Till Death Do Us Part

6 23
Avatar for ZehraSky
2 years ago
Sponsors of ZehraSky
empty
empty
empty

How far can you go to live with your vow?

Do you know someone who had been married for years? Someone who just got married or those who are in a long term relationship and will take the next step? Have you ever seen a married couple fight like hell, then act as if nothing happened the next day? What really bounds a married couple when there were times you can't love your spouse?

Just when you thought you have finally settle down with your life by having a family, you are wrong. Marriage is a real tough stage. It is a rollercoaster ride that there are times you were up and sometimes down. Until when can you live up with your vow?

Not because you married someone, it will all be rainbows and butterflies. Remember, that a rainbow comes after the rain and butterflies need to be isolated in a cocoon before it can open its wings. What I'm saying is, even if you face God for you to be bound forever, as long as you are living, problems are everywhere. You face God to vow that only death can separate the two of you, but our future is unknown.

Until when can you hold? On the days where you thought you've had enough, would you want to die just to be separated from the person whom you promised forever? Misunderstandings are always there. Yes, communication is the key to a successful relationship, so do consistency. If you promise to change, would you do that even if you have to sacrifice your happiness?

I have seen some couples who look perfect for each other. Most were dating for more than 3 years, then after taking the next step on their relationship, it only took a year or less to call it quits. Some I know stayed together for the sake of their children. Some find their way back into each others arm, but sadly, some find peace after they've separated.

Just like the trending topic recently about Carla Abellana and Tom Rodriguez. They looked like heavens pair and they have been in a long term relationship but after a month of marriage, speculations of them separating were all over the internet. We really don't know what happens behind close doors. Some relationship that we thought were perfect has full of secrets and sacrifices.

How important a vow is? I remember in one of Jelai Andres's vlog, she mentioned that she prayed asking for God's forgiveness since she cannot do her vow after being cheated on. Which is totally understandable after what she'd been through. But she still tried and forgave her ex husband, but failed in front of the world. Her lovestory with Jon Guiterrez was known and had been a hot topic for quiet a while.

Seeing her glow after that toxic relationship made me think that not because you said your vows in front of God, that doesn't mean that you have to live with it if it cause you self destruction. I think God will understand it and would also want to see you happy.

The debate now that is circling around the internet is: Who is right? Ed Sheeran who said "Loving can hurt" or Toni Gonzaga's "Love should not hurt". Which do you think is right?

Closing Thoughts

I just had these random thoughts about marriage and stuffs after I saw a married couple fight. I'm not married so I don't have any idea what about this kind of stuff. So forgive me if I may have lack of knowledge about the matter, because I am. On my point of view, being in a relationship is already hard, so it might be a lot harder to be married, right?

It made me think that it doesn't matter how long you knew each other, you will still have days where you still don't understand each other. Life is really full of surprises.



Thank you for reading this article!

If you want to read some more articles of mine, I have monthly summaries here:

January 2022 Articles Summary

December 2021 Articles Summary

November 2021 Articles Summary

September 2021 Articles Summary

August 2021 Articles Summary

July 2021 Articles Summary

June 2021 Articles Summary

May 2021 Articles Summary

7
$ 1.99
$ 1.78 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.09 from @meitanteikudo
$ 0.05 from @Eunoia
+ 2
Sponsors of ZehraSky
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for ZehraSky
2 years ago

Comments

That's why couples should focus more on the marriage than the wedding. I hate people spending lavishly for their wedding only to end up separating because they forgot to work on the marriage. And I think we have to stop thinking in terms of 'forever' and instead look at it one day at a time.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It might be hard to see but that's happening right now, maybe this will be the time when the Philippines also adopt divorce, not just annulment. I think that is because of social media sometimes. Just click something that could happen in any relationship even they are legal to both families. I also saw that one, at this moment my best friend cousin felt the same coldness within her husband. She was still young when they were together, but that sad is that when they had children, they will be the ones that will suffer.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Faithfulness and trust is the most important in couples vows. It's in my own opinion then but as far as I've seen and encountered couples in their marriage life that was what they said to me. It is not easy especially to those separated couples because the vows was broke. I always prayed to God that someday I had a happy marriage life.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

There's a lot of changes when a couple is married. There are attitudes that you never know exist, and there are fight that might bring you to regret.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's not easy living with the burden of having to follow a vow for life. One has to prepare properly and decide adequately before going into marriage. I'm so scared.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Even I'm not married but I understand your fear and concern. Dear, I think being a happy couple doesn’t need many things. Trust and patience can emerged the love more and more.

$ 0.00
2 years ago