Spending My Christmas Day On The Street

57 109
Avatar for Jane
Written by
2 years ago

December 27, 2021

December 25, was supposed to be spent with a friend and we planned to visit the Winter Wonderland. However, on Friday afternoon, she messaged me via Messenger and informed me that we can't go out together as she swapped her holiday to weekday so she could go to the consulate for her passport renewal. And I felt sad about it as it was supposed to be a happy day for me.

However, I thought of things to do on this day so I won't be bored and sad. Two things came to my mind, either I'll go to the sweet gum woods to see autumn foliage, or execute my BCH gift-giving in the real world. And I chose the latter.

With this, I checked Binance P2P so I could sell my BCH to buy some gifts for my beneficiary. Unfortunately, after checking the list of merchants, they all are using the FPS method that needs to be connected to an HK bank account, which I don't have.

Moreover, the cash-in-person location was too far from our place as it is in the North Territory area, and I am here in Kowloon HK. This left me no choice but to use my cash instead.


So on the day of Christmas, I got up early to visit the nearest street market full of affordable winter clothes. And I already listed what to buy for her, a winter jacket and trousers, a pair of gloves and socks, a bonnet, and some packed food. Her body is small enough that she could wear a kid's size, and it took me a while to look for a jacket that would suit her age and body size. 


So instead of roaming around to treat and pamper myself, I opted to roam around this street to have shopping.

I visited every shop to find clothes that would fit her age and I was even tempted to buy for my own, as the prices were low. But my budget was limited, so I forgot about myself for a while, lol.

But let me take a selfie 🤣.

After buying all the stuff for my beneficiary, I walked back to our city at noon to buy packed food for her, and so I could eat lunch as well. On my way back to the city, I stopped by St. Theresa church to pray. And that's the reason why I opted to walk than ride a bus, so I could visit the church near the area.

The mass was about to end when I got there, so I just offered my prayers.

Outside the church was a pretty Christmas Belen, and churchgoers were taking photos with it.

My stomach was already complaining after the mass, so I continued walking to the city to look for a restaurant where I could have my lunch before buying packed food for my beneficiary.

I opted to visit an Italian restaurant, so at least, I could indulge myself in eating food that I wanted for this day.

Time to look for my beneficiary

After eating lunch, I took out a box of pizza for her and bought some cup noodles, biscuits, and canned goods.

Along with the red jacket, trousers, bonnet, pair of gloves, and socks, I put them all in one big plastic bag with the BCH logo.

Then I roamed around the small city to look for my beneficiary. I visited the tent where I spotted her before but she wasn't there and I only saw her cart outside.

I continued walking to look for her, around the market, outside 7/11 stores where she used to eat cup noodles and checking the small alleys, hoping that I could see her.

But while looking for her, all I saw were other old women pushing carts and street sweepers. This is the saddest view in HK. While others are enjoying their comfortable lives, some are struggling for life. So even old people are forcing themselves to work on the street so they could survive.

At 4:30 I still can't see her around, so I opted to rest on a bench by the sidewalk and think of what to do next.

The city is just small and I know I can see her. If not today might be on other days. And I will always carry this bag of gifts with me each day I'll visit the market.

It was getting dark so I decided to bring back home the bag of gifts, as I still planned to visit a place. It was tiring, yet fulfilling. At least I have the gifts now, and all I need to do is to give them to her once I saw her on the street.


Visiting West Kowloon Art Park/Cultural District

The journey didn't end there as I traveled to another place after putting the gifts at home. This was the place that I wasn't able to visit last Sunday, the West Kowloon Art Park. I believe the views are prettier when it's dark and so I opted to visit the place at night.

West Kowloon brings out HK's vibrant street life.

(The Xiqu Center for Chinese traditional theatre and opera)

(The High-Speed Rail Station going to China)

(A beautiful architecture of M+ building lobby)

A perfect scenery of Hong Kong city at night.

At the park by the seaside, people set up their beautiful tents with lights

I guess they celebrated their whole Christmas Day in this park, as they set up their food as well and others were having games.

A gigantic Christmas tree was located at the end of the park with festive music and different lighting effects and colors.

People were swarming around, taking photos, while others were in their tents, some were along the bay and having fun.

Of course, I can't end the night without taking selfies 🤣.

Okay, I'll end it here as I might post more selfies here, lol. By the way, since I didn't find my beneficiary on the street, I just ate the box of pizza by the seaside alone. It was already cold though but was still yummy.

What about you? How did you spend your Christmas day?

Edited: I found my beneficiary just this afternoon, December 27, I felt so happy that I finally completed this mission. I might post another article about it.

©read.cash/@Jane (All Rights Reserved 2021)

37
$ 14.55
$ 13.15 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.30 from @Olasquare
$ 0.10 from @JustMyRambles01
+ 23
Sponsors of Jane
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Jane
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

Merry Christmas Jane! Ganyan talaga ang pasko pag nasa labas ng bansa.. At least preoccupied ka kakahanap ni beneficiary, hehe! Stay safe and enjoyth rest of the holiday..

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thanks madam

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Perhaps your beneficiary is finding something to eat. Indeed, life is unfair but we have no choice either accept it or make a way to change our situation. Anyways, I cant deny ang ganda ng place. May snow po ba sa HK?

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Literal na alone in the streets nga. Akala ko kasama mo yung mga frennies mo. The next day na nga pala yun nu. Hehe late comment 😁 Sana nabigay mo na sa kanya yung pagift mo te hehe

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Done.. Sa latest article ko 🙂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

How beautiful all those photos, including your selfies, hehe.... Thank you for bringing so much beauty to my eyes.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

What a beautiful place 🤗

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Belated merry Christmas , God bless your heart ❤️ Your an inspiration to many maam .

$ 0.00
2 years ago

With or without any person , you had a wonderful celebration, your kind heart too is exceptional. Don't you have any bank account in HK? P2P in our binance app binance app require bank account and all the bank in our country interact with one another. How is it over there ?

$ 0.02
2 years ago

No I don't have. Im using Philippine bank

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Is it too difficult to open account there

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am amazed by your kind and giver heart ate Jane. Sayang naman at hindi nabigay sa kanya yung gift mo that day. Anyways, I am hopinh na na receive niya yun by now. Hihi ang gnda namn po ng mga pasyalan jan ate.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

You are really enjoying with yourself Ate. Ganda ng mga Christmas Tree.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I'm so happy for you po and to your beneficiary po...it's good to have missions like this ..even if it's just small what's important is that it came from the bottom of our hearts..😊 Godbless you more po.. So sad talaga yung mga matatanda..nako..I don't want to see my grandparents like that...

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Aheee inabot ka ng gani madams. Ang gaganda naman ng lugar jan. Masaya talagang papasyalan when kaya mangyayari na di kana alone but you're with a juwa na hmmm hahahah. Baka umabot la sa new year tehehhh

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Haha. Forever alone na to madam 🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ayt pano ka nakakasiguro madams

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Speechless...

$ 0.02
2 years ago

It's very admirable how you opted to make yourseld happy when your sis didn't come. That's what I decided to do since I am the only one in my roo m now. You're very kind ma'am. God bless you in abundance.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Iba talaga ang disiplina sa ibang bansa..kita sa pic na implemented at sinusunod ang social distancing like yung picture mo while nasa church..dito saten sis kung makikita mo, parang wala nang pandemic..

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Walang social distancing dto 😅 . safe naman. Punuan nga mga lugar lalo sa may Christmas display

$ 0.00
2 years ago

ay talaga sis? pero magkakalayo sila sa church..kala ko tuloy meron..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's good as you have truly done the best tour. Sometimes it's good to enjoy yourself by going out to visit some fine places. This is what you have done.

Good one we have there.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Your day was full of fun in the street, that sounds good to me.

Merry Christmas and Happy new year in advance🎊

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I do hope you find your beneficiary and I also love the way you are generous. It is really nice and lovely.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Was it the same old woman you have been spotting? Mabuti at nkita mo xa mdam bka mapanis ung pizza.. mission 1 accomplished 🥰

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yes madam. Will post an article about it later

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's a really kind thing to do Jane. I'm so glad you finally found her. God bless you for all you do

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Wow! Amazing beauties even in the dark.

And you are just a humans with that beautiful heart which makes everyone loves you the more. And I pray you continue to become great.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That's a day full of different activities. You spent it well. The food and the lighting look so awesome. Have a great day ahead.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Concerning the binance P2P, you can try filtering the merchants by putting the exact amount you want to sell and then selecting the payment method you like, it will list out the appropriate merchants according to the filter you use 😉.

You had a lot of fun on Christmas day and I am surprised that you can even find shops that sell clothes at a low price over there during Christmas, the prices are usually jacked up in my country.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Mostly are using FPS, that should be connected to a bank account . there is cash in person but the location was quite far from us.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow... Big sis. You really have a big heart and I love you for your selflessness. That is what the season is meant to be. For me I spent my whole Christmas day moving from the kitchen to the dinning and back to the kitchen. I am sure the woman will be very happy to receive the gift.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Your kind heart and kind spirit is worthy of emulation. God bless you ate💚

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thank you

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I hope you find your beneficiary soon.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I found her today.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I was gonna ask what you did with the food since you didn't see your beneficiary and if it wouldn't get bad if you kept it. Seems you had a fun Christmas. I was home with family, eating and drinking. And reflecting about things I had planned to do this year, but couldn't.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

You did not read it all

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I read it all, that's why I didn't ask the question again. I said "I WAS going to ask..."

$ 0.00
2 years ago

And those are packed food so they won't get bad.. Except with the pizzA so I just eat it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh you clicked a lot. You are my type. When i go outside i take pictures my friend get bore hahha

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Didto ang daming lasing pakalat-kalat hahaha sana ate makita mo si Lola😊

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Nakita ko today 🥰

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Your act of kindness is awesome and I love you for that ate.

Christmas was normal for me, I slept till noon because I stressed myself a lot collecting animal waste for the fishes. I got packs of drinks for the neighbors and on getting to the farm in the evening, a friend picked me up for a small birthday party.

I couldn't leave until the cake was shared because that was the major reason why I went there.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Haha. Seems like you love cake

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yeah, I love cake a lot.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You had a lot of fun still even tough you couldn’t find her… my day was splendid and fun filled. I still wish to go back in time to experience it all again.. happy new year in addy 💛

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I found her today 🥰. I'll post another article about that

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ang ganda nung Christmas tree kulay pink haha cute. At least you enjoy your alone time 😊

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hehe thanks

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sana makita mo agad si Lola Jane..

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Nakita ko na te

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ay buti naman Jane, maaking tulong sa kanya yun lalo na ngayon na sobrang lamig.. Btw, akala

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Either on the street or in the mall, you still had fun and that's a good one...

Don't let circumstances weigh you down

$ 0.02
2 years ago

My little Prince was sick so staying at home is the best option for us. But we still managed to spend Christmas Day better than last year. God bless your generous heart. Continue being a blessing to others. Merry Christmas!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Merry Christmas to you too

$ 0.00
2 years ago