Sleep Disorders : Symptoms and Definition

40 71
Avatar for Ling01
Written by
2 years ago

One of the foundations for optimal health is getting at least 7-8 hours of sleep. Some people may overlook the necessity of sleeping, even setting their body clocks for various reasons, but it is important to remember that our bodies needs proper care and rest.

I've read a lot of articles about people having trouble sleeping or not getting enough sleep as a result of being too busy, which is not good and to which we should pay attention. I was planning to provide some advice on how to get rid of it, but then I realized that I needed to first explain what sleep problems/disorder are. Since I still have the notes from our discussion about this topic in General Psychology during my first year in college. Then I'd like to share it here as well.

________________________

Sleep Disorders

Unsplash - Kinga Cichewicz

1. Kleine Levin Syndrome

A person who are experiencing excessive sleep, more than 11 hours per day. This might not the harsh that a person will experience this situation in his/her everyday life but it comes once or twice a year, within 2 days - 4 weeks in duration.

During episodes, people may experience excessive food intake, anger, childishness, confusion, hallucinations, and an unnaturally uncontrolled sex urge.

  • Kleine-Levin Syndrome Information Page | National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke

2. Obstructive Sleep Apnea Hypopnea Syndrome

Most people may ignore this one, as it looks like an ordinary matter on sleeping. When something in your sleep blocks part or all of your upper airway. This disorder have the symptoms of snoring, gasping and/or breathing pauses during sleep.

3. Primary Central Sleep Apnea

This happens when your brain isn't sending the right signals to the muscles that control your breathing. There are three possible symptoms on this;

(1) Excessive daytime sleepiness

(2) Awakenings during sleeping time

(3) Awakening short of breath

4. Insomnia

The most common and well-known sleep disorder, especially those who are students are workers who are stress or in depression. This is the difficulty of falling asleep, or yes you have the chance to sleep but you always wake up after a short period of time.

5. Narcolepsy

Maybe some of you have encountered this a one, a person who will easily fall asleep without intentionally doing it, like he/she is just sitting then just a minute you will see him/her sleeping already, fall into a deep sleep that fast.

6. Rapid Eye Movement Behavior Disorder

The scariest sleep disorder for me. This are those people who do sleep talking, and person may moan, groan, making scary sounds or speaking that you can't understand, that's why this can be relate to nightmare(paranormal activities). Also those who will punch and kick you while sleeping.

7. Restless Leg Syndrome

This is common in children, when they unconsciously move or kick while sleeping, and/or stretching their legs. During sleeping time they may feel uncomfortable or unpleasant sensation with their legs.

8. Disorder of Arousal

Divided into three types;

Confusional Arousal - when someone is already awake but still his/her mind is unconscious; actions are strange.

Sleep walking/talking - walking or talking while sleeping. People who are experiencing this are hard to wake up (you need to slap them charr)

Sleep terrors - have you dream falling into a cliff? This is one example of sleep terrors, when you suddenly woke up screaming and/or kicking.

________________________

Remember! These are just the guide in order for you to be aware of your sleeping habits. So if you're experiencing some symptoms on this, then I recommend you to consult with the doctor, besides disorders can be cure through treatment.

#Health is wealth.

Unsplash - Julian Hochgesang

Sponsors of Ling01
empty
empty
empty

Flexing my sponsors, people who guide and support me throughout my journey here. You guys can check them too:)

Hooo! I really had a busy schedule, so late for updating lots of articles, but still thank you for those who support me.

Ps. Thank you so much Sis @Roojoroojay and Sis @Bloghound

for the renewal of your sponsorship. GOD Bless to the both of you!


Images were edited using Canva/PicsArt

read.cash|Telegram|gmail

March 16, 2022

-Ling

33
$ 4.13
$ 3.24 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Alther
$ 0.05 from @gertu13
+ 23
Sponsors of Ling01
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Ling01
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

I wasn't diagnosed but I guess I have severe insomnia which is super unhealthy of years of sleep deprivation:(

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I also experienced sleep Terrors , dreaming about falling into a cliff, and I feel the reaction in my body whenever it happens to me.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sometimes people can have combination of some of those. I am bordering narcoleptic lol!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I also suffering from insomnia for couple of months but after taking a medicine I have good sleep now

$ 0.00
2 years ago

greetings to you friend. Sleep disorders do have symptoms I often experience insomnia but I outsmart it by exercising until my body feels tired and this works I can sleep soundly.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have been battling with insomnia this is really shocking me alot but thanks to a tea named green tea this made me sleep anytime I drink it . Have you heard about that before ?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

all except me in my family have number 2 disorder according to your post. I loved really loved reading this article and I was smiling while reading it elder sister. Don't ask why.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sleepwalking terrifies me...I read that there are cases of people who get into the car and drive while asleep.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hmm. This your article is very educative dear. Apart from insomnia, I have never experienced any sleeping disorder. Hopefully, I never will. Lol.... Sleep is meant for relaxation, one shouldn't be having problems sleeping too.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Very informative yet I also experienced some of these sis, it's really hard to have insomnia attacks.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh no, I think I have some of those and my daughter as well :( I like to slap someone who has sleeping disorder sis so I can release the tension in my body lol.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Meron akong nakita ng documentary sis about a child suffering from a rare disease that makes her sleep for a whole month. As in matutulog lang siya in that duration. Minamassage na nga lang ng mama nung bata ang mga muscles niya eh kasi baka magkaproblema din doon. Just remembered it pagkabasa ko nito. Hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I don't sleep well and practically don't sleep at night, I'm trying to save my baby's sleep.... I have tinnitus, I feel like I'm getting off a train, and my nervous system is completely disorganized. I hope when this hell on earth will be over! I'll get a good night's sleep! In the meantime, I only dream of getting a good night's sleep....

$ 0.00
2 years ago
  1. Insomnia got this! though I was thankful not only the time but strikes from time to time. lagi tuloy malaki eyebags ko
$ 0.00
2 years ago

Insomnia facts dear. I cannot sleep and if I can, I see bad dreams.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nacolepsy, this is where I belong and this is to the fact that I've deprived myself enough sleep, so my body falls in anytime there's a slight chance. If I don't wanna sleep, I go use water to wash my face

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Insomnia ang naa saakua bff.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Above all I'm only familiar with insomnia sis, the other sleep disorders are new to me And I really learned a lot from your article. Well all of us may not be aware that were already experiencing sleep disorders as some of us only aware that we are commonly experience some bad dreams cause by stress .

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I agree Sis, mostly kasi akala natin normal lang yun, but then dun na natin ma re-realized pag may changes na sa body natin or may anxiety or depression na tayo.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have a very weird sleep cycle. I barely even sleep on most days and when I do I end up sleeping for about 9 to 10 hours.. It's weird init. I used to have terror dreams at some point in my life but it eventually stopped with time.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Did you take some actions to get rid of it?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks for the information, I find it very interesting.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thank you Sis!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

What I'm curious about is nightmare related to sleep disorders? Hmm. Anyways, some of types you mentioned was not familiar with me. I neer mkre research about it.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

If we based in science, Nightmare is disorder. But let's remember that it can be cause of some spiritual entities. So the answer depends on the reason why he/she experiencing it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Many of the people are affected with the sleeping order but Alahamdulilah am good and fit regarding to sleep and the best dose of going to sleep earlier for me is the opening of course subject

$ 0.01
2 years ago

This is a good way to fall asleep Sis haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Except Sleep terrors I don't have any trouble in sleeping, but those terrors are very rare, once in 6 months. So yay, I'm a healthy sleeper.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Maybe it's just happened because of some morning activities, but since it's not that problem then high-five :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, insomnia, is hard for me to sleep, my mind wants to sleep, but I can't sleep, I don't know why?

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Maybe it's because of some of your activities Sis

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ciguro sis, yan ang dahilan

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hello doctor, it's helps us. Although I have no sleep problems.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Good to know this moon:)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My dear friend, everything you said about sleep disorders was very comprehensive and complete. My husband always suffers from sleep disorders, and case two in particular fits his moods perfectly.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Does he still suffer it until now?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes my dear, he always suffers from insomnia. He falls asleep late at night, and wakes up earlier in the morning, snores during sleep, and as in case 2, sometimes he stops breathing, and some mornings he wakes up with a headache...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ako sis ilang buwan din ako may insomnia. Gabi-gabi pa talaga. Hindi na talaga ako nakakatulog kahit minsan antok na yung mata ko at ang sakit-sakit na di parin ako makatulog. Sobrang worry talaga ako nung times na yun sis. Minsan umaga nalang di parin ako nakakatulog. Ang pangit sa katawan na lagi kang kulang sa tulog sis. Buti okay na ako ngayon sis.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I agree Sis, madali nga ako mairita if kulang ako sa tulog. But I'm happy to know na okay ka na, take care of yourself as always Sis:)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oo sis tas feeling masakit buong katawan mo if wala kang tulog. Thank you sis. Okay na ako ngayon sis.

$ 0.00
2 years ago