Are Virtual Classes Better?

62 115
Avatar for charmingcherry08
2 years ago

You're mistaken if you think that online classes or schooling started when the pandemic hit. It began during the mid-1900s, meaning distance learning is already happening across the globe, but this happens only to countries with good internet connections and organized education systems.

When the COVID-19 struck the world, there were many things affected, as the education of students. The government and experts told everyone to stay at home, and it left no choice but to continue the academic year through distance learning or online classes.


In the Philippines, the Department of Education declared a blended learning system where students stay and study at home. Parents, teachers, and learners began to share their comments and opinion about the said decision. Some agreed, but most of them questioned the credibility of their kids, educators, and the learners themselves. Furthermore, blended learning started last October 5, 2020.

Since it was already a year after the declaration of blended learning, people are curious whether virtual connections are more effective than in-person classes. Maybe some learners enjoyed taking their discussions at home since they have a more flexible time, but most are not happy with the new learning modality.


Most students started ranting and complaining about different social media platforms like Facebook and Twitter. Movement surveyed Safe, Equitable, Quality and Relevant Education (SEQuRE) among the learners and parents. It showed that 86.7% of students from modular learning, 66% in online learning, and 74% in blended learning said they learned less. Some parents started to open up about their observations of their children. Aside from not knowing much compared to when classes are face-to-face, their mental health was also affected.

On the other hand, the problems in the new learning modality did not stop from the survey and observations of learners' parents. The worst part was, the suicide cases of students started to dominate social media recently. It means that student's mental health is at risk, too, especially those who have a history of anxiety and depression.


Summarizing the information and comments from the people affected by virtual classes shows that face-to-face schooling is better. Learners are more attentive during in-person discussions since studying at home comes with many distractions. Some are comfortable learning with their classmates or friends aside from self-studying inside their room.

Also, not everyone has access to a good internet connection and has any gadget for online learning. The problems that learners face right now may become worse when the education system still insists on blended learning. Students' mental health is becoming unstable, and they are learning less must bother everyone. The future generation might suffer the worst consequences when learning today will continue in the next academic years.



Author's Remarque:

Rest assured that this article went through plagiarism detection for everyone's peace of mind. It is for the readers and users who take plagiarism as a big deal since they are working to improve the platform. The detection made will serve as my contribution to the said purpose. I am one of you, and I am starting it with my article.

If you have any hesitation and doubts, you can check it yourself through these three plagiarism detectors I used.


Commissions By Cherry

Exhausted because of school requirements? I got you! Comment down or drop a private to my Telegram or Twitter account mentioned below.


Want To Connect With Me?

Drop a direct message or comment on my:


If you still have time, here are some of my latest articles that you might want to read:


Crypto-related Articles:



Date Published: September 13, 2021

26
$ 12.99
$ 12.54 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Crackers
$ 0.05 from @Ellehcim
+ 9
Sponsors of charmingcherry08
empty
empty
Avatar for charmingcherry08
2 years ago

Comments

If that online class have got recorded then it is okay . Because some people would get network problems and that can hamper his class if that class is not recorded. And if the network is stable then it can be a good one.

$ 0.07
2 years ago

I agree with your point. Hmmm. There are many reasons why virtual classes are not totally fine for students.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes. And in which app the class will be taken that should be compitable with the device of the students. Otherwise There will be lagging on the screen and in some device there will be hang screen and the student will go under a great loss though.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah. I remember when I experienced that. I was having my online class when the screen went off even if my phone was fully charged. I did not know the problem. Lol. Lucky for me, I bought a new one.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It can be stressful, the shift was stressful. Kaya naaawa ako sa mga students na nag suicide especially nung first few months of the pandemic school year. Kawawa talaga they only needed guidance, after a year, students will eventually get used to it.

$ 0.07
2 years ago

Ang dami ngang suicide cases talaga nung nagsimula online class. The pressure and stress na rin, plus not everyone can self-study. Hay!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm agree with this, there are student's who suffers a lot because of this online class for many different reasons. I also heard about some students who committed suicide because of depression cause by new learning system. Its sad to say but we need to deal with this until the pandemic is over.

$ 0.07
2 years ago

We really need to deal and handles this until the pandemic stops. I don't know until when, but I hope students still have the patience.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Online or modular learning were the alternatives of education in the Philippine educational system amid COVID-19 pandemic . It has it's own advantages and disadvantages. The department wants the education to continue. And it is on the part of the teaching facilitators to do their duty and deliver a meaningful learnings to their students. All in all we have to look at the brighter side of this chaotic situation.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I agree with you. It is the only solution the government think might work. Thank you so much for dropping your idea! See you around. Sadly, your comment is on spam. Care to explain?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It really depends of the situation of the student most especially living in a provinces.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Tama. Yung ibang students hirap sa signal at internet connections. Kayo po, student din?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Despite the comfort, I don't find it cool because there are lots of distractions attached and it is not easy for a teacher to access the kids just to know if they are assimilating what they are been taught.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Maybe the advantage is we have a flexible time in online learning but like what you have said, there are many distractions at home that would cause a problem with the said modality. Both teachers and students are suffering from it. Thanks for dropping your thoughts, @George_Dee ♥️

$ 0.01
2 years ago

We have to set our mind to good....that's a nice post... Very good post..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah. We need to look at the bigger picture always. Thanks for reading my article & for the compliment. See you around. Hope to read one of your pieces too.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We have to set our mind and see the good/positive effect of online learning. God bless

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I agree with your point. We have to see the good behind the disadvantages of online learning. We should learn how to go beyond what we just think about it. Thank you so much for dropping by, dear. See you around. ♥️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Maybe to some but most of the students talaga are struggling sa online class during this pandemic. Not all students kase are capable of having the resources to attend online class. Pero para saken f2f ang maganda kase may matututunan talaga mga studyante.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ang dami po talagang struggle sa online class. Not just about the internet connections, pero yung effectivity ng mode of learning yung problema. Not everyone has the capability to self-study. Some rely on face-to-face discussions with teachers. Wala halos natutunan students sa modality ngayon.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Work and submit lang, no learnings at all.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah. Ganyan din ako. Ang hirap talaga.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

As a teacher (by force not by choice) and as a student, I understand the importance of face to face learning. The interaction between student and teacher is important, it has to do with the capacity everyone has to get the information that it's been given, and also the energy that circulates in the classroom. And although some people can learn very well via online, not all of us have that plus on our side.

$ 0.10
2 years ago

Oh. I did not know that you are a teacher, Rebeca. But I agree with everything that you have said. The connection between the professors and learnes is something different when it's done face to face. Sometimes we get to study and learn more effectively when we are listening to our teachers in person. I agree with all your points.

By the way, you just mentioned that you are a student too. Are you taking your masters degree?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's true, and the interaction with our classmates is also very important too. I'm a teacher because since I'm a musician, it allows me to teach how to play the oboe (that's the instrument I play), and no, I have a Bachelor's degree in Commercial Administration. When I say "as a student" I mean that when I was a student haha but I believe I still am, since I'm new to this world of writers and crypto, and I find it hard to absorb, especially the crypto thing, I need to be surrounded by people with which I can debate and decipher all the information.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ohh. I thought you are taking a master's degree. My bad. By the way, wow I think it's good teaching people how to play a particular instrument. But sadly, I am not aware with the one you have mentioned. My bad, again.

Yeah. I think we are learners everyday. Even if we stop going to school, we still learn from life experiences & the field we just entered. Just like the both us, this world of crypto makes us learners. Still studying and deciphering information. Goodluck to the both of us.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

No worries Cherry! And for the instrument no problem haha, it's not that common, although it's very important in the Orchestral world. I invite you to watch a video of a beautiful song with the oboe as protagonist ! https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oag1Dfa1e_E

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yay! Thank you so much for that.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hope you liked it!!❤️❤️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I haven't experienced virtual classes, and I have been very clear of it from.the start: I do NOT want to. I am also aware how I will just be distracted, how internet sucks in our country, and the fact that I also struggle in face to face classes, what more in online, right?

I have seen my younger bro , a college student, struggle with online classes, and I feel sad and frustrated I could not do anything about it. I hope that the government first took into consideration the situation of us Filipinos before pushing such an ugly decision. They are pushing education,yes, but what is the use, when the youth of today struggle with it, and do not appreciate it?

The government thinks they made a good decision, turns out they just added more to the financial and mental heath problems of the students. So disappointing.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

I have always been disappointed with how the government provided their so-called solutions to this crisis. I mean, we are all in this together but looks like people like us, who are on the boundary of what they call "ordinary" suffers worse. Hmmmm. I have been in virtual classes, and it was effin' annoying especially when you cannot understand anything from the discussions. The youth did not just suffer from financial concerns, but also in mental, emotional, and physical. This new modality of learning is draining us, BIG TIME. 🥺😭

Thanks for your thoughts, by the way. But I am curious. You said you have a younger brother who's a college student. Are you studying too? What year?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am not studying anymore. I actually have graduated 2 years ago. I have just shared how hard it was for me even I have studied face to face. What if I studied online that time?? WTF, I must have cried a lot more of struggle. I already cried a few times even it's not online classes. I could not imagine if back then there is pandemic already. I would suffer more, surely.

Ang my younget bro, there were moments he hinted about wanting to stop temporarily because he ain't learning anything. I feel so sad for him.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Face to face classes are somehow stressful, so what more on online, right? I also cried before once about our research paper, I was so stressed since I have one hella group of lazy people.

Awww. I thought about it too, pero sabi ko sayang naman kung hihinto. Sayang yung taon. Sayang yung panahon. Tiis nalang. Kaya naman, at kakayanin pa. ♥️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Tama. Ganyan din ang advice ni mama sa kanya. Disadvantage lang is lacking talaga sa actual and practical knowledge, since online lang.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oo nga. Ganyan yung problema talaga, eh. Ano bang course niya? Baka yung course niya more on practical knowledge. Disadvantage po talaga ang online class sa mga ganun.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ay sa true lang. Comouter enginerring sya. Nagpoprogram. Need talaga ng interactions para sa mga need gawin sa computer. Kasi mga software related stuff ang inaaral. Tinatamad sya kasi, syempre, sira na nga laptop nya, sa cp pa sya nagpprogram. Mahirap aralin yun nang solo, kasi need lagi ng supervision and assistancee, which is sa case nya, wala lahat. Di kaya. Hay.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Computer Engineering naman pala kaya need talaga ng practical knowledge. Huhu. Hirap nyan lalo kung need talaga ng guidance ng face to face.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Actually meron siyang favorable and unfavorable factors, ok siya kc nde na kelangan mag madali kc nde na kelangan pumunta sa school very flexible kumbaga, ang hindi lng kagandahan ay ung internet service provider dito sa Pilipinas eh questionable talaga nde stable. Problema din kung may mga hindi naiintidihan ng bata ay hindi natin macgurado kung kaya ba lahat ng mga nanay ang umalalay lalo na sa mga nagtatrabaho.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

May advantage and disadvantage po talaga siya. Gaya po ng sabi ninyo, nagiging flexible kasi hawak namin yung time. But at the same time, minsan ang hirap intindihin ng lessons. Like what you have said po, may mga students talaga na hindi gaano makasunod sa discussions. Hay. But for me, I think face to face classes should open. I hope everything's back to normal na. 🥺

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Pareho kasong mag advantage tong dalawa ee. Kaso, mas maganda pa rin sana ang f2f. Sad lang, kelan ba kasi matatapos yong pandemic na to tsk.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Oo nga ate. May advantage din yung online class kasi hawak namin mostly yung time namin & nasa bahay lang kami. Sa face to face naman kasi, ang advantage doon is yung matututunan. Ay ewan ko ba eh. Magpasakal nalang yata ako sa jowa ko 🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sa buong mundo, Venezuela at Pilipinas nalang ang hindi nakakapag f2f class. Sabi ng NEDA, sobrang laki ng epekto ito sa ekonomiya sa susunod na 40 years kaya need na talaga iopen ang schools.

Btw, pwede ko bang gawing inspiration to work mo para gumawa ng article about online class?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oo nga. Yung mga pinsan ko sa ibang bansa, they are starting their face to face classes na. And nakakainggit talaga lalo ang hirap nitong sa atin, plus the system is bull$hit too.

Anyways, yes of course. :) Ano ka ba, no problem. Sulat ka lang din ng article about dito. 😉

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Parang self taught nalang siya eh, YT and Google na yung nag sisilbing teachers natin.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Tama. Minsan mas maganda na nga lang doon makinig at mag-aral instead of checking out our modules 100%. Kapag may topics, check agad sa Google & YT. Hay! 😏

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Mas okay padin Yung face face class Kasi feel na feel mo mag aral hehe

$ 0.02
User's avatar Yen
2 years ago

Naku, sinabi mo pa ate. Dito sa online class ang daming pwedeng ways para makapasa. Yung iba ko ngang classmates todo flex ng grades nila, pero noong face to face ligwak naman. Hay!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

When it comes to some parts like being flexible, that we can do what we want while being in a class or not waking up too early to attend morning classes that's a positive views of it. But then that also a bad part of it. I'm a type of students who learns base in what my professor teach and not base on what they put on the screen. For me virtual classes has more negative side than positive side

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yeah. May advantage and disadvantage talaga. Maybe some students were happy kasi we have enough and flexible time while we are at home, but just like you, I think I learn better when my professor is talking in front of me instead of discussing behind screens.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nakakasakit sa ulo ate ang modular learning hehe even we say that it is good for our health. Parang wala akong natutunan sa virtual learning ate, at katamaran at procrastination lang ang binigay nila sa akin haha

$ 0.02
2 years ago

College ka na ba, be?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Grade 12 po

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh, I see. Good luck! ♥️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

To be honest, I find it hard to self-study lalo gusto ko nakikinig talaga sa prof during discussions. Pero gaya ng sabi mo, online classes made me lazy as fπck. Hahaha. Mas sinipag pa ako sa crypto at BCH kesa sa modules. 🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Virtual classes?? I DON'T WANT IT ANYMORE, the only visible thing I gained from it is pain, back pain, headache, eye irritation. And its really a struggle for me since I live in a signal deprived area

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Awww. It was an indeed struggle. Anong year ka na ba?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

4th yr po

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ohhh. 3rd year palang po ako hehe. Ano pong course ninyo?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oy, Teacher po for SHS. ano course mo?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

BSBA Financial Management po ako.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow, btw thank you for the sponsorship 🥺

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You're welcome. 💯 See you around! Hihi.

$ 0.00
2 years ago