There is no such thing as writer's block!

25 92
Avatar for TengoLoTodo
2 years ago

15th February 2022

Hello Hello readers, and welcome to the second half of the second month in this bonnie year of ours!

Now then, there is an article title for you!

There is no such thing as writer's block!

What is a writing block?

“Writer’s block is a temporary or lasting failure to put words on paper. It can hit every writer, if only for a few minutes or a day or two, but it becomes a real problem when the writer is not reaching targets and when they feel incapable of completing a piece of work.”

This is the definition from the Royal Literary Fund

The Royal Literary Fund is a British charity that has been supporting authors since 1790, among them James Joyce, D.H. Lawrence and Dylan Thomas.

Those are some kick-ass famous authors.

I was going to give you an article about writer's block and how I actually think it is nonsense, but I have now got sidetracked into reading the site from RLF!

Actually, joking aside I recommend having a quick look there if you are really serious about writing and improving your writing. Improving your writing is essential if you want to flourish on some other more focused platforms, where attention to detail, spelling and grammar are extremely important unlike here!

On second thoughts it is more focused on essays and dissertations which I guess will suit the clever things who are in academia amongst us.

Image by congerdesign from Pixabay 

Edmund Bergler who was a well-known disciple of Sigmund Freud coined the term "writer's block" in New York City in 1947.

Image by Lukas Bieri from Pixabay 

I believe with this comment by the comedian Jerry Seinfeld in a reddit AMA in 2014 “Writer’s block is a phony, made up, BS excuse for not doing your work.”

Have a wee read of five common symptoms of alleged writer's blocks and let me know if they apply to you as well as me🤣🤣🤣

Alleged Block: Don't know what to write

Make it up. You know I like my faction, things that part fact and part fiction. You can write about anything. Look around you, pick an object, I know you can write a story about.

Don't believe me? Write a comment on something mundane for me to write about and I shall prove you can write about anything!

Alleged Block: Oh but I don't have time

Utter nonsense, all you have to do is write 600 words!

How much time do you spend on tiktok or Facebook? How much time on telegram or twitter? I bet you could write two articles in that time, without even blinking an eye. How long do you spend watching Netflix, surfing the web?

If you are serious you can make time to write easily.

Stop procrastinating Write when you don’t feel like writing. Give yourself a deadline

Alleged Block: I am worried what people will think

Writing can be scary, we open ourselves up for criticism and even rejection. When you write, you expose yourself. That is a fact.

If you’re worried that your writing will make someone upset or annoyed, then why are you even wanting to write? Give it up now.

Alleged Block: Ah but it doesn't look right

Delete the word draft from your vocabulary in read.cash.

draft: (noun) “a preliminary version of a piece of writing”

So forget that, 600 words does not need numerous iterations for this platform. Write and publish. Stop expecting your first draft to be perfect.

Alleged Block: Not the right time just now to write

This is often me and it is really, I can't be bothered!

Sit down to write. Put in the effort, or don't complain about not getting paid for your writing when you haven't written.

Writing requires discipline, so set deadlines, we know what they are here!

To wrap up, we make excuses for not writing and call it writer's block.

IF you WAIT until conditions are perfect, then you’ll never start writing.

Have a good one.

Copyright @TengoLoTodo   2022 and yes All Rights Reserved. All images, words, and ramblings are from the author unless otherwise stated.

100% original content from this mad Scotsman

And don't forget ;)

Haste ye back.

28
$ 8.14
$ 7.40 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @ARTicLEE
$ 0.09 from @meitanteikudo
+ 20
Sponsors of TengoLoTodo
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for TengoLoTodo
2 years ago

Comments

The truth is that I believe that writer's block comes to us regardless of the moment we are going through. Particularly, it happens to me when I don't feel like writing, but I get over it when I sit at a desk in front of a blank sheet of paper. I think that is overcome just by trying to write about something, inspiration comes by itself. Greetings!

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I guess I have mood block then lol! It depends if I want to write or not. There are lots of things to talk about but I just don't feel like it, falling in the category of laziness lol!

I don't want to challenge you about writing a mundane comment for you to write about for I know you just write about anything!

$ 0.03
2 years ago

You are absolutely right in this article. I don't use that terminology, I like to do research to write an article, but I have noticed that simple articles are the most valued (I'm talking about my articles), for me it is easier to research and write, than to propose to see what I write today or how was my day. The problem is that I am more of a scientist than a writer.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

This is true, we cannot talk about writer's block here. I think that applies if you are writing a book, maybe ;) But we are fooling ourselves when we say here that we have writer's block, we are procrastinating big time. You nailed it, Ed!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ouch, Tiktok. I always blame the app before though it was all on me. I was too lazy to do what I have to do. Now I realized, I am just making excuses. 😂

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Whenever I experienced writer's block, I just rest for a while and wait on the next day until I can write something better.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

No to writer block but yes to "my mind can't cooperate" hahaha. I always make use that my article reflects who I am.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Wait so writers block doesn't exist in the first place?

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Ah writer's block is just an excuse hahaha. I really feel vulnerable and naked when I write. People can see through me thru my words.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

That term exist because we just don't realy have nothing in mind to write or start with, I get your point buddy, that's just reallybcreate bybour mind because we don't have anything else to write and we just call it or reasoned as writers block.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Sometimes its just hard to find the topic to write

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Wow! You explained the concept of writer's block in an absolutely unique dimension and broadened my understanding. In the end there's no such thing as a writer's block but laziness, inability to impress yourself, worrying about what others will think and complaining about everything.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

You are right to a large extent tengo. Sometimes no matter how hard I try to believe a writer's block has hit me, as soon as I get a pen a paper in hand, ideas soon begin to flood in.. I usually get new writing ideas from where the other person left off... Then I realise that I was passing through laziness and not a block. Lol

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Well you are very creative, so like me the hardest part is often getting the pen and paper or the fingers on the phone or laptop, then bam it all flows! We are lazy, but of course will find any excuse as to why we are not 🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lol... Maybe i have an innate writing ability that I am just starting to discover here on readcash... Dad was a journalist 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am guilty on this. Sometimes i just stayed on facebook and watch some funny videos and sometimes i also spend time reading online stories

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Hahaha there's no to blame 🤪

$ 0.03
2 years ago

This one deserves a standing ovation sir Ed. I wish a lot of people could read this :D When I write something, I just let the ideas flow, correcting myself right away will just ruin the momentum. I will then save it, then try to edit it and if I am not satisfied, I will just forget about it and come back to it when my mind is clearer.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Felt like same. I think most of all will connect with it.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

This is hit me now huhu, If there's a will there's a way as they say. I sometimes have excuses hehe.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Have to put this is my mund DF hubu. Charged as guilty with the no time 😭. I actually have, but I choose to procrastinate and waste me precious time in browsinh in facebook.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Yep... i think I already share it here what I do.. I just keep on tapping my keys until the creative juices flow the way I want them to be..

$ 0.03
2 years ago

My dear friend, the points you made were great. I'm not a professional writer here, and thank you for every word you said that really instructed and guided me. I was motivated to write more and try harder...

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I agree, we can write.. there's no such thing as writers block but an excuse or distraction instead hahaha!

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Yes we are all guilty of making excuses, even if we don't do it on purpose! Congrats on your Pegas!

$ 0.00
2 years ago