I’m Never Bringing A Girl Over; Nigerian Parents Reaction

47 75
Avatar for King_Gozie
2 years ago

So a while back I made the conscious decision that I need to get my own place before I put myself out, back into the dating world. Okay and that's for a variety of reasons, the first is I do value my privacy a lot and I need my privacy and this not just applicable to someone i'm seeing but I need my privacy in general. I don't want to live with people, I just need to have my own space and that's important to me. The second reason is because of this story right here.. So about a year, and now that I think about it, its the exact time as today.

Me and this girl where talking and she was the first girl I had ever talked to, so I didn't have any dating experience at all. We weren't compatible whatsoever, we had nothing in common and looking back I knew all of that.. and my mind kept telling me "How are you going to date her, she's just there coz you feel lonely" I was willing to settle for the first person I can meet in real life. I've known her since but we mostly chart online, like I said we had nothing in common and our path was really different.. But anyways, I decided to bring her to my house and you know how scary that is when you want to bring a girl to your house as a Nigerian guy, the brain work at play though.

I felt the vibe but never even saw some red flags about the whole arrangement. I've not told anybody this before, cause there was no clue to me on how we made it that far but I was stubborn which I allowed my loneliness get to me.. When I brought her over doesn't mean we be smashing or doing some other intimate stuff, only to show her my private zone. And it doesn't mean that because I have invested in getting to know you for a while and that was why we got to this place..

So that was the craziest day of my life, I called her whether she was free and wanted to hang out.. that was when she got to the city where I was.. So she "yeah" .. and we head straight home, but before I got there trust me I made plans oooh. I called like 50 times just to keep them posted about the meet up.. my lines was "i'm bringing someone to the house and please don't get too comfortable around the house".. my dad is late so my mom represents both my dad and mom as well, she means the world to me..

When I told her, I thought she would go out the way but it ended up being my fault coz I never fully communicated the meet up or date as I should have called properly.. so fast forward to roughly an hour later we stopped at the nearest bustop and walked down to my house. We walked through the front door and my mom walked towards me to greet us and she started with "Gozie How are you?" My mom really got it all twisted and said "Where is she from and who is she?" Already felt too uncomfortable with that and she went forward to say “Ohhhh I love this girl already and she will make as a fine couple”.. and my mom said to me "Go introduce her to your siblings" to be honest I didn't, I just led her somewhere that was quiet and peaceful and we had fun for a while.

It never stopped there, we started watching Netflix and it was quite late already.. My mom just stayed right there waiting for me to say something and really it was the worst experience of my life.. My mom even took her away from me and started telling her some weird things about me, I felt so ashamed. Nothing happened from that moment, we all watched through then my invite got tired and we left. That was the last day we spoke, she felt so insecure around me and my mom literally spoilt the whole thing for me. From there she kind of blocked me and till this day we just meet coincidentally anytime she travels back from school..

You all now know the main reason why I wouldn't dare try that unless it's something different and a far commitment.. You don't want to meet Nigerian parents, they will ask you questions; a million of them.. all because you brought someone over..

I hope you had fun reading through, it’s so strange how we act upon this here… I like to hear your story about your first encounter at home..

Lead image by shutterstock source

January 6th, 2022

24
$ 5.80
$ 5.21 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Ruffa
$ 0.05 from @FarmGirl
+ 15
Avatar for King_Gozie
2 years ago

Comments

😂😂I wonder it is so hard for Nigerian parents to act cool and mind their own business when you bring your friends or anyone over. It is so annoying.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lol. I can relate perfectly.. Naija moms ehn., their mindset is always thesame and different from the younger generation. Of course she wants the best for you but you know how mums are... Maybe since it was the first girl you ever brought gal home, she thought that she would be the one especially when she knows her son not to be the irresponsible type, she probably thought she was your choice ... I guess that's the reason why she thought you both were very serious with each other.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

😂😂😂 Mehn I totally get this, even guy friends its hard to bring home cause they always get the wrong idea, but once you are certain maybe in the future, I am sure you will give it another try.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I will try that probably few years from now, when I’m ready to make a commitment 😅😅… I could relate with bringing guy friends, you’d get this weird and fuzzy feeling.. and it’s a bad one

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha, I knew this was a bad idea just from reading the title. Your mum is still cooler than most, neither me nor my siblings have ever dared to bring someone of the opposite gender home

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha… well if you say so, I don’t think I’m doing that again anytime soon.. I dare not try your parents though, sounds scary already 😅😅

$ 0.00
2 years ago

🤣 Yeah, they're scary

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I haven't brought anyone on our home ever so, I can't relate but if ever I won't still do it. Dunno, I don't want to date hahaha and then meet the parents afterwards. It's a no-no for me 🙈

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It’s your decision dear… I feel the same way about my parent. Truly it’s a no for me as well for now at least..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's Nigerian parents for you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Exactly… you really don’t know if they are okay with it or not..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh lol, that's quite a refreshing read, I guess Nigerian parents are not playing around when it comes to their child's relationship!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

They are not… mine was just way cooler than the usual.. 😅😅 but I understand and would not try that without getting a confirmation..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha I think all parents are embarrassing when you bring someone home for the first time, but this is a funny story!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That was completely weird, you could feel the tension I had on me at that moment… most parents do have these sides and a few of them are comfortable with it

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Chai! Bro, Nigerian parents will ask you questions untill you have regret 😂! Really pissing off

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Exactly, you understand am… it goes beyond the normal 😅😅.. I do get from that direction but it gets too much sometimes

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That happens in my country too. Not different.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That’s quite sad to hear, I guess it’s not just here and I have to deal with it

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nigeria parent with, who is this girl, and some weird question like, which state are you from, where do you stay, what job to your parent do. I remembered one of my female friend I followed home, when I got there, her dad sat me down and started preaching for me about heaven and hell fire, that was the last time I went there

$ 0.00
2 years ago

🤣🤣🤣🤣 sorry brother, this is so painful… I totally dislike this, you’d be like what prompted this right now. The preaching part is really the weirdest moment.. immediately they see a lady with you, within their minds the signal starts 😅

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Like seriously, that day, I couldn't phantom what was going on, sir I only came to visit your daughter, I didn't come for bible study😥😥😥, but now the girl turns out to be the bad girl which I never believe she would cause her parent were so over protective

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ohhh that’s so bad, it’s prevalent now adays and overly protective parents are part of the blame for this.. it’s so annoying to be caught in the web of bible study, i could imagine your facial expression 😅😅

$ 0.00
2 years ago

😂😂😂. I bet you don't want to see my face that day

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My Mom never knew I have a girlfriend until one faithful day I surprised her.... and invite her over,

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hmmm, I would love to read or hear the full gist. How was your first experience?” 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Depends on the expectations. What your mom expected may be missing in her. She looks too young as you said school girl. So give her time, may be if she wants to go ahead with your relation she will come back to you. Let's wait!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Fully sure we’ve gone past the usual, she opted for it and left.. I feel there was something that happened with the visit. I’m still open to receive her but only as friends now

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Gud you continue as friends. So she get to understand you more. And never remind her of what had happened in your house. All the best.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I wouldn’t do that, it’s my past and I’ve got to learn to deal with it the best possible way.. thank you Shameem 💛

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nigerian parents always think that they know the best things for their children. When you try to bring a girl home they turn themself into policemen trying to interrogate her to know more about her. To make sure their son did not pick the wrong choice.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That must have been awkward for her :) Or did your mom say something to make her block you? lol! Kidding!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I was trying to find out the main reason behind it, maybe it was her confrontation or it was my fault.. so confusing

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hehe I hope she will tell you about it one day

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I hope so too..when we cross path I could demand for a closure, I really want to know what caused this.. thanks Farmy

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Your article is always very good I found of read your article really

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you Zain.. I appreciate all the support from you dear

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm trying to arrange it in my head now. Nothing happened and she just blocked you after that day, you didn't even bother to ask her what was her reason.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I didn’t extend for a closure but I made a mistake by not finding out the basis for that decision and separation.. I will wait for the day when we meet and discuss certain things.looking Th hats feels so different

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Just like Filipino parents, they will totally ask a lot of questions. It's like sitting in a hot seat.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha… that’s literally the worst seat to be on at that very moment.. so it happens over there too, we both have the strangest of reactions 😅😅..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This our Nigerian parent mentality just degrade the relationship between their sons and their beliefs. If you bring a girl home,that's the time they will know they want to send you 6 errands at a time.. That's child abuse and brutality 😀😀

$ 0.00
2 years ago

🤣🤣🤣 you made fall off the chair reading your comment.. you will hear your name called like a hundred times.. I think that day she came close to us just to know what we where doing and I understand from her perspective…

$ 0.00
2 years ago

🤣🤣🤣...my king, just know that we are parents and when we do see our male children bringing girls, it makes us sad and we begin to shout that is it for sure but all the same, you are mature and as such should be only advised to be careful

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Typical Nigerian parent vibe .. but who you bringing home tho ? Because fine man like you have various girls at your peck and call

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha… you too deh whine brother, you are the gorgeous man with the ladies… you know most times I envy you 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I really don't like it when parents just come out and overeact on their male children whenever they bring babes to the house. My mom usually does that to me and my man, make I no lie you, I no dey happy with her at all

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Parents in Nigeria are always over reacting whenever their male child is bringing home a girl, I've never encountered such before cuz i don't want the girl to feel uncomfortable with the questions my mom would throw to her,once i get my privacy i can then go on to date.

$ 0.00
2 years ago