Choose your style when writing.

4 45
Avatar for JCnakama
2 years ago
Topics: Writing, Thinking, Artist, Blogs, Read, ...

I am doing a course on how to be a writer, and I have decided to share with you through my publications, the knowledge I am acquiring. This way we can learn together.

Articles related to this topic:

Writing a book.

Imagination, our best ally.

Characteristics of a writer.

Inspiration, source of wisdom.

The idiom present in the text.

Character creation.

Choose a place for your story


This time I will talk about literary style; it is the way each author chooses to express what he wants to convey to the reader, in addition to the literary resources he uses, as well as the language he selects and which determines his own characteristics. It is an indispensable tool for a writer. Style shapes what is written and dresses the narrative discourse. In a writer, this serves to attract attention, captivate, excite or impress the reader without being noticed, in a very natural way.

Image source

It is like the way one dresses; it is the feature that differentiates one writer from another, the peculiar characteristic in his or her way of narrating. The writer's style is the expression of his personality, the way he dresses his work. Although two writers may look alike, their styles will always be different. That is why in this field it is highly valued and very difficult to maintain, although ironically it is something we all have. Almost as if it comes in the genes. However, for most of us, identifying, reaffirming and confirming our own literary style becomes unattainable.

 In that sense, creating a style is not easy. This is the way in which the author's voice comes to life and conveys his own vision and way of things. It can be very didactic, meaning that in his writings the author is always teaching something. It can be very emotional, leading readers into emotionally engaging situations. There are also elegant or very descriptive styles. To find your own style, you should not copy from other authors, you should forge your own. This is possible when you try to imprint the best of yourself in your writing. Narrative modes reveal data about the narrator and the degree of knowledge he/she has of the facts.

The most common are:

- Direct style: the narrator introduces the dialogue of the characters, letting them speak or express themselves.

-Indirect style: The narrator compares the dialogue of the characters, through his voice. He uses the conjugation "que" to connect his words with those of the character.

- Free indirect style: Here the direct and indirect modes merge.


When we perform the self-recognition of your style, the first thing we must do is to assume our role as creators. If you do not assume that your literary work is a direct reflection of your artistic personality, that is, that you yourself are an artist, a writer and creator of literary texts, the process of discovering or reaffirming your own style will be difficult. You will also need to do the exercise of recognition through writing, it is not enough to look at a text you have written.

On the way you will be tempted to produce other styles, but be sure that your own creative personality has your own shine, as well as that of the authors you admire, write without fear and you will be able to see and make your own style be seen. In fact, I consider that the literary style is the set of characteristics determined by the author's personality, whose nature has a morphology. The use of the rules and tools of language, filtered through the powerful creative subjective, produce personal qualities.

To conclude, these aspects of style show us that there is a controllable or educable dimension of style and another, which, because it remains inconsistent, is not. But it becomes controllable and educable if we allow ourselves the confrontation with the creative "I", allowing that dimension to become conscious.

This is how our own essence is revealed to us and we can control it at will, not with the desire to build a mask, but with the idea of recognizing and working on the aspects that make up our personality and allow a literary style to take hold. That's why when we talk about style we don't talk about work, but about authors.

      What style do you identify with?

Image source

Dear readers, your opinions are very valuable to me, I will be very attentive to your comments. Thank you for investing your valuable time reading my post, best regards.


Disclaimer: I would like to let you know that English is not my mother tongue, I may even make some mistakes in the elaboration of sentences in my posts. Feel free to correct me attentively. It will help me in my learning process.


Sponsors of JCnakama
empty
empty
empty

Articles related to writing a Novel:

A way to express your ideas.

How you tell your story.

Types of narrators in a story.

The different styles of dialogue in a story.

The parts that constitute a narrative description.

The characters allow us to know the story.
How to achieve a good ending in your stories.

Planning allows you to organize your ideas.


You can follow me on:

Facebook - Instagram - Youtube


My Blogs:

Ecency Noise.Cash - publish0x


1
$ 2.68
$ 2.68 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of JCnakama
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for JCnakama
2 years ago
Topics: Writing, Thinking, Artist, Blogs, Read, ...

Comments

Wow, thank you for this, I am now curious what style did I used in my recent writings haha..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you, I'm glad you like my publication, hahaha I hope you identify your style, I would like you to comment me later, greetings.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

A person with a unique writing skills always make them stand out from the rest of the crowd, thanks for the lecture, I'll use it to create my own writing style

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Very accepted your words, I totally agree with you. Thanks to you for taking the time to read my post and comment, I am glad to know that my post is helpful, greetings.

$ 0.00
2 years ago