What makes people charming?

58 82
Avatar for Princessbusayo
1 year ago

"Let us be grateful to people who make us happy, they are the charming gardeners who make our souls blossom".

Marcel Proust

When you tell someone “you are charming”, what does it mean? Why do you think he or she is charming? There would be something or things you have seen such a person exhibiting or doing, that makes you look at his or her face with a smile and say “you are charming”. Charming means for someone to be extremely pleasing, attractive or delightful. Whichever you want to choose, a person who is charming means the person is good to the extreme. We would be looking at some characteristics a person must possess to be called a charming person because you can't see or meet a bad person and say he or she is charming. 

As long as we know, we have beautiful people around us who are ready to make us happy. We want to be seen around them and likewise, they want to be with us so they can listen to us and help us resolve the problems we might be sharing with them. Now, let's take a look at those who are charming and how they are qualified to be called that. 


A charming person talks less. We have all been made to understand that when we are interacting with others, we should talk less and not too much so we don´t say things we ought not to say. People in this category know when to talk and not to talk and they believe that actions speak louder than voices. If you want to know those who are charming, observe them when they talk, people like them are found to act rather than talk and they pay attention to the situation before they talk and when they do, they do it less and straight to the point and they already pass across their messages.

Talking less helps one to focus on the matter on the ground and they say the essential things rather than beating around the bush. A person who talks less makes every word count. The less a person says, the more information the person you are speaking with will share and you will be able to learn from each other. 

A charming person talks calmly. Just like talking less, it is similar to talking calmly and slowly because they don´t want to make errors while talking. They want to make sure the other person is getting their points so it doesn't look like time-wasting. When a person talks calmly, it reveals the person´s personality and how he or she handles matters in a more intelligent way. Talking calmly helps you to focus on the matter and proffer solutions where necessary. 

A charming person maintains good eye contact while speaking. Yoruba will always say “it is in the eyes, words are revealed” You don't want to start speaking and looking below your feet or gazing at the ceiling, it makes you an unfocused and unserious fellow. Maintaining good eye contact means you are paying attention to the other person while talking and the other person is flowing along with you. Such a person knows what it means to look eyeball to eyeball to catch the attention of who he is speaking with. 

A charming person has respect towards a subordinate and strangers. A person in this category knows how to respect everyone including those that are lesser in authority. He or she doesn't discriminate but treats everyone with respect. While some will want to exercise their power on those lesser than them and not be humble, a charming person knows how to accord respect to people younger than him including strangers because he knows everyone, whether young or old should be given respect. Respect is reciprocal and such a person would want to earn his respect by showing to others irrespective of who they are. They don´t look down on anyone and aren't proud. 

A charming person keeps a faint smile throughout a conversation. Even when the conversation is funny or not, the other person might not want to be seen as useless, but keeping a faint smile which could probably not be noticeable would be found on a charming person´s face. They understand them while they talk and giving a  faint smile means they are following up with what others are saying and shouldn´t be seen laughing out loud because it might mean you are mocking the other person and be considered as someone who is not serious. 

A charming person admits his mistakes and flaws with confidence and humility. A person in this category believes that everyone makes mistakes and has flaws, so admitting them makes them a better person because they are ready to learn from others and want others to learn from them. He is ready to take the blame and criticism when he makes mistakes and does not keep his flaws to himself but he is ready to talk it out with confidence and allow others to learn from him. Also, they make mistakes, admit that they did it and are ready to make changes where necessary even from young ones. 

A charming person lives happily, does what is right and does not complain much about life. People in this category want to be happy and wouldn't want anything to jeopardize that moment for them. They believe they own their happiness and should create it, despite being in a bad situation since they know they can´t change what has happened, but taking the step to do what is right and never complains too much about life. A charming person takes responsibility and accepts situations as they are, and they are ready to do what is right to turn things in their favour and never to complain or put blame on the circumstances of life. 


With all these characteristics I have explained, I believe many of us are charming because we possess most, if not all of them, and if you actually pass all of these, because I know we aren't perfect, then, this is me saying that “you are charming”.

Thanks for reading.

Image by Vitolda on unsplash

[May 05, 2022] (No 125 article for the year)


 


31
$ 7.48
$ 6.62 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Jane
$ 0.05 from @George_Dee
+ 24
Sponsors of Princessbusayo
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Princessbusayo
1 year ago

Comments

Now, I am wondering if I am a charming one my dear princess..Hehe. Anyways, you defined it truthfully my dear. So, I should you are a charming one for me.. :-* <3 <3 <3

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Awww, don´t wonder but I believe you are in reality and we should maintain such qualities wherever we meet ourselves. Thank you for the compliment.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

The first two points on your list is me, yeah. That means i am charming, haha. I wonder of people really see me this way.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Not all would actually know what it truly means for one to be charming, but the few who understand would definitely see you that when when you act in the above qualities.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Do I have the charm? hahahah. Well a charm always have that soft and caring voice.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

😎

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I have met a lot of charming people. Whenever I saw them, I just can't help but stare at them. Like they look so attractive in my eyes and I can't take my eyes off them.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

We all do see some people who really are charming and we tend to get excited seeing them portraying such qualities.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I've never seen another angle to the word "charming" before now and thanks for laying that out. I think I am charming. Do you find me charming, KP? Double wink

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Hahahaha, of course, you are charming to the core for me 🥰😉 You don´t talk too much, you speak calmly even though I haven´t seen you maintaining a good eye contact with meeeeeeee🤣

I am glad you enjoyed reading and understand what it means to be charming.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

If I maintained a good eye contact, our clothes might get missing from our bodies. 😂😂🤣😂😂🤣

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Nibo latun jasi bayii 🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ko ye mi o 😂😂

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I guess I am a charming person with all of the criteria that you have listed only problem is the eye contact thing, not just my special force but I'm working on it

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Same with me. I find it hard to maintain eye contact with someone because I am a shy person in that aspect. Though I maintain a good eye contact with my close friends and families.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wow , so true are your words. A charming person must be seductive

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Some people have difficulties in maintaining eye contact when talking with a person and I do understand that it's actually not easy especially if you are talking to your crush 😆 but I actually find eye contact charming, and I tend to do it often when talking to a person (mostly the opposite gender o)

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Yes, we feel this uneasiness when maintaining eye contact with people, especially with people we barely talk together. A person who maintains eye contact is indeed a brave person and must be considered charming.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Let me quickly conclude within myself as a charming person because I fall in most of these categories.

The fee living with no complain is for me. As a matter of fact, I find myself uncomfortable in being close to someone that complains alot

$ 0.02
1 year ago

If someone complains a lot in my presence, I just move away so I don´t get affected by such spirit. Lol, I don´t like complaints, even though it is normal to do that, but making it always isn´t ideal.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

They are always friendly and make people around them feel good about themselves and most importantly they don't joke with people insecurities

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Yes a charming type of person is a person that live life happily, a charming person is always excited about what she has, and the gift and the beautiful nature that God as given, they are always grateful everytime, they live life without complaining.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

I agree with you that a charming person have respect for all and can also tolerate everyone.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yes, I agree with each of your points, because I really find someone who complies with one or all of your points to be a charming person, that usually catches my attention. I always I thought it was not good not to talk much but I am happy to read it from you since I am a very little talker.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

I don´t talk too much too because I get tired easily. Lol

$ 0.00
1 year ago

The people I find the most charming are those who make valuable contributions to my life and well-being

$ 0.02
1 year ago

That is great, my friend. We can truly consider being charming in such area.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Giving respect to all is the only way to make someone charming in my views

$ 0.02
1 year ago

That is good too. At least, such a person will respect people´s opinions.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I talk less and calmly 🙈.. But not charming 🤣🤣

$ 0.02
1 year ago

😂😂As long as you do these, then you are charming which I know you are in reality.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You said it perfectly well dear. When we talk too much, we are more likely to say something foolish. Someone who talks to much isn't always taken seriously since everyone already know that he's quite predictable

$ 0.02
1 year ago

I am a slow talker, also talk calmly too. I do find the things you highlighted charming.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

After reading all features of charming man, I am feeling myself a charming person lol. Yeah a charming person has all the qualities you mentioned. But some people are anti and too stubborn to understand these things.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Yes, this is one way to judge ourselves and see if we are charming or not. Stubbornness is found in some people´s traits. 😂

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Unfortunately, society's standards of being charming are dressing nicely, being beautiful, and having long straight hair. It all revolves around physical attributes.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

They say beauty without the right attitude is useless. Lol

So, I don´t consider such as being charming.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Indeed, you have mentioned every qualities that a charming person has. A charming person are truly humble and gentle to anyone around him/her. He/she was willing to listen and give advice if necessary.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

The respect part is what i love most. Someone who respect others regardless of age is charming to me.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Absolutely true.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You just successfully shattered my definition of what charming is. Now that I think about it you're right. I don't think I am charming though.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

What was charming to you before Layla? I am curious 🌚

$ 0.00
1 year ago

The thing most of us mistake it for😂😂

$ 0.00
1 year ago

LMAO. It is that thing I want to hear na.😂😂😂😂

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Handsomeness, charisma and humor

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Layla Layla. Hmmm. Issorite. Charisma is charming... I like me a good sense of humour too. Handsomeness? Well I don't know about that.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yeah I know berra now😂. Princess did justice.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I wouldn´t want to add beauty to being charming though because dem talk say "beauty without a good personality is useless" which I totally agree with. Others like charisma, humour and good attitudes are charming for me. I am glad you now understand the true meaning of being charming.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

True, being charming is not always about outside beauty, but also about inner beauty, which counts more.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Definitely, you are so right.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I would like to think I am charming.. 😂 truth is everyone would but I feel like some people are born chanting while others have to work their through it

$ 0.02
1 year ago

You are very right. I would say those who are born to exhibit these qualities are truly the best.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I suppose I'm half charming and half not. Haha. You mentioned something I do and something I don't, therefore I guess I'm half charming and half not.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Hahaha, then you can start doing those things mentioned you weren´t doing before.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I'm the one who loves to enjoy the journey not the destination, actually i think I'm already grateful and happy for what I already have. Am I charming?

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Of course, you are. You aren´t in a way complaining and you are also contented with what you have. So, you are charming, my friend.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

People mistake charming for beauty now, they believe only beautiful people deserve the word whereas it is more than that.

Charming for me would sum up morals, intelligence, behavior, human relationships, resourcefulness, beauty, and others.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Great. You have said it perfectly. Beauty for me isn´t charming but if you add it with these traits you mentioned, then you are good to go. Thank you, George.

$ 0.00
1 year ago