Our Beloved Summer

37 88
Avatar for meitanteikudo
2 years ago
Topics: Screen-reads, Review, KDrama, Korean, KPOP, ...

I have been stuck inside the confines of my own little world for a few days now and my eyes were just too tired that I can’t even enjoy my games. And that’s the perfect excuse for binge-watching.

Movies, series, and then some more movies. I have watched a lot of shows these past few weeks and Our Beloved Summer was one of the series that I was able to finish. Let me share some of my thoughts about this one. I will try my best not to let out any major spoilers in this article so…read on.

Expectation

It’s a korean telenovela so what do you expect? For me I expected it to be a shot one, around 15 or 16 episodes because that’s how most Korean dramas last. I expected to feel for the characters big time. I expected to shed some tears, and of course that unrealistic kilig vibe too.

And of course, I expected the ending to be a little lacking when it comes to impact. Almost all the Korean dramas ended in a somewhat lackluster finale. I don’t think that the endings really gave justice to the stories and to the hype the shows created. And I expected that Our Beloved Summer will be one of those shows.

Story

Overall, it’s a story of two highschool sweethearts that are seemingly quite the opposite of each other but shared a common bond that lasted way after they graduated highschool and it was even stronger that it conquered many break ups.

Two be a little more specific, the tale of the two lovers begin when the documentary they starred back in highschool became viral after several years. They are already working and leading separate lives, they are forced to be together again to film a sequel for the viral documentary.

Back then, they separated in bad terms so they have a lot of unresolved conflicts when they started working together again. As they film the sequel, they learn more about their past and learn more about each other which then posed the biggest question for the series, will they learn to forgive each other and will they learn to love each other again?

Characters

We have the main guy Choi-Ung who was your ordinary happy-go-lucky kind of guy who doesn’t really care much for the world as long as he is comfortable and relaxed.

Then we have this diligent girl Yeon-Su who always strives to be the best and be number one with a dream to somehow be successful in life. It’s also refreshing to see the actress again after I watched Ittaewon Class. I feel like her characters in both shows aren’t much different except that in this show, her character is more selfish and really family-oriented.

The development of the characters is pretty consistent and the changes in their personalities are quite acceptable and understandable because of the time lag between their pasts and their present.

We also have the supporting characters that makes their story a bit more quirky, fun, and a little annoying.

I think that my favorite character is NJ. The actress who fell for the main guy. She’s one confusing character. At times she’s so skillful and seems like a master manipulator but then there are times that she’s so soft and selfless. She’s all over the place, she’s like an antagonist who wanted to please everybody. Just like me from time to time. LOL.

Overall Design

The story is set in the modern day Korea and the mood that it sets is just simple. You just feel so cozy like you are watching a well-produced vlog. There are no real scenes that will make you sit on the edge and nothing there that will make you really bawl.

The music is really good too. I don’t even skip the intro because the music there is just so perfect setting the mood for the show. Also, if you are a fan of V, you’ll surely appreciate their soundtrack.

Conclusion

I pretty much got what I expected except from the shedding tears part. There’s not a single scene that made me wanna grab a box of tissues on the side and cry my eyes out. The closest I get to being teary eyed is that one scene with the girl and her grandmother. But it was not that powerful because I don’t think that the build up was heavy enough to cause a blow.

I also felt bad when it was ending, I thought that the story could have progressed a little more and I just wanted more of them.

I totally recommend this one if you are into romcoms too. I really don’t like zombie shows so I will just stick with this one instead.

Annyeong!

Well, I do not know how to speak Korean but I really enjoyed this one. Have you seen it? What do you think about it? Let me know in the comments.

Also, if there are any things you want to talk about, you can drop any suggestion, any question, or just about anything in the comment section below. I will get to you as soon as I can.

Anyhow, thank you for visiting again and that’s all for me because I am off to seek what kind of show or movie I will be watching next. Until we read again…

Cheers!!!

Author's Links

Noise | Torum Twitter | Hive

Telegram: meitanteikudo 

Would You Like to Earn Some More?

