Haste ye back!

66 100
Avatar for TengoLoTodo
2 years ago

11th August 2021 2047

Hello you awesome readers. I hope you are having a fantastic week. It has been a very busy but productive week for me so far, but I am here to pop this wee one out.

Some of you observant superstars might have noticed that at the end of my articles I always close the article with the following saying Haste Ye Back! 

Haste Ye Back is a Scottish greeting that basically means come back soon. It is also written on signposts as you leave Scotland. So I am asking all of you to come back soon, a wee bit of wishful thinking on my part (but you never know, it might work)!

A couple of weeks ago, I shared some Scottishisms or Scottish words here.

Now if you so wish we will explore a few more today in this article.

Listed below are ten words that we use often daily in Scotland, so why not see if you can guess some or all of the meanings. I will give the meaning and use it in a sentence. Then at the end let's see if you can make a couple of sentences using all of the ten words!

  • Doolally 

I think, no, I know many of you think I am actually doolally when I write about me talking to all the animals and trees lol. Doolally means a wee bit crazy or not quite all there.

Example I think it is the quack of Dafty that sends Eddie Wildlife doolally. Means I think it is the talking of Dafty that sends Eddie Wildlife a wee bit crazy.

  • Braw

Braw is used to describe something nice, good, pretty or beautiful.

It is getting more and more popular and can describe almost anything.

Example Yer piece looks really braw. Means Your sandwich looks really nice.

A braw wee mushroom, looks a bit of a magic one!
  • Messages

When you goto the grocery store here, or go and buy food then you have bought messages. Messages means to do a food shop.

Example I'm just nipping to Morrison's to do my messages. Means I am just going to Morrison's to buy some food.

  • Naw

Quite simply, naw means no. Of course it does prefix maw quite a lot!

Example Naw maw I won't chore the braw car. Means No mother I won't steal the nice car.

  • Bairn

A bairn is a child.

Bairns is also the nickname of Falkirk Football Club, I don't actually no why, so I shall check google haha.

Example Thank goodness the bairns go back to school tomorrow. Means Thank goodness the children go back to school tomorrow

  • Greet 

To greet is to cry.

Example She was so upset he broke her heart, she was greeting for days! Means She was so upset he broke heart, she was crying for days!

  • Piece 

A piece is a sandwich, often used when having a lunch at school or work.

Example What's yer man made for your piece the day? Means What has your partner made for your sandwich today?

A braw healthy piece of mine!
  • Chore

Chore means to steal something.

Example He went to prison because he chored a car. Means he went to prison because he stole a car.

  • Skelp 

When you give someone a skelp, you are giving them a slap.

Example He was being cheeky so she skelped his heid! Means He was being cheeky so she slapped his head!

  • Haver 

Well some of you know Dafty the Pomeranian Duck, who all the female ducks are daft about. Well he just loves to haver. Haver means to talk nonsense!

Example Whenever I see Dafty, half the time he is havering! Means Whenever I see Dafty, half the time he is talking nonsense!

Dafty loves to haver!

Can you make a wee sentence or two using the above ten words?

How about this.

The bairn went to get messages, but he was havering so much with his pal that they became doolally. He forgot to pay and chored a braw wee cake. When he got home his maw said naw piece for you, and gave him a skelp on the arse that made him greet.

Thank you for reading you awesome beautiful people.

Copyright @TengoLoTodo 2021 and yes All Rights Reserved. All images, words and ramblings are from the author unless otherwise stated.

100% original content from this mad Scotsman!

And don't forget ;)

Haste ye back.

