Illegal Settlers Invaded My Property! How Did I Deal With It?

7 264
Avatar for remofm
Written by
2 years ago

After weeks of delays because of the seemingly never-ending lockdown, finally, I was able to visit the property that I bought in the province of Cavite.

But upon arrival, my excitement turned into a nightmare. I was shocked by what I saw.

A family of five was settling in my property as if they own it.

This is a story of my encounter with them.

In case you missed it, I’m the guy who has been sharing pieces of advice about buying a foreclosed property in the housing agency Pag-IBIG. I was able to buy my own house at the age of 27. You can read my previous blogs here and here.

Sponsors of remofm
empty
empty
empty

Illegal Settlers Welcomed Me

It was the morning of September 25th when I visited my property. My heart was filled with excitement the moment I woke up until I took the bus. It will be my first time to open my property and tour around!

But as I walked inside the subdivision, I felt the cold air on my skin, as if telling me that something wrong was going to happen.

Anxiety crawled all over my body when I saw the door wide open! I was shocked to see illegal settlers living on my property. Two young children, boy and girl, were having a normal Saturday morning inside while watching cartoons on TV. A motorcycle was parked outside. Some undies were also hanged on the doorway.

I didn’t believe it at first. I thought that I might be at the wrong address. I hoped so. But no. I double-checked the house number in my keys and the signage beside the door and both proved that the property was really mine.

I couldn’t believe it. I visited that house in June right before I joined the public bidding. It was empty and locked. It was even marked as UNOCCUPIED by Pag-IBIG.

Three months later, illegal settlers welcomed me in my own property.

I Didn’t Expect What Happened Next

I was clueless about what to do. There were only two young children to talk to. I approached the girl and politely asked for their mother.

It felt awkward to say “excuse me” and “I’m sorry for bothering you” to the occupants of my own property.

The girl said that their parents went to work. She instead called their big sister who was upstairs.

I talked to the big sister who, I think, was in her teenage years. At first, I didn’t know what to say. I was confused! Horrible thoughts ran in my head.

How am I supposed to introduce myself as the owner of the property? What if they panic and attack me? Am I ready for a word war? What if they have papers proving that they are the eligible owners?

But then, I began by confirming to her the house number. And in a very soft voice, I told the big sister that I am the owner of the property. I asked again if I can speak to their parents.

She immediately told her younger sister to call their father who is a tricycle driver. While waiting, the big sister got me a chair. A few minutes later, the little girl came back and told us that their father was not around.

During that time, I felt that their big sister was as shocked and confused as me. I told her to calm down and assured her that I am not kicking them out.

She tried contacting her mother through video call. Luckily, she answered.

You Will Not Expect What Happened Next

Ma, may naghahanap sa inyo ni Papa. ‘Yung may-ari ng bahay” she told her mom in a cracking voice.

Pakausap nga” Her mom replied.

It was at that moment when I had the courage to introduce myself properly. I told their mother that I already bought the house and I was shocked at what I saw when I arrived. She kept apologizing for what happened.

Pasensya na po kayo, Sir, kung tinirhan namin ang bahay n’yo. Gipit lang po talaga kami” she told me humbly over the phone.

I was relieved to know that the illegal settlers on my property were polite and kind people. I felt that they’re not up for a word war.

Pandemic po kasi tapos naggagamot pa po ‘yung asawa ko. Kung pwede po, pagbigyan n’yo kami hanggang October 30” she asked me.

But then I looked at her kids. Two were still young and I was sure that the big sister is still studying. At a quick glance, I can also see that nothing was really changed in my property. The family didn’t look like they’re going to stay for long.

Ha? Bakit po hanggang October? Dito na rin po kayo mag-Pasko. Hanggang December na po kayo mag-stay.” I told her.

I can’t stand to see her children suffering especially during these trying times. Since I am not going to do anything on my property within the year, I decided to let them stay.

Hanggang January 30 na lang po kaya para dito na rin po kayo mag-Bagong Taon?” I told her excitedly.

The mother started to cry. I felt that it was tears of joy even when we’re just talking via video call.

Thank you, Sir. Hindi ko alam na may tao pa pong katulad ninyo ngayon. Maswerte kami” she told me while crying.

And then she went on by sharing with me what their life was like living in empty properties. She said that the pandemic worsened their situation. I almost cried when I heard her story. It’s painful to hear it from kind and hardworking people. But the least that I could do was to let them stay on my property and give them time to find their own.

’Wag na po kayo mag-alala. Naiintindihan ko po ang sitwasyon ninyo. Balik na po kayo sa trabaho, baka nakakaabala na po ako” I said while waving goodbye to her.

She thanked me again and asked for my name and contact number which I gave to her eldest daughter. She immediately texted me and asked to save my number.

I Had A Little Tour Inside My Property

After our brief video call, I went inside my property and toured around. I asked the big sister to accompany me.

Honestly, it was messy inside. The big sister kept apologizing and told me that she was sweeping the floor when I arrived.

Just when I was leaving, their father arrived. I met him on the doorstep.

I told him that I already spoke to his wife and I decided to let them stay until January 30. He also thanked me and asked for my name. He also assured me that they will take care of my property during their stay.

Be A Blessing To Others

After our short conversation, I bid goodbye to the family. They were all smiles while waving at me. The father even offered me a free ride to the national highway.

As I walked away from my property, I realized that our small acts of kindness can change a life of many, in this case, of a family.

The anxiety that I felt while walking towards my property turned into happiness. The illegal settlers who welcomed me became newfound friends.

This experience reminded me that we can truly become a blessing to others.

5
$ 0.47
$ 0.42 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @NakamotoBch
Avatar for remofm
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

How come the intruder invade the property? Is there no guard in the subdivision or it is a force entry? It is a two story building but well the kind of door knob the subdivision have could be easily be dismantled.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I saw a guard positioned in the subdivision's gate. But the security was not really strict. People can just come and go. A neighbor also said that there's still no home owners' association. Haha. The subdivision is kinda new so there's still a lot to improve.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You are a good samaritan but just a piece of advice since I have encountered many cases related in your situation in our office, it is better to have a written contract/agreement stipulating the terms and condition, and the date when to vacate the property. Some people tend to forget and abusive. I know you are full of knowledge but sometimes emotions overwhelmed reason.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks for this, reyce! My Dad has the same advice. He wants me to come up with a written agreement. My Dad is also concerned about what the illegal settlers may do to my property. I think I'm gonna bring one when I visit again.

I didn't see the need for one when I spoke to them last week. I also talked to the neighbors about my situation. They said the family who settled in my property are good people who had been hopping from one empty property to another. They even knew the names and some said they hired the father before to do some house contruction.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Cool

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is heartwarming! Wala na akong ibang masabi kundi i-bless ka ng God ng sobra! Sana rin ma-bless rin yung family ng decent place na matitirahan.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Aww. Thank you for the kind words, mgrshgian. If you were in my shoes, you will surely do the same thing because of their poor situation. Ipinagdarasal ko rin na sana magkaroon na rin sila ng sariling masisilungang bahay. Thanks again!

$ 0.00
2 years ago