Free BTC straight to coins.ph

Passive income with your internet (gain $5 instantly by using my referral link)

Play some games and earn

Watch, learn, and play while you earn:  (Use my code for $5 bonus)

Series    : Screen-reads
Title     : Our Beloved Summer
Published : 16-Feb-2022
Author :  © RB

Reference:

https://onlytech.com/community/threads/our-beloved-summer-netflix-dec-6.49412/ - Poster

19
$ 6.97
$ 6.71 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @ExpertWritter
$ 0.05 from @Ellehcim
+ 6
Sponsors of meitanteikudo
empty
empty
Avatar for meitanteikudo
2 years ago
Topics: Screen-reads, Review, KDrama, Korean, KPOP, ...

Comments

Wow it will be great to see it . waiting for this.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

it's on netflix.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ganda nyan! Kaso di ko pa napapanood yung last two episodes hahahaha. I can say one of the comfort kdrama, lalo na yung ost—d'best.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hahah daVest. haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sach a nice and interesting story ...the love of two partner always reached to success but the bet it that it should be true love... finally i m new one here .. need your support

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I find this kdrama series healing for me. It's like I rested and keep myself away from being into a relationship again after all the traumas, heartbreaks, and disappointments. I was so fine being single for many years now, but I feel like how happy would it be to have someone in your life. Someone who has all the green flags like Choi Ung. Choi Ung is a standard. I am staying single until I find my own Choi Ung hahaha

$ 0.02
2 years ago

my gaawwwwwd!! hahahaha that's going to be a long time. lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha, I know. But I think it will be worth it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The series looks like its gonna be very interesting, I love series that deals with romanace with a lot of action. I think you should see "all of us are dead"

$ 0.02
2 years ago

hahah that's quite trendy. I watched that last 3 episodes of that show already.. Not really into zombies. haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Maybe you should start from the first episode... You would like it

$ 0.00
2 years ago

haha I have finished it too, still can't seem to really like it. haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

😥😥😥... You don't like romance movie ?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

oooh I do.. I so love romantic flicks. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Isa yan sa nasa list ko na panuorin sabi nila maganda din daw yan e. Pero now inuna ko yung School 2021 kasi yung babae doon yung nasa AOUAD.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

hhah ba yan... sino yun? si Nam On-jo ?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hindi si Choi Nam-ra haha 🤣 Cute cute nya don eh HAHA 😍❤️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

ooohhhh sino nga ulit un? Si president ba?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oo si Prez. Ganda ganda at cute non eh. Mas bet ko role nya doon 🤤💚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

ahhhh.. I see.. :) Astig ung archer. haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Napansin ko lang kuya parang nagiging kdrama addict ka na din hahaha. Feel ko napanood ko na kasi familiar.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

hahaha hindi naman addict. chill lang naman na watcher. hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I think we are quite different. I like zombies. And I don't want h high school. But reading this would make me want to give it a trial.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

hehe yeah.. you'll be relaxed in love. haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Pretty cool 😎

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That seems familiar to me, I guess I watch that one but didn't finish it

$ 0.02
2 years ago

ooh. you didn't like it that much?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Grabe talagang sobrang kilig ko dito awang awa ko sa second lead akin ka na lang po kuya charizz pero swear sobra pati ost until now pinapakinggan ko pa din ang comforting ng kdrama na to.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

hahaha yes... ang ganda din tlaga ng soundtrack eh..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Waaaaah I've already watched this. Actually I just finished it last week. The impact is still there. Highly recommended! <3

$ 0.02
2 years ago

haha it's worth it eh? :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have never watched this before. Probably this is a good break from all of the zombie movies. Haha

$ 0.02
2 years ago

haha yeahhh take a break from munching brains. haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lakas ng hye nitong Kadrama na iton lalo nung ni-release. Minsan I am in the mood to watch some cozy dramas lang, and this is one of those na nasa watchlist ko. Maganda chemistry nung dalawa, dun palang sa movie nila na "Manyeo, The Witch" nahusayan na ako eh .

$ 0.02
2 years ago

hahaha ay wow. may ganun pala. hehe oo nga.. chill lang to hindi masyadong ano. haha kaya maeenjoy mo din lahat..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Same thoughts with the ending! Sana pinahaba pa nila no? Nabitin ako actually pero I love love the sountrack! Nakaka good vibes at nakakarelax ❤️

$ 0.02
2 years ago

haha relaxing yes.. BTS pa eh. hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago