How do I Fight My Stage Fright?

57 46
Avatar for dziefem
2 years ago

Do you have a stage fright? Now or before? Whenever you are going to speak in front of the class or in public?

Do you know someone who is struggling because of stage fright?

I want to share how I fight my stage fright. Well, I'm a shy type of person. (Those who know me here, personally, just don't react. XD)

Because of my shyness back then, whenever I face the crowd, may hands can't stop from shaking (being a water bender too haha) and I got upset stomach feels like I'm going to poop any minute (excuse to those who are eating right now but I hope you don't, while reading this) XD.Β 

Let's first define what stage fright is.

Stage Fright - this is the feeling where we are so nervous or scared to face a lot of people- in performing or speaking.

To better understand, here's another definition:

Source

Here are the things I do whenever I'm nervous or afraid to speak to a mass audience.

Inhale-Exhale

First, I'm doing inhale-exhale to relax. It helps me to lessen the nervousness I feel as I'm able to release it-hah! I'm always doing this when I need to speak in front of my classmates and professors. It really helps me because minutes passed speaking in front of them, later on the nervousness gone and I became calm. I remember when I couldn't control it, I always stuttered, struggling to discuss my topic.

Jumping

Sometimes I jump before role playing while shaking my hands. Like going to have a boxing match. XD just kidding, jumping really helps me while I'm rehearsing my role (I only jump when I don't have an upset stomach lol). There are times that I forget that I'm nervous because I'm enjoying my role. Β 

Just want to share one of our role plays before this pandemic, of course. XD I'm the leading actress. lol, my role is being a sales lady who is full of patience but will encounter a super duper bad customer. What did the customer do? He asked me to bring all kinds of shoes, bags and shirts. He looked into them one by one, so okay. But what is the worst? He didn't buy anything, ridiculous! So my role is to get mad at him, shout at him, throw harsh words, and quit my job. XD I became the best actress in our classroom. Skl. Haha.

Believe in yourself

This one is the best. All you have to do is to believe that you can do it. Always say to yourself that "I can do it". Remove all the self doubt that you have. Think positive of the outcome! Once you believe in yourself, be confident.

Be Confident

Just chin up. Think that all the people watching you are like they are kids or undressed. (Yes, undress, so you don't have to be shy because they must be!) HAHA. Be confident in what you are saying, stand like you own the floor, like you are a star because everyone is watching you, don't be afraid to make mistakes. Remember, no one is perfect! :)

Additional:

Limit drinking coffee

When I was in high school, I was so addicted to coffee, as in three times a day. They said too much coffee is one of the reasons why I am always nervous. So what I did is reduce drinking coffee. Of course, I can't fully stop myself from drinking coffee. Before, I used to drink everyday but these days, twice or thrice a week only. I guess it is effective. :)

This is just based on my experiences. I don't know if these things also apply to others.

Question: How do you overcome your stage fright?

Thank you for reading! :)

Lead Image Source: entrepreneur.com


dziefem's note:

Stay away from those toxic people. Have a healthy life and heart. :)


My previous articles:

Six Years With You and Counting

Hindi ko gusto ngunit kailangan

Someone made me Pregnant!

How do you Interpret Songs?

Different Types of People that I've Encountered

Only in Imagination

I'm an addict

Finally, he noticed me!

12
$ 12.00
$ 11.72 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Jane
$ 0.05 from @Nyctofiles
+ 5
Sponsors of dziefem
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for dziefem
2 years ago

Comments

I hope I can boost my confidence when I am speaking in front. Honestly, I'm not used to talk with other people since I'm eating up my insecurities.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am introverted and this sounds a lot like me lol. I drink coffee to stay brave tho. Cheers. Kape pa, sis :D

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Sana all po pang patapang yung kape haha. Teka, magtimpla ako ngayon. XD

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Gawing mo nang dalawa, sis hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sure po, lika na hehe β˜•

$ 0.00
2 years ago

para lang ako tricycle, sis :D thankieeee

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha sige lang po mainit 'to at kakukulo pa ng tubig. Ingat sa biyahe! :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I can't relate, Ate. Wala kasi akong stage fright or maybe kaunti pero normal na kaba lang kapag may ipe-present? Siguro nasanay din 'nung high school. Kaya 'nung nag-college, wala ng hiya-hiya HAHAHA

Btw, magre-react sana ako sa iba mong sinabi, like "(Those who know me here, personally, just don't react. XD)" pero may mga disclaimers ka naman. XD

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Ayun o, sana all nasanay. Hahaha. Ako kasi talaga noon, hindi ko maintindihan bakit sobrang kabang kaba hahaha. Nitong college may hiya pa rin naman ako, very light. HAHAHA

Very good ka dyan! HAHA

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ayan na naman 'yung hiya-hiya mo, Ate eh. HAHAHA

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Shhh. HAHAHA

$ 0.00
2 years ago

i liked the customer behave 🀣🀣 because he is no more but me 😁

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Whaaat, I hate that behavior! Haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I overcome stage fright by believing in myself. I also get myself prepared before going on a stage. I also imagine that those I'm preaching to are humans like me and I don't need to be afraid.

Nice article...

$ 0.03
2 years ago

You are brave and confident. That's the spirit!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My biggest fear is ghosts..that's why i'm not a fan of horror movies...I do watch suspense but not the horror type..

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Maaa, iba yata yung nabasa mo? Haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hindi nak, di ko tuloy natapos , i mean wala ako stage fright pero yung takot ko is yung about sa horro movies...sorry nak di ko na explain nang mabuti..yung baby ko kasi ang kuletπŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ayyy hahaha, okaaay po ma, sana all walang stage fright.. Haha malikot pala bebe ko. πŸ˜†

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hahah sobra nak..palaging sumusuksok sa kilikili nang mama niya🀣🀣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ayy alam na ma, mabago kilikili mo hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hahaha😊😊😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Think that all the people watching you are like they are kids or undressed. (Yes, undress, so you don't have to be shy because they must be!)

Uhmm parang di ko yata kaya tapos nandon pa crush ko πŸ˜­πŸ˜­πŸ˜­πŸ†

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Bwisiiiit kaaaaa clifford!! πŸ˜†πŸ˜† Baka lalo ka nga magpanic hano? HAHAHA

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ako namay di nanginginig pag sa maraming crowd, ang sakin lang ay kabado, nahihiya, tapos di ako maka tingin ng diretso sa audience. Hahaha nahihiya kasi talaga ako, awan baga. Naiinis nga ako sa sarili ko, bat baga wala akong confidence 😩

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Dati ganyan din ako ate. But I practice na makipag eye contact and piliting maging relax kahit sobra din talaga ang kaba. Nakuuuu believe in yourself atee.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha, mahirap din gawin. Lalao na sanay akong nakakulong lang sa bahay, ayaw ko mng lumalabas. Ayaw ko sa crowded place haha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Waaah. Introvert pala ang ate ko, pero sa online world diko feel. Hahaha. Yun lang, mahirap talaga baguhin nakasanayan. :(

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yan yung problema ko nung nag college ako. Buti na lang nalagpasan ko din. Yung nanginginig habang nag rereport aa harap ng klase. Di talaga madali.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Buti naman sis at nalagpasan mo nga. May kaklase din akong ganyan, grabe yung nginig niya habang nagsasalita sa harap pero ayon, nakayanan niya naman matapos kahit di na maayos pagsasalita niya.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oo nga sis ehh. Pero nung first year ako nun. Baka kasi nahinto kasi ko ng tatlong taon bago nag college. Kaya ganun. Pero atleast nakayanan naman hihi

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ako yan pinaka hate ko sa lahat para akong mamatay sa harap ng maraming tao pag nagkataon mars hahaha.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Hahaha. Naku pre, relax relax dapat tayo. Inhale-exhale. Haha. Nakakatakot ka naman maging kagroup πŸ˜†

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahahaha kaya nga pag may group presentation mars na sa harap na ng maraming tao, magsisikap talaga ako makakuha ng task na hindi masyadong makaharap ang crowd hahah

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha mabuti at mababait kagroup mo pre. Pero dapat harapin mo ang takot mo haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Unti-unti na mars hehe, kunti nalng napakahirap na baka yan pa maging sanhi kamatayn ko hahaha kaya di dapat pairalin hahah

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahahaha hindi naman siguro preee, kaya mo yan! Haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Pilit kinaya mars. Pala mars, if ever bah mah pupublish ako like reflection of a song then Copy ko yung lyrics then paste ko , pedi kaya yun? Or plagiarism yan di pedi kay rusty

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Screenshot mo nalang siguro pre, tapos lagay mo source. Baka kaya hindi niya masyado napansin yung interpretation ko kasi nag copy ako ng lyrics haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahah ganun bah mars, buti pa cguro noh. Cgeh mars ganyan nalng cguro gawin ko din wala na ako maisulat ehh. Ubos na pero dipa napansin hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha sige pre. Laban lang hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Believe or not langga, pag sumumpong yung strage fright ko, tumatakbo palayo at tsaka nirerelax ko yung sarili ko..hahahπŸ˜… timang lang..

Pero kalaunan, kailangan talaga labanan yun eh' especially nung nasa college na ako, tas yung course na kinuha ko pa ay education. hihi😁

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Hahaha. Grabe naman sa takbo ga! But atleast kinaya mo ha, nakatapos ka na rin ng pag-aaral. Good job ga! 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nakatapos pero wala pang trabaho ga.hihi😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ayan ang pinaka ayoko nung nag aaral ako hahaha dahil sa mahiyain na ako di ko pa alam ang sasabihin ko, I mean natataranta ako hahaha πŸ˜… okay na sakin na mag essay kahit sobrang haba pero dahil kailangan No choice ako hahaha need kasi talaga mag report. 😊

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Mahiyain din talaga ako datiii huhu. Para akong kamatis lagi. πŸ˜† No doubt sis, magaling ka talaga sa essay. Sure ako. Haha. Oo required report sa ibang prof, lalo na don sa mga tamad mag turoπŸ€­πŸ˜†

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hindi ako magaling mag essay mahilig lang ako magbasa haha. Kaya yung mga nababasa ko yun lang ang sinusulat ko hahaha πŸ˜…

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ang humble naman this girl. Haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ako meron pa din until now 🀭🀭🀭

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Meron pa rin naman po ako, hindi nalang tulad ng dati haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nakakamiss magreport sa harap juskoπŸ˜…. May stage fright ako noon pero sa para sa grade .Inovercome ko.😁

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Oo yun din talaga e. Hahaha minsan isa rin yon sa nagpapalakas ng loob πŸ˜† para sa grade talaga, laban. HAHA

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wala akong stage fright kc hindi naman ko sumasaba sa stage. Bat meron ako infront of the class fright 🀣 ayoko ng recitation nung student pa ko πŸ˜‚

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Ayaw ko din recitation lalo pag hindi ako nakapagbasa πŸ˜†

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Namginginig lage bibig ko kpg naa front..puso ko tumatalbok.. 🀣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Halaaa haha. Parang may ganyan akong kaklase, akala mo napapano haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago