Behind The Camera: How Journalists Work From Home

22 69
Avatar for remofm
Written by
2 years ago

Our lives made a 360-degree turn when the COVID-19 pandemic began. Since the past year, it has changed the way we think and act to avoid its deadly impact.

Millions of lives have been lost. Many jobs have been cut. But for the fortunate ones, work-from-home becomes the new normal.

In this entry, I will tell you how journalists like me continue to deliver the news despite the threat of an unseen enemy.

Sponsors of remofm
empty
empty
empty

A Day In A Life Of A Senior News Producer

In my previous article when COVID-19 hit our office, I told you that I was among the close contacts of a COVID-19 positive officemate. I was sent home and told to work from home for two weeks.

It was a challenge at first because I wasn’t used to doing my tasks outside the workplace.

But I eventually loved it and told myself that I will never come back to the office.

As a Senior News Producer who’s working from home, my tasks include writing scripts, conceptualizing on-air graphics, and lining up news stories for the 12-noon newscast.

I handle two shows on a regular basis but the management has temporarily canceled some programs due to lack of manpower.

Handling one show a day means more time for other things!

How My Day Begins

I wake up at 7:00 am to prepare for work.

I immediately check my Viber and work email for important messages.

After that, I read the news on our Viber group chat, our website, and of course, our competitors’ website.

I also speak to the show’s Executive Producer or EP for a short brainstorming. The EP overlooks the production of the newscasts and approves the line-up or rundown of stories before sending it to the news anchor, our co-producers, and news managers.

At 8:00 am, I get up to see the sun and go down to the kitchen to prepare my breakfast. I usually eat a cup of oats, milk, two eggs, an apple, and water to kick start the day.

At 8:55 am, I join our daily meeting via Zoom. This is where news managers discuss stories that producers should put on shows such as updates on COVID-19, President Duterte, Congress investigation on alleged corruption, Afghanistan, ayuda, weather, and many more. We also discuss how to treat and write each story, and the deployment of reporters for their coverage.

Screengrab during our Zoom meeting

The meeting usually lasts for 20 minutes. But when there’s big news, for example, the death of former President Noynoy Aquino, it takes an hour or more. I usually eat my breakfast while listening to the meeting.

When it’s done, I do a little chitchat with my co-producers and other members of the 12-noon team.

At 9:40 am, I attend another meeting via Zoom. This time, it is about the lineup of the show. The EP will discuss the content for the day - from top stories to world news to entertainment to trending stories. Upon approval from the team, it’s time to write the scripts!

How I Write My Scripts

Screengrab of my desktop where I have different notepads

In the office, we use a software where we input our scripts that anyone in the newsroom can access. It also has all the available information that we need such as scripts from other shows, and news advisories.

Since I am working from home, I don’t have that software so I write them on different notepads using my personal laptop.

Each producer has three to four items to finish.

We get the news from reporters and their crew deployed in the field. Some of them in rallies, crime scenes, city halls, and other government offices. But most of the reporters also work from home because media briefings of officials are being streamed online. While they gather the news, reporters send us information as soon as they are available. We write the script based on their advisories.

Writing news for broadcast doesn’t need to be long. Three sentences are enough. Our former boss, who trained us, used to always say, “Write for the ears of the viewers. If it’s too long, they’re not going to watch you.”.

We also DYOR to avoid mistakes and make sure that the scripts are unbiased and accurate. But common mistakes include typographical errors, and wrong figures, and sometimes factual errors.

Screengrab of the news items I wrote

For today, I wrote about the appeal of a teachers’ group to increase their pay in the 2022 elections, the result of the investigation on the crash of two military aircraft in June and July, and a sponsored content.

Sometimes, news stories are hard to write especially if you’re unfamiliar with the topic. I personally hate writing about legal issues such as rulings on cases, sports stories like PBA and NBA, and business news such as inflation, economic outlook, and GDP growth. It takes me hours to digest a long statement before I can write a script that viewers can understand easily.

Spending some time with our furbaby relieves the stress

Whenever this happens, I leave my work for a few minutes to play with our furbaby, Butchay. She relieves my stress all the time.

After finishing my scripts, it undergoes the scrutiny of the EP, the copyeditor, and the news anchor.

I send it first to the EP via Viber. After a few edits, I send it to the copyeditor via email. The news anchor can check it through the teleprompter.

At 11:30 am, all scripts are in and pasted in the teleprompter for the news anchor who also works from home. We're ready to air!

The show begins at 12-noon sharp and ends at 12:30 pm. I watch the show live on TV and on Facebook. I also monitor our Viber group chats to check on possible breaking news. If there’s a breaking story, I alert the EP so we can plan on how to include it.

After the show, it’s time for lunch with my family!

Pains Of Working From Home

Sometimes, I end up talking to myself because I have no one else in my room but my laptop and Viber.

I am a people person. I work effectively with my officemates around and I’m used to speaking to them personally.

But when you’re working from home, you’ll have to chat with them one by one.

Having a laggy laptop and a slow internet connection add up to my struggles.

I also don’t have the software we use in writing so I had to manually search for news stories and advisories when I need them. In my office computer, I can simply input CTRL + F and in just a few clicks, I can get the information I need.

