I will try anything once

50 91
Avatar for TengoLoTodo
2 years ago

31st October 2021

Happy Halloween you wonderful readers, many thanks for clicking this article.

The last day of the month and I had a takeaway for dinner. I had watched my team win this afternoon at football 6-1 so was chuffed and decided not to cook.

Which brings me nicely onto this weeks writing prompt number 20 which is simply titled Food.

I love Food, I love to eat Food and I love to cook Food!

I will also try anything once.

I have been fortunate enough to work in many countries around our world. One of the beauties of this was meeting awesome people from different cultures and of course getting to try their food. It did not matter if it was snake, crocodile, insects or plants I would try them all at least once.

We only live once right? So let's make the most of what we have when we are alive.

Salads

I actually quite like my kind of salad, I put on loads of all sorts. Coleslaw, Potato Salad, Sardines or Tuna, Spring Onion, sweetcorn, boiled eggs, grated cheese and grated carrots and some greens the list is endless as to what I do put into my salads.

If you need a pick me up then rustle up a home-made salad and get some goodness down you!

Home-made Burgers

Another quick favourite of mine to knock up. Like all my cooking it is a mix and match and whatever I feel like that goes into the ingredients. I use either ground beef, pork, chicken or turkey pop in some courgettes or do you say zucchini and onions garlic chillies sale and pepper some Worcestershire sauce and mustard and Bob's Your uncle, an awesome meal. Serve with cheese or a fried egg, in a roll with salad and tomatoes or on a plate with beans, again the list is endless for this simple staple meal.

Fish

Fish comes in many forms, but as we are a cold water country we do have different fish types to you readers from warmer waters. The majority of our sea fish is white fish like cod and haddock. Absolutely delicious and flaky chunky fish. Get fillets and use breadcrumbs to coat them in and fry in a wee dodd of butter and yummy. WE do have many other types but those are the two favourites.

Scotland is surrounded by wonderful cold water that is crawling with seafood, but but but the vast majority gets exported to Europe. All those prawns, langoustines, crabs and lobster goto Spain. When I live there I would be eating Scottish seafood, and the Spanish loved it. Quite ironic really!

The Sunday Roast

It used to be tradition that on a Sunday, the family would sit down to a Roast dinner of either roast chicken, roast pork, roast beef or roast lamb. However, as we have evolved and so many people work Sundays etc, the Sunday roast is no longer the tradition it once was. This was a roast Sunday dinner I knock up of mashed potatoes peas gravy roast beef and Yorkshire Puddings.

Have you had a Yorkshire Pudding?

Perhaps you call them something else.

Duck

I love duck and it needs a special mention so long as Dafty, Milly or Molly aren't looking!

I love duck eggs and this was a duck and orange salad I knocked up a wee while ago.

Pancit well my Scottish version of Pancit :)

Noodles, you can just knock anything up with noodles and rice.

Well there we go readers thank you for getting this far.

I have realised I just shared some of my cooking, perhaps it is not Food at all!

Maybe another article on the horizon about foods I had cooked for me!

What a laugh it would be to host a read.cash party and cook for you all, NOW that would be my idea of fun!

Life is short people, enjoy every day, don't forget you are awesome and above all else No Surrender!

This is my entry to writing prompt number 20, which is Food

If you would like to join in, the rules are simple.

  1. Write anything on Food

  2. Write 100% original content

  3. Write at least 600 words to please Rusty

  4. Join and submit your stories to PromptlyJonica

  5. Tag @JonicaBradley  and me @TengoLoTodo for fun

  6. Have fun!

There you go readers, thank you for having a wee read of this!

PS A Special mention to the gorgeous and wonderfully talented @FarmGirl for renewing my sponsorship, that was a pleasant surprise that I saw today salamat:)

Copyright @TengoLoTodo   2021 and yes All Rights Reserved. All images, words, and ramblings are from the author unless otherwise stated.

100% original content from this mad Scotsman!

And don't forget ;)

Haste ye back.

23
$ 9.79
$ 8.84 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @JLoberiza
$ 0.10 from @Pantera
+ 21
Sponsors of TengoLoTodo
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for TengoLoTodo
2 years ago

Comments

I wanna try all of them especially the Sunday roast!

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Oh good choice, I want a Sunday roast now 😋

$ 0.00
2 years ago

But it's not Sunday yet! :P

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hehe I know so am making a big salad

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That sounds delicious!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hehe that it was

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Not that fond of duck but that looks something I would want to try. My fave of all are your burger and Sunday roast. I am amused at your salad for it seems to have everything in it and that's interesting.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Duck does have a lovely rich flavour. Yes my home made burgers are always popular! The salad I am not a fan of lettuce really so when I do a salad it has quite a lot in it hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

kuya ed, your Scottish version of your pancit looks so tasty

$ 0.03
2 years ago

hehe it was lami :) Actually, I love to try to replicate pinoy foods now!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That orange fish looks strange to me. I have not seen a fish like that before. Duck? You guys eat duck? Lol We only live once and it is better to eat to our satisfaction and prepare whatever we want.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

oh yes duck is quite popular, especially in Chinese cooking here. The fish is white that is orange breadcrumbs on it that make it orange. Exactly we only live once so eat what we want to satisfy ourselves:)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wahhh I love the version of your pancit😍

$ 0.03
2 years ago

hehe it always tastes good, and I change what I put in it every time I make it

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I like all the food you listed hmmm I feel hungry already happy new month brother

$ 0.03
2 years ago

hehe and I am hungry again, thank you and happy November :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Omg the food is making me so hungry right now uncle Ed!

Happy Halloween!

$ 0.03
2 years ago

hehe made me flipping hungry writing it Mrs P:) Have a magical November!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh I love all the foods above. And the roast beef is is mouth-watering. You are goood chef.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Salamat I do love to cook, oo the roast beef melts in your mouth, have a wonderful foody November :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You're an awesome chef and eater Tito :) Your salads are interesting, minus the spring onions for me, lol! And the Sunday roast too! Oh well, everything na hehe

$ 0.05
2 years ago

hmm you don't like spring onions, I love them, they are great to dip into things! Yes I love my food, whether it is cooking or eating, nothing better than putting on a smile on someones face with my food:)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I don't like them even when they've been cooked hehe. We should eat in your house one day, lol!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wahhhhww! Your wifey must be very lucky to have you master. You're good at almost everything as I observed. I want to try your homemade burgers po hihi. I love that pancit you have there too, it looks the same as the one I made before 😁😊 yummy!

$ 0.05
2 years ago

The pancit yes I love to make it and I bet yours tastes better than mine though my wee BC. The burgers are awesome I make them to order, whatever you wish in them you may have:) The world is lucky to have me haha I love to please women what can I say ;) Good at almost everything, mmm now I wonder what I am not good at as per your observations.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

May I request to have two homemade burgers with extra chilly sauce? Loved those.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Absolutely you can, I will add chillies into the mixture and be ready for you on wEdnesday;)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow I am amazed. You are such a food lover and a good cook sir. I love to eat and cook as well though I couldn't exploit all the ingredients I wanted because of budget but yeah if I had the chance one day I will.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

ah yes budget plays a big part in eating, sometimes I will eat very simple so I can save to eat better the next day

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes indeed. Especially now that most of the things we bought are expensive.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Uhmm. Uhuh.. Let me have some of your hime made burger! Looks yummy and nourishing! 😋

$ 0.03
2 years ago

hehe I will make some on Wednesday and you are more than welcome to have one😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wait how do I claim it? 😂🤧

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Overloaded salad haha.. Food is life talaga 🤣

$ 0.03
2 years ago

oo hehe food is life talaga! Actually I saw the overloaded salad pic and bought ingredients at the grocery store to make an overloaded one tomorrow, I shall pass you a plate 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Do you know what I felt even before I finished reading post?

HUNGRY!

lol! Great food! Great post. Happy Halloween

$ 0.02
2 years ago

lol I was very hungry writing it! Thank you and have a wonderful November😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh my god! Love the pansit ever,yum yummm.. Burger also is yummyliciouss.. ill grab my plate now coz im too much hungry😅

$ 0.02
2 years ago

hehe I love to make pansit and the burgers are cool as they change every time I make them:) Hehe hold out your plate for something!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Omg all the food you posted are so delicious. I can sense you are a seafood lover too. Enjoy eating and Happy Halloween!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Oh I love seafood, that is what I order mostly when I eat out. Thank you and Happy November to you!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I like everything you show here. When do you invite me to have lunch? lol

I also like to try almost all foods. And I say almost because I don't like offal. And once I've been offered turtle, which here is sometimes eaten in the east of the country, but it seems very cruel to me, so I didn't eat.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Yes I like it all too, and I know so much to do, chess Pacman lunch show me hive, the list is endless!

Actually I love liver and kidneys so I guess I love offal it is isn't awful for me ;) Not had turtle before, and I know what you mean, some meats that are forcefed I don't eat too.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The list is getting longer every day, 😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I can only feel hunger while reading, you are really an amazing cook, I will have to pay you a visit cos I like food and I can try anything

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yeah, I love to cook, and I am hungry rereading it lol. Yes it is good to try anything I agree, and you are welcome to visit.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Your homemade burgers seems it is healthy because of the ingredients. Also your pancit speaks so delicious in the picture. This prompt makes us hungry heheh

$ 0.03
2 years ago

hehe I know, when I look at the articles for the prompt I get hungry and I moderate them so read most of them. Thanks the pancit was delicious in taste as well.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yay! I was not mistaken to the pancit. It was delicious.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I think my favourite pinay food

$ 0.00
2 years ago