful evil self when our dear life depends on it. Cool, right?

The old me was seriously outdated.

Last but not the least. My younger self wanted to escape the castle from time to time. Not because she was so sick and tired of always being perfect for everyone. Or wanted to have a taste of normal life. Or just for the heck of it. Nope, not that one.

She wanted to pretend to be a commoner and go out in the open because of a lot of things. She wanted to know how the citizens under her kingdom were doing. She wanted to know the monkey businesses and who runs them. She wanted to know how the lower class were being treated. She said that there's no way for her to learn these things if her day would just go by sitting on a fancy chair.

As the owner of the younger self, I am proud and definitely would also say YES to that. For sure I will become queen in that kingdom, and I'd be someone with the loudest voice. I don't want it to go to waste. I wanted my kingdom to have peace and order. If it's too good to be true, then at least I would make sure that no one is oppressed. Monkey businesses will be dealt with accordingly. The me today would also like to add learning trade and commerce to the neighboring kingdom, so that my people would have enough jobs for them to have food on the table.

Finale

The child within hasn't grown so much. I am still fascinated with magic and adventurous things. Still engrossed with fantastical books and movies.

Maybe, that's me. There's this one that doesn't grow old. Even though my skin wrinkles and sags to the floor, my knowledge widens and my eyes see the darkness of the real world. There's still the part of me who dreams of super power and such.

It made me smile upon writing this, the child in me hasn't grown. How about you, did the child in you grow up?

4
$ 0.59
$ 0.50 from @carisdaneym2
$ 0.09 from @meitanteikudo
Sponsors of snapping.turtle
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for snapping.turtle
2 years ago
Topics: Free writing, Ideas

Comments

Actually no. It still didn't grow and still living inside of me. hahahaha I love the teleportation power. I've been dreaming to have it for ages actually.

hahahah silly me

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes! Another one with still a child at heart. Actually, teleportation is very handy in this pandemic. You can teleport to the store, and teleport back home fast.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

indeed...I can also teleport from home up to Korea hahaha joke

$ 0.00
2 years ago

And crash into one of your idol's house and have an their autograph taken and a selfie 😅

$ 0.00
2 years ago

on point exactly hahahah.,...might as well took some jackets and caps for souvenir

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Very real indeed. Age does change people's preferences and all that. But I wish that you don't grow too old inside, we all need to be a kid in our hearts so we can appreciate happiness and all the sweetness and goodness in the entire world.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I couldn't agree more. Having the child within us reminds us that there are still wonders in the world.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's exactly it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lelels I remember my journal fantasizing about my knight and shining armour😆

Had a fun read here. Also, thanks for passing by awhile ago.🌼

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm so glad you had fun reading my article. Thank you po for passing by and for the generous tip 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago