Thoughts on Before trilogy

5 29
Avatar for ZehraSky
2 years ago
Sponsors of ZehraSky
empty
empty
empty

Ever since I met my partner, the movies I have watched expanded by a lot. I can confidently say that I watched more movies with him in just more than a year we have been talking than the past few years of my life.

It might sound sad to some of you but for me it wss just a natural thing. I never found the appeal of sitting through a movie much less 3 or more movies in a day.

Sure back in my golden days in high school, I could usually finish anime and k-drama series in one day but they are not movies. Even then, I also lost interest watching most animes and kdramas by the time I reached 17 years old.

Well, this article is not really about my history in watching movies so let me get down to the topic.

I mentioned last time that my partner and I celebrated Valentine's day by having a virtual date. Since my class ended late into the evening (9:00PM), we only had time to watch two movies.

We each chose one movie to watch. I chose Tangled due to my very limited movie catalog in my head and I saw a Youtube about that the day before so I wanted to rewatch it. And he chose the Before trilogy.

Be warned that I might write spoilers about the movies.

The first installment of the trilogy was nice enough. I think it captured the awkwardness of first dates while also showing the connection that you rarely feel with people at the first meeting.

Although, honestly I did not understood why Celine even got off the train with a broke dude that she just met a few minutes ago. But that is my cautious side of me talking.

I hated the second movie. However, I have to admit that they did a great job acting how it felt like meeting someone you once loved that you thought you will never see again. I disliked this one because they made cheating looks so romantic. Yup, one main character is already married yet they flirted like there is no tomorrow. Then at the end of it, they decided to spend time together at Celine's apartment.

The last installment is very hard to watch. At least at the second movie, it was just mildly uncomfortable but the third movie really cut open my old wounds to pour salt and vinegar on them.

The couple are now married. And many people think that their story is so romantic because of these books that the guy wrote.

Halfway through the movie, I had to ask my partner to stop it because I was so triggered. I did not understand how it could be romance. I think it was my past trauma talking then but I am glad that my partner paused the movie and talked with me.

I was telling him that I did not want to continue, and I want him to just tell me what happened next. He told me that it would be better if we wach it together but he agreed to just watch the rest alone if I could not do it.

I asked for a 5 minutes break before we started watching again. Thank God for my understanding partner who knows how to support me when I need it. I was calmer after the short break so I was able to appreciate more of the movie's plot.

Near the end, I was able to see why this trilogy received a lot of praises. I am glad that I watched it until the end with my partner.

What I like about the trilogy

I liked how they portrayed love. At first it was just full of romanticization and passion. Then it turns more mature as time goes by. The best thing that I loved about the trilogy is the way they showed that love will not always be easy even with someone who you think is your soulmate.

There will be fights, and you might hurt each other's feeling from time to time. But the longest relationships worked out because both parties wanted it to work and they did their best to make it work.

Additionally, I liked the conversations that they had. They got me thinking too, even while I watch them go through the process of falling in love.

My partner also mentioned that each movie is just set in a day. So it just showed a day in their lives and it does a good job of highlighting what changed and what happened. I did not even notice it until my partner told me.

I also forgot to mention that the movies are set around 8-9 years apart. So it really gives a nice glimpse of how relationships evolve overtime.

What I hate about the movie

I dislike the fact that the ex-wife suddenly became known as abusive by the third movie when in the second, the guy mentioned that his wife was a smart woman and a good mother. It seems like a convenient way to make what they did look acceptable, well it appears to me that way.

I hate how the main characters chose to spend the night together even while knowing both of them are in their respective relationships. I especially hate it so since they fell in love in a day 9 years ago, and yet it seems that their brain and conscience stopped functioning when they were alone. They could have exchanged contact numbers, and end their respective relationship first before doing the deed but no, they could not even bother to think about what it would do to others. Thinking about it now, maybe that was why the ex-wife changed so suddenly.

I imagine I would be an angry woman all the time too if my husband cheated on me with a girl he had one-night stand with 9 years ago. And then finding out he shared his affair to everyone who will read his books and made it sound somehow romantic.

Do I recommend Before trilogy?

Sure, it will give a nice perspective on love and relationships. Although, if you are like me who have been cheated on and hate to see cheating happen, then I suggest you try to watch it with someone. Or better yet, just skip the trilogy altogether.

I hate most of the trilogt but I would be lying to say that I did not love the ending. The ending really tied it up all together for me. The problems they have were not resolved but ypu can see that they both chose each other despite how different their relationship was from before.

Overall, I can say that it was a rollercoaster ride for me but by the end of it all, I am happy to have watched it till the end.



Thank you for reading this article!

If you want to read some more articles of mine, I have monthly summaries here:

January 2022 Articles Summary

December 2021 Articles Summary

November 2021 Articles Summary

October 2021 Articles Summary

September 2021 Articles Summary

August 2021 Articles Summary

July 2021 Articles Summary

June 2021 Articles Summary

May 2021 Articles Summary

9
$ 4.32
$ 4.08 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Ruffa
$ 0.05 from @Eunoia
+ 4
Sponsors of ZehraSky
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for ZehraSky
2 years ago

Comments

Diko pa napapanood to pero nabasa ko parang ayaw ko nalang. Mas madali akong mainis kapag ganito ang story. Baka diko nalang ituloy ang pag nood if ever. And glad that you had a good time together I mean with your partner 🥰

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Cheating is give me a head pains. I hate people who are cheaters sis. Never in my life. Once the person cheated on me there's will be no second chances anymore. There are always a trust issues going to happen and the relationship is not healthy anymore. Cheaters is a always a cheaters for me sis.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

After reading this I will surely look for this movie trilogy.😅 I don't like cheating relationships too coz I experienced it also. It's hard to believe that the one that you love wasn't contented on you. So he finds some one new and the worst thing is they making love and they fell in love. But that's life people may go and people may stay if they love you genuinely. If I were you don't look on the past love you experience and let it go, I think your bf now is more precious than the past love you had.😉😊 thanks for sharing this movie.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I am glad you were able to finish, but I don't see my self ever watching such. I hate the way Hollywood aggrandize all the wrongdoings and evil around sex these days. Imagine the scriptwriter deliberately making the wife look bad to justify the evil been done to her or how they want cheating look romantic. It's abominable and repulsive altogether

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I should have stopped in the mid. But I read now, so yes, those spoilers increased my interest in it.

$ 0.03
2 years ago