A friend is always a friend?

81 94
Avatar for gertu13
2 years ago

Greetings dear reader friends, today I am going to tell you about a subject that seemed appropriate to me. All this after having read a story that I am going to tell you.

It happens that there were two friends who had known each other for many years and were used to give each other their sincere friendship.

They grew up together and in college they behaved more than just as friends, they were like brothers. One day they decided to take a trip, they wanted to get to know the desert area and in what better condition to do it but with the presence and mutual support of both of them, they both wanted to know the intricate routes of the desert area.

From unsplash.

They prepared to make their journey and went into the place prepared with compasses, food and water. Just relying on their luck and the support the two friends gave each other, but as the day wore on, things went off course. They are inexperienced, lost their way and the inclement sun seemed to take away their spirits.

At first the need for food and water was not very demanding, but as the day wore on and the sun embraced them and they failed to reach their destination. They began to worry.

The day passed and they faced the onslaught of the desert weather and after two days they were both very irritated. They were already arguing often, blaming each other.

To the point that in a moment of heated argument one of them hit the other one's face hard. The friend who was the victim of the blow of the other still hurt by the blow received wrote in the sand....

"my best friend gave me a hard punch".

They kept on walking and met new obstacles and the hit friend fell into a swamp, without realizing it was quicksand and the friend tried in every way to rescue his best friend who was sinking in the swamp, he put all his effort and with his last strength he succeeded! He pulled his friend out of the swamp.

When he came out of the swamp and was rescued, he looked for a rock and began to write on it...

"My best friend has saved my life today".

Seeing this the other asked him...

"Why did you write over there on the sand and here on a rock?"

To which the friend replied...

"I wrote there on the sand because when a true friend offends you this offense must be forgiven as the breeze erases the footprint in the sand but when that friend does you a great favor it must be written on the rock never to be forgotten".

The friends came out of the desert and their friendship was tested and preserved.

But does this happen in real life? I don't think so. I have seen how many people are publicly acknowledged for the offenses they have taken against a friend but I have never heard those people shout into the wind when they are entertained by that friend.

Many times we act impulsively and do not realize that we should thank our friends for their many ways of showing us their friendship and when the opposite happens and we feel offended we should be able to forget the offense and forgive in order to maintain the good relationship.

At one time I myself did not know how to see the value of some people who offered me their friendship and later when I was offended repeatedly, I no longer felt interested enough to keep the supposed friendship. I decided to break the friendship because I considered that the offenses were becoming more and more frequent and began to overshadow what had been a beautiful friendship.

I think they are two different cases. Feeling that in one opportunity we are offended and we forgive and forget it in honor of the friendship, another case is when the friendship starts to deteriorate and the other person thinks he can offend as many times as he wants because he knows he will be forgiven.

I decided to break with the friendship and I broke with the relationship of years. I preferred it rather than continue to feel that I would be hurt again. I think it was my best decision.

Sometimes we are ungrateful with the people who help us but in other opportunities we have to get rid of a bond that more than friendly seems unhealthy because of the mistreatment to which we are exposed.

Thank you friends for reading and I hope that as always I can read your comments and opinions on this matter.

27
$ 10.57
$ 9.37 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Alther
$ 0.10 from @Peter-Molnar
+ 27
Sponsors of gertu13
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for gertu13
2 years ago

Comments

Friendship is the most wonderful relationship in the world for me cause there is no arrogance, selfishness.We can share everything with our friends

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes, that's beautiful. The best thing is to have great friends.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

How we react to our emotions and how we treat others speaks a lot about our character. Forgiving is one of the most difficult things to do and mustering our anger is really a challenge.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Everything with practice is achieved to learn to forgive, you just have to practice a lot doing it. That gives a lot of peace. I learned to forgive those who have hurt me and I learned to keep them away from me. It gives me a lot of peace.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Friendship is a beautiful thing which will be tested everyday, as long as the mouth and teeth fights , so do we.. but taking precautions in settling it matters and if letting go is the only option, we better let go for the sake of our sanity. An informative post dear, stay safe and healthy.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

To be a good friend does not require much effort, the only thing you have to give is true love. And the rest is added.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It hard getting good friends because the world is corrupt, your once close buddy can turn on you anytime, one needs to be careful in this modern world. And embrace the good hearted ones when we find them.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

A great story, do you know they say that we have only three true friends who will drop everything no matter where they are, to help you if needed.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I didn't know about that. What I did read is that if you have one friend in your whole life you have the greatest treasure in the world.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Friendship is one of the sole of building unity in the country . But when friendship turns to something else it is like a bomb planted on the bridge

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Making a friend is not easy. Many of us call ourselves friends and few of us are.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

no one can deny the joy friendship brings. Friends should always forgive one another no matter what had transpired between them. They should always consider the sacrifices they had made for each other and how they had mode one another happy in the past.. Temporary slights a.d little mistakes shouldn't be enough reason to cause a good friendship to turn sour. Thank you ma'am

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Humans tend to exacerbate the bad and often ignore the good. And you are right in that we must thank and appreciate the good gestures of friends. And although we must forgive the offenses, if these are repetitive I do not think it is a true friendship but a toxic relationship and in that case, it is better to cut the root.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I agree. Friend is not everyone who claims to be.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thankfully I have real and best friends. Although sometimes we had arguments, but we resolved it before the day ends. Friendship is one of the most valuable relationship we have to protect and cherish.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes, you must care for and maintain a friendly relationship.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hay algunos trances que se pueden perdonar, todo depende de la ofensa y del cristal con qué se mire. Yo fui traicionada y preferí alejarme.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Unfortunately, sometimes they are not as friendly as they claim to be.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It happened to me too, that we were such good friends, until a certain point. I got offended too and just like you I was slowly drifting away from these friends. Some people are friends with you when they see some benefit gained from you and when that stops they are not friends anymore.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

It is sad but it happens frequently. And it has happened to you too. Some friends turn out good and some not so good.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

There's a lot of lessons to learn from this tale ma'am. I have often observed that when a beautiful friendship breaks up, one of the friends might just be a step away in achieving something great which would have been more beautiful if they had stayed together initially and supported each other towards the realization of the goal.... I think its mostly the devil's temptation in causing such a rift between good friends so that one could of them if not both,would regret later.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

It is a test that must be overcome and only love can do it. The constant struggle between good and evil.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I usually forget bad things and easily forgive others and always find some excuse for insults and bad behavior towards me. I look on the good side of everything and I am trying to get the good out of people. But if someone treats me badly all the time and the insults are repeated, I distance such people from myself.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yes, I agree with you on everything you said.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Most times I felt worried for been friends with some kinda of people because most of my friends are just there to fool me . But a friend in need is a friend indeed I just prayed I engaged with the right person

$ 0.01
2 years ago

There is always someone who offers us sincere love as a friend.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have lost the friendship of many friends, or rather, I have broken the bond.

A good friend will always be a good friend, but a friend can become a simple acquaintance if either of us destroys the trust between us.

I have broken the bond after so much forgiveness, after so much waiting, I could not have a friendship with someone who always failed me and then did not ask for forgiveness. In those moments and even now I don't care about the years of friendship I had before with those people.

A few years ago I looked them up and we arranged to meet, I wanted to see if they had changed and were better people, and I realized that they were still the same, standing me up, insulting me or saying silly excuses, making me waste my time. After that, they never wrote me again.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Sometimes people don't know how to be friends because they have never been friends. And you can't expect much

$ 0.00
2 years ago

There was a time I did not see the value of the help my friends were giving me but when I realized it,I had to stick with them ,most times my friends annoy me but I just keep up in the relationship we shouldn't let the annoyance in us cut off the good friends,we just need to know that no one is above mistake so most times they might annoy us and also they would help us in times of need.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Friends are like family, we bother each other and we are content.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

maybe if I judge from the description this description is the form of a friend's character that has a different level.. there is a time we have to conflict with a friend but there is a time to forgive each other if someone who apologizes then doesn't repeat it means he has deeply acknowledged his actions and that is an attitude of humility but if someone who has done something wrong then apologizes and repeats the same mistake then he is a selfish person.. these two traits are character driven attitudes that naturally come from heredity and intentional factors.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Not many people know how to be true friends.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Aún teniendo una discusión con tu amigo, o una pequeña pelea, siempre será tu amigo. Eventualmente los ánimos bajarán y todo volverá a la normalidad. La amistad está por encima de todo y siempre prevalece. Sólo el amor es su superior.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Well, you're talking about a true friend. How about when it's a wolf in sheep's clothing? Or rather, that friend was never a true friend?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I've had a few of those. True friendship can be harder to find than love. But when you find it, it's forever.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

A lot of friendships no longer stand the test of time. People fall out for little things and make impulsive decisions,.forgetting the good things the other person have done

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes, they write their history in the grains of sand and leave.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Childhood friends are really special. Cos as we grow up together we get to know each other well. I had a very close friend right from my kindergarten time. But few years back i lost contact. Wish I meet her again.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I wish you success in the task.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have these two friend before who aren't that close to me but we shared some moments together. We've been so good to each other at first, share what we have to each other but as time pass by there are some things that they did that have offended me. I forgive them coz i thought that was the only time that they will do it to me. But i was wrong so I decided to cut all our connections coz i am not at peace anymore. The relationship that I have with them is already toxic.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

You have to be able to tell the difference between a good friend and an opportunist. Someone who wants to be by our side to take advantage of the fact that we are friendly, cooperative, good people and then they make a grievance followed by another... No, you must write it in the sand and turn the page.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes sis, with what i experienced before, I learned to know who are my good friends and the fake ones

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm happy for you, my friend

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is so inspiring. I never forget the good and favors my one time friends did to me. But generally, people tend to eat the meat and throw the bone o fire

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes, it's true.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's a true friend. They can fight and bickering on each other but at the end od the day they are still friend. I'm not sure if I can be a good friend too to someone 🤔

$ 0.03
2 years ago

You will only know when you pass the test with a true friend. Someday you will.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

As I am now, I can't find myself staying in a place I'll be treated badly all in the name of friendship. If I'm being kind and at the end I'm receiving backstabbing, I move away from the friendship.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

It's a matter of if it's a best friend it's about maintaining the friendship if not what it's worth.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I learnt something in the story that many people don't remember the good deeds of people, they mostly focus on the bad one's. Nobody on earth is perfect.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

It is like this. People are used to write everything in the sand.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

In my entire life, I don't think I've had bad friends cos I've always been assisted by the good friends I have the same way you all are assisting me here especially as I'm a newbie. Good morning ma

$ 0.01
2 years ago

And the time will come when you too will write on the sand. Welcome.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you ma

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Having a true friend is one of the best treasure we could have. I have my best friend and he treats me like a family, he even followed me in the same school hahaha because I'm scared being alone in strangers. He was all out but then he had his girlfriend and now we barely even talk and I understand him. Me too should distance myself as a sign of respect to their relationship.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

True friends do not distance themselves because they have a love. Friends must have time to continue to maintain such a special bond as friendship. If he doesn't understand that your friend was not a better friend and that will weigh on him later. When he needs you and you are no longer there.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Agree madam!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My best friend messed me up when we were in high school and i was pained so much by such an ugly attitude of his and i've also got to realize that forgiving him is very much difficult to come from me. What do you think i should do ma?

$ 0.01
2 years ago

When you are a true friend, you talk about the points. If the person in question didn't respect you and you didn't make him a good friend, why keep him with you?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You are right, truly we shouldn't forget all the many good because of the few bad. It is virtually impossible for two people not to have tiff no matter how close they are

$ 0.03
2 years ago

It's true, it can't be helped. And being strengthens the bond.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Because we are human and we also fail but that is why there is a bond that overcomes any rancor if we are true friends.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I completely agree with you on that one

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Some friends don't want to be advised nor to accept their wrong doings. But my friends are not like that and they can accept their faults and they will changed it. That's the real friendship for me. If were concern to our friends maybe we have some thoughts to share so that they can realized their mistakes. Am I right ma'am gertu?

$ 0.03
2 years ago

With friends we can agree on what affects us in friendship. If it is a strong feeling, it cannot end if we explain it and understand each other. It ends if we don't talk about it and we break up without talking.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Relationships are really quick to be destroyed because we tend to hold grudge at the one mistake that is committed. We fail to recognize and appreciate the wonderful favors done to us.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I agree with you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Those are blessed who have true friends. Nowadays it’s very hard to find true friends, otherwise everyone is snake here. And thanks to God I am blessed with many friends who are true.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

You are blessed indeed. To have one friend is already a blessing.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

A friend in need is a friend indeed, not all friends are worthy of being a part of once life. Some are just beneficial friends

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Those are not the friends I am talking about, but the ones we think of in our lives who have truly been our friends.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The true friendship may test on having a struggles. If they will truly they will find ways and doing their best to save you and that's what we called the real friends.

I have a bestfriend ma'am gertu. I really missed her a lot. Sometimes we have misunderstandings but we settled it fastly then she is always beside me when the times I was really down. I'm really grateful to her. She's one of my saviour. She's one of my motivator. She's one of my inspiration.❤️

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Then you should write that on the rock and never forget what it does for you now. She is your friend indeed

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you so much for this ma'am. It's a brilliant idea because of your article ma'am.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have a childhood friend who is younger than me, she treats me as her big sis. I gave her advice very often because she's a bit wild and went overboard many times. But I guess she did not like it because, after that, she never called or messaged me...I feel sad though, she's a dear friend to me..

$ 0.02
2 years ago

But if you feel bad about her attitude seek her out, there is nothing more valuable than a true friendship broken by a misunderstanding.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I did many times but she ignored it. Even visited her house but she refused to see me...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I know how it feels. They did it to me too, they refused to receive me. But I was the one who was mistreated and she was the one who was upset. I left it at that, I didn't insist anymore.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

True friendship survives the test of time, and while you may have disagreements with that friend, they should eventually be resolved and help nurture and strengthen the relationship. However, if it is a one-sided friendship, and you end up getting hurt a lot of the time, then it is probably time to distance yourself from that supposed friend.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I agree with you and that is what happened in my case. Thank you for your comment friend.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

respect from me , you are a deep observer.

$ 0.00
2 years ago