Felt Nostalgic: 2013 Class Valedictorian

46 76
Avatar for charmingcherry08
1 year ago

There are times when we feel nostalgic when we imagine things. Last time, we had a get-together with my childhood friends, my batch mates. During our endless topics, they reminded me that I was their Class Valedictorian before.

We do not talk about grades, courses, or anything since we avoid sensitive issues. And it is because some of our classmates have already given birth, stopped studying, and working. But they started teasing me about being once a competitive pupil before. I am guilty of that since I had to maintain being on top. It was a promise I made to my Mama and Papa when I was a kid.

And when I got home, I was lying on my bed, and I suddenly felt nostalgic. I took out my photo album and checked a few photos captured during our graduation. I belong to the Batch 2012-2013 Graduates. It feels like I am time-traveling while remembering the good old days as I flip the pages. I saw a picture of my younger self while holding a microphone. I was standing in the middle of a stage.

One of my batch mates told me that I had a great speech back then, and I delivered it so well. It made the teachers, parents, and audiences cry. Since I feel nostalgic, I tried to message one of my teachers back then. According to him, we still had our communication since I was his favorite. I sent a message reminding him that he was the one who helped me with my speech. He made me write it, and then he was the one who polished it.

When our conversation ended, I tried to remember my speech back then. I remembered just a few parts and did my best to re-compose it. Since I am feeling so good at reminiscing the moment, I will share a speech I had nine years ago with you. I may not remember every word I used, but the message will remain in my heart and the people who listened to me that day.

Today is the day for another milestone in the lives of graduating pupils like us. To some of you, it is a day to celebrate and, at the same time, to mourn. We will celebrate because, after six long years, we have already finished our primary education and are now ready to move forward and step higher. And the day is also mournful because we are leaving our dear Alma Mater, who took care of us when we were still innocent young girls and boys.

My classmates and graduates, as we continue to the course of our studies, I hope that we apply the self-discipline, camaraderie, and leadership that we learned from our beloved school. Let us walk through the journey for a brighter future and be part of the development of our society. But before we finally bid goodbye and leave the stage of Laoag Elementary School, we would like to thank the people who turned us into who we are today.

To our beloved parents, words are not enough to express our utmost gratitude to all of you. Thank you for all your sacrifices, love, and hard work for us. We know that you are the happiest and proudest about this milestone among the other people here. We are praying that you will continue to support us and be there for us in this journey of achieving our dreams.

We will be forever grateful to our hard-working teachers for your sacrifices and for leading us the way. You have given us selfless services and significant lessons that we can hold on to as we continue to step forward. We want to apologize for the headaches and know that we understand why you had to reprimand us. Every sermon and wisdom will be worth it as we will take them forever. Thank you for the skills and knowledge that you taught us.

Thank you to our Class Adviser, Ma’am Villarmina Beltran, for taking responsibility. To our coaches, Sir Rommel Paje, Ma’am Nelly Felarca, and Ma’am Delilah Sese, we thank you for leading us to discover our talents and skills. We are thankful to each of you for seeing our potential and developing our abilities. We are ready to face the world with our heads held high because you prepared us for this battle.

To our schoolmates and friends, we may be parting ways after this, but I hope that we will walk on the right path that lies ahead of us. May we all cherish the memories we shared. We may be miles away one day but always chase the impossible dreams.

Thank you for molding us and taking care of us for the last six years at our beloved Laoag Elementary School. We will carry the victories we have with your name. The batch 2013 will mark history and leave a legacy on this home. We, the graduates, will take the name of our beloved school on every journey and wherever we go.

We are sending our heartfelt gratitude to everyone who helped us and supported us. And above all, we thank the Almighty Father for the wisdom, knowledge, and skills He bestowed upon us. We pray that He continuously guides us every step of the way as we follow the path toward achieving our dreams.

To end this, I want to urge my fellow graduates to be with me as we give back to honor and glory to everyone who molded us. Let us prove to them that we can continue to step higher on the ladder of our quest for a more significant and brighter future.

This is Cherry Mae Joy Aquino Fuentes, your Batch 2013 Class Valedictorian. Good luck, and thank you very much.

And that's it. It maybe not be the exact speech I had 9 years ago, but I know that I said the same messages for the people who was there listening to me. Also, one of my batch mates told me that I left a wonderful message to them before I stepped down on the stage. That made me realize that I indeed touched the hearts of everyone with my speech as their Class Valedictorian almost a decade ago.


Want To Connect With Me?

Article # : <265>
Category  : <Personal Blogs>
Author    : <charmingcherry08>
Posting Date : <May 29 2022>

If you still have time, here's some of my latest articles:

22
$ 9.29
$ 8.85 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Jane
$ 0.05 from @Ruffa
+ 13
Sponsors of charmingcherry08
empty
empty
Avatar for charmingcherry08
1 year ago

Comments

Siiiiiss. Can I contacy you? For freelancing concerns lang huhu. I wanted to dive the world of freelance but I don't know where and how to start huhuhu

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes, you can. 😊 Try to beep me up! Hehe

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ang cute ng nene photos mo Cherry. Hehe. Achiever and task-oriented ka talaga no. Congrats 🙌

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thank you ate. Haha. Nene days pa nga ako dyan.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Clapping in the end. Pure words dear. You deserve it this ovation. Old but you did that. That's awesome.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thank you, dear. 😊 I really appreciate it.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That is a very precious moment of your life - to graduate, bonus is when you graduated with flying colors. Very nice speech.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thank you sis. Yes, it was one of the highlights of my life. Will never forget the memory!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That was a grateful and inspiring message to the audience and congratulations for what you have done. Your parents are so very proud of you for not failing their expectations.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thank you so much, Sir. I think they were proud of me that time. I remember when my Papa told me that it was her first time on a stage, and putting medals to his kid.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes. That is what they want to happen their children. To make them proud also.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Absolutely!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It's indeed a great speech, back then in my primary I wasn't among the people that the teachers sees as brilliant students cause I and my friends be busy doing other things than reading 😅

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oh, at least you are doing great now in life, right? That's life. I think of you as a bright man :)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

My dear friend, you not only touched the hearts of everyone at the celebration of that day, but you also touched the hearts of us, your readers by reading your beautiful speech today. Your speech was very beautiful, inspiring, hopeful and full of gratitude. I can feel how your teachers, parents, classmates and friends felt when they heard what you said.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Awww. I really appreciate your good and kind words whenever you pop up on my comment section. Thank you appreciating it and for reading too :)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Those days were moments that are hard to forget, those moments gave us good unforgettable experiences of life.

I have old photos of sports during those days and anytime I visit home and Stumble on those pictures, they take me down to the lane of memories

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I agree with you. Those moments are really hard to forget. Even up to these days. Anyway, I am glad that you kept a few pictures of you when you were a kid. 😊

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That was an amazing speech from a young student like you then and it's so emotional reading it now. Indeed, many parents and teachers, including students would feel the touch then and perhaps made them cry, tears of Joy though.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thank you so much. I appreciate it.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Amazing such a brilliant mind. I wish I could have like that but it seems my capacity isn't adequate to compete with other bright pupils or students

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hmm. I know that you have your own talent and skills. No need to compete because you are already good enough. 😊

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes, we have individual talent. And is proved by Howard Gardner for theory about multiple intelligences. I love your thoughts

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I agree, and thank you for supporting it with a fact.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wow galing, natatandaan nyo pa po ang speech nyo noon. Tagal na po 9 years na ang nakalipas pero tanda nyo pa rin po, talas po ng memory nyo so it's no wonder you're the valedictorian.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Sabi nga rin ng friends ko, sobrang talas ng memory ko. Hehe. Oo, natandaan ko pa yung laman nung speech ko. 😊 Memorized ko kase siya noon eh.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Woow ang galing2x mo,,biruin mo yong memoryado mupa yon pagtapus ngbilang tao.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oo sis. Alam ko pa yung laman nung speech ko hehe.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Talino naman nto..namiss ko tuloy classmates ko nung elem..

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Nakakamiss din ano ate. Yung mga kalaro natin noon. Hay, ang sarap bumalik sa pagkabata.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ganyang ala ala ang masarap balikan. Yong time na nakamit mo ung goal mo na ni set for that moment 🤗🤩😍. Ako diko na gaanong matandaan ee. Baata alam ko, nakakapasa ako kahit papaano hahahaha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hahaha. Nasanay kasi sila Mama noon ate na nasa top ako, kaya need kong i-maintain. 😁

$ 0.00
1 year ago

So are you still a good student now?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hmmm. I can say that I still give importance to my studies, though I am not aiming to be on top of class now. 😊 All is good, no failing grades & all.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Grabe yung speech wala ako masabi hihi. Anyway kahit late na gusto ko sabihin sayo Congratulations because you did your best😊

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thank you, Vhea. 😊 Alam ko lang yung mga nabanggit ko, pero na re-compose na yang speech hehe.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

In the young age you look great. I wish and proud of you.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thank you, buddy!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Uy. Valedictorian to noon hehe. I never had medals when I was studying; I am used to it. But really, there are so many memories too far that came and visited me when I saw upload a post of my batch mate, hehe.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Naku, it's okay :) Hindi na nga ako competitive netong College eh. Ang mahalaga nalang magkapagtapos.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That was an impressive speech dear cherry. Congratulations! By the way, it makes me wonder what was my Valedictory Speech during my time in the year 20**. That was a long time ago. But I guess that was full of gratitude and my humble beginnings.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thank you :) So, you are a Valedictorian too. Hihi. I think it was full of saying thanks and showing gratitude to everyone who were with you on that journey.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Yes, during my time, baby sis. But I am older than you. All I remember are my awards but I cannot really remember every details. Heheh. That was once upon a time. Many years has passed already.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I can also remember my awards, and the competitions I won back then. 😁

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Galing galing naman. Super proud ako hahaha (feeling close lang) kasi at the very young age you touched a lot of people with your heartfelt message:)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thank you, ate. Hihi, okay lang yan, lahat naman kayo virtual friend na turing ko hihi. Salamat po.

$ 0.00
1 year ago