The heart of man

34 61
Avatar for Princessbusayo
2 years ago

"The heart is deceitful above all things and beyond cure. Who can understand it?"

Jeremiah 17:9

My cousins begged me to subscribe to the Startimes so they could watch movies since they last subscribed in December. One of my Aunts who is a lecturer in the University of Benin has been the one doing the subscription every month for them to have something to keep them busy with and not feel bored. Grandma often watches movies too whenever she sits in the parlor. I only subscribed once last year when I came home before December.

So when I arrived, they had been begging me to allow them to watch movies but I declined because I didn't want my Aunt to blame me. She has her reasons for not subscribing since December and I don't want to regret doing that for them. Even if I want to subscribe, I must talk to my big sis so she would cover up for me for doing that. Besides, my younger sister will be writing her Jamb next month and I don't want to be the cause of her not focusing because this girl can forget herself while watching movies, so I think it was one of the reasons Aunt did not subscribe. 

I was always watching movies on Netflix and I wasn't bothered. After two weeks of my arrival, I heard Mama made mention of her not watching her favorite channel since they didn't subscribe. At that moment, I wanted to satisfy her since she said so, but I didn't want her to know I did the subscription. I chatted my sister up and she told me to do the subscription while she would pay me back later. Now, I am saved. I called one of my cousins to call her boss so we could tell him to subscribe and he did instantly and I paid the money. 

One thing I am always pissed off about Startimes, Gotv and Dstv is that they keep repeating the same movies they have always shown and it makes it look as if we wasted money to subscribe for a month. I prefer downloading new movies from Netflix or any other site rather than wasting my money subscribing to something that will keep bringing old movies. 

Mama sat while watching her favorite channel while I focused on my work online. I would have gone inside my room because I am always distracted by noise. I wasn't interested in watching the old movies, but because of grandma, I sat down with her. Also, I didn't allow my siblings to change the channel since they know mama will not say anything but sitting down with her didn't allow them to do what they wished but what grandma wanted. 

The noise from the TV was playing on me as I kept reading a line of an article many times and that made me sad but I sat there defending mama against my troublesome siblings in the house. They even invited their friends and they begged me to change the channel as they wanted to watch football. I reminded them that we did not subscribe because of them but for mama. If she goes to her room, they may decide which channel to watch as I am not even interested in what they are watching. 

Mama was already sleeping while watching and I decided to change the channel and they tuned in to a channel about animals. It was an animal documentary and hearing the sound of the animals, mama woke up and was interested in watching different kinds of animals. 

You know I told you grandma has presbycusis? A hearing disorder that affects old age. It was another work translating everything they say in the movie to her since she couldn't hear clearly. Looking at the pictures alone isn't fun to her and she was being carried along through interpretation of what was going on. 

I left what I was doing when I saw a big python swallowing up a big rabbit. Mama was shocked and asked what kind of snake was that. I told her it´s python. The python's body was smooth and shiny but it is a poisonous crawling animal. 

While watching that, I got an idea of how human beings are. They may look alluring and attractive outwardly just like the snake, but their mind is full of deceit and are wicked and dangerous. These are people who pretend to be good outside but are full of dangerous acts and devices which they used to destroy others lives. 

Just like we avoid the python even though its body is attractive and tempting, we should be careful with people who come to us acting good but they are planning every method to get at us. We should know who we should trust and never think every human being is the same. As we have the good ones, we have the bad ones. Their beauties may deceive us, but they are ugly within. They are sent to destroy us and if we allow them, they will eat us alive like the big python. Do not be deceived by their looks but be careful because even the Bible says “the heart of man is wicked”.

Thanks for reading

Image by David on unsplash

[April 26, 2022] (No 116 article for the year)


27
$ 5.58
$ 5.13 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @gertu13
$ 0.05 from @HappyBoy
+ 15
Sponsors of Princessbusayo
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Princessbusayo
2 years ago

Comments

You can't really know the real color of people, they may pretend to have a good character with their charming faces or bodies but deep down they can do more than harm.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Strangers or even those people we already know, we havw ti be extra careful in everything co'z we don't know what they are planning or thinking. We just can risk ourselves or our love ones so it's better to know that person deeply

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Only God can save us from the wroth of the pretenders though I'm not a movie freaked, but I love watching live matches but as long as I have data my problem is solve. And also try to encourage your sibling to prepare very well for her jamb so that she can come out in flying colours.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yes, I will keep trying my best. Thank you so much.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I love the way you used the Python to represent the behavior of humans. Yes, most people could be called pythons in human form, they appears to lovely and caring towards you but their aim is to destroy you.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thank you Sir.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

it's true that we often only look at someone from the outside and are attracted to something based on how they look but we never know who they really are. being careful is the right reason to keep ourselves from all actions that will make us fall and always put God first so that he always provides help and protection.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Creative writing 👏. I also like to go into my room to avoid distraction while working online. May God deliver us from snakes in human form 🙏

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Amen oo

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes no one really know the heart of men except God, and I would say that God sees the heart of men sometimes and that is why He sent us the message through prophet Jeremiah, even when Jesus sent out the disciples he said I send you as sheep in the mist of the wolf so be wise as serpent and be harmless as dove, men are full of evil in the heart, Jesus said for these people worship me with their lips and not with their heart, men can do anything it takes, they can show you love that you never expected in other to trap you, so we should be careful of men.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Exactly. Jesus has warned us to be careful and it is our own to obey and watch out for these kind of people around us. They are everywhere and we must watch out. Thank you 😊.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's right friend, you're welcome.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

So annoying when kids want to change the station to whatever they want in the presence of an adult. Our last born does that a lot and even hold on to the TV remote like it was his own. Lol

$ 0.02
2 years ago

And they won't agree until you do what they want and be satisfied 😅😅

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow, I haven't used cable tv for a long time for the same reasons as you, it's always the same old and boring content, Netflix is ​​boring me lately, I think I'm more into Spotify and its podcast

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Great! I love Spotify too and I have the app installed on my phone which makes me listen to interesting music.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I had forgotten StarTimes still existed self. I like watching documentary stations too. Nat Geo Wild to be specific.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yes, same channel we were watching from. Thanks for reminding me. I also love seeing different kinds of animals.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Each time I visit home, I seldom watch TV with them unless it's football, or Maybe a TV program, and the noise only won't let someone to concentrate..small small children everywhere. Talking about the glittering skin of a snake, that's a typical example of "not all they glitter is a gold"

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yes, that is the best description to describe them with. Not everything that glitters and shine is gold. Deceit.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Absolutely. We cant judge a person based on how they look. Some other people are just showing what other people want to see. Some are great pretenders.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

It's sounds an analogy. Yes, I agree minds of people might comparable to snakes. It may fluctuates over and over again.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Perfect analogy Princess.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thank you dear friend.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Now-a-days people who look nice are wicked and poisonous by heart. I also don't like the channel that remains repeat the cast again and again

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That's true princess, may God continue to save is from the evil ones.. one just can't be too careful.. reminds me of my mama and Grandma, they could advice you about about something you said wrong by referring to the lessons of a movie they had watched more than 20 years ago 🤣

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Sure. And it is always interesting when they say their experiences because we are eager to learn.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You're still good friend you love to watch nefflex. I only watch once when I'm in the mood. Hahaha

$ 0.02
2 years ago

😁😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's not easy to watch TVs with aged person and also you should try to keep your younger sister in check, to remain focused for her upcoming exams. JAMB is not easy.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I am always doing that oo. It is left for her to focus and concentrate. Thank you

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Grandma is quite the opposite of my old uncle here. I dislike watching movies with him because he explains it to you as if you aren't watching it together...kinda annoying. You're right Princessbusayo, humans are deceitful, may God guide us to good company.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Amen 🙏 we just need to be careful

$ 0.00
2 years ago

True simile of python for nature of human being. Being alluring and attractive outwardly but deteriorate and deceiving nature are never failed to use simile of python.

$ 0.02
2 years ago