Writing Prompt #20: Food

41 214
Avatar for JonicaBradley
2 years ago
Topics: Prompt, Food, Culture

Food.

We all consume it. We all need it to stay alive. Every living thing on earth needs certain nutrients to thrive, grow, and live.

Humans have done a marvelous job in adapting a physical need and turning it into a delightful pleasure. Every country, every region, every city has its own particular food preparations.

I believe it is incredibly important to taste foods from all over the world.

Ethiopian. A restaurant in Chicago, Illinois, USA

I think it helps different cultures to understand and have empathy for each other to try the one thing we all have in common. Food.

Sashimi from a local Sushi place

It is hard to stay angry at or afraid of other cultures while eating their delicious food. Racism, bias, and prejudice all fall by the wayside.

Even people in the same town who otherwise wouldn't speak to each other will gladly share recipes and enter into competitions for the best variation of the same dish.

Family members who find themselves estranged from each other will sit at the same table to eat and drink and (hopefully) be merry.

Family with whom we stayed in Laos

Sharing food with many people gives a strong sense of community. This might be the reason so many people break bread together, offer food to strangers, and have rules about leaving the politics (for example) outside the door while gathering together to eat.

In Laos, every little thing was celebrated with a feast. Weddings. House warmings. Visits to childhood villages. Blessing ceremonies. Birthdays. On Wednesdays, at the temple, it was a giant feast.

Celebrations of holidays and significant happenings seem to bring people together around the table, fire, or mat. No matter how small the gathering, if there's food there will likely be friendship.

American Thanksgiving feast for just the three of us. Our group was small, but we had all the fixin's!

Every chance I get to eat foods from different cultures than my own, I take with glee. Spicy Caribbean jerked pork, Cuban mojo tacos, Spanish tapas plates, Japanese sushi, Thai curry, Indian lamb sag, Laotian Pho, Native American fry bread, Boston clam chowder, Italian pasta, French quiche, German schnitzel, Hungarian goulash. Just to name a very few.

And more. So, many more.

While I believe it is important to give every food a try, I enjoyed some "exotic" foods more than others. I truly enjoyed the lizard served with rice my friends served.

Lizard

My hosts brought home a lizard and put it on a leash of sorts. The lizard stayed in a tree (the same tree my hosts would gather leaves from for their Pho) until it was time to start preparing the evening meal.

The rice was always on the table, it would get steamed periodically and before meals, to warm it up. The only thing missing was the lizard!

Apparently, it had slipped out of the little string that was tied around it. Someone had to climb the tree to retrieve it. Once it was retrieved, it quickly went into the pot.

We had many unusual-to-us types of meat in Laos. Lizard, Civet, and flying squirrel to name a few.

I also loved the salty fish jerky that seemed to always be on hand for snacking.

Fish jerky.

I tasted but did not enjoy the other snack they had. It was like popcorn or chips (crisps) for them. Just grab a handful and go!

All manner of beetles and crickets. I tried one of each. I'm not a fan! But I'm very happy I had the experience.

Snack Bugs

Speaking of food. Y'all. I was going through my Google Photos looking for decent photos to use in this post and OMG I take a lot of photos of food. A LOT. Hundreds of photos, maybe a thousand or more, photos since I got my first smartphone in 2012!

I took pictures of restaurant food, homemade food, weird food combinations, and menu images next to the reality of what I made. I'll leave you with some of those photos to peruse before I get to the guidelines of submitting a prompt response to PromptlyJonica.

Thai Fusion Shrimp on a Stick

That's the last restaurant photo I will share. The rest are my creations or disasters.

Cuban inspired tofu and black bean tacos

Recipe photo (please excuse the blurriness). I was attempting to duplicate a recipe but was laughing too hard at my apple "match sticks"

My version of the tacos

This is the reality. I remember these tacos were pretty delicious. I could make them again if I could remember where I put the recipe and if I could recreate the sauce. I used a sauce from a bottle, but our store doesn't carry it anymore. Not sure why. Probably broken supply chain.

Shakshuka, chakchouka, and tchouktchouka (gesundheit!) are all altenative name of this Maghrebi dish.

Recipe photo

Isn't that a beautiful photo? Who wouldn't want to try this dish?? Well, I tried it. . .

The eggs never ended up all pretty and visible. My eggs sank into the tomato, lamb, and peppers.

As for my very weird food combinations, to me, they aren't weird at all. Just delicious.

Puffy Cheetos in Chocolate hazelnut spread, anyone?

Cheetos and chocolate

I paired it with a lovely $3.00 bottle of Pinot Noir.

Nom Nom Nom

This morning for breakfast I had potato salad and blueberries.

Potato salad and blueberries.

Shut up! That's just how I roll.

Salty and sweet.

Vinegar and sweet.

It was so good.

Sometimes my food might feel a little boring, so I'll add some excitement.

Cottage cheese man.

I guess I didn't want to eat alone.

So I ate my little salad friend.

Finally, some food everybody can agree on, at least once in a while.

Donuts

This has been a PromptlyJonica writing prompt. If you would like to join, the rules are simple:

  1. Write anything about food

  2. Write 100% original content

  3. Join and submit your story to PromptlyJonica

  4. Tag me: @JonicaBradley

  5. Have fun!

Just a few guidelines. These aren't rules, but they are strong suggestions.

  • Read the PromptlyJonica community rules

  • Write at least 600 words so Rustly will reward you

  • Caption and accredit every image (even your own) - make sure you have the right to use the image. Sometimes an image search on Google will yield images that are license protected. That means it is against the law to use them. Try finding images from Unsplash, Pixabay, or Wikimedia Commons

  • There are no deadlines or time limits. You may write on any prompt, any time, as many times as you want, forever. Here's a list with all of the writing prompts linked and in order.

  • This is a prompt community and as such will only approve prompt response submissions. I love a lot of the stories that come through but have to reject them because they aren't prompt related.

  • Keep in mind read.cash is a worldwide community and as such hosts writers and readers from every culture. Please save your religious text quotes for spiritual communities geared toward such.

  • Please do not copy and paste other writers' work. If it is just to include the rules and guidelines, that is fine, but don't take credit for someone else's hard work.

  • Use Grammarly or another editing software to check your grammar. Grammarly is free and user-friendly. Unless you have perfect grammar and spelling (if you do, you are the only person in the world ever) you'll need to at least re-read what you wrote. Try reading it out loud. That's how I catch most of my errors. (I need to practice this last one more, myself.)

And that's all for today.

Lovingly harvested from my garden.

Until next time!

Lead image: (Greek-inspired)smokey bean pitas photo credit: me

33
$ 12.35
$ 11.68 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.07 from @fantagira
$ 0.05 from @Jane
+ 16
Sponsors of JonicaBradley
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for JonicaBradley
2 years ago
Topics: Prompt, Food, Culture

Comments

Food is very important, it can give memories, make you alive and relieve your stress. I would try to write my topic about food. Thanks @Jonica

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love how food can tell stories! and even better, you can know new places by tasting their flavor. Can be food considered as another language? why not? PS: Thanks for the idea for my next post Jonica, see you in the Prompt channel

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I can hardly wait to hop on this brief since I love food and food is life.Reading your article, thoughts continued to come and I would stand by till I at last select in for this one. I have been following all prompts and I delighted in them. Each food has its own story. A story that can characterize the dish and furthermore the way of life of that country. I love tasting various dishes. So my ones dream is to taste others nations dishes. But since of the pandemic I can't travel. Fresh crickets are costly during its season. Food varieties gives life. Appreciate food and appreciate life.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

If you can find ingredients locally, you can always Google recipes and try to make them at home. The best cheeseburger (a stereotypical American food) I ever tasted was in Savannakhet, Laos.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is so nice. I already wrote an article about food, can I join by that article? :)

$ 0.01
2 years ago

If you like. Join the community and then you can add it to the community.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

β€οΈπŸ‘Œ

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The never-ending story of food. I sometimes wonder, how different food is there in the world. Some of your food photos, I'm not familiar with. And some feel like home, ie, the donuts. Good to go through your post.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Where in the world are you?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Every food has its own story. A story that can define the dish and also the culture of that country. I love tasting different dishes. So my ones dream is to taste others countries dishes. But because of the pandemic I can't travel.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Google some recipes. Is you can get the ingredients you can make it at home.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I can't wait to jump on this prompt because I love food and food is life

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I have a great appetite for these stories.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

So many food that made us understand we are from different culture without any words to tell us that, also a family that eats together stays together

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I believe it is very important, especially for children, to eat meals as a family. I keeps us all connected.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That lizard meat, some folk in our town hunt and eating that exotic food too. Crispy crickets are expensive during its season. Foods gives life. Enjoy food and enjoy life.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I'm not sure of the relative cost of the crickets in Laos, but I do know our friends stopped at roadside markets and bought them as snacks to eat in the car.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I don't know how's the taste of the crikets though. But they said rhat was a good source of protein too.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

It wasn't so much the taste as it was the legs. Nobody told my you are supposed to peel them like shrimp.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh no! They should have remove the hard part before frying. But maybe its their way of cooking unlike us, my folks remove anything hard then crispy fried it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

They weren't fried, I don't think. I think they were steamed.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh I see,

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I like this prompt and what catches my eye is the donut 🍩 . That's my favorite food πŸ˜‹

$ 0.01
2 years ago

MMMMMMMM. Donuts!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh. I love this prompt. Haha.. Thanks

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I love your write up ma'am, i wish i have this kind of skills πŸ€£πŸ˜‚πŸ€£ i will learn how to cook food because am the one that finish my mother food always hahaπŸ˜‚

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Nice write-up I feel like having a taste of the lizard πŸ˜‹

$ 0.01
2 years ago

You know I am eagerly waiting for food to be featured in the prompt! Who does not love food? πŸ˜„πŸ’

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Reading your article, ideas kept coming and i would wait till I finally opt in for this one. I have been following all prompts and I enjoyed them. Food is life πŸ€—

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Food is wonderful!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Tons of delicious food here Jonica! Not sure I'd be brave enough to try lizard, defo not bug snacks ;)

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I have to put my money where my mouth is. If I request my children to just taste it, how can I not just taste it myself.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That’s true!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I like food and I also got hungry while I was reading your article. 😊 For me, the best moments in my family happens when we are eating together. We usually talk about how we spent a day and we feel very connected.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Woaahhh, while I'm reading this sis. I felt hungry on the foods you showed. 😊

$ 0.01
2 years ago

That's a whole lot of food pictures to stomach haha. No pun intended. This will definitely give me something to write about some other day. I heard lizards are very medicinal when put in soup.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I know! I hope I didn't add too many images for people to digest.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Loving this and I can't believe we haven't had food before. I love to try anything once and the more exotic the better. I just started the laziness one ready to publish tomoo ,it might be replaced now 🀣🀣

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I thought about titling it Food From Around the World. But I wanted to include my weirdo food combinations.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hehe I know the feeling, our best weirdo combinations are the tastiest!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nice write up ma'am, I'll drop my prompt about food too.

$ 0.01
2 years ago