Working smart over Working hard

33 75
Avatar for HappyBoy
2 years ago

Every end of the year I do go out on hangouts with my friends. These are friends right from high school. It’s now a ritual we perform every year. We go to the cinema and after this, we end it in a restaurant or club to eat and take a few drinks, though I’m a Tito taller, I go with them while I sip my soft drink.

Yesterday, we were deliberating on where to visit this year, probably go on a 3-day hangout or just meet at a friend’s place while we reminisce over some bottles. One conversation led to the other and we all started talking about work and all. The conversation got to my side and I talked about witting here and on noise in conjunction with other jobs I do in school.

The reply a friend gave was-

“That one no be job jor, we are talking about people that are hardworking”  (Pardon the pidgin). This led to a series of arguments. It’s painful to see that people still believe that it’s by doing something money comes in. If things are like that, then those that dig wells and pits ought to be the highest earner. I’m not disputing the fact that some things one need to sweat to earn a living. Some are worth it while some aren’t. A footballer or other sportsman for example have to sweat before earning, but what they earn is worth it. Lionel Messi’s wages is times 100 of what some people earn in a year.

However, because someone works from home or works as a writer doesn’t make him less hardworking. Coming up with what to write each day takes a lot of mental work. The end justifies the means. I will rather go for a work from home job with $500 pay than tedious work that requires waking up at 5 am with a pay of $600. It all depends on what we see as success.

Success is not what people see on the outside but how a person carries himself or herself on the inside. When working, you must keep in mind that it is not about how hardworking you are but how smart you are at what you do and when you do it.

“Work smart, not hard”, I started working at an early age. Immediately after my WAEC, I resumed work. In these years of working ad schooling, I have discovered that working hard is not enough to get something done. It needs proper planning and execution which is hard to acquire as a human being. Just imagine if you would have planned and executed your to-do list like you plan out your vacation...  You would be relaxed, you will enjoy doing that thing, you would have less stress, way more efficient and you would finish the task within the deadline...

Success is not about how tedious the work is, we’ve seen people who work from home and make good money from it. Having a freelancing job does not necessarily mean that it is an easy job, but you are in control of your time and priorities, you get to manage your time properly and make the most out of it, rather than sitting at a cubicle doing little to no work at all.

A lot of people wonder how people can make good money from working from their homes. If you are lucky to find a job from home, you need to work smart and complete your tasks in a manner that can save you a lot of time. Doing so will help you finish your work faster and get paid on time. Staying focused and organized will ensure that you get your work done in the fastest way possible. You need to also note that your employer is going to value the quality of your work over the quantity. This means that as long as you can get the job done well, it will be okay for them if you take a few extra hours to do it. Therefore, you need to always be working towards doing it better than ever before.

The idea of working from home is alluring if you listen to famous entrepreneurs talk about how to succeed in business on the internet. And we all like the idea of not having to commute and having more time to be with friends and family. Work smart by asking yourself a few questions: What are you really good at? What are you passionate about? Look into your heart and come up with a few answers that seem realistic enough that it could work out for you. Now, think of who you can reach out to on the internet and start connecting with them, this will ensure that your business will flourish.

Remember “Choose working smart over hard”

 

Thanks for Reading!

33
$ 9.09
$ 8.16 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Jane
$ 0.10 from @ARTicLEE
+ 20
Sponsors of HappyBoy
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for HappyBoy
2 years ago

Comments

Changing words with people who think work at home is for lazy and unserious people is an everyday battle

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I really wish I could send a screenshot on the comment platform, I and my friends also had same conversation on WhatsApp and decided to meet this coming Friday cause I was the one that spent the most among them, and everyone wants to know how to make money in a smart, less stressful way, I did told them about noise.cash back then and were reluctant about it, but they want a new resolution, I hope they can meet up with the standard, well, I'm not the only one coming with ideas, we all just want to make it in 2022😫😫

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My friend, I have stopped arguing with people over what I do to make a living,

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I consider working hard for the older generation while in this generation of ours we just have to work smart to make it through. However, that is not to say we don't need to be hardworking, sure we do need to.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hard work with love is a good thing 🥰

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hard working with passion will lead you to the success. But some smart moves with it will give you some extra cherries.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

There's nothing as sweet and as important as working smart as it helps in connecting you with a lot of people who are well meaning and well to do with in life but working hard does not really do that as everyone, even a person hawking things in the street can claim to be working hard but will never ever claim to be working smart at all.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's the secret Happy boy. The world has evolved beyond our perception. Smart does it now. When coupled with working hard, great things happen.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I can't believe most youths in this modern age are hyping working physically over working virtually from home. I saw one the other day on nairaland saying there's nothing like working from home, that the people that say things like that turn out to be fraudsters, I was just speechless that day. I won't blame her sha, she's still a young girl in the university, her sense never complete

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is very impressive and it's definitely a definition of a successful university student because the university is for the smart ones, not just the intelligent and the hardworking

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We work hard while here on writing platforms. Do you k ow the sweat we will have before you can come up with a write-up? Not even taking of writing and commenting everyday.

Sometimes, I do give kudos to those who write just like us right here. We are truly working just too rough and hard.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Its just the mentality of people especially in this country if you are doing any work online like stress free they don't regard it as work or you are probably doing yahoo. But things has changed mostly all this tech guys that are making money now

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nothing is easy, everything demands wisdom and consistency. But the difference is that some do their work smartly and some do it hardly.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

True, working smart instead of working hard. There's really a huge different for those two.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Someone who works smart gets to earn more than one who does it hard. In everything, wisdom and intelligence should be involved.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My friend, I have stopped arguing with people over what I do to make a living, I simply let the results speak for itself.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I think I'll cultivate this habit too ,because no matter how well one explains they won't listen or agree.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

In this 21st century, we need to be smart enough to explore more knowledge so as not to end up working our asses up for someone, and get little salary. Hardworking sometimes won't give much earning. We just need to be wise and ready to learn more about online activities we will pay better, and change our life into good.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My dear friend, you wrote very well, that's right. Working smart is much more important than working hard, like a person with an ax who spends days cutting down a tree, and when he is asked why he doesn't sharpen his ax, he says unless: You don't see that I am involved and I don't have enough time, and the opportunity to sharpen my ax. I have an uncle who has been at home for years, and everyone blames him for being unemployed and lazy, while he is richer than everyone around me, he is sitting at home and making money from there through digital currency.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I actually regret discovering it later.. Working smart, I mean. I have been fooling myself that working hrd is the only thing that matters, when in reality, I can also achieve good things by strategizing right, thus working smart..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That your guy don f **. Up him Sabi say you na boss .. happyboy number 1 hot hot zeh.. 😂😂 no mind am boss buy him papa house make him no say you na working man ..

Anyways You are right I think the reason why we have this type of thought is because our advancement and thoughts are still backward infact nobody does hard jobs anymore to earn money machines and apps can do that for us now .. so I think your guy just has to Change his thinking

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I was laughing when reading your article 😅 I don't know why people just want to remain in the analog age, they believe that money that comes with sweat in the body is the real deal and the rest that comes from the brain is not real, I remember when I was telling someone how she can earn 30k from home and she prefer to earn 20k from a job that will take her time and give no time for her self. I believe that if I can get it from home, then while go outside to sweat for it? What am I going to prove ? All these are still based on mindsets

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Working smart is always the goal. You don't have to bleed your knuckles to show that you're working

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Same kind of mindset everywhere I think. The times have changed and I think more and more people are opening up to that idea but just a few for they are still of the old mindset.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's sad to know some people still think because you don't sweat and work, you can't possibly earn much. Writing is not easy. Though there are times you can go on and on, there are also times when writing a paragraph is more difficult than time travelling. One advantage of freelancing is the luxury of going at your own pace long as you meet the deadline given. I imagine being a doctor and at home spending time with my family then I get a call from the hospital that there is an emergency and I should come in immediately. That would not be a happy moment for me, neither would it be