New perspective

7 39
Avatar for ZehraSky
2 years ago
Sponsors of ZehraSky
empty
empty
empty

Yesterday, my elder sister and I went out to do some last minute shopping for Christmas gifts. It has been a while since I go out and have the time to just watch the people come and go.

Before the pandemic, I remember that the sight of people walking to go to their destination is a normal sight. It is so expected that I would barely pay attention to the strangers around me.

The few times that I did go out this pandemic, I usually just book a ride with Grab along with my sisters. So I do not really have much time to observe people.

However yesterday, I managed to persuade my sister to commute because I think the fare for Grab is too expensive (even if I consider the fact that it will be airconditioned unlike when we ride a jeep).

I noticed a few things that I would not have noticed before the pandemic. I saw that our jeepney driver was old. He looks past retiring age and I know that if his family did not need money, he would have been resting at their home.

I noticed a passenger wearing work clothes, but her shoes have a cracked at the ankle part. She earns money, but it must be just enough for their needs and expenses that she could not afford to buy a replacement for her daily shoes.

I noticed when people walking together are comfortable with each other and when the people are not comfortable together. I noticed many parents not looking after their kids. I almost tripped over one as I was holding a lot of bags and was not able to noticed the little girl. Thankfully, I managed to stop before we collided so nothing bad happened.

I also noticed that the children in the malls usually do not have masks on, and they keep touching things and putting their hands in their face or eyes.

I noticed many dogs and they are well-behaved. I also saw someone carrying a cat. It was entertaining to see since the cat was just like a statue staring at everyone. It wss so unlike some of the cats I see who feel uncomfortable being carried around like a baby.

This observations surprises me. I would have never noticed those things before. I was so caught up in my head that I could barely pay attention to my surroundings before the pandemic. I remember how bad my social anxiety was back then.

However, it is different now. I realized that most people are probably busy with their own things to even notice what I do, and even if they do see me, they most likely do not care. This thought is more liberating than anything. It gave me the push I needed to just be myself and not overthink too much when I am outside.

Instead of constantly questioning my actions and appearance, I find that when I feel comfortable with my clothes, I do not have any worries about how people see me.

This shift in perspective is something that comes with the passage of time. As I grow older, I see things for what they are instead of giving meaning to every little things.

People are more concerned about their own problems for them to even pay attention to me or what I am doing. Just remembering this made me more comfortable in my own skin and I have never felt better.

Closing words

I just withdrew my stipend for the last 2 months of the semester. It is a very nice Christmas gift to receive. I gave a part to my parents, and saved some money for upgrading my laptop when I find the time. Today, my sister and I might go out again to buy some chocolates since we are craving some.



Thank you for reading this article!

If you want to read some more articles of mine, I have monthly summaries here:

November 2021 Articles Summary

September 2021 Articles Summary

August 2021 Articles Summary

July 2021 Articles Summary

June 2021 Articles Summary

May 2021 Articles Summary


To show my appreciation for the support that I have been receiving, please accept a small gift I prepared for the first reader.

https://branch.wallet.bitcoin.com/7MqTKSpjdmb

12
$ 4.39
$ 4.06 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Jane
$ 0.05 from @bbyblacksheep
+ 5
Sponsors of ZehraSky
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for ZehraSky
2 years ago

Comments

I used to watch people before whenever I am out. But now that it is pandemic and I rarely go out, I focus more on the things that I needed to do when going out.

With regards to Grab, I know it is holiday rush but the price surge was really so high. Plus it was so hard to book a Grab. I tried booking for a Grab Express yesterday and I had a lot of failed bookings as they cannot seem to find me a rider so I tried Lalamove. In less than 5 minutes, I was able to get one. To think that they are cheaper compared to Grab.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Good job well done my friend shopping life is full of surprise we have to preserve the environment around us happiness is everywhere

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Our perspective change when there's a thing that happened. We never noticed it before but now, every single detail is well observed.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Yes you said it all. This life you see is an unbalanced one, things at your disposal you condemn are some other people's best wishes. Contentment is great virtue that we must stick to. When one does not have this quality he/she might end up doing the wrong thing and displease his/her self

$ 0.03
2 years ago

That's actually one way to be less self conscious. And you're right, most people just have enough problems not to bother about anyone else

$ 0.03
2 years ago

That's really irresponsible for such kinds of parents who doesn't care about hers childs while shopping. Btw enjoy your moments with chocolate

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Trust me, the Devil has his eyes always on you. I followed you dear. 😋

$ 0.03
2 years ago