Gains Of Working From Home

If there are pains, of course, there are even more gains!

Unlike in the office where I need to buy and cook my own food, at home, my Dad cooks our delicious and filling lunch and dinner, while my Mom cooks snacks! I can just go down to the dining and dig in with them. It’s family time every day!

Since I only handle one show, I only work for about four to five hours. This means I have more spare time to do other things. Let’s get straight into it – posting on read.cash and noise.cash!

Working from home is the reason why I am very active on both platforms. I have time to plan, conceptualize, and post my content.

I personally love posting photos on noise.cash almost hourly which I never did in my other social media sites.

While here on read.cash, I have time to focus on writing my blogs. I even stay up until 4:00 am to finish an article.

Aside from those, I am also able to focus on my health. I workout at least three times a week which I can’t do when I’m in the office. I can also eat nutritious food prepared by my Dad and Mom. Eight to seven hours of quality sleep is also priceless!

Next week, I will be back in the office. Let’s see what happens by then. During my stay, would you like me to give you an exclusive look at our newsroom, control room, and studio? Tell me in the reply section below!

#journalist #workfromhome #covid19 #work

7
$ 1.40
$ 1.34 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @MrsPepper27
$ 0.02 from @iamanobody
+ 1
Avatar for remofm
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

Just wow! I once dreamed of being a journalist. I would love to have a virtual tour of the newsroom, control room and studio please? Pa reserve po ng slot hahaha are you kapamilya, kapuso, kapatid o wala sa nabanggit? Hihihi

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you po, Mrs. Pepper, the other half of Mr. Pepper! Next week po, I'll publish na the three part series.

About the company, I'm from... Hmm. Secret pa po. Hihi.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Waaaah! I'm excited! Will be waiting for that! Gusto ko yung company reveal hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I saw the "ayuda" thing and remembered during the pronouncement of ECQ in the whole country, everyone was tasked to stay at home, but our office still works full force to be able to distribute ayuda at the different barangays.. Wishing for a work from home scheme in our office 🤣😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Aww, because you're one of our social worker heroes who works tirelessly to help the needy. Thank you for you service! Ingat ka palagi sa field duties mo.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hanggang ngayon I still question myself, my decision, bakit ba ako nagsocial work .., char 🤣😂🤣

Thank you po..,

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Now, I'm everywhere! Ahaha. I've been lurking around this site for quite some time now and finally decided to join. Journalists really needs to know everything out of their topics to make the readers understand. It's like being a Jack of all trades. 😂 Happy digging buddy!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hi, reEplayZ! Welcome to read.cash! Thank you for all the support from noise.cash to here. I, still, have no words on how to thank you!

That's true, journalists really need to be flexible. When I was starting, I only write about showbiz news. Until I learned how to handle topics such as politics, weather, crime and many more. It was a tough journey but I learned a lot. That's why I want to share my experience to all of you.

Thanks again, reEplayZ!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

No problem buddy! Can I make a request? Can you please write something on how to start an article? I mean, how do I even start from scratch?? Hehe. Thanks buddy!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hi bruh! Sure! I would love to make one to help you and other newbies in writing their articles. But, don't take it as professional advice, I'm just starting writing blogs and I write them like a news script. Anyhow, I'll write one. In fact, I already thought of it before while listing my other topics. I'm glad that you suggested it too. I'll publish it in the coming days!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks buddy! Really appreciate it!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow! napaka interesting naman ng behind the scenes as a journalist. I am wondering kaninong company ka nag work. Hehe! I subscribed. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Salamat po, itravelRox! In my next blog, I'll give you a peek inside our newsroom.

About the company that I'm with.... Hmm. Do you have a guess? Hehe.

Thanks again, itravelRox!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

GMA. haha. nakapasok ako ng ABS-CBN dati vip guests kami may sinalihan na show yong friend ko. tapos kapitbahay lang pala sila ng GMA. hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oo nga, magkapitbahay lang sila. As in ilang kanto lang. Mas malaki lang compound ng ABS-CBN pero mas mataas buildings ng GMA.

How was your experience at ABS-CBN? Nag-enkoy ka ba?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oo super enjoy naman, one week kami dun kasi nanalo friend ko kaya may access Sa Ibang show. And I met Robi Domingo na super crush ko kaya may feeling close moment kami dati for an interview. Hehe!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am one of the lucky ones who works from home permanently. I love it! I too struggle with topics like legal issues and sports! I'm thankful that I am not currently writing about those topics. Thank you for the great in-depth look at your day in the life of working from home!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you, Thefighteithinher! I appreciate your response. I'm glad that I'm not the only person who hates to write about those topics. Haha. But I'm trying my best to learn how to write them. I'll check out your articles too to see how your day is like.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh, You will be back in your office next week, I can't wait to take a look at your newsrooms

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I would love to give you an exclusive peek! I will take as many photos as I can. I hope I can upload videos here.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes you can upload videos, you can read an article on how to upload one

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oww! I see. I-try ko sa upcoming articles. Thank you always, iamanobody!

$ 0.00
2 years ago