Pay The Money You Owed Me!

29 59
Avatar for Jijisaur
1 year ago

Does money make the world go round? Money is medium for us to buy something. Money is where we store value. This value can be small or big. We can purchase food, pay bills, travel, etc.

Maybe if I have a lot of money, 90 percent of my problem will go away. Yes, that is how money is so powerful. In this article, I will just narrate a not-so-pleasant experience about lending money.

Sponsors of Jijisaur
empty
empty
empty

Thank you, sponsors.

Here it goes...

So, back when I was in second-year high school. I meet a guy friend. He is funny and really approachable. He is the type of person who is spontaneous. Let us hide his identity in the name of "James".

We got along very well because I want to be around funny people. He lightens up the mood and put a smile on everyone. He makes jokes that are cringe but funny. As we get along, he also told me about his family's business, which is a restaurant.

I said, "Wow, you guys must be rich!".

One day, James chatted with me through messenger.

Non-verbatim

James: Hi, Jiji. I am so sorry to bother you but can you help me?

Jiji: Oh, yes, of course.

James: You see, I need some cash right now. I really badly need PHP500 (USD 10). If it is okay with you, can I get it tomorrow at school?

Jiji: Yeah, sure. When will you pay me?

James: After a week, I will pay you back.

The next morning

I handed him the PHP 500. He never said to me what is the purpose of his borrowing from me. I also thought that I am not in the position to ask any more.

At this point, I am skeptical about why would he borrow from me because he did mention that his family has a restaurant. He also said that their iced tea is "tubong lugaw". It means that they profit a lot from their drinks. Well, in the back of my mind, maybe they have a financial problem.

After a week

James then paid me the owed PHP500. Me, being skeptical about him vanished because he paid. But then my boyfriend (an ex now haha!) back then said that he had a weird feeling about James. He said that he loves to be in different groups, and always bragging about his family's wealth. I shrugged that off because I do not feel weird at that time.

Another borrowing, this time a bigger amount

He then chatted with me again after a few days. Now, James is asking me to lend him PHP 1000 (USD 20). Again, I did not ask him about the purpose of borrowing. The next day I lent him the PHP 1000. As promised, he will pay me back after a week.

This is where it gets strange

After a week, I chatted with him and reminded him about the money he owed me. He said that he cannot pay me right now. I asked him what was the reason. He said he cannot say it. As a friend, it is okay for him to pay a little later because I trust him.

Three weeks, and I am not still paid.

This is where I get bumped. I am chatting with him about the borrowed money and he is not replying and has just "seen" my messages. I try to communicate and talk to him but all I get is "seen". I got tired of reaching out to him because he is not cooperating. I was really sad because PHP 1,000 for me is big money since I was still a student and always on a budget.

The money owed was never returned.

Lessons I learned

1) When someone is trying to borrow money from me, I will just say that I will give them the money I can afford to give rather than lending from me because I do not like being in the position of begging for my money to be returned.

2) Be an observer. Sometimes, manipulative people are the ones who will get your trust. They will make you happy all the time. Now, I do not believe that they have a restaurant. Maybe he is just making that up to appear rich to others.

3) Trust is very rare. I will never destroy my trust in anyone just because of money. Trust opens a lot of opportunities and trust is only once given (For me) unless you proved that you will never do the bad stuff again.


That is it for today. Thank you for reading. I will see you at the next one.

Banner edited from Canva. Images from Unsplash

Thank you!

Date Published: June 28, 2022

Check my other articles!

🥕 K-12: To Change or Not To Change? https://read.cash/@Jijisaur/k-12-to-change-or-not-to-change-29fc256f

🦠 The Biggest Bacteria In The World Discovered https://read.cash/@Jijisaur/the-biggest-bacteria-in-the-world-discovered-60f62e39

🍀 Gratitude Challenge https://read.cash/@Jijisaur/gratitude-challenge-d970e4f9

13
$ 2.22
$ 2.06 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @Ayaan258
$ 0.02 from @Momentswithmatti
+ 7
Sponsors of Jijisaur
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Jijisaur
1 year ago

Comments

real quick yung 1k Beh. May balik din yon sa kanya hayaan mo haha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Kaya nag e huhu. Sobrang nakakalungkot na yung tinuring kong friend, sya pa yung nag kaganyan. Hays, hirap talaga magtiwala kahit close mo na.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hmmm, I think they have no family business hahaha. Meron din akong kaklase nung grade 2, na lagi nyang pinagyayabang na mayaman daw sila. Pero kleptomaniac naman 😂. Ninakawan pa nga ako ng pera. Then ayun nabalitaan ko nalang na hindi naman kagandahan daw yung bahay

Anyways, hindi naman sa pagiging judger pero gay ba 'tong si James? Medyo yun kasi yung vibes na nasasagap ko hahaha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Halaaa! Uy same tayo ng iniisip sa kanya. Medyo soft kasi siya pero may kinukwento siya sakin na may nililigawan daw siya. Ayoko rin maging judger kasi may mga guys naman talaga na malambot. Ayun nga, feeling ko hindi rin siya mayaman, gawa gawa lang pala. 🙄

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Baka mamaya iisang tao lang pala tinutukoy natin hahhaa

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Marami talaga mka relate sa mga ganitong issue sis, kami din parang na scam haha., Nainis lang ako kasi pag siningil mo walang Pera, then after few days makikita mo nlang Yung "Myday" nila. Haha, kaya parang natauhan narin kami,, Lalo na mag trust sa ibang tao, kahit na kakilala pa.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Big yuck sa mga taong di nagbabayad na may pambayad naman. Ankapal pa ng mukha mag may day ha. Nako sis, good luck na lang sa kanya.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ohhhh this reminds me of my friend too. I let her borrow my money hoping that she will pay me back immediately as she promised. It's been a half of year since that happen, I just wait for her to give me back the money, She is now working and she has her payment but she never gave me back the money. I did message her and then she said she don't have money, Hays until now i still don't have the whole amount of the money I lended. Lesson learned

$ 0.00
1 year ago

This is kind of sad. People assume na lang na hindi na babayaran. Utang is utang. Sana naman ibalik ni ate gurl kasi mag work na siya.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

In some areas here in my place borrowing money is the hottest issue,its easy to borrow but when ut comes to turning it back,its hard why? Sometimes our kindness will be abused and when we need money we can't have back our money immediately because tgey are full of reasons. I just hope that these people will pay us back the way we let them borrow our money. Every borrower must know that it is their obligation to pay not for us to asked for our money back. I don't like this kind of people.
By the way I'm newbie here

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Maybe I was too kind or because I gave him my trust. It is difficult to be friends with people that you thought you knew them. Hey, welcome here! Please do enjoy your stay!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ohh thank you.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I can't even think how and why some people do such thing. May naalala tuloy ako na nagpakilala dn sa 1k.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Parang may sumpa pag 1k haha! Hay, nakakasad lang na may ganoong tao. Well, nagiging maingat na lang talaga ako sa mga uutang sakin.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

sometimes, we get abused by the people we thought are our friends... we hope he gets to explain his end

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I have a lot of people who have done this to me. They have the intention of not returning the money that you lend them. It's a bad thing. And I just pray that something brings them back and we won't help them when they are dime in need of the money

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I feel like this is a lesson we sadly must all learn during our life. I never lend out money anymore after bad experiences

$ 0.00
1 year ago

not everyone who asks for help has the good intentions, the sly methods used today.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ganyan din nangyari sa akin, kaya pag may nanghihiram, automatic sa mindset ko na hindi na mababalik, kahit pa close friend or family member. Nakakastress kasi pag iisipin pa natin na mababalik pa, swerte nga kung ganun though my friends really return what they've borrowed.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Nakakasad yung matic na satin na hindi na ibabalik huhu. Totoo, nakakastress talaga yung maghahabol ng bayad. Ikaw na nga yung tumulong, ikaw pa tong niloko.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

May nakautang rin sa akin, last year pa pero walang binayad. Binukas-bukas ako, hanggang nasabi ko nalang sa isip ko na bahala na, alam nya naman yun. Then, may isa pa ulit, nakahiram din. Hindi na ako sini-seen pero nakikita ko nakakabili naman ng vape nya at nakapagpa-rebond pa nga! Haha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Anlakas ng loob nilang magpost ng mga ganun e utang nga nila hindi mabayaran. Kaya minsan sinasabi ko na lang pag magpapautang ako, e sasabihin ko, nahihiya akong maningil e kaya bigay na lang keysa sa utang.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ang pinaka lesson learned talga jan is to give what you just can afford to lose, parang investment. Dapat pag nagpautang ka, don't expect na ibabalik nya un sayo. Just think of it as donation na lang. Ako naman never pa ko nagpautang ng malaki except sa mismong family ko.

There was a time na ung mismo kong Bestfriend nagnutang sakin ng 1k tapos sabi niya ibabaik nya din daw next cut off nya dahil na short lang sya, sadly, it tooks 2 months bago niya pa naibalik tapos ayun, dun na lang din ako naging cold. Ayoko sa lahat ung nagbo-broke ng promise. Mas okay pa sinabi na lang nya na ibibigay niya once nakaluwag na sya kasi parang ung dating sakin, ako pa nahihiya maningil haha. skl.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ang masakit pa dyan e best friend mo pala yun. Yun nasira dyan e yung tiwala talaga. Ang hirap na yung taong akala mo na mapagkakatiwalaan mo e, sila pala sisisra nun. Malaki na yung 1k para sakin kahit sabihin ng iba na "pera" lang yan e, yun yung way para makapagtapos ako nun.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

pero bff pa din kami ayun lang eh may boundary when it comes to money. Still, sya pa din ninang ng anak ko kaya ganun pa din pakikitungo ko.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Naku !naku nang gigil ako,naalala ko tuloy friend ng asawa ko nanghiram ng 500pesos kasi nagkasakit daw anak niya so kami naman naawaso pinahiram namin kinabukasan bumalik humiran ng dagdag na 1500 tapos after a day nagdagdag nman bali 3k na lahat ,may pa next week na daw babayaran mag two years na tgis december kahit anino hindi nagpakita ,ayaw sagutin txt at tawag namin.😥

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Nakakalungkot na may ganyang mga tao. Yung nagpakita ka ng mabuti tapos pag araw na ng singilan, bigla na lang mawawala. Pwede naman siguro mag explain wag lang yun ma "seen". Kasi syempre mapapaisip tayo bakit di na sila nag rereply.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

looks sincere but is a venomous snake, many indications when someone approaches another person with the aim of money.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I am now more careful of people who I will be friends with. Many people are wearing there good appearance just to do bad things to others.

$ 0.00
1 year ago