The Fun In Learning New Things

10 37
Avatar for ZehraSky
2 years ago
Sponsors of ZehraSky
empty
empty
empty

February 12, 2022

Hajimemashite! Manju to moshimasu.

Today marks the first day I officially started my Nihongo learning. I was actually not in the mood earlier before our class started as I was having another toothache edition. But as the class progress, I can't help but get excited on our lesson and forgot about my attention seeker toothache. It's motivational to think that what I have been studying for alone, will be used in the class.

How was my first day?

My class consists of 6 persons. Some already have a knowledge in terms of the language, some are like me who are basically a beginner. Erie sensei handles our class. She is a native Japanese speaker. Her approach towards teaching is fast paced and freestyle. As she mentioned, she don't have a lesson plan to follow and she is more focused on the pronunciation rather than writing.

Good thing is I have study in advance Hiragana, so kind of follow her. Sensei is very patient and understood that some of us have zero knowledge in Japanese. But there were still times where she go extreme in her vocabulary that we had to stop her to write down notes. I'm used to watching anime but having a native Japanese speaker talk to me without subtitle is definitely mind boogling. Haha!

As of now, we had studied counting and time expressions. I find it very complicated but through the span of my learning of basic Japanese, I know I'll get used to it.

We have started with this. Along the way of discussing this, there are subdiscussions and idea that sensei shared. My notes was chaotic.

We are using Line application for our class. Sensei also mentioned that we will be the last batch she will handle before she moved to Japan, indefinitely. It is a pleasure to have someone as our sensei with a lot of knowledge in the subject. She also shared the reason why she wants us to focus on pronunciation more rather than writing. She said that her daughter became a victim of bullying because of how she speak the language. That's why she oath that no one will have to go through what her daughter had gone through.

Initially, she mentioned that she will be treating us as her own children. Which gave me comfort to commit mistakes. She always mentioned "daijoubo" (fine) to make mistakes, she is there to guide.

Tomorrow, we will have another class. She said in advance that she will start to ask questions to get us all involved in the class. I am literally nervous and I hope that I'll pull it through. I really want to learn Japanese. That's why after posting this article, I will be reviewing what we discussed so that I will not be left behind.

Closing Thoughts

My friend and I have different sensei but we still get a recap of what we have discussed so that we can practice a little from time to time. At first, it was awkward but as we do it often, say for example during our video chat, we will be greeting each other in Japanese and laugh, but we will get used to it soon. We also agreed that during our shift at work, we will try to watch elementary level video about Japanese to expand our knowledge. And we will also greet and say goodbye to each other in Japanese.

Her class actually have students who are expert in Japanese and just want to have a certificate. Good thing is she don't felt any pressure on her class as they were all accommodating according to her. She is not a fan of anime or anything related to Japan but she is enjoying the class. I really am happy for that.

I can't help but be excited to see the outcome of this training. Otsukaresama deshita (Thank you for your work)!



Thank you for reading this article!

If you want to read some more articles of mine, I have monthly summaries here:

January 2022 Articles Summary

December 2021 Articles Summary

November 2021 Articles Summary

September 2021 Articles Summary

August 2021 Articles Summary

July 2021 Articles Summary

June 2021 Articles Summary

May 2021 Articles Summary


To show my appreciation for the support that I have been receiving, please accept a small gift I prepared for the first reader.

https://branch.wallet.bitcoin.com/JIjqWK7mAnb

9
$ 4.60
$ 4.49 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Jher0122
$ 0.02 from @Ayane-chan
+ 2
Sponsors of ZehraSky
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for ZehraSky
2 years ago

Comments

They way Japanese speak is actually cute to hear

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I have complete learning materials for Japanese. If you like, just send me a message on Telegram. Then, I'll send the links to my drive.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

For real?! Thank you so so much! What's your tg account? I will send you a message.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ye, I have. Just search @AyaneChan21. I'm on the groupchat of Noisetistificationismm, too.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

wow... learning something new especially another foreign language is such a wonderful experience I bet you will fall in love with the whole learning process as you progress.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I am sure of that. Been a fan of anime since I was a kid. So getting closer to watch it without sub has been my dream. ~Manju

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yee, I imagine what if I also learn the said language watching anime is a lot easier for not reading the sub title hehe.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

The main reason why I want to learn the language. Haha ~Manju

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Its hard to learn japanese. Good luck to you sis!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Wow. It surely is amazing and awesome to learn a new language. All the best.

$ 0.01
2 years ago