Girl Gamer 101

0 22
Avatar for snapping.turtle
2 years ago

Before I start my blabber, lemme give a big thank you to my first ever sponsor @HappyBoy

Thank you so much, dear sir. I'm so pumped more than ever in pouring some juices into my writing.

I've been meaning to write about this last week, but some other topics that I had in my head were a lot easier to write so I let this one sit at the back.

That was when I read my first evah sponsor's article Addiction needs no send forth party. I also left a comment about the topic, then I said, hey it's  time to finally write this. Let's start.

***

A long time ago, Ragnarok Online was released in the Philippines. It was the first ever MMORPG in the country. I was one of the thousand adventurers who waited patiently on my chair til the servers were finally up. One of the many who went killing spree on them poor little pink porings.

During those times, boys roleplayed male characters and girls roleplayed female characters. Some of them boys who created girl characters because the sprite looked nice despite that it's two dimensional, they outright announce that they are a guy in real life whenever someone mistakes them as a girl.

Before we get to the exciting part, please be reminded that this happened eighteen years ago on this date 2021. Things are a bit different today.

Now the exciting part, since girls are not known for this kind of thing, those who actually played and stayed are like diamonds; rare and precious. And also on those times, female avatars are automatically considered as girls, unless they said that they are not.

That being said, boys get excited and extra chatty whenever there was a female avatar around. They tend to show off, extra kind too. Until now I am not sure why boys get thrilled whenever they find out that behind the avatar is actually a girl. Dunno, I think they find it cool. Boys, you tell me.

Now back to being rare and precious. Inside the game we were being showered with items, even the rarest will be handed to us without question. Boys offered boosts. Offered themselves as meat shields, even if they were using the  squishiest class...ehem ehem mages.

We were like royalty, princesses, goddesses whom they offer gifts just for our mere presence.

And this, my friend, was the birth of chixilog, short for chicks na may itlog (girl who has  eggs way down there).

Boys who roleplayed as girls and took advantage of the perks of being a girl gamer. Free boosts, free items, free in game money, maybe they love the extra attention too.

It got worse, they got boyfriends in-game. From there they got free cellphone load, free in-game load, free whatnot load, free house and lot. Lol, kidding on the latter part.

You see, our reputation was being tainted by these chixilogs. We were being questioned if we were real or not. They joked on wanted to see our pics. Man, we don't need to prove anything.

We were being labelled as chixilogs too. That's kinda hurtful to a girl who really enjoyed playing online games.

This leads to our topic, how to spot a girl gamer. What are their characteristics. I guess the title was a bit misleading, but here goes.

I'm just a girl!

Nope. That's never in our vocabulary. We don't announce "I'm a girl" in world chat, guild chat, party chat or whatever chatbox that is. Chixilogs do that.

I for one don't like extra attention. I am also not a damsel in distress that needs your protection. I can pretty much look out for myself. It even came to a point where I pretended to be a guy to get away from those things. Silly, right?

Darling, I really like that legendary weapon. Buy it for me, please *insert smiley face here*

People, we don't beg. We have patience and perseverance, a lot of it. We can build our characters without your help. Enhance our equipment like our life depended on it. We can pretty much make our way to the top, we are competitive.

We can even solo bosses if we want to. I do that, died a lot of times. Hey, who said I need to kill it?

Please be gentle on me.

OMG. I can't believe I just said that, it left a bad taste in my mouth.

Boys, we never ever say that. Again, we are not your damsel in distress. Remember perseverance and patience? We use that to get stronger. By that, we can kick your sorry asses to kingdom come if you piss us off.

While half of us are okay with grinding, I belong to the half who loves PVP. It is boring for me if a game doesn't have a good PVP aspect. That includes guild wars, group, solo and even PK (player kill). Yes, we PK, for a very valid reason most of the time.

Who's house is this? It's cozy.

In this new generation of MMORPG where players can decorate the interior of a house even if it's a pvp-heavy game, you can tell that the owner of the house is a girl.

It is organized, cozy, and well-planned. We don't just dump random furniture in there. We don't paint the walls with random colors, we select them carefully.

We love to customize.

That goes to our characters too. We can spend the whole day on the Character Creation screen. We carefully select the hair color, the style, the eyes, and its shade, every detail and contour of the face and body. Save for the boobs. We don't oversize the boobs, or the hips, or both. What is wrong with you, guys? Why do you need to oversize those?

Then we also spend half of the day naming our characters. We don't just put random letters and numbers in the box. It has to be unique. It has to reflect our personality. But definitely we don't start it with an adjective, especially these; pretty, cutie, sweet. We don't like a name that describes a candy.

Heal or Hell

The complete opposite, but we love both. I'm talking about a support class and a magic welding class.

Healers, we are born to support, to nurture. I played a lot of games where I main a healer. What I liked about it was the challege of keeping everyone alive and well. I was good at it, being loved because of it. My hubby even joked that I have this Mother Goose Syndrome, if there's even a term like that It's because I cared too much than just being a healer.

And we have the mages, or any magic welding class. My first character in Ragnarok Online was a mage. Dunno, I just like the idea of wrecking havoc at a distance. I love those flashy skills too.

While a few number of girls find mellee classes enjoyable, the rest usually choose between the two. I for one, never find joy in mellee types, especially a tank. What? My beautiful character doesn't deserve to be swarmed by ugly mobs.

***

I think I have everything tackled. It somehow felt like a rant rather than a list.

Thank you for reading. If you enjoyed this, you might want to try some of my previous articles too.

The Curious Case of Fried Towel

If I'd Be a Princess

The Tale of Petra and Pedro

I also leave my sponsorship box here for kind people to sponsor this little turtle.

Sponsors of snapping.turtle
empty
empty
empty

1
$ 0.05
$ 0.05 from @HappyBoy
Sponsors of snapping.turtle
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for snapping.turtle
2 years ago

Comments