So Gentle and Stubborn!!! 🧐

35 87
Avatar for Princessbusayo
1 year ago

"Every day I feel is a blessing from God. And I consider it a new beginning. Yeah, everything is beautiful".

Prince

I am almost leaving my Aunt's place and I can't wait to be active back again. Seriously, I missed a lot of things while with her but I just had to endure till this moment. There are many things I could have done, but couldn't do them all because I was always tired and stressed at the end of the day, making me not to enjoy coming online and when the next day arrives, I am always sad not accomplishing my targets. Well, all is well and I would definitely make up with all.

There is a contest I entered in on Hive in the LadiesofHive community and I love the question and felt like sharing it here too. I hope you enjoy it.


What was your position (in terms of birth) in the family? How did that experience help you become, or hinder you from becoming, a successful adult?

I'm proud to be the second born in a family of seven before, but now turned six because of the loss years ago but I never regretted ever being a second born. In fact, I enjoy the position especially when I decided to take the responsibility of being the eldest and that was because the firstborn who is a girl left our family to live with grandma at the age of 3 and ever since then, people thought I was the firstborn, watching over my three siblings.

Even when after many years, our big sis came to visit us, no one knew her as our sister but I still held on to the first position at her absence which I felt was a huge responsibility and a bit tasking for me.

Our parents expected me to do everything since I am the eldest and wouldn't allow my siblings to do anything because they believe I should have the strength than others and also lead by example.

Being the second born made me like a mother to my siblings and I would always be there to defend them anywhere but only the ones who chose to stay in their lane because no one can vouch for me as I was so weak and gentle. Though, very stubborn but I can insult anyone who dares cross my path 😁

Just as I read @zellypearl 's post about the misconception of being a second child. Well for the part where she says they are "unbearably stubborn", of a truth I am. I can be so hard to please in some areas and my yes would always be yes without anyone changing my mind, and I can be too soft in other areas like if you come for a favour. I have been this way right from when I was young.

(My last younger sister is behind me while the one with glasses is my cousin)

Being the second born and becoming the first by default, was really tasking and huge for me because there were many things I would forgo just to please my siblings. Mom would be like "you are immature, can't you just act as a big sis and give out your stuff?" I would stare at my mom and would be like "is it every time I release things to my siblings all in the name of showing seniority?"

There were also some days when people would think my immediate younger sister is the senior because of her huge stature while I have a short one. She is a bit stubborn, reserved, bossy, and lousy and won't take no for an answer. She knows how to defend herself anywhere and many times, she would just start a fight with me asking me to fight back but being the soft and weak child, I would end up begging her not to beat me πŸ˜…

People have even said to my face if only she has come as the eldest so she can always defend me whenever there is a problem and she also has pleaded we should exchange positions as she wanted to be my senior since I am not swift in some areas. In short, I was unwise in some parts and it does hurt her to see me that way.

While growing up, everyone was proud of who I was becoming and I learned to take responsibility for myself and my family. I also learnt many things from my big sis as she was focused and when she started working, responsibilities were huge on her which made me pity her.

Sincerely, there are some stages where the firstborn would be focused on so they can depend on them and wouldn't want them to live a wayward life. Even aside from that, I decided to help my sister by relieving her of some responsibilities because it is not easy and I know the task ahead of them (the firstborn) especially when you have a lot of younger ones.

I have always been happy coming as the second born and I have determined to also try my best to help my siblings so the work wouldn't be too much on our firstborn. Though I was someone they thought was weak then but I became strong seeing what is ahead of me.


HOW DID THE EXPERIENCE HELP ME BECOME, OR HINDER ME FROM BECOMING A SUCCESSFUL ADULT?

My sister taught me what and how being a firstborn should be and what to expect when she wasn't around and the experience I had growing up and taking care of my siblings in my own way made me stronger and determined to continue taking care of them.

The role has helped me become independent as I didn't want to depend on my big sis again knowing we are four behind her and for her not to get tired easily, I learnt to take things as they come and be swiftly and quick in dealing with problems. I know what it is to become the first child and how great the responsibility is, I have learnt to make myself available for my younger ones and not to make them think otherwise of me.

(My immediate younger sister who likes to bully me then πŸ˜‚)

Today, through the experiences in the past and how I have come to wake up to help my siblings, my immediate younger sister is always proud and happy I came before her and also to know that she has got me whenever she needs help especially financially and I am happy I learnt things in a hard way from my parents while growing up and the absence of my sister made me who I am today. She doesn't want to be my senior again because I am always giving her money πŸ˜…πŸ˜…

I have not gotten to my dream yet, but I am working towards it every day and I would want to continue being that elder sister to my siblings, one who they can run to anytime they need help.

