read and noise drive me to distraction

67 72
Avatar for TengoLoTodo
2 years ago

18th September 2021 2222

Hello you awesome person, may your fingers be blessed with speed and dexterity for reading this. I trust that you are having a good weekend, mine so far has been pretty good.

Whenever I sit down and open up a new tab on my browser on the laptop with the intent of writing an article in read, I open another tab for noise and another tab to start reading articles in read.

Do you do that too? Before I know it, one hour will have passed and then I remember oh yes, my article, I am supposed to be writing my article. And then I wonder why I don't write articles here every day lol.

So what do I do?

I go back to the new article tab of course!

What do I find?

A blank page of course! Well, that is strictly not always true, I will quite often have typed out the title and then gone and clicked another read tab.

For example, take this article I am writing, I opened the tab up and wrote the article title and thought to myself. Self, you are on to a winner, this one is easy, so now let's rattle this one out quickly and get onto the work you need to do.

But oh no, the distraction mode did kick in, and off I went to the Promptly Jonica group to moderate an article, and then I started to read and comment on some other articles posted to the community.

Then I remembered that I have not logged on to read the last few days apart from coming to renew sponsorships of writers that I sponsor that the sponsorship has run out.

Oh yes, it is also Union day today, so off I toddled to see what is happening in twitter. Darn, there are so many distractions everywhere today. Of course, coffee I need coffee, and some music, yes music. Alexa play Simply The Best by Tina Turner.

This is the song that used to be played when Rangers walked out onto their football pitch at Ibrox Park in Glasgow. Can you imagine 50,000 fans standing and bouncing up and down and singing Simply The Best, it really is a spine tingling feeling. Tomorrow is flag day, we won the football league last season, our 55th time that we have done it, and we will be unfurling the league flag and there will be thousands of Union flags, and it will rankle the rest of Scotland.

And I pop into noise to answer a question from @Stea who wanted to be enlightened about Union Day.

My answer was .... The 2014 Scottish independence referendum was held on 18 September 2014. The referendum question was "Should Scotland be an independent country?" The "No" side won with 2,001,926 (55.3%) voting against independence and 1,617,989 (44.7%) voting in favour 😁 And so today, we celebrate Scotland still being part of the Union of Great Britain and Northern Ireland

We might be in Scotland, but we are British, long live the Union and God Save The Queen!

Got my coffee and I am back to this task in hand.

Now back to the title, it is not just read.cash and noise.cash that drive me to distraction.

Read as in read! I can read anything, and often do, it does not matter what it is, I will read it!

Noise as in noise! I love to listen to music and will often forget what I am doing while I sing along or think about other songs from the band that I listen to.

But enough of these distractions, I have some work to do, but I got side tracked by writing this article.

Time for coffee and some paying work that I need to get done pronto!

This is my entry to writing prompt number 17, which is Distraction.

If you would like to participate, you can read the prompt article from Jonica here or just abide by the simple rules below:

This week's writing prompt is Distraction. If you would like to join in, the rules are simple.

  1. Write anything on Distraction

  2. Write 100% original content

  3. Write at least 600 words to please Rusty

  4. Join and submit your stories to PromptlyJonica

  5. Tag @JonicaBradley  and me @TengoLoTodo

  6. Have fun!

There you go readers, thank you for having a wee read of this!

Copyright @TengoLoTodo   2021 and yes All Rights Reserved. All images, words, and ramblings are from the author unless otherwise stated.

100% original content from this mad Scotsman!

And don't forget ;)

Haste ye back.

PS! A huge thank you to wee pp @Pichi28 for renewing her sponsorship in me. That means so much to me , you have no idea! So salamat and a big hug to my other equally awesome sponsors. Thank you from the heart of my bottom, nah I am kidding I mean the bottom of my heart really I do ;)

20
$ 7.85
$ 6.88 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.50 from @Pichi28
$ 0.05 from @Bloghound
+ 11
Sponsors of TengoLoTodo
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for TengoLoTodo
2 years ago

Comments

Great Idea..at first when I saw the title, I thought you're referring to read.cash and noise.cash.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yes I tried to have a play on words.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

ahahaha...eye capturing title :)..I think it's effective :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh, distractions! I can relate to that when I am about to write down my topic and then suddenly the bell turns red, I would tap it without hesitation and leaving my article behind. Then, I end up reading and commenting on an articles instead of finishing mine haha

$ 0.02
2 years ago

haha my naughty wee BC. Yes I know that feeling too, Oh well, you do very good though, you publish regularly which is cool!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I already missed five days of publishing an article master haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

five days my wee BC, now you are getting like me 🤣🤣🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wahaha same, i usually do that too whenever i am hanging around at read.cash and noise.cash my fingers moves on its own and click the other tab in facebook and youtube watching anime lol hays.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

hehe your fingers have a mind of their own

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Very relatable, uncle Ed hehe. Noise, yt, read, coffee, kitchen, noise ...repeat. Happy Monday!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hehe yes , a common feeling , happy Monday Mrs P 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Distractions can be annoying at times haha. While multi tasking is okay, it's really hard to focus on one particular subject when you're doing three things at the same time. I also do these stuff too haha. Like what you read in my article. Mostly Facebook and other apps on my phone distract me also.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

The pain of distraction, well just don't any rice 😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha you really remembered the rice part hahaha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hehe Yes I did :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sometimes I tried to time myself in writing an article like 30 mins., however with distractions, I usually end an hour or more,lol!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

The actual writing of mine is quick, the problem is actually writing it 😁 good for you of you get it all done in less than 30 minutes 😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

A lot of distractions going on, sir. Lol I am also like that, preparing to write an article but later on I found myself reading an article and commenting instead of writing. I sometimes fell asleep too!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

haha yes fallen asleep, I know that happens when people do the article writing late at night on their phones!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha that is a lot of distractions indeed uncle. And now i am listening to tina turner .. i do that too.. i open read and then noise and the write article is in another window lols...

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Tina Turner is awesome wee pp, she has such an awesome voice and what a performer! I saw that ... at salamat! Hehe yes open up windows and then finally write the article in one haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Me too kuya Ed. Aside from the two platforms, I tend to play Splinterlands in between ang got addicted for hours! 😹

$ 0.02
2 years ago

ah yes, I keep wondering whether I should start SPlinterlands, but I could spend too much time on it. Is it time consuming kuya Bryan?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hello there Teng!! I also get distracted by noise, there's a lot of interaction in there that's why I'm spending too much time on it more than I expect and forgot that I'm reading an article here. As for me, when I'm walking and saw a words or sectence I can't help myself but to read it.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

hehe yesss I do the same when walking, I have to stop and read whatever it is. It means we are intelligent and curious;) Yes, noise can be distracting once you interact, but it is all good though.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Once I opened my laptop, I will automatically open noise and read too, but I couldn't help myself not to watch youtube videos. And now I can no longer focus in both platforms HAHAH

$ 0.02
2 years ago

hehe I often watch videos on my tablet and something on the Television and Twitter on my phone and then things on the laptop haha. I know your feeling!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sorry to butt in.. but same! 😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sometimes distraction has a good effect for us to be releade our stress and also to unwind. Dami ganap sa distraction:)

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yes, distractions can be good, it is all about how we manage things.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

time management is the key :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh, I am the same. It is automatic for me that when I open noise, I will open read. I will open my bank Microsoft words and after long minute I will remember I need to write an article. I always distracted before I get the work done. I love the song!! I added it to my playlist now.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Oh cool, you like the song, yes one of my favourites, she has a wonderful voice and is a fantastic performer. Oh, you use Microsoft Word, I do sometimes too.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

So many distractions Uncle Ed! I don't know when we'll be able to focus and get things done without distractions. Probably never, because they are part of us.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Oh yes they are part of life, I can't imagine life without distractions unless we were nuns or monks or something like that!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You are more distracted than me. Lol. I just wrote an article also on this subject where I expose some distractions. Good article.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yes, it was a good writing prompt this one. Distractions are all around us, thank you for commenting!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks to you. Keep with with the good work!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Glad you kicked your own butt to get some work done, lol! I can relate with you on trying to write an article and then going to another tab and then doing something else and before I knew it, I will need to cram on other things, lol!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

hehe I have got my butt kicking down to a fine art! Yes cramming is good, I love to things at the last minute. I never was one to do things in advance.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Cramming makes the adrenaline work I guess?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We are the same when it comes to listening to music, Uncle EM! Haha. For example, I was doing my assignment when my siblings play a song with a loudspeaker, I will find myself singing and do headbang 😆😆 I cannot finish what I'm doing.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

haha I know that exact feeling wee miss five cups! Headbanging away, just don't hit your head hehe I hope your studies are going well!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Just the same as me, somehow. Lol I have written about distractions as well. We can't avoid them though so we just live with them or else we won't get the job done.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Distractions are part of life, if we don't have any, then what a boring life it would be haha. Will check your article in a minute!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah, being serious all the time is boring. A little distraction won't hurt sometimes lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Exactly, everything in moderation is just fine!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes sir!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hi Uncle. There's so much going on around that leads us to distraction and not do what we supposed to be doing.

But I am never distracted on music. I will be more focused on what I am doing if I am listening to music.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Yes wee singer , distractions left right and center! Hope you are okay. Sometimes music focuses me too though.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am doing okay Uncle. If I cannot focus, I will just sleep. Haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

haha a good answer wee singer ;)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahahaha is it uncle?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha, this looks so much like me. LOL. Sure, I don't have football and Rangers to be distracted. But I have a couple of guys doing their best to distract me, especially the younger one. LOL Enjoy your coffee!

$ 0.05
2 years ago

haha but you are the supermom of course! thank you, the coffee is going down just perfectly thank you :)

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Well, supermom, haha. I try my best. Don't get too distracted. And have a good night, Eddie.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh you are Simply The Best :) Thank you Eliana, I am done and can get distracted now haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow, you're distracted, yet so structured. The title is the last thing I write. I never write in order either.

I write random sentences that belong to the topic and segregate them into identifiable ideas.

My drafts are so embarrassing lol.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

This is probably an embarrassing one, I just wrote it and published 🤣🤣🤣 Not like me, normally I proofread and amend as necessary, but was too distracted to do that tonight haha. The title I always put down first, then perhaps alter it if I think it needs it once I have written the article. Hope you didn't mind the tag 🙂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hehe no. I wish I could do something about the tag though :/. I wish to be tagged like normal users lol sometimes I'm a dummy.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I think the problem with your tag is that your user name has only four letters. Because I've noticed that Jane can't be tagged either.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Interesting. Is there something we can do about it? I wish I knew :/. Thanks for the info though :)!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I don't think you can do anything. You can't change your user name.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

oh, it ok :). Thanks for the insight :)!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You are welcome! :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

yes I was wondering about that.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I wonder why it does not come up on the list like normal, am away to do some investigating!

$ 0.00
2 years ago