Improve Your Articles With These 5 Writing Tips

27 67
Avatar for remofm
Written by
2 years ago

I may be a newbie to the cryptoverse, but I’m already a pro in writing. I do it every single day as a journalist for the past 7 years.

I’ve come up with this blog because I’ve seen a lot of articles that, I hate to say this, need a complete overhaul.

I hope this blog can help you. But brace yourself because I’ve written these 5 tips quite frankly.

Sponsors of remofm
empty
empty
empty

1. Know Your Niche

What is "niche"? That simply means what you love to talk or write about.

In my case, it’s about fitness, foreclosed property investment, and my life as a journalist.

It’s important to know your niche because that’s how you’ll going to last long in your writing journey. If you’re just forcing yourself to write something, probably you’ll end up stopping very soon.

I even encountered some users writing about “I don’t know what to write so I wrote this and that blah blah blah”. It feels like these people are just writing for the sake of consistency to earn big. But that’s not how it supposed to work.

If you have nothing to write, then don’t write. Don’t waste your time. Just rest and recharge because you’re probably exhausted from writing. New ideas sometimes come when you’re taking some time off.

2. Start Strong, Don't Bury The Gist

Always remember, the title and the first three lines of your article are the most important. That’s when you can grab the attention of readers.

If you start with “Good morning my fellow users blah blah blah”, no one’s going to read your 500-word blog. That’s because you’re writing what everyone else is writing – some kind of repetitive angles and greetings.

Just go straight to the point. Begin with a unique title that users don’t expect to read when they open their notification panel or browse their feed. Sometimes, clickbaits work. Your title and first three sentences should give users an overview of what they’re about to read.

3. AvOiD wRiTinG LiKe tHis.,,,..

In my country, it's called "jejemon".

Mixing big and small letters followed by improperly used punctuation marks are eyesores. Readers wouldn’t want to see that.

Write decently that is pleasing to the eyes especially if you have a long article.

Meantime, if you are struggling with subject-verb agreement, it’s totally fine! It’s okay to get it wrong especially if English is not your first language.

Surely, there will be judging eyes. But as long as readers can understand the message, you’re okay.

However, if you want to improve, watch some writing tutorials online or use browser plug-ins and apps that can help you. I personally use Grammarly when writing my blogs. It helps me to check my grammar and spelling before posting.

4. Use Subheadings, Do Bullets Or Lists

Tell me, when was the last time you completed reading a 500-word article from start to finish without skipping any paragraph? Probably, you also scanned this blog when you opened it and missed this sentence.

It’s normal because the attention span of people doesn’t last long with so many distractions and tasks to finish. Honestly, a 500-word article is too long that’s why you need to break it down.

I also personally saw a lot of blogs here that were overwhelming to read. Imagine your screen filled with so many words. I ended up closing the tab for those articles without finishing it.

Subheadings or the smaller titles in between your blog can help. You can also do bullet points or lists. This way, you can let readers scan the article easily.

5. Be Yourself

Everything listed above is nothing because at the end of the day, writing a blog has no rules, no boundaries, and no limits.

I’m afraid to say this but yes, you just wasted your time reading the first 4. What really matters is yourself and your ideas. Just express who you are and keep going!

But I hope the first four on the list will help you to keep writing good quality and original content on read.cash. I’m not discouraging or intimidating you. I’m here to help just like how I helped @Review before on how to improve his content, and how I answered the call of @reEplayZ to come up with this kind of blog.

Don’t get me wrong, I, myself is a work in progress. I’m as imperfect as you. I’m not spared from committing sentence construction and typographical errors. But what matters is we continue improving.

I am also far from being an expert. You know, I don't earn big just yet both here and on noise.cash so I probably need to do more with my posts. I just wrote these writing tips based on my own experience as a journalist who was trained to write and produce content, and who was also tasked to train news writers joining our broadcast media company.

What I want to happen is we come up with blogs that we can proudly share here and beyond.

Check out my other blogs. In case you’ll find errors, let me know in the comment section below.

Fitness Journey

102kg To 77kg: How I Lost 25kg Body Weight

Avoiding These 6 Food Helped Me To Lose Weight

6 Things That Helped Me Lose 25kg Body Weight

"Check The Label, Mommy!" How To Read Nutrition Facts?

102kg To 65kg: Here’s What I Eat In A Day To Lose Weight

Property Investment

I Bought My Own House At 27, Here's How I Did It

Step-By-Step: How To Buy A Pag-IBIG Foreclosed Property (Part 1)

Step-By-Step: How To Buy A Pag-IBIG Foreclosed Property (Part 2)

Pro-Tips: How To Buy A Pag-IBIG Foreclosed Property (Last Part)

Illegal Settlers Invaded My Property! How Did I Deal With It?

Life As A Journalist

Paano Maging Mamamahayag sa Pilipinas? Kwento Ng Isang News Producer

Behind The Camera: How Journalists Work From Home

With An 8-Hour Job, How Do I Manage My Time

“Media Sa Pilipinas, Mga Bayaran!” 5 (Funny) Insults Vs. PH Media

Travel

Alam Mo Ba, May Puso Rin Ang Pilipinas?

Random Stuff

When COVID-19 Hit Our Office, Here's What We Did

Should 'Axie' Players Pay Tax?

Everyone Is Talking About This Update On Noise.cash

Laptop At Bag Ko, Tinangay Ng Kawatan: Paano Ako Na-Budol-Budol Gang?

This Is The Biggest Plot Twist Of My 2021

13
$ 3.62
$ 3.35 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @immaryandmerry
$ 0.05 from @Pichi28
+ 6
Avatar for remofm
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

After reading this wala pa din ako maisip na topic HAHAHA I am always #5. What I found difficult is thinking of title saka yung first sentences. Nakaka drain minsan mag isip ng magandang sentence para makuha yung interest ng readers.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I agree, Mrs. Pepper! Doon din ako nagtatagal. Kaya minsan hinuhuli ko na lang 'yun, mas nakakaisip kasi tayong idea pagkatapos natin isulat nang buo.

Kaya mo 'yan, Mrs. Pepper! May maiisip ka ring bagong topic. Ang dami pa namang ganap sa bansa ngayon.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is exactly what every writers need to observe. Thank you so much for sharing your knowledge through this article. Hoping to read your other articles soon.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks, too, for appreciating my work, Frank! I hope to reach more users here and inform them of the proper way of writing. I want to grow a community of writers who create good quality content. I'l check out some of your articles, too!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Maraming salamat. Mabuhay.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks for sharing these tips. On point and you really hit the right spots to tackle. I am seeing many users who's not making use of the different features of the platform.

I hope that this could reach a large number of audience. We can really use all the stated tips above to improve more in writing.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you, Mary! That's also my goal. A lot of writers here have big potential. I want to help them!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah. That's what I want too. This one that you wrote is already a huge help. We could help more by providing more articles such as this one.

Will surely support you with this goal of yours. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you for your article . It is very helpful. I will be sure to use what I have learnt.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you also for reading, Diziette! I hope more writers will join this platform so we can expand the community.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you for the tips hope I would learned to apply those tips on my next article

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm happy to help, Salie23! I'm looking forward to see more of your articles!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you

$ 0.00
2 years ago

These are wonderful tips, but two most important ones you mentioned are "finding niche" and "Being self"... ever since i succesfully figured out these two, I never had any issues writing :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you so much for reading and always supporting my blogs, Theblackdoll!

Same here! Right before I joined noise.cash and read.cash, the first thing that I did was to establish my niche. That way, I can write easily.

It almost felt like I'm talking to my friends while writing my articles. The same goes to yours. Whenever I read your content, it feels like we're not strangers. I feel comfortable reading them.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Medjo guilty ako sa number 1 hahahah! Pero it made me realize what my niche really is.

Makapagsulat na nga ulet. Thanks!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Aww. I'm happy I helped you realize your niche. Kaya mo 'yan, mgrshgian! I'm looking forward to your next one!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have a lot to learn but I think something is missing, number 6 and 7. You are right about the 5th tip, you can't be a good writer if you can't express yourself or if it's forced.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you for pointing this out, Greatwolfman! I was supposed to write 7 tips but 5 was already long. Then I forgot to edit my third sentence before I published it. I found other typos after reading. I'm just as imperfect as everyone. But learning.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

It was beautiful, I learnt new things

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Excellent article to clarify the steps to create and design new articles. Thanks for writing.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm glad to help, RDMoy! Let's keep going and continue writing good quality content that we can proudly share. Thanks for reading, bruh!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You had so many articles in here that worth reading. That is why when I see you posted, when I am reading at night, I will drop by for sure. I am looking up to you, and now I learn another from you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Awww. Thank you for the kind words, Grecy095. You're support means a lot to me. You've always been there. I'm more than inspired to write more helpful blogs. I'm looking forward to your articles too!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am guilty on most don'ts ahhaha. Finding a niche though is one of the things i probably keep brushing aside simply because i cannot pick one just yet. Same goes with my photography.

On funky days I hit no. 2 and no. 4 right. I definitely do not do no. 3. That's horrendous for me even if it is sms. I am definitely always no. 5

Thanks for the pointers sir!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you for reading, Pichi! The niche will come to you. I read some of your articles and they're not badly written. I enjoyed them. It felt like my younger sister's talking to me. You're articles are easy to digest and understand.

At least, we realize our mistakes and learn from it. That's one step towards improvement. Let's keep going and grinding! Salamat, Pichi!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Waah.. thank you for reading some of my stuff sir and thanks for that encouragement! Yep going and going!

$ 0.00
2 years ago