Though I might be stubborn, it's for a good cause and many times a bit anti-social since I am learning to interact socially with people.

Thanks for reading

@Ellawrites I am deeply grateful for such an opportunity to be my sponsor. Sincerely, I love and appreciate it. God bless you πŸ₯°

[May 27, 2022] (No 147 articles for the year)

Sponsors of Princessbusayo
empty
empty
empty

To all my existing sponsors, thanks for supporting me all the time. You are amazing to me always.

22
$ 11.31
$ 5.99 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 2.75 from @Juggernaut
$ 2.10 from @Khaleesii.
+ 14
Sponsors of Princessbusayo
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Princessbusayo
1 year ago

Comments

I am the first child of my family and right now I am enjoying the perks as I am always exempted from most household chores πŸ˜† I have paid my dues in the past when my siblings were too young and I had to do everything from cooking, sweeping, fetching water and washing plates. Right now my attention is only needed for special errands

$ 0.01
1 year ago

πŸ˜…πŸ˜…πŸ˜… Na to dey enjoy be that. You don pour water for ground in the past, now it's time to step on dried ground 🀣

$ 0.00
1 year ago

🀣🀣🀣 exactly o

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You looked old to me πŸ˜‰. I am kidding you are genius being by default first. Your elder sister no doubt had given you a lot learning and grooming. A strong family is known by its strong woman. Have a good day sister and wish you best of luck for your HIVE Contest.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Hehehe! Well you are right because people say I am old than my age πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You are not so old πŸ˜‚. You are good and beautiful by heart sister.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

😍😍 Thank you

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I am a middle child, and usual middle child is less favorite. Oh I love your hair in dreadlocks! Been wanting to do that in my hair!

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Hahaha! Actually, it's not dreadlock 😁😁 It's called " Weaving All back"

Thank you for the compliment πŸ€—

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oh, so there was a different. Actuallt I had noticed you guys are always fashionableπŸ˜‰

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes, there is. I have never done the dreadlocks before but it always looks so beautiful on a girl that does it here.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I am always fascinated by it when I saw one..πŸ˜†

$ 0.00
1 year ago

When an authority is challenge, I'm the first born to my parents but it's like my younger ones always try to take over the position of a first born, but I can't allowed that to happen,so I'm trying everything to take up my responsibility in the family so that they can temper with my authority, It's very very good to authoritative in the family.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yes, don't allow them oo πŸ˜…

Let me see you as their elder brother and give you the respect.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Nice family you got there... I'm the second born too but with much responsibility as being a guy. I'm used to fatherly duties in terms of financing especially supporting junior ones with school stuffs. But thank God for parents that are always there πŸ’ͺπŸ’ͺ

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yes oo, thank God for our parents because it's not easy taking responsibilities even when you grow up.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

as a second anal you have to guide your younger siblings because they also need help to make them more useful for family life.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

That is it. We must set a good example for them. Thank you 😊

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I wish I was your brother, that your stubbornness will run by force.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Like seriously? Do you want to use a cane to chase it away? 🀣🀣🀣

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wow, I am not surprise of hearing that you are some how stubborn, since you have said that you are the second born, that has always been their character. Most of the second borns sometimes comes up with morale that if their first born is not strong enough they will over throw them.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚ you are funny.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I am the youngest and the third. We are only 3 children, and it's going smoothly too. :) Hope you achieve your dreams.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Wow! Last Borns are always enjoying more especially from siblings ahead 😁

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I am the second born, but I can't relate to taking the responsibility of the first child as our eldest has always been around.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Hehehe! Would you switch? Lol

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I am the third born of four and I am not stubborn but my junior brother was very stubborn when he was small but now he has sense πŸ˜…πŸ˜…πŸ˜…

$ 0.01
1 year ago

πŸ˜…πŸ˜…πŸ˜… Na you give am sense?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

πŸ˜…πŸ˜…πŸ˜…πŸ˜…yes ooo

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I'm the last born of my mother but not of the house because it's a polygamous family

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Oh! That's great but you still get to enjoy something from your parents and siblings.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I am the eldest child and I will say it hasn't been easy shouldering the affairs of the family.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

It's not always easy for the first child but God will always help them.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

We share the same position in birth. I am the 2nd of 4 children. I always feel protective because i have a male infront of me and a male following as well. I am the peacemaker if my family especially between my siblings when matters arises. I can't count the number of times I've got to separate them from fighting. As the second child, there are responsibilities i chest alone even when my elder brother is around. He gives me the opportunity to, because he has this confident in me that no matter what happens, i will always deliver. Second in command....haha

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Hehehe! I wish I had a senior brother too so I can be protective too but I am glad I have a junior brother and I am relieved πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

At least being the girl you are, there should be freedom na ...as the second in command πŸ˜…

$ 0.00
1 year ago