My Kind of Humour.

Avatar for Olasquare
1 year ago
Topics: Life, Humour, Blogging, Nigeria, Writing, ...

I know we have all been at the receiving ends of some humour that doesn't go down well with us. I am all for people who show consideration when they are trying to make a joke about another person. Any joke that directly insults the physical attributes of someone or their mental state, those are not my kind of joke.

I noticed in this modern day that we have a lot of people who want to joke about anything. In a bid to try and be funny or act defensive, the first thing that comes to their head is to abuse someone's mother or make a joke that abuses the person's family. I see myself as a funny guy. I accept jokes and I give jokes too even though my jokes are for those who can think critically. If I have to explain the jokes what's the fun in it? πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ€£

Some jokes can never get to me because they are water off the duck's back. I laugh at myself and some of my stupid choices many times, so why should I get offended over someone's joke? If I find it too offensive then I double down on you so you feel the heat too. I could be savage when I want to be but I am all for jokes.

This story always makes me laugh especially when I remember it. I briefed it on Hive when we were told to talk about humour and here I am again. I remember travelling to my hometown in Oyo for my grandmother's funeral in 1998...from my father's side. I was young and in the village, you know that whatever product you get especially drinks they can never be the diluted ones, especially Palm Wine. I didn't know how strong the palm wine in the village can be, I was quite young so I knew nothing. I judged by the ones I took in the City which did nothing to me anyway.

I moved around and went to my dad's table to get a glass of palm wine. It was in 25 litres keg as a lot of people sat down around him. I got a glass of it and I can remember him telling me to be careful. I even made jest of a pastor friend around us then...I was teasing him to take a glass to cool himself because he wasn't taking anything. I finished the glass and came for another only to be told not to come back again hahaha. I took the second glass and that was when my ordeal started.

I started feeling drowsy and my feet were getting wobbly with my eyes tinting, all at the same time. I knew I had to sleep but I didn't want to go inside the rooms since virtually everyone was outside. It was getting close to midnight and I knew they won't close the party until the early hours. I found a bench outside and I slept on it. It was when they started packing the tables and chairs that my cousin saw me and tapped me to come inside. He tapped me, told me and he turned back to packing the chairs. After a few seconds when he didn't hear any footsteps behind him, he looked back, only to see me heading into the nearby bush. He couldn't contain his laughter. He guided me into the room gently and I was on the mat.

I noticed I woke up the next day around past 8 am, alone on the mat and I started smelling something funny on my clothes. I touched my clothes and it was still a bit wet. I wasn't even thinking too much about it and I stood up. I asked people around where my cousins were and they told me they had gone to the well to fetch water. I noticed eyes prying on me as I walked while a few others were pointing their fingers too. As I was sighted from afar by my cousins at the well, they pointed at me and started laughing. That was how they narrated all my dramas to me and how I vomited all over my body in the room. I was just soaking it all in and ever since then I've not been a fan of palm wine. The moment I smell it, I always want to puke.

What's the point of this? This is a joke at my expense based on a choice I made that wasn't wise and I don't mind people laughing at me for that. It doesn't hurt a bit but when we can't draw the lines about the kind of jokes we dish on others, particularly the ones that affect their physical attributes and mental state, then that's where the problem is.

I can never support any joke that brings down another human being because mental health is real. I've said many times that you can be seated next to a broken person and you wouldn't know it. A lot of people might appear strong on the outside but they are frail on the inside. You have no idea what goes on in their heads and if you make them feel worse, you are sending them to a very dark place and you wouldn't know it. We have to be careful about the kind of jokes we make about others especially those in the negative. Would you take it if the table was flipped? Most people are not considerate and that's the problem we have in this world. Not everything should be for glam and clouts.

A lot of people are struggling, some have doubted themselves and a lot are close to breaking point. At least if you can't help them, leave them as they are. We are to be more sensitive to the plights of others. We need to be more understanding because not everyone can take expensive jokes. Our jokes must have a limit. I see a lot on Twitter and I just can't help but shake my head. Some lines must not be crossed...

Thank you for your time.

My pen doesn't bleed, it speaks. I am love's chemical content in human form and that's whyΒ  I advise people to take a dose of "Olawalium" daily. πŸ™ˆ

Kindly follow me on Noise.Cash... I am trying to engage more with people and connect with everyone with this account. I look forward to seeing you there... You can say hello to me there so we can get familiarized as well. Click here.