25
$ 12.05
$ 11.01 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.20 from @ARTicLEE
$ 0.10 from @tired_momma
+ 17
Sponsors of TengoLoTodo
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for TengoLoTodo
2 years ago

Comments

I loved the Scottish words that you introduced Kuya Ed! Though I am having a hard time to wrap my head around in creating sentences with those. 😅

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The bairn greeted and went doolally because his mom wasn't able to do her messages thus can't make a braw piece. :D

It doesn't sound really Scottish even with those words there :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hello friend, a pleasure to greet you, what a gratifying article, educational and fun, I was totally unaware of these wonders of the Scottish Language, I find it interesting the change of words, it is very different from Spanish clearly, but you play with words in such a beautiful way, so spectacular, I like that phrase "Haste Ye Back" because it certainly shows that you always have hope, especially that someone will return, how curious and interesting, my respects, thanks for sharing this, greetings, here you will have a new follower.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Since I'm a food lover the sandwich catch up my eyes hahaha It's very delicious . That's why you can write great article cause you bring snack where ever you go charoot hehehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You have a braw heart. Dafty is not havering but asking for more food.. Yey 2 sentences hurray.. Did i pass the exam 😅😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It is the middle of a friday hot afternoon and i've gone doolally listening to one trainor havering. Good thing it is a recorded video else he'd be seeing me skelping my face awake. Naw, i was trying my best to listen and understand what he is saying. I am so close to greeting. Lemme get myself a piece instead i need a little happiness ....

Wahaha this is fun uncle ed!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

A bonnie hen went doolally when her bairn started greeting at the grocery store while she is doing her messages. She told the bairn naw piece for you and your arse will be skelp just wait till we get home. The bairn started havering and told his maw that he will chore a piece if he gets hungry. What a braw article. That was easy hahaha I'm getting good at this. You better start to kip early before I skelp your arse too. 😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks for this Ed another set of words to add in Ed's Scottism dictionary 😉

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Yes a wee bunch more!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am greeting since my braw mind tells me I shoud do messaging but then the other side of my brain says 'naw' 🤧😁

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Haha you need to do the messages so you can cook some more!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I need this today 😣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That mushroom looked like a real umbrella!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

hehe it does, it was tiny too.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

But it looks kinda big. Anyway, that sandwich looks so delish.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hehe well I did get down to the ground to take the picture haha and yes thank you the sandwich was sarap :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

wut? wait HAHAHAHA this is very educational. I was shock abt the massages one xd i thought it was text or chat something xd

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Yes doing the messages is an oddball, and throws people :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Was really wonderin' what's you've been up to, uncle Ed!

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Been pretty busy Mrs P:) Still try to visit on here though!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Now, that's very educational :)

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thanks, I love to learn other languages so thought I would share some of our words here.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

:) Ibang-iba din mga terms nila compare sa mga Aussie

$ 0.00
2 years ago

He chored my braw heart away and now I'm feeling I'm dullaly. I need to do messages to mend it. Haste ye back! 😁

$ 0.02
2 years ago

haha nobody chores your heart though, you are more likely to break theirs ;)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

No, I would never chore someone's heart because mine was already chored before I can chored theirs🥺

$ 0.00
2 years ago

They say, "Love is kind, love is fairytale" but for me, 'love is wild', it makes me uneasy, i feel like im doolally. Dont get me wrong being in love is a braw.. But sometimes whem my mom tells me to do my messages, I'm out of my head, I unconciously say naw. She said I'm a doolally bairn it makes me cry. Now, my boyfriend come and give me a piece now I'm happy because even if he chore my heart and sometimes he is naughty I want to skelp him. I'm still thankful because he listens to me even when I'm just havering.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

hehe that was braw! Thank you so much for doing that, it made me chuffed :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha what's chuffed?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

oh no, chuffed was one of the words I said in my first Scottish words article, it means happy, proud etc :) so when you tried that it made me happy and proud, so chuffed!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I see, thanks Uncle Ed

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This article of yours is really braw. It makes me want to go to our mini store and have some messages. I think, I am going doolally 🤣.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

hehe we are all doolally haha, have a wonderful Friday :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The child went to get food, but he was crying so much with his friends hat that became crazy. He forgot to pay and stole a braw (hahaha I forgot this one) cute cake. When he got home his mother said no sandwich for you, and gave him a slap on the behind that made him cry(?)

Hahaha I did not scroll up. If this be an exam, I'll probably get an egg.

$ 0.04
2 years ago

hehe you did good, no egg for you :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My brother chored a wee piece in the refrigerator and my mum saw him and skelped his hied. And know he's havering over something.

Did I do it right? 🤣

I really tried reading all those examples in a Scottish accent hahaha.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

hehe yes you do good, and now trying to imagine you saying them in a Scottish accent 🤣🤣🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Dudee, there are words who's meaning is the opposite on english word. I'm glad to know some words from you. This language barrier is actually a problem hahaha. Thank you for sharing information

$ 0.02
2 years ago

it is funny when things meant the opposite. I have been to places where shaking the head is opposite to what I think it is!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hello. thank you for sharing the sentences. i couldn't organize new sentences but i still loved reading you. Haste Ye Back!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I appreciate you reading this , thank you and yes Haste Ye Back!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Scottishism 101 by Kuya Ed. Thanks again for another wee share of your scottish words. I will add this on my vocabulary hehez so that I'll never forget one. The bairns here are not allowed to go outside so they greets when they left by their parents to do messages. Sorry can't compose of a sentence using those 10 words now, my brain is not functioning well this morning hehez maybe I should get a braw wee piece so I will not get doolally XD.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Hehe wee one, I like the Scottishism 101 😂😂😂. You did really well, oo you need your morning piece to eat in class ! Buy I hope you don't go doolally trying to remember some of these!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Woah omg I am really fascinated with the language especially the slang ones (depending on the location) I knew some British but these are new learnings. Thanks for sharing them! Haste ye back! :)

$ 0.05
2 years ago

So Eddie W. is dollaly. Naw, Dafty doesn't haver, why you said that? He only do that when Molly skelps him on the arse. LOL Tomorrow, I'll go to get messages for a braw wee cake. Haha, I think it's enough I'm havering 😂

The word chore in that sense seems fun to me because here we have slang for a thief and it's Choro. Haste Ye Back!

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Hehe you are havering , that was cute Eliana 😁 I think Molly would skelp Dafty's arse 😂😂😂

Oh really choro is slang for thief, well there you go, some similarities.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hehe, I'm sure Molly skelp Dafty's arse 😂 By the way, I hope you didn't mind my last comment in your previous article. I gave you an opinion about your book, and then I regretted giving an opinion that I wasn't ask for.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Well you my dear Eliana of course are getting the uncensored version!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ah, ok! I wasn't talking about censorship, haha. ​​But I'm chuffed to know that I'll read the uncensored version;) Probably, you haven't even read the comment I referred to. ;) So I won't worry! LOL

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The child/children went to do some shopping, but he was blabbering so much with his pal that they seemed crazy. He forgot to pay and stole a nice wee cake. When he got home his maw said, "No sandwich for you," and gave him a slap on the arse that made him cry.

Did I do it right? hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yaay! Additional words to learn. These words rambled in my head, Uncle! Haha. One thing that I'm sure of, I am always doolally. 😆

$ 0.05
2 years ago

I hope you are not dolally wee miss five cups when classes start on Monday 😲

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I hope so too, Uncle! Haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hehe I know you won't be wee miss five cups

$ 0.00
2 years ago

He chored my heart and broke it. 💔😂 I can't combine all those 10 Scottish words yet master but I will try next time. 😁

$ 0.05
2 years ago

I knew you would say chore and break your heart my wee BC 😂😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha how come you knew it master? Haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hehe because it is very you thing to say my wee BC 🤣🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahahahah now I know master

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haste ye back, I somehow thought "I shall return" the first time seeing it under your post and glad it is tiny wee correct😅

I must admit I had giggles reading your slang words more so on that 'doolally'😁 I think I could use that to call someone, it sounds sexy :D

$ 0.05
2 years ago

I thought you might get the giggles, so an chuffed.

Aha I have a feeling that doolally will he favourite word 😂😂😜

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You didn't fail haha. Thank you! Hahaha yes, it would be my new favourite :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hehe now I am giggling, that is braw you have a new favourite.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha see, you give giggles you get back too :) Yes, because of you I have a new one on my vocabulary so thank you :) You're so braw!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It is good to giggle it keeps us doolally 🤣🤣🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha it's okay to be doolally as long as there's lots of giggles😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago