Responsibilities of being the Eldest

14 34
Avatar for ZehraSky
2 years ago
Sponsors of ZehraSky
empty
empty
empty

If moms are the light of our home, what do you call the eldest daughter?

I come across a post that asked that question. As I read the comment section, I found it funny that most of us call ourselves as the flashlight of our home. It may sound funny, but in a serious note, if the light runs out on our homes, we have our backup to the rescue-- a flashlight.

As we celebrated the end of 2021, I was hoping for abundant things to happen by 2022. However, things will not be exactly the way we planned it to be. As I have shared before, my aunt passed this month. We were not yet over this, when I received another news from my mom. She will end her contract at work this end of month.

I can see how my mom was disappointed by this news. But she can't do anything about it since the company she's working with already encouter a huge loss because of the pandemic. I really hate Covid!

By hearing this news, responsibility makes its own lists on my brain. Since I am the eldest, I have to cover for the electricity and water bills, on top of my own monthly bills. As I think about it, I can't help but be sad to realized that my plan on enrolling in a language course will have to be delayed.

I share the news to my siblings, and they were saddened as well. My mom really is the one who pays for the bills, that's why it will cause a huge impact on us. Well, I guess it's time for her retirement and relaxation now. We haven't prepared yet, but we'll get through this.

Now, I am thinking of getting a part time job for extra income. I will not compromise my health since I don't usually get tired at my current work, only during the peak season which only happen during the ber-months. The thing is, I have read that dual job in the Philippines is only allowed, if the other employer will not pay for the government benefits like SSS, Pag-ibig and Philhealth. So if you have any idea on what job should I get, I will highly appreciate it.

I don't only think about what's bad out of the news, part of me is happy that my mom ended her contract, which means she will now be at home, resting. She will be able to focus on her health-- given that's she's not getting younger. On the other hand, my dad got regularized with his work. At least there will be the two of us who will go hand in hand in paying the bills. Zehra also contributes when she have some extra money-- I'm so proud of her.

There is really not a problem that God will give if we can't handle it. We just have to look at the bigger picture and never focus on the negativity. Rainbow comes after the rain. Whatever we are facing right now, this too shall pass.

Closing Thoughts

I think I will have to stop ordering online from now on. This will be my farewell on my online shopping app-- Shopee, Lazada, Shein etc. I will miss my name being called out for delivery. Haha!

I know something good is about to happen and I can't be more excited. Do you think I'm being too optimistic? Well, I guess I am. It's just cause I have been on worst scenarios and still here thriving. Should I sing the "Waiting for a Miracle" song from Disneys' "Encanto"? Haha.

I am currently rewatching Running man; a variety show in Korea. This gives me a good laugh, which I badly needed nowadays. Let's all be positive in mind but not in Covid. Fighting!



Thank you for reading this article!

If you want to read some more articles of mine, I have monthly summaries here:

December 2021 Articles Summary

November 2021 Articles Summary

September 2021 Articles Summary

August 2021 Articles Summary

July 2021 Articles Summary

June 2021 Articles Summary

May 2021 Articles Summary

11
$ 5.74
$ 5.50 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Jane
$ 0.05 from @Olasquare
+ 4
Sponsors of ZehraSky
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for ZehraSky
2 years ago

Comments

I am also the panganay and I also feel the financial pressure of our family. Medyo nahihiya na din ako na magstay dito sa bahay na walang ginagawa kaya sana kumita ako kahit papaano sa mga NFT games na pinag investan ko para kahit papaano makatulong. Good luck sayo mare at ipagppray ko na makayanan mo lahat ng challenges :))

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Moms do a lot for the family. And I reckon that being a fist child comes with a lot of responsibilities, to your parents as well as your younger siblings. All the best

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Elder ones always gets more responsibility. Elder sisterhood is another name of Mom. She replaces mother for siblings. It is never easy job but we have to survive . I experienced this one as I am elder one too .

$ 0.01
2 years ago

For sure you can do it❤️

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thank you. ~Manju

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I can feel you sis as I'm too the eldest daughter of our family. We don't only have financial pressure but there are lots of pressure which we have to deal with. You will definitely get a fine job. Your mom can rest now , it is the most important thing.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes. I do hope so to find a good part time job. Cheers for us being the eldest. We are born to be strong. ~Manju

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sign of aging na na din talaga kapag nagbabayad na ng bills 😣

Running Man na lang din bumubuhay sakin hahahah. Nagrerewartch din ako nung Dangerous World Tour nila hahahaha

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Malayo pa ko jan sis. Inumpisahan ko sa ep 1 e. Panahong awkward pa sila sa isa't isa hahaha ~Manju

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Good luck hahaha. Inabot ako ng 3 years bago nakaabot sa latest episode hahahahhah

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm standing as the eldest now since my two eldest brothers are married already.. And have to shoulder everything as a breadwinner. It's too tough and tiring to be the eldest

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Agreed. Why do we have to pay to live? I would like to switch places with Moshi, my dog. Haha ~Manju

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It’s a huge responsibility. I know you are a hard working girl and I truly appreciate it. Respect.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

That really lift up my mood. Thank you ~Manju

$ 0.00
2 years ago