Club1BCH Website Update

61 110
Avatar for bmjc98
Written by
2 years ago

It's been over a week since the last time I wrote about the website. Just in case you haven't read or heard about it, feel free to visit my article: Club1BCH Will Have Its Website Soon. So in this article, let me just share with you everything that I failed to mention in the first update. There's nothing much but I feel like I want to just write anything.

Warning: It's going to be boring so feel free to skip if you want.

I am not a professional web designer/developer whatever label you want to call it. I'm just a mere noob who is fond of creating my own blog sites. In fact, I've had created more or less 5 blog sites before but only one survived up to now.

The design

Ever since Club1BCH was launched in February, I already pictured out to create our own website. I wanted to do it before but was worried that they might not like the idea so I just ignored it. The thought of having our website ignited again when we started talking about creating our own token. At that moment, I knew I needed to pursue the website and create it as soon as possible.

When I like something, I always set my eyes on that goal. So the idea of having a token in the future is my excuse to create the website. From Wix, I changed it to WordPress because I feel like it's easier than the other. In just 1 day, I made a lot of progress and changes, from the background color and font style to the banner and a few more.

I'm also very particular when it comes to avatars and @emily2u knows me very well when it comes to that. I want everything to be perfect. Avatars should have our Club1BCH logo as background, the picture should be in cartoon-style, and it should be in the center as well. So far, most of them have managed to comply with my request. Although there are still a few who didn't get it, I'll make sure to remind them later about that.

The domain

Designing the website is fun. I enjoyed it a lot. The struggle only started to kick in when we had to buy the domain. Darn! This domain, though. Honestly, this is probably one of the biggest stresses I encountered so far. Let me tell you why.

As soon as I finished the design, I contacted Josh, a BCH dev, who happen to be @Mr_Trenzs's connection. Prior to this, I asked Mr. Trenzs' help first coz he's an expert in this stuff. But he told me that he knew someone who can host the site, and that's Josh. So when the site was ready, Mr. Trenzs told me to just contact Josh because he already told him about me, and so I did.

Josh told me he would sponsor the domain, so he instructed me to buy the domain at NameCheap to get a cheaper one. We had quite a few options for the domain: .com, .org, .net, .rocks, and .blog. Most of these are cheaper but the club agreed to go for .org. I then added the .org to my cart but when Josh checked out the domain again, he noticed that it was already taken.

How can it be taken when I only added it to my cart? I didn't pay it yet. So we were confused at that time. Then I checked my cart, and it was gone. The next thing we know, the price of the .org, which was initially $8.88, has increased to $30. Almost 4x increase in just 24 hours. Oh, the $30 is just for the first year and the succeeding years will only I suspected 3 reasons for the sudden increase.

  • I added the .org to my cart.

  • I posted once on Twitter that I needed someone to sponsor our website.

  • Josh tweeted about it and even tagged NameCheap in it.

Despite the price, the majority of the core members preferred the .org domain over the others. So after so many discussions, we decided to go for it. Emily helped me with everything and Mr. Trenzs paid for the domain since Josh was offline at that time. Yes, we already got the domain but the struggle wasn't over yet.

The host

I thought getting the domain is the final key. That we could just link that domain on WordPress and voila! But nah, that's not the case here. When we tried to link the domain, we noticed that we needed to avail of their package to make the site online. The plans are quite pricey too.

We have 3 options for this:

  • Wait for Josh and let him do the hosting.

  • Stick to WordPress and pay the annual fee of $48.

  • Or, let Emily host the site.

Since Josh is a busy man, and we have hardly talked, we decided to remove him from the options. After so many discussions and with the help of Emily, I finally decided to stick to WordPress. Well, I made a poll survey but none of them voted so Emily told me to just decide it myself.

The first year fee

I didn't know having your website with your own domain would cost a lot. Here's our first-year fee:

  • Domain - $30 ($13/yearly on the succeeding years)

  • WordPress - $48

  • SSL - $10

Good thing there are 12 of us who are going to pay for it. I also shared our club wallet with the other members in case they'd be willing to share for the site. Plus, Josh donated $50 in BCH so yeah, we have quite a lot now. I'm still waiting for the other core members to give their share. Once everything is settled, we will pay for the plan tonight.

Why do we need the website?

You might be asking why do we need the website? Is it really necessary? Why bother spending so much on this?

Club1BCH is no ordinary club. We are here to inspire and motivate people to HODL at least 1BCH. Since the club started, a lot of the read.cash writers or noisers are saving their BCH for the future.

Having the website may not be necessary, but it can be a good start for something bigger in the future. For instance, if one day, we decide to create our own token funded by most of the club members, of course, then at least we have the website ready. As for the yearly fee, as long as the core members will commit and stay true to their promise to share the annual fee, then we are good to go.

Closing thoughts

Despite all the stress I went through, I am so happy that we're finally going to launch it very soon. I can't wait to finally see the site online because, for me, this website is my virtual baby.

I also want to thank my club fam for all the support. Whenever I have some crazy ideas, they are just there to support me, especially for this website. Without their support, I won't be able to finish this.

Huge shout out to Emily, Mr. Trenzs, Josh, PVM, Jane, Eybyoung, and the others for everything.

So yeah, I'll keep you all posted, and I can't wait to show you the site in the next coming days. Yay!

UPDATE: We are finally out! Feel free to visit https://club1bch.org/.


30
$ 12.50
$ 11.38 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.25 from @Cryptonators
$ 0.10 from @tired_momma
+ 20
Sponsors of bmjc98
empty
empty
Avatar for bmjc98
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

Your updates about the Club1BCH is always on point. I took my time to go through some of your past posts. Weldone ma'am.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Thank you, sis.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's awesome! Amazing Club1BCH keep moving up. 😊

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Thank you for your donation, momma. <3

$ 0.00
2 years ago

congrats sa mga 1bchclub members

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Salamat, sis.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

welcome sis!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nakakatuwa pong makita ung progress ng hardwork ninyo. Hopefully I can be a member of the club in the future. 😁

$ 0.03
2 years ago

If you want to apply, just leave a feedback as site. Meron dung feedback and just include your read and noise account para ma verify namin. :) Hindi to assurance na you will become one pero at least madali namin makita dun if ever.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sige po itry ko yan pag may time hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Great job, All the best for the new upcoming website. Changes are always welcome

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Thank you so much.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The design looks really good. It is a good idea to run a website. After a while more and more people can find it. If you are planning to have a blog menu on the site it would be even better with quality blogs.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Thank you. Yes, the plan is to ask the members to provide quality blogs for this. I mean if they have existing articles related to BCH or the club itself, then they can just share it to our Google Form. If you have any, please check Chatbox's pinnesd posts. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Congrats sa launching ng website ninyo sis!

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Salamat ng marami sis.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Good luck po sa clubbch po about don sa principles niyo. CUrious lang ako ate kung domain rin po yung ".cash"??? Wala po kasi akong fluency sa ganon hehe

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Yes. Domain ang dot cash. Kaso ang mahal din niyan. Di carry. LOL.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Seriously, I am happy to see that website of Club1bch is launching soon and I appreciate your efforts and all of the Club1BCH members. My best wishes to you for this amazing journey.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Thank you so much, sis. Just realized that creating a website is never that easy. HEHE. Nevertheless, everything is worth it!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kailan launch? Hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Done na

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Na-visit ko na yata 'yun sa pinned messages hahaha wala pang laman bukod dun sa about us ano? Ano pa mga ilalagay dun?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kailan launch? Hahaha

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Sorry, late reply. HEHE. Di ko na to sasagutin kasi 3 days ago pa to. HEHE. Pero yes, launched na siya after ilang minutes kong pinost to. hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Damn, hosting the website is quite expensive 😧 couldn't you guys have looked for a cheaper web hosting service?

I have checked out the site and it looks beautiful ❤️ congrats ma'am, you did a good job

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Looking for a cheaper one means we need to rebuild everything from scratch, and there's a chance that it won't look the same anymore because of the template. The good news is, we managed to get a 50% discount. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Na visit ko na po ate, Congratulations po sayo at sa lahat ng CLUB1BCH YAY! Tuloy tuloy na yan 🎊🎉 Push lang. sa umpisa lang yan mahirap hehe. 💖

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Oo nga e. Di pala madali kasi sa umpisa maraming views tas sa next kunti kunti na lang. Kaya dapat me strategy din talaga.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It’s up and running! Again, congrats! ♥️ I wAs able to visit the site with no issue and I subscribed through email.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Aww, thank you. <3

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Well I will be waiting till that day your it will be officially launched and I will be one of the top 100 people to participate

$ 0.03
2 years ago

It was already launched a few minutes since I posted this article. hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nahayssssss, todo na to 😍💙. Congratsuuu sa official na pag labas ng Club1BCH.org 💙

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Astig noh. Me website na tayo. HEHE. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is a lovely movement and I think I am happy about the website and hope for the best... well done club1 members.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Thank you. <3

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I now and again feel like I ought to be an individual from this astonishing club shockingly, new individuals are not permitted I guess. Congratulations ate hope for the smooth arrangement of your site. More blessings to come!

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Thank you so much. Sige lang malay mo naman isa ka sa mamili randomly.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ahhh how i wish

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Looking forward to that day when your website finally go online. Goodluck and congratulations in advance.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Salamat. Tho late yung reply ko. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I sometimes feel like I should be a member of this amazing club unfortunately; new members are not allowed I guess..

$ 0.03
2 years ago

It's not that we don't allow new members but we just randomly pick anyone.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow, A big congratulations sis...hope for the smooth deployment of your website.. More power to club1bch!

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Thank you so much, sis.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Excited for its launch. You did really great madam

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Madam! Excited na me. :) Prepare all your helpful articles ha. :) Once a week lang siguro tayo mag publish or twice ba. Depende na yan sa inyo ni @Eybyoung. <3

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sure...😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Out na yung website! Check mo. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Pwd nb ipromote?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's really good news. My dream is to become a member of bch 1 club. You are lucky. you already done it.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Thank you. Who knows one day, you'll be the next member.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The zeal is strong, you are really putting in your very best into this and I believe that it is a success already.

Congratulations to every Club1BCH member for the creation of the website.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I'm happy with the result. It's my first website ever with the domain and all. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Glad you got it sorted, I did say that you would have to pay to host it.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

No choice. HEHEH. But it was worth it than rebuilding again.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow early as now I congratulate you for a job well done. 👏🎉

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Thank you, sis. <3

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nice job,

$ 0.00
2 years ago

thank you

$ 0.00
2 years ago