Should I have lied to cover my sister up?

39 57
Avatar for Princessbusayo
1 year ago

"Do something today that your future self will thank you for."

Sean Patrick Flanery

One thing about lies is that once you say it, you will have to find more lies to cover up your deed and if not, you will regret ever starting with a lie in the first place. People will say if you say the truth, no one will kill you but trying to cover up with lies will tarnish your image and reputation. It's better to say the truth and let it end there at once. In another case, you regret ever saying the truth instead of lying just to get a reward for it. But it's better to say the truth than let it leak out and start blaming yourself.

I was just a little girl and also naive to certain things. I didn't know there are some things one needs not to say especially being a small and little child. A small girl who starts speaking out dirty words like s*x at that time might be flogged or reprimanded by an adult because they do not expect him or her to utter such a word but I did and got the beating of my life, including my younger sister.

I should have lied and protected her but I think I did the right thing to spill out the truth so we would be cautioned and disciplined well which was what happened and we are good children today. Perhaps if I had covered her up that day, she could have been into it which no one would know or correct her especially when she has gone deep into it.

We were very young then, let's say I was 8 while my sister was 6, with a gap of two years in between. Our parents allowed us to play outside that night after dinner which was a custom for us as that was the time we are allowed to play with friends. We were given a limited time to play while my parents were busy playing a ludo game beside one of our rooms.

There was no light and everywhere was dark but as children, we played. There was this game we played which was β€œbojuboju.” This is a game where the victim would close his or her eyes while others run into hiding. He or she would start looking for the others since there were no clues as to where others have gone to hide.

This went on for some minutes until it was my sister's turn as the victim. After searching for others which lasted for some minutes, we already forgot about the game so we switched to another one. I didn't remember my sister again and being her elder sister, I should be on watch out for her. When the time was up, dad called us in and I went inside with my little brother who was 4 yrs then. That was when I knew my sister wasn't inside.

Dad shouted at me to go look for my sister. I began searching every hiding place including upstairs in the corridor. I couldn't find her and I wasn't in any way returning back inside without her. Thank God there was nothing like kidnapping then.

My mind then told me to go to a backyard that I never thought of. When I got there, I met my sister and a boy older than me who was busy doing something with her. What was he doing? Will you do me the favour of getting that part of the story? πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚ I am still young to spill it out! I ran inside and when Dad asked me where my sister was? I opened my mouth and said what I ought not to say. I said, β€œshe and one guy are having s*x”.

I said this in Yoruba and I believe you must have understood that part. What? He couldn't believe I said such! He went to bring my sister and the boy in. I got the biggest beating because I failed to watch over my sister and I allowed a bad boy to try such with her. That night was an unforgettable one and when I grew up remembering such an incident, I was like β€œshouldn't I have covered my sister up by lying?” but thank God I said the truth which put us into trouble that day.

Thanks for your time

Image byΒ Liza SummerΒ from Pexels.

[November 17, 2022] (No 318 articles for the year)

21
$ 0.97
$ 0.63 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Olasquare
$ 0.05 from @Coolmidwestguy
+ 12
Sponsors of Princessbusayo
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Princessbusayo
1 year ago

Comments

Don't close your mouth on this type of thing because once you do it would only get worse with zero knowledge of what it all entails! I'm happy you did so as far she is your younger sis...no qualms!... and that boy he will serve his own punishment.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yea, he did serve his own punishment too by my dad and his own parents. It wasnΒ΄t funny then.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It can't be funny aswear... African parents don't tolerate things like that

$ 0.00
1 year ago

What you did that was so correct thing and the truth, which shouldn't be hidden. Not at least in the case what you saw. You didn't look up for you sister, which lead a bad boy to come close to her. It wasn't your fault..

  1. You people were playing.
  2. You were not too old, but also a kid
  3. You people were playing hide and seek so it is obvious except one all will hide

Anyways you are and were so brave

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I love your perspective on this experience and you truly understand too. Thank you so much πŸ€—

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It was the reality, which shouldn't be ignored and kept hidden. I'm honored

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Don't regret ever telling the truth that day. You saved your younger sister from becoming what would have brought shame and a bad name to your family. Sorry oo for the lashes dad gave you.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Hehehe. Our parents can beat ehn πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You did it right and your so brave to able to tell the truth.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Thank you, Chelle

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You did the right thing because that wasn't the age for such and if it wasn't arrest d early, it would bring more disgrace later on. You got your fair share of the beating because you are to keep an eye on her and she got her own reset too for her to know she needs to do better.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Yea, such a thing is bad and wrong for kids at such age and this is how it starts and if not looked into, may lead the kid into something else later and then, it would be a disgrace to the family. Thank you for your comment, KP 😊

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Exactly, my darling. I'm glad you reported it and I'm more than happy to share my view. Well done dear.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It is good you said the truth. Even if later your sister wants to try that, she would remember the flogging of that night and flee from it.

Lie is destructive

$ 0.01
1 year ago

You are right. She will always think of that beating if ever she wants to try such. But she is now grown up.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It's the right thing to do Princess, that things should not be covered up, so your sister should be ware of it and together with your parents. We will never know what might happen next if you don't spill it out.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

That is it. It could have been worse if I didn't say it out but covered it up for her.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Maddd ooh!πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚. I believe they were enjoying themselves before you came and scattered the event. LolπŸ˜‚

You did the right thing even though it attracted some beating. I'm very sure that your sister must think twice before doing that again

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Of course. She is now a big girl now with ambitions. She might not even remember such event again.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Well, you did the right thing. With that correction she would know such act is bad. "Spare not the rod.." hmm I have forgotten the quote I wanted to make. Anyways. I do feel tempted to say that part in yorubaπŸ˜”πŸ˜‰

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Say it na πŸ˜… I know what you meant though.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚.. Well, since you know.. Let's leave it like that

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You did the right thing princess. You didn't lie. You didn't cover the lie. Telling the truth to your father which is really good, it's for the sake of your younger sister too.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Then, we were little children. So, we just open our mouth to say it how it went but it was for the good. Thank you 😊

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes princess and you did a right thing. You're welcome.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

WHATTT seems like a child abused already, well you did the right thing, if not maybe something more severe happened. Sometimes telling the truth is the one that will keep them safe, so what happened to the guy? Punched or what?

$ 0.01
1 year ago

The guy wasn't left out too. After my dad beat the hell out of him, his parents also did too. Though, the guy then joined a bad gang where he was pickpocketing everywhere.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

African parents and beating are 5 and 6. Thank God they did sha.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
1 year ago

The beatings always ends in factory reset. Thank God I am now grown up.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hahaha πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Telling the truth is the best way out of guilt and sleeping in the night so deeply without worrying about things would turn out complicated if you said a lie. you did the right decision friend.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Thank you 😊

$ 0.00
1 year ago

She did something bad and I'm glad you didn't lie. I'm also happy that she got the beating of her life. African parents beating will help one to reset his or her brain. It is neededπŸ˜…πŸ˜…πŸ˜…

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Exactly πŸ˜‚ that beating ehn

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I think you've made a right decision to tell it to your father or else there might be something bad will happen to your younger sister, what happen in the past makes you how and what you are right now.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Thank you for your comment.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

What happened to your sister was bad but it's good that you didn't lied that day

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yea, it was bad but thank God it wasn't worse then too.

$ 0.00
1 year ago