Bashing someone for their body type is NOT OKAY.

87 80
Avatar for Lucifer01
2 years ago
Date: 13th March, 2022
Sunday

First of all, let me thank you people who have wished me from the core of their hearts for my recent achievement. I'm so honoured with that and actually I didn’t expect that much love from you people. But yes, I'm the luckiest guy right now to have that privilege. Once again, hats off my friends. You all are strength. Now, I'm moving towards to my today's topic which is related with body shaming. Totally an unwelcomed things to discuss which I wish would never existed in this world. That mentality pollutes our mind and we mock others.

Yesterday evening in my local time, I was in a restaurant and having coffee with one of my colleague and discussing about the next cultural function. I was so busy in my work that I didn’t notice that my colleague was checking a girl in front of the cash counter. She was paying her bills. My colleague pinched me and told me to look at her. I did.

- Isn't she cute?

- I agree. Just focus here.

- Buddy look again. She is cute but there is one problem.

- And what's that?

- Disgustingly, she is fat. Look at her neck, hands and obviously her tummy.

That's it. My anger needed a portion of fuel to rise and he did that. I slapped his head. He was astonished and queried for the answer. I didn’t want to make it a public fun. I hold his hand and said to calm down. He knew me very well. We completed our work, had the coffee, paid the bill and went out of that restaurant. Now I needed to answer him as he was shouting, ❝ Answer me now. Why you did that to me?

Just imagine, if it was your own sister? Will you pass comment like that way? What if she heard that? Will you go to her & apologize for it? And yes, then tell me, will it be enough to bring smile on her face? You dude, you are one of favourite person and I didn’t expect that from you. You are body shaming her! How rude! You liked her face and complemented it with the word cute but then you criticize her body! Dude, is that what you think? Then you should look at the mirror first. Your tummy is much bigger than your a__ (mute).

He understood it, said sorry and we started talking about football then. But the thing remained in my mind. How easily we judge people! Body shaming is getting worse day by day. Those questions are so odd to hear! Why that person is chubby? Really? Why and how on earth that matters to you? Maybe she loves to eat much. Maybe this is her genetic disorder or something else. And most of all, the Almighty made her that way but who are we to judge her? Who gave us the authority to do so?

source: unsplash.com

Being chubby is illegal? Answer me. It's their matter. We don’t need to interfere. He/She is happy with that. We are no one to ask that or criticize that. This is harassment. In schools and colleges, they are bullied for it. Why? Is that their fault? No. We body shamed them and had fun for a moment. We don’t even think that what the person would feel inside. Why making someone feel awkward is called fun by others? This is not good. One day this will happen to you or maybe with your close ones and who knows maybe with your children too. You will have none to blame but yourself. Because you forgot things but not karma.

My heartiest request to everyone, please don’t do that. Body shaming is heinous act. No matter the person is chubby, skinny or fitness freak, we have no rights to say such words. Just remember one thing, next time you want to do such thing, please check yourself in the mirror first. Maybe you have more issues than the person you are willing to mock. Bashing someone for their body type is not okay.

  • All the pictures including the lead one are used from unsplash.com

Thanks for being with me.

©Lucifer01

37
$ 5.16
$ 4.00 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.07 from @Trifecta
$ 0.06 from @Amazing-grace
+ 29
Sponsors of Lucifer01
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Lucifer01
2 years ago

Comments

This always gets into my nerves. Whenever I hear comments regarding body types, I always roll my eyes and glare at the person who's talking negatively about somebody's body type. I do hope we educate enough the younger generations to stop doing this and explain to them the reason why we need to stop it. Sadly, that attitude was passed people to people, generations to generations. But there's hope with today's generation though, I can see it with my younger students.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I hope they learn. I hope they stop negativity around us.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's our society now, getting worse, the behavior of everyone much different than before as for today's generation they don't know the word respect to everyone they are not ashamed of what there doing, they want to say whatever they want even if might hurt for someone. They don't know if someone would hear or that person heard what your friend saying to that lady may it took her self-confidence as she might always think with her body. Salute to you as you give him the words of wisdom and that he listened to you.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That sounds too odd & painful. I hope they would learn.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Personally, I believe that we are all created uniquely. Let us not body shame someone just because they don't have the body that this society stated as the standard body. Everyone is beatiful and shouldn't be define through their body shapes.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Completely agree with it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The more we spread awareness about body-shaming, the more people try to shame other people about their body. We are in a modern world and we must all grow up and accept things the way they are. We don'g know how much effort chubby or thing girls exert in order for them to achieve their desired body goals.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

How about slapping them?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sadly, this had happened to alot of Young people. Infact, some people are been laughed at and mocked on a daily basis just because of their the of physique. I have always find this very wrong as I see no reason why one should make jest of someone else just because they appear a little different... Thank you for the slap on the head 😂

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Perhaps you should try that slap too.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Body shaming is something i hate so much. I have a friend that will always see a problem in someone's body.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Ignore them. Just keep away from them.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It is very sad but unfortunately it happens. People focus on the appearance of other people but do not see themselves. I have been told all my life that I'm too thin. 😀Now I’m not so thin anymore so now they tell me I’ve gained a little weight. The world cannot be pleased. We will never learn to accept people as they are.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

They will always find faults in you. No need to make people happy. Be yourself.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Because of what media projects and society dictates, sadly we are influenced by that. We should learn by now to love ourselves more and for who we really are. Do you. Do what makes you happy. Never judge but be kind always.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thanks for the precious word dear. I agree.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The physical difficulty or ease experienced by someone is related only to himself. How she will shape her physique is as simple as growing or shortening her hair!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

People are always there to judge. Stay away from them.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Mehn! This is really disgusting the way people bash on fellow humans because they didn't someone is not 'fine' to thejrt standard. I encounter this everyday from my co-workers(all ladies, they keep checking and finding error in a lady that comes to patronize us). It's always annoying, so I practically tell them that those they are saying ugly words to concerning their stature are more beautiful than them she they would keep shut

$ 0.02
2 years ago

One day, karma will test them. Then they will understand.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Body shaming is not good and we shouldn’t do that though I’ve did it sometimes back when I was in junior secondary school I do run and laugh on fat girls but I’ve gain my sense that it’s something very bad.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

You have changed. I think others will do the same.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Agree with you man. Karma never sleeps!

$ 0.02
User's avatar EJ
2 years ago

You are right. They will feel it soon.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I hate it when people being judgmental to different body types. Body shaming is such a ridiculous thing, comeone people can you please grow up, every body is beautiful, may it be fat, or skinny or whatever. Glad you called out your friend, people must be aware of their actions and words.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

It’s not a good job. Just want people to behave themselves.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Everything nice and I totally agree with you this one point body shaming and you really bring a great and rare topic everyday in you're article

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thanks dear.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sirrr. I used to be bullied because of being chubby. I also lost my self confidence because of it, it makes me feel that it was my wrong being born in this world.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

You are cute. Never listen to them.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Why they will be judge where in fact they were human too.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Cruelty dear.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I really hate body shaming, especially when it comes to man; saying useless judgement to a woman. Like, hey you don't deserve any woman in your life, really.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I agree that. Man should learn some common sense first.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That is a cogent point you raised by you sir, dear friend, if we should be judging by our body shape, we should not be judging or abusing anyone because of how they look

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Indeed. Just call me Lucifer.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's really nice the way you called out your friend for body shaming. A lot of people will join in and laugh or just keep quiet instead of saying anything. What you did was awesome and I agree with all you've said

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I didn’t want to embarrass him or that girl.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah, that's nice of you

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I was not just once a victim of body shaming but many times. It really saddened me to hear those hateful words that affected my self confidence but when I dig deeper, I tried to see things clearer that my choice is my choice , I don't need the credit from others to validate who I am. I hope those people who used to do this kind of action will see and realize it's effect to someone and the rest of the society.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hats off warrior. You nailed it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You also need a chubby girl as wife, dear bro! now please don't hit my head too 😂

$ 0.02
2 years ago

You are cute dear. And I also like them. Now stop making me shy. 🤭

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm not fat not even chubby 😇

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Cute and I have seen you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

People don't know the damage they can cause with a comment like that. No one is perfect, we all have flaws.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Never hesitate to slap those people.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

First of all, I want to commend you for this write-up. I appreciate all the words written here. As a plus-size woman, I have experienced being ridiculed in a public place because of my size. I was even called ugly for being fat. What impact made it to me was very negative, I lost my confidence, and I was attacked by my anxiety because I cannot do something instantly that can make me look like a normal person in the society that is not being called fat instead of my name. Every time, I hear people calling me a pig, it first me a lot because they think that I was fat because I eat a lot but they do not know I had a condition that increases weight. There are times I starve myself to death but it only worsens my condition.

Now that I have lost some weight because finally my condition gets better and with the supplements I intake, people are saying things again that I am just trying to fit in. I don't know where should I place myself in this world. It's too cruel anywhere.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Massive respect for that dear. You just did an amazing work. Most of all you didn’t give up.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I learned that everyone else that doesn't see you as a valuable person, doesn't matter. I embraced myself and live as normal as I can be.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Dear Lucifer, you raised a very good topic. Some of the physical characteristics of people are God-given, and we should not ridicule them for their characteristics. The principle of ridicule is disgusting. Maybe people who have shortcomings in themselves, want to cover up their shortcomings by making fun of others.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Indeed dear. How rude the behaviour is!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

In the Philippines, food is life so you can see a lot of chubby ones like me lols especially when the pandemic started. Body shaming isn't nice.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

All are cute. We should not mock them.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, every body is different. Respect is what we need to do.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

True beauty doesn't depend on the size and look... It's in the heart and mind of people who show kindness despite of imperfection.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Body shaming, ruins people...it ruins their self-esteem,and it damages there personality and future... They are being judge by others because of being free and its like controlling your life, and putting away your freedom...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Btw brother I like chubby girls. They look so cute.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

With respect, I guess.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah 😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Everyone is unique in his own way, and we haven't any right to humiliate or disrespect them for any reason. I am glad the way you make your friend understand this fact.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

People need to understand these mistakes. This is not good for anyone.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Body shaming is a very offensive act. It can lead to depression for the person and make he/she overthink. Why bodyshame who we can't create.?

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That's why it’s important to stop the heinous act.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We appreciate everyones beauty.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That should be our vision.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I encourage people to be healthy always and to achieve that, they don't have to rigorously go to gym or something.. just regular walking for 30 mins everyday is enough.. I do not expect people to do anything else.. At the same time, just because somebody is a little over weight does not mean one can make fun of them... it is nobody's bloody damn business to talk about other's appearence.. They have a heart for fk's sake.. Just do not hurt others and be nice... that's all humans need to do.. I do not understand why is it so hard to people to just being nice

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Best words here. I appreciate your words dear.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We are made in our own way,let's try to appreciate others and not mock them for their body shape.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I agree. Thanks dear.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I once experienced body shaming because of body figure ,I am a girl but I look like a man because of some muscles in my arms and legs and because of it some one called me a gay and I was hurt and I was thinking who are they to say that on me ,they don't have the right to tell me that ,for me I am beautiful and I don't need their opinion hahaha. We are beautifully unique in our own way and in the eyes of GOD we are equally beautiful.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Never step back to slap on their perfect face. Such morons!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You did the right thing, I mean when you scolded and lecturing your friends is truly a good act uncle. I salute you for that! Body shaming isn't good, we shouldn't criticized other by their look afterall we're not perfect .

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Well said dear. We must love others.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm gonna pissed off also that kind of person Luci. Body shaming is not good and be thankful of what you have now. I'm chubby but I don't care hahaha.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

You are absolutely perfect. Don't listen to others.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It is never right to body shame people. Never.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Totally disgusting.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We don't need to body shame others just to feel good about ourselves.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

We need to appreciate everyone.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hi brother. Thats a nice writting

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thanks for always believing in me.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Body shaming is not a good thing. God created everyone with different abilities ir structure. Who knows he or she is gking to be fat like that. What if they are trying hard to control it. So without knowing why should we talk about body. I know that fat persons try hard to lose tgeir weight they sometimes eat just a one meal per day but that does not works because the body is a goft from our God and it bocomes as the will of God. So we should not criticize anyone like that for being fat.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

We should not do that. It’s not good for anyone.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah you are correct dear

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh really that's so quite. I love it.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thanks dear. You supported me always.

$ 0.00
2 years ago