A Reasonable Doubt

4 47
Avatar for ZehraSky
2 years ago
Sponsors of ZehraSky
empty
empty
empty

Sometimes, there are moments in our lives where we felt so sure about something. We would not even see the point of discussing something because we think everything points into this narrative that we are told.

I never thought about this much before. I never wonder if I might have some things that I unquestionably believe just because things seem to paint that right picture in my mind.

That is until this evening. This night, I watched a movie with my partner. I had no classes tomorrow because the professor was off this week due to personal reasons. So I told him we could watch a movie together.

When he asked me what movie I would like to watch, I just told him I do not want to watch something sad. He suggested this movie, "12 Angry Men". I say okay, even though I have no idea what this movie is about.

We started watching, I was surprised that it was a black and white movie. I was prepared for this to be a boring movie. I was already thinking of how I could tell my partner if I do not like the movie at all.

Turns out, I did not need to. I loved the movie a lot. It started out slow but as the plot progresses it was great. I will share some spoilers about the movie so if you have yet to watch it, please do try to just skim through the next parts.

The movie is a courtroom drama. Most of the film is set in just a room which is why I was surprised I kept my attention on it the whole time. I could not look away.

There are 12 jurors deciding what to do with a case. Forgive me, I have no legal onowledge on the technical law terms and stuff so I will just try to narrate it as best as I could.

They were deliberating on a murder case where majority believes that the 18 year old boy is guilty of killing his father. All but one juror voted guilty.

Of course the 11 men were angry, and was acting as if this sole man is stupid since the evidence all points to the boy being guilty. When asked how sure he was that the boy is not guilty, he says he's not sure. But he thinks that sending a boy to the chair of death needs more talking than the jurors were giving the case.

This set off angry discourse since these men thought it will be a fast discussion where everyone just agrees on the get-go that the boy is guilty and send him to death. In the end, after a long discussion and lots of yelling, the jurors came to a unanimous decision of the boy being not guilty. Or at least there being a reasonable doubt that he is guilty.

I will refrain from telling the whole plot. I just wanted to give a bit of an idea what the movie is about. What I really like about it is how it made me think.

How many times have I been so convinced of something only to turn out wrong? How many times have I let people try and offer me a new perspective? Have I ever let myself think that maybe a reasonable doubt can be found in my solid logic?

Back in high school, I was so sure of everything. I could not admit I might have overlooked something. I thought my logic is impeccable. No matter how smart everyone is at our school, I think of their opposing views with judgement. I never bothered to learn why they believe it so, I just stand with my belief and judge them for theirs.

A lot of years have passed since then and I know that I have grown. I found differnces in opinions fascinating now, although there are some topics where the judgemental side of me comes out. I am not gonna deny that. Although, I am getting the hang of this being open to different perspectives thing.

I think this is a very important thing to remember especially for my fellow Filipinos. Election day is coming. Left and right there are a lot of political noise around us. Many times, people resort to calling others stupid because of their so-called logic. I agree that some of the logics are hard to grasp but I believe many more have open mind.

I am not going to talk about my political leaning here. I am not out to have a debate under this article. I just want to share this movie that I watched. Maybe it will make you think as well. Not just in political things but in everyday life.

What are the things you are so sure of? The things that you have unshakeable belief in, how sure are you that this is the fact?

Will you allow someone to share their perspective without shutting them down at every chance?

Closing words

12 Angry Men is such a fascinating movie. You get to see different types of people and how they react when their belief is being put under the test. Most of them wete unwilling to listen at first. They think of it as a waste of time.

And yet in the end, they changed their minds. I think it is a great thing to remember. Sometimes people are so afraid to change their minds about something so they never challenge their beliefs. But what if something challenge their beliefs? How will they act? Will they remain unmoving despite new evidences to support another perspective? Or will they be willing to admit that they might have missed something?

It is such a good question to think about. I know that I will be thinking about it for quite some time.



Thank you for reading this article!

If you want to read some more articles of mine, I have monthly summaries here:

December 2021 Articles Summary

November 2021 Articles Summary

September 2021 Articles Summary

August 2021 Articles Summary

July 2021 Articles Summary

June 2021 Articles Summary

May 2021 Articles Summary

9
$ 7.80
$ 7.57 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Ruffa
$ 0.05 from @Lucifer01
+ 6
Sponsors of ZehraSky
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for ZehraSky
2 years ago

Comments

I am always open to change and pinangako ko talaga sa sarili ko na I will not stick sa isang bagay unless someone can do something that will change my perspective

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I guess that's why wisdom and discernment are very important, not just in terms of who to vote next, but life in general. Pray that we will at least be open to listening, and from there, making the decision, which hopefully is the best, if not what is right.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

True yan. Minsan we are not willing to listen to someome kasi they have different views of things and beliefs and we always thinj that they are wrong. We are so occupied with the thought that we are always right without trying to understand them first.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I agree sis. There are circumstances happen sometimes that we are really sure of in a one thing. We are confident enough since it's the logic we had but end up a biggest wrong.

Not all the times that if we felt that it was totally right. A lot of confidence build. No any doubts, it doesn't mean you are in a correct side.

$ 0.01
2 years ago