Let me entertain you with a wee bit of Scots

81 156
Avatar for TengoLoTodo
2 years ago

July 26th 2021 0046

Hello you awesome Readers. Today is Monday when most of you will be reading this. I hope you had a wickedly fun filled fabulous weekend!

Some people don't like Mondays, they get dem Monday blues! Well a day is a day in my book, they can be good, they can be awesome or they can be not so good. So to uplift your mood I thought I would write something a wee bit different today.

I have put all the stories away for the day, don't worry they will all be back with more instalments and chapters this week.

Now then, some of you will know I use the word wee quite often. Some of you I even address as wee, some of you know what it means, some of you don't. I tend to speak in English on noise and read, so you can all understand. However little by little I will use Scottish slang words, some of you even use arse now ;) ( yes I am looking at you @Loveleng18 hehe)

I believe that they now call words and phrases like these, Scottishisms now!

Today, we will play a wee game :) I shall give approximately ten words that we use often daily in Scotland, so why not see if you can guess the meanings. I will give the meaning and use in a sentence and let's see where this leads us.

  • Wee

Wee is probably my most used word.

It means small or little and is often a term of endearment when used to refer to a person.

Example What a cute wee pup. Means What a cute little puppy.

  • Dreich

An appropriate word for cold wet miserable weather is dreich. (I think you Filipinos are having dreich weather)

Example The weather is dreich! The weather is wet and miserable!

Dreich weather
  • Chuffed

This is one of my favourite words, and it is a feel good word. I used it today in a comment on the article from @emily2u congratulating on her achievement of reaching 1BCH.

My comment was :

One word to you Emily ...... AWESOME .... I am on 0.7 and my birthday is August 17th I am trying for it then and you so will nail 2 BCH by yours, I expect 3 BCH for you by then!! Congratulations I am chuffed for you.

So chuffed means happy or proud.

  • Maw

This one seems appropriate here in readcash and in noisecash too.

Example Mrs P ( @Bloghound ) is maw to her mini me!

Maw means mother.

  • Bonnie

Now I am sure some of you know this one.

Example See that bonnie lassie holding the bonnie flower. Means See that beautiful young lady holding the pretty flower.

So bonnie can mean beautiful/pretty

  • Boke

If something is so smelly or so disgusting that you want to be sick/vomit then it would the time to use boke!

Example The smell was so rank I nearly boked! Means The smell was so bad that I nearly vomited.

  • Bisom

I think many of you reading this are wee bisoms!

Example She is a wee bisom! Means she is a naughty little woman/girl!

So bisom refers to females (usually human, but can be for animals too)

But the naughty is in the mischievous sense, so it is not that bad a term really!

  • Heid

Example Yer aff yer heid!

Okay so this a wee phrase. I have not put the meaning yet, because I read the latest story from the wonderful @snapping.turtle which you can read here . I started to read her article in the voice of a Scottish pirate as soon as I saw head I was saying heid!

So heid is head, and Yer aff yer heid! means you are off your head, in other words mad !

  • Coo

What sound does a cow make?

Example It goes moo doesn't it, so a cow is really a coo!

For those of you, who have been following the wizard stories, have you guessed what really happened?

  • Jobbie (Jobby)

I have to leave this one till last!

Jobbie or Jobby (they mean the same, just different spellings) is well have you guessed it. It means a πŸ’©, a poo. Do you say poo or pooh, I always say jobbie because the bear is called Winnie the Pooh!

Example I need a jobbie the noo! I need a poo now!

Can you make a wee sentence or two using these words?

How about this.

It was a dreich day, and I thought I would go for a wee walk to see your maw. On the way I was fair chuffed because I saw a bonnie coo that shook it's heid. It was a bisom though and decided to have a jobbie and I nearly had to boke!

bonnie coo ;)

So there we have it, a fun way to use some Scottish words, it is fun to learn new things. I do my best to learn other languages, I love to improve and learn all the time.

Tell me what you think, do you want to learn some more? Did you learn anything? Why not use some or all of them in a comment below!

Here is a couple for you to tell me what you think they mean ? These are used daily!

  • Bawbag

  • Clarty

Picture sources ......

  • Lead Image from pixabay magicmomentartwork source

  • Rain picture from pixabay PublicDomainPictures source

  • Cow picture from pixabay RoAll source

Thank you for reading you awesome beautiful people.

CopyrightΒ @TengoLoTodoΒ 2021 and yes All Rights Reserved. All images, words and ramblings are from the author unless otherwise stated.

100% original content from this mad Scotsman!

I have not thanked my sponsors for quite some time. I hope they are enjoying furthering my writing career! So a big thank you to the following people (why not go check them out) :

@Bloghound

@ARTicLEE

@CoquiCoin

@SaraEscribe

@FarmGirl

@Pichi28

@Eylz2021

@emily2u

@Panky

@JonicaBradley

Haste ye back.

25
$ 10.08
$ 8.21 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.50 from @Pichi28
$ 0.50 from @JonicaBradley
+ 13
Sponsors of TengoLoTodo
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for TengoLoTodo
2 years ago

Comments

Okay, these words are cool! I love different accents and learning words coming from it makes my vocabulary widen (because I am a communication arts student, it's a must) so I personally like things as such. Maybe of all these words, I only knew and have used 'wee' so far.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Yes I am sure you know wee by now, well there are some more for you to use. So a communication arts student, that explains your flawless English posts in noise and read that I read!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

And slainte! Must have a definition for that (not for me, I use it all the time). Even though I really don't like uisce beatha.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

oh yes could do another ten words on alcohol related words !

$ 0.05
2 years ago

The only meaning I have for bawbag would be considered clarty on this platform.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

hehe brilliant, yes bawbag is what you think, however it is common term amongst male friends. At work for example, people will say morning bawbag to their pals.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

I'll try to use that chuffed word and become familiar with it😊

$ 0.05
2 years ago

hehe chuffed is a great word to use 🀣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I think it's time for me to get chuffed up and try to learn a wee bit of words from you.

I am a little bonnie bisom. βœŒπŸ˜…πŸ˜…

$ 0.05
2 years ago

hehe you are a wee bonnie bisom 🀣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you for this wee bonnie words that I've learned now because of your articles. Im looking forward for more. I am so chuffed right now. I learned a wee scotish words. :-)

$ 0.05
2 years ago

I am chuffed you liked it and that you did learn some Scottish words.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Im looking forward for more scotish words from you. So that soon when I got the chance to come to your place I know some basic of it. :-)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Slowly slowly I will give you more Scottish words!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you in advance.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

so now I know the wee word more. 😁 but let me excuse me because I got a hang over and I need to boke. 🀣

$ 0.05
2 years ago

haha a hangover will make you boke , brilliant !

$ 0.00
2 years ago

yeah, i miss boking. lol is it right boking?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hehe yes boking was correct.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

oh yeah, i got it right

$ 0.00
2 years ago

oo you did !

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am chuffed to have learnt some words from you πŸ™ˆ I think I don't need to be confused anytime I see them anywhere or in my comment section πŸ˜‰

$ 0.05
2 years ago

hehe I am glad to be of service. Yes these were a few off the top of my head, seems people enjoyed it :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We do have a dreich weather but I don't want to associate it with miserable. So dreich weather but I feel chuffed for more time in bed lol!

$ 0.05
2 years ago

There you, a positive in everything kuya, cannae grumble with mair hoors in yer pit!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I like reading your Scottish words. Interesting how it sounds like lol!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hehe yes it is fun, seeing people trying to use and pronounce them !

$ 0.00
2 years ago

So chuffed to read this wee bit of Scottishisms. I almost lost my heid from laughing reading jobbie and winnie the pooh.

I'm learning!!! hahaha thank you uncle ed!

$ 0.05
2 years ago

my pleasure wee pp, so you nearly laughed yer heid aff ;)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That! Laughed my heid aff! Hahaa. I will remember!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

haha just remember to put it back!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yaaay! The words are too cute. I got to create mine with the words you have above. " I am a wee bonnie lassie." Hahahaha I am loving myself too much. 😬🀣

$ 0.05
2 years ago

hehe well done, yes a wee bonnie lassie !

$ 0.00
2 years ago

So chuffed to see a bonny coo today.

I used chuffed all the time - my husband's English (don't hold it against me) - and there's quite a few words I'm familiar with here.

However, honestly, Scottish is almost the hardest for me to decipher, especially if it's super fast and thick.

I'd call you cute but I'm also kinda scared of Scottish people. :P

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Oh Scottish can be very hard, haha an English husband haha no comment, so yes I am sure you know most of these. Scottish people are scary ? Haha not a chance, I am friendly!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha I remember travelling in Scotland and whenever we went to a campground I'd say to hubs: Shut up and let me do the talking. Somehow they were always friendlier if they thought we were Australian bahahah!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

haha that is a clever idea, do the same if you goto Wales 🀣🀣🀣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks for educating us more av learnt so much from your articles and am impressed

$ 0.05
2 years ago

YOu are so very welcome, I hope you learnt something and had fun!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes I do learn a lot from it

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Awww bollocks I had my 2nd jag today and I'm knackered. Haha. Ahm pure done in. Ahm not a crabbit just sleepy. Is clarty same as boggin. As for bawbag haha glad it made to the Mc Millan dictionary... But the real definition made me laugh so hard. I'm glad the Scottish talk made you laugh and chuffed. You forgot piece and I had a wee piece of ham, not really hungry. OK I need my kip agane.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

There are so many, I will have ham and pork in my piece tomorrow, I hope you had a braw kip! Clarty also describes a person, whereas boggin is disgusting, clarty is dirty, you fart you are a clarty bastard! You better, wake up crabbit and I will skelp yer ass ;)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Skelp mo ass. I'll be running away. I have a sore arm already. Don't add a sore arse. I'm behaving already. You better sleep tight. While I get more kip. Will wake you up hollering in a while.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha well your arm will heal with sleep ! No skelping today ;)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wee has become one of my favorites. I'll add coo and jobbie, haha. I'm not sure if Bawbags will be on my list. But I know many of them, haha. A cool Scottish lesson ;) But you keep putting off the long-awaited post. And you are in countdown for your birthday! I'll put you on my calendar. You, Yer aff yer heid! Have a good night!;)

$ 0.05
2 years ago

haha yes you will know most of them, it is funny actually bawbag is used amongst friends, for example morning bawbag how are you! Aff my heid , you are right !

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh, okay. I thought rather that it was a bit of an offensive word to use. I suppose it's used among friends. But also as an insult, right? And clarty, in what context is it used?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes mostly among friends, if you use to a stranger, then this is a big insult. Clarty is dirty, generally about a person, they fart for example, then you would say you clarty bastard!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha, understood! Thanks for the wee lesson on Scottish ;)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hehe my pleasure, it was fun

$ 0.00
2 years ago

A great day to start my monday it's a new learning from me. And yes the weather is I'm the Philippines is dreich. Thank you for sponsoring me writer!!!

$ 0.05
2 years ago

My pleasure, welcome to read and looking forward to seeing more articles

$ 0.00
2 years ago

A language class for this bonnie morning is a wee way to start my day. I shall tell my maw this good news!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

or tell your grandmaw 🀣 Yes I heard you have a bonnie morning, although you could say braw morning, anyways smile and enjoy the day :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh yes grandmaw 😁 Oh I see, will do it more precise next time. Thankssssss sir for this

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hehe I was teasing as I know you lived with your grandmaw not your maw and the pleasure is mine if I put a wee smile on your face

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I can think of baobab the tree on the word bawbag. It sounds the same πŸ˜‚

"Off with her heid!" said the Red Queen. Hahaha that's the only example I can give.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

haha Off with heid , yes a very good example. baobab tree now I will call bawbag tree !

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Those are some interesting things to learn! I am now reminded of your "aboot" and could I even make a story using those words? Lemme try :D

My wee bisom cat was playing one dreich afternoon while her maw was sleeping. I was chuffed looking at how cute she was while her heid was resting on a log placed atop the bag of corn by the storage. Being a nosy bonnie I was, I went closer only to step on her stinky jobbie on the rug I had to run outside to boke and bump onto the coo gnawing grass by the yard. (LoL!)

$ 0.10
2 years ago

hehe now that got me into a fit of giggles.

Well done I am fair chuffed now, you did it! Oh I just read again and laughed, that was awesome. Salamat you bonnie lassie that was brilliant :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I was good right? hahaha. Just imagining it made me wiggle my heid. Thank you :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

So when you giggle I know you will be wiggling yer heid πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha is a yes! Can't do much about it haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha i knew it that you will look at me while saying the word arse hehez. This one is a new content of your not the usual story but still sharing some information. I love and enjoyed reading this po. Now I have learned Scottish words again. Dreich weather already leaves us and it is now a wee sunny monday hope the sun will continue to rise. I did saw a coo in our province and they are bonnie bisom. Im so chuffed to myself cause i able to learn some Scottish words from you hehez. But jobbie/jobby here is delicious hehez short for jollibee 😁 Im not familiar yet with the two last words you gave i search the meaning of clarty it says dirty?

$ 0.05
2 years ago

haha you shorten jollibee to jobby ! I didn't know that wee one! It was cute when you say arse :) Yes you have braw weather now, well that is braw, and I am chuffed you are learning too! So I am chuffed that you are chuffed with yourself. Yes I try to have fun things, not always stories, hehe yes clarty is dirty. Have a great day and enjoy your classes :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Its a braw day gallus Ed! And i know someone who is bawbag. πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚ By the way, i know someone who have a same birthdate as yours. Adding you on my wee list. Thanks for sharing this Ed

$ 0.05
2 years ago

oh dreich has gone now you have braw! hehe that be me then bonnie lassie 🀣🀣🀣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yep dreich has gone now but still a wee cold. I still want to sleep 😴

$ 0.00
2 years ago

oh no, I am guessing you are at the shop na, looking at the sunshine

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yep been here since 7:30... Coffee Ed? I don't know why i can't call you uncle just like what others are doing lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It is good to be different though Eylz! Coffee please

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ok.. I'm still brewing will give you a cup... Think its glaikit of me to open my shop this morning but will just wait for my bonnie niece to wake up. Done some research lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago

yes you have, I am impressed! Oh your niece is helping you, well that's good you can get a siesta.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Its good to learn something new everyday. Yep.. its still school break so I'll have some help till first week if August i think

$ 0.00
2 years ago

that's braw , you need to make the most of her !

$ 0.00
2 years ago

What's the difference between eejit and numpty?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

they are basically the same, numpty is a wee bit more polite

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hmmm ok .. thanks will remember that lol do you also use the word arvo?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yep... Promised to buy her something lol. Found you in tg by the way πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Weeee! This maw here is about to go to daughter's school. Enrollment again, so seeyah in a lil bit, uncle Ed! Have wicked and brilliant wee new week!

$ 0.05
2 years ago

ah yes the enrollment Mrs P ! Stay safe and have fun

$ 0.00
2 years ago