What's my favourite memory? Day 4 Challenge

54 75
Avatar for Princessbusayo
1 year ago

"Every time you miss your childhood, ride on a bicycle!"

-Mehmet Murat Δ°ldan.

Yesterday was children's day in Nigeria and it's something I want to talk to you about for the day 4 Gratitude Challenge. Children celebrating their day on the 27th brought beautiful memories to me as a once a child and I couldn't stop smiling remembering them.

My favourite memory is when I was a child. There are many things I have done as a child and I want to thank my parents for bringing me into the world as the second child. I woke up at 4 am to do some things and I was reading @Kushyzee's article. It made me smile as I flashback to the past and how I and the other children enjoyed the moment. I will tell you some of what I did as a child and how some came to turn me into who I am today.

PLAYING WITH OTHER KIDS

One thing about me then was that I love to be the leader of all activities and the other children would cooperate with me. I have always been the one dragging my siblings into the rain and we would play. Our parents never shouted at us though but left us to play. There are times we would use paper to make a boat, and seeing the boat floating and moving in the rain makes us happy.

While involved in roleplaying, I would be the one sharing roles and scenes with other kids. I am always the mother with a plastic baby doll as my baby is tied to my back. We would find tins and add much sand into them. One would be for rice, another for solid food, depending on what we are eating for the play. We use our room when mom and dad have gone out and when we are through, I will make sure we all sweep everywhere and make it neat before our parents come back.

Our parents, though, were strict, but they still gave us the freedom to play with other children but would give us a particular time we should come in, especially at night. Starting from 7 pm after eating dinner, we would be given an hour to play and everyone would rush out to call our friends to play "Hide and Seek". There is a staircase in our compound, that was our usual spot and a perfect place to hide under the stairs as there were different hiding places and one wouldn't be easily located since it's dark and there wouldn't be light then. We enjoyed that moment with many more fun activities like playing in the sand, after round one, original panadol extra...I know many Nigerians born at that time would know this. Others like Tenten, rubber playing, suwe games, who is in the garden and so on.

STEALING MOM'S MONEY

When we were growing up and I was in Primary School then. I had a best friend who was the same age as me and in the same class. Her mom sells bread while mine sold Nylon. They both were together and every day they will sell massively. My mom was a popular Nylon maker and seller then and people will rush to her to get some for their businesses. We never lacked even though we aren't that rich but we lived happily.

The money that was always given to me and my siblings wasn't always enough and my friend and I teamed up together to start stealing a small amount of money from our mothers' purses so we could add to the money being given to us every morning. There was the food canteen woman who sells a very delicious meal around the school and we were always looking forward to eating in the morning at her place before going to school and that was our plan of taking the money. We just want to eat and form big girls with a lot of money.

As of then, when you use #100 ($0.1) to buy food and meat, you are already enough and should last you hours before thinking of what to eat in the afternoon. On Sundays, with the money we stole, we would buy some clothes and trousers for #50 each and they were always good. Mom would wonder where we got money from and I quickly tell her it was the money given to us every morning to school since we don't spend it πŸ˜…πŸ˜…

This moment too was fun. My best friend should still be alive by God's grace and I wish to set my eyes on her again. I can say that was the only girl I had as a best friend, my partner in petty stealing 🀣

DAD'S GIRL EVERYWHERE

I have always been tagged as Dad's girl everywhere including in school. For all the schools I attended right from Kindergarten to my Senior Secondary School, Dad has never missed a day checking on us except for days he travelled. He wasn't someone who goes to the office every morning, he was an instrumentalist and musician. So, he only goes out when he has an event to play. Mom was a trader and she didn't know our school but at least one of them made it a priority to visit us to see what we were up to.

People wondered how he has always been consistently checking on his children and he was awarded the best parent who keeps coming to visit us during one of the Parents Teachers Association meetings. My Dad tried for us then and I am so proud to have him. Whenever he shows up in school, all pupils will shout "Busayo your dad has come". He was always the first parent to arrive whenever there is a meeting or any event which makes him respected among all teachers and principals. He became the permanent musician for events that took place in the school.

MY FIRST EARNINGS AS A CHILD

I should have written this on Hive but I couldn't then, I will just summarize. When I finished Junior Secondary School, before school resumed for Senior Secondary School, I had in mind to start a little business because I got the idea from my mom. She gave me some money for a start. I went to buy packets of sweets, biscuits, chewing gum, goody-goody, chocolates with sticks etc and was selling them in my mom's shop. I was always looking forward to having a customer on the first day which made me sad because I didn't understand things were in step then. The next day, I had only a child as a customer, then my siblings were the next even though they stole much of my stuff which I would cry to report to Dad and he would pay me back.

I started doing Nutri C, which comes in different flavours (Coke and Fanta) and our freezer was very good. In minutes, everything in it would get iced and people patronized me so well. My siblings would always steal some to drink, I would complain but they wouldn't stop.

That was when I realized what goes around will come around... I used to steal mom's money but didn't know how it felt but someone was doing it to me, I felt it. Lol

The business was what made me determined to be independent because mom taught me so. She never depended on Dad's money except he gave to her and that didn't stop her from preparing meals on the table. Let me stop here because I have a lot of childhood memories.

Thanks for reading

Lead Image created on Canva.

All images are taken from pexels and pixabay.

Source 1, Source 2, Source 3, and Source 4

May 28, 2022] (No 148 articles for the year)

26
$ 3.58
$ 3.07 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @gertu13
$ 0.05 from @Giddyboy
+ 14
Sponsors of Princessbusayo
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Princessbusayo
1 year ago

Comments

Such lovely childhood memories, makes me wanna go back to being a child. Lol, I also stole mum's money, I also played all those games but omo! That after na one ehn, πŸ˜‚ it could be painful at times especially when one looses and everyone beats your palm. Childhood was fun in a way, but unlike you, I used all my first earnings to buy biscuits and sweets and up to date, that's what I still do. Old habits never dies... I'm gradually changing though.

You learnt independency from waaay younger and that's really sweet.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

πŸ˜‚ When I lose, I love to dodge my palm from hard beating then. Hehehe, old habits never die but one has to kill them completely especially if it is the bad ones. Thank you, Ella

$ 0.00
1 year ago

ohhh you stole money from your mom's wallet and to be honest I did the same thing when I was a kid too when my mom wasn't home and I started to rummage through her cupboard.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Hahahaha, we all did stuff like that, especially taking money to buy sweet things and goodies.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hmm, you're taking me back to the memory lane... Like i could remember all the child play I had when I was a kid, even now, sometimes I still make boat with paper.. hehehehe I would have say I will love to go back to my childhood days, because it was really fun, but not possible, there's more fun to have too in my adulthood , like seriously 🀣🀣🀣

Is like I'm going to participate in this... At least it will make me not to skip any day in my writing...

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yes, I do that sometimes too when I am less busy and need to try something. I would make a boat and remember that moment. I even still play "After round one, original panadol extra... 🀣🀣

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hehehehe, you made me to remember this again... I mean the after round one game... 🀣🀣

$ 0.00
1 year ago

πŸ˜€

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Those days when i was a child i really enjoyed it oh, it was very interesting. The memory stuck with me. I used to bath in rain very well, in fact, immediately we observe the cloudiness of the sky, we will start calling ourselves, Kayode, Muyideen, shola, Jide.. , ojo ti n bo, ama we l'eni , but when we began to grow older.... Omo, we could not bath in the rain anymore.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

🀣🀣🀣🀣 you are funny.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

We were naughty kids at least once in our lives! πŸ˜‚

$ 0.01
1 year ago

😁😁 Of course, we were and it was fun.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oh wow, so many memories!!! I made paper planes, boats, guns, belts, wristwatches etc. I cooked with sand, I didn't like after round one because my hands always turned red after the slapping haha, I loved nutri c so much! Mehn, I miss all that. I'm so happy I didn't grow up with phones and the Internet

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Hehehe! I can see you have fun during yours too. You made me remember the gun, belts and wristwatch we made using paper. Lol

$ 0.00
1 year ago

So it's not only me that stole money as a child πŸ˜‚ you get mind sha, you were using yours to buy clothes and your mom is still cool with it, my own mom will immediately know where I got the money from if I tried such πŸ˜†

$ 0.01
1 year ago

πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚ The only lie I could come up was that I was always saving the money I was always given to school. Lol

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wow a really big journey, but which challenge are you into now. You know I get some ideas from you

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Oh! I didn't include the image on this post. You can check my previous post for it. I am in Day 4 of the Gratitude Challenge

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ok i will check

$ 0.00
1 year ago

This is truly a journey through memory lane,play acting was always fun. I was all smiles reading this.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yes, roleplaying was much fun than the others. Thanks for reading

$ 0.00
1 year ago

😘😘

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Bad girl you.. Stealing your mom's moneyπŸ˜…πŸ˜….. It's almost like I'm the only child who didn't do it😜

$ 0.01
1 year ago

🧐🧐🧐 Iffa hear. No child would deny that stealing part. Not money alone, tell me you didn't steal meat from the pot πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Didn't do that either 🀣

$ 0.00
1 year ago

πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
1 year ago

So, from small you've started doing business? It's nice. BusinessBusayo πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yes oo, even though I don't have interest in it again. I love teaching.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Daughters are always close to their dad. They are emotionally attached to their dad more than their mother

$ 0.01
1 year ago

You are right. I read it sometimes back but can't remember.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

πŸ˜…πŸ˜…πŸ˜…πŸ˜…omo, the first I stole from my mom, they caught me and was beaten to a stupor. I will always laugh when I remember that I was once a child, those memories are the best and will remain forever.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

You weren't smart then na πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚ if not, you wouldn't have been caught. You need to learn from us then. My mom would carry her bag to the bathroom but I still steal that day πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
1 year ago

My favorite memory is when I am playing with my childhood friends before. Like, role-playing, hide & seek, and many more. Such a good memories!

$ 0.01
1 year ago

It was such a good memories 😊

Thanks for stopping by

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Same here also. My favorite memory is when I was in elementary to play with other children having laugh and play. I almost experienced what you have enumerated the different games we used to play.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Many of us in that generation had experienced it.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wow princess you have really remind me of the childhood memories, they are some certain things that I remember when i did when I was a kid that I can't try it now.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Same thing with me. I can't even dare try any now.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I remember those nutri c, it was #5 then inside white nylon

$ 0.01
1 year ago

You gerrit πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
1 year ago

My childhood memories is always about playing hehehehh and when our mom get mad for how naughty and noisy we are

$ 0.01
1 year ago

We all played especially with our noise everywhere. Mom would shout at us but we don't mind. Lol

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I also had a lot of pleasure playing with my fellow mates but it always ended in a problem for me as my mum will beat me for spending so much time playing outside the house

$ 0.01
1 year ago

So much beating then, either with slippers, turning stick or whatever they set their eyes on 🀣

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Who didn't collect money from the mother pursue, hands in the air, no hands πŸ˜…πŸ˜…

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Hehehe! No one would ever deny that. We all have fucked up πŸ˜…

$ 0.00
1 year ago

What an everlasting memory you had as a kiddy.. what goes around truly comes around. My sister tried selling peanut at school but her greatest temptation was me and my other siblings. πŸ˜‚

$ 0.01
1 year ago

πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚ Big temptation

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Those were wonderful memories from your childhood busayo. I also used to play with other kids back then but they didn't like me as I am weak. I also steal my moms coins to buy some junk foods.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I think many of us did stole from our parents πŸ˜…πŸ˜… Perhaps children want active kids than weak ones.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oh dear you had a very beautiful memory back then. I suddenly remembered my childhood day's. However I can't steal money to my mom as her pocket is always empty. Hahahaha she really hides her money very well that we really can't see where she hides her money. Our father is always busy, also my mom and so I never experienced having a parent's at home.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Despite my mom keeping her money and would even take her purse to the bathroom, I still find my way taking it πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚ very mischievous act then

$ 0.00
1 year ago

There's no grown up individual that hasn't been a kid before

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yes oo, everyone passed through the stage.

$ 0.00
1 year ago