18
$ 2.30
$ 1.87 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Jane
$ 0.05 from @gertu13
+ 10
Sponsors of Olasquare
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Olasquare
1 year ago
Topics: Life, Humour, Blogging, Nigeria, Writing, ...
Enjoyed this article?  Earn Bitcoin Cash by sharing it! Explain
...and you will also help the author collect more tips.

Comments

Haha that's the ewww part in drinking session...when you puke not in grass, land or CR but on your clothesπŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚. The smell was not good Thankful never been in that situation even those drinking days,😁😁.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Don't ever be in that situation Lhes. It's never pretty hahahaha.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Haha I know, ahmm though I got drunk several times, I still manage to go in comfort roomsπŸ˜†

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hahaha. You know how to keep it in order.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Haha that's the advantage of having a drunkard father and brotherπŸ˜‚. I got trainedπŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
1 year ago

πŸ€£πŸ€£πŸ€£πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ€£ I'm sorry.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

In this life, as everything has a limit, jokes also have a limit. That limit should not be exceeded.

https://noise.cash/u/Marazow

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I agree...never exceed your limits...we all have breaking points. Thank you.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Me too thanks dear friend

$ 0.00
1 year ago

πŸ€—πŸ€—πŸ€—

$ 0.00
1 year ago

😎☺☺

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Some lines shouldnΒ΄t be crossed but there are some who wouldnΒ΄t mind but takes their jokes to affect another person mentally and emotionally. We need to be careful and not crossed boundaries.

If I were your cousin, I will leave you to walk into the bush and then keep monitoring you for a while before taking you back inside.

You vomited?? 😣😣 Iyamma πŸ˜‚

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Ah...thank God you are not God o...

$ 0.00
1 year ago

πŸ˜œπŸ˜…πŸ˜…

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Agbaya.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I can see that you really enjoyed your day hehe and the wedding was successful.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Huh? I'm lost 🀣 what did you read?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

🀣🀣🀣 I can't laugh oo

$ 0.00
1 year ago

πŸ€£πŸ€£πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ€£

$ 0.00
1 year ago

πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚ sorry my mind really can't function right now, I dont know where I read it and commented here .. sorry..

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hahaha it must be the post I made about the wedding I went for over the weekend...it's a different post.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

yes maybe it was πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚ I'm sorry hehe I was lost ..

$ 0.00
1 year ago

No problem...

$ 0.00
1 year ago

No go try village palm wine o. Reminds me of a recent event that happened during a get together by my coursemates. Told a friend to be careful but it seems the palm wine was sweet πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚. Later when she was drunk, she started telling me things I know she wouldn't say in her right senses. And was repeatedly saying "I am not tipsy" πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚ Aunty don hate palm wine. She thought it is the one she's drinking in Lagos.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

πŸ€£πŸ€£πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ€£πŸ€£πŸ˜‚ that's what drunk people say, "I'm not drunk... I am not tipsy." Aunty fall hand sharply. Alcohol would force you to say things mehn πŸ˜‚πŸ€£

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I think I have also experience such thing, I can really remember a night I vomited all over, but the bad side of it was that I was walking hopeless and helpless on the road. It was when I could manage to reach where friends were that they noticed that something is wrong.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Wow...glad you got noticed. Imagine if my cousin didn't notice me too, I would have been deep inside the bush πŸ˜‚πŸ€£

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hahahaha, you were very lucky friend.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I really was 🀣🀣

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Heheh, this is ridiculous ola, maybe God gifted you such incredible talent

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hahaha incredible talent to do what exactly?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

O GodπŸ™Š palm wine really is one hell of a drink. But I think excess of every drink can make you puke. You have got to be careful! And yes! I totally support what you just said about making fun of anyone's physical features. That's the most ungraceful act a person can commit. I my self am a very jolly kind of a person but I don't tolerate such jokes either.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Hahaha yes, too much of everything is bad. I'm glad we shared the same view. I don't appreciate those kinds of joke too.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

πŸ˜πŸ‘

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Why would you drink too much of something that would knock you down, hahaha that was hilarious. I actually love those twisted jokes that would seem a bit nasty but they must not harshly insulting.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Hahahaha I didn't know it was "konk" I thought it was the type we had in the city where I can take two cups and wouldn't feel it.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

First of let me laugh my intestines out of my belly πŸ€£πŸ˜‚πŸ˜…πŸ˜†πŸ˜πŸ˜πŸ˜„πŸ˜ƒπŸ˜€πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ€£, you were able to even take two cups, I was half a cup and I didn't vomit though but I slept from around 6 p.m. and woke up at around noon the next from just a half cup of palmy. There was this guy in our squad that to every sentence he makes he must insult or look down on others even in our group, because to some extent his dad was a bit rich so he thought he was better than basically everyone, it wasn't fun being around such person and to anyone that makes expensive jokes to belittle others or look down on them to make you feel happy of yourself is someone that is not supposed to have any friends at all or the kinds of friends he should have should be people like him

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Hahahaha if I slept, mine would have been better... I wasted myself and disgraced myself πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ€£πŸ€£πŸ˜‚.

I don't like being around people like that too. Life has its way of humbling them.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Chaiii! So if your cousin did not drag you inside , you would have wake up the next morning inside the bush.... I guess the bush might look like a paradise to you then... Hehehehe, don't mind meπŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚, that's to show that too much of everything is bad, me too I love to take palm wine, but I don't pass my boundary to avoid matters that touches the heart..but this is funny sha πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚.

Its is necessary we know the State of people we want to crack joke with, because we never can tell the kind of dilemma that some people are passing through, we should be careful of adding more sore to other people injury all in the name of joke....just like you said, there should be a limit to the joke we crack to avoid hurting people unknowingly.

$ 0.03
1 year ago

Hahahaha I think that bush looked like swimming pool. I was ready to dive in πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚.

Yes, we need to be careful the kind of joke we make. Most people are more fragile than we think.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hehehehe, swimming pool indeed πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚, less I forget those pictures are looking great, somebody is stirring at someone hubby πŸ™ˆ

$ 0.00
1 year ago

πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ€£πŸ€£πŸ€£πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚ thanks a lot boo. There is no crime against staring my dear. πŸ€—πŸ€—πŸ€—

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Gbam! Permission granted ☺️

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Gbam. Hahaha yes o.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

For me, any other joke might not even piss me but a joke about how bad someone looks is one thing I can't even stand no matter what situation.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

That's a no-no for me too. There are jokes that are off limits.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hahahaha we all had our drunken moments stories that so hilabut at the same time funny and memorable gosh why drink a lot and get wasted haha I'm same as you the last time when I'm drunk as hell haha I puked, I remember I ouked on my bestfriends shirt when he was helping me to walk haha

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Hahahaha you puked on his shirt hahaha. We both have little tolerance for alcohol then.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I can't get over the time I nearly fall after taking a glass of palmwine, though I didn't even take much but I believe that I am not a fan of anything that has alcohol, friends sometimes call me pastor for not drinking beer, but it's better safe than sorry, cause if I take it and start misbehaving under the influence of alcohol, they will still be the ones to mock me with it.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Exactly. They will be the ones to mock you and in this era we are in, they will record you and even post it online and say someone hacked their phones.

My system has very little tolerance for alcohol. I will start misbehaving. I've known my limit and I've stayed off everything.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It's actually uncalled for to abuse another person's family or personality all in the name of jokes. That's what I call an expensive joke.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Too expensive... I don't like it too.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You actually look similar to my college friend.. He's a black American and living in America now...I noticed it just now 🀣.. But I did laughed reading your story.. Kind've disgusting to imagine though when you puke and made your shirt fall of vomitous πŸ˜…

$ 0.02
1 year ago

πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ€£πŸ€£πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ€£ I knew you would laugh at me Janeeeeeyyyyyy πŸ€£πŸ€£πŸ˜‚. There was one picture I used on Twitter many years ago and the guy told me I looked like Eddie Murphy. 😍😍😍😍

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You are right. A joke should be in limit that a other person can face and bear it. If a man jokes in out of limit, then he should have to ability to bear other person joke.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Exactly...if you can dish it out, you should be able to take it. There must be limit to everything.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

We should be funny but not make fun of someone respect I agreed to you. I am laughing after wine how you vomit πŸ˜‚. I think you enjoy party hard. Good sense of humor mean good sens of understanding in fun also.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Hahahaha absolutely. I enjoyed the party so much I was flowing not knowing my mind was going too hahaha. Thank you so much.

$ 0.00
1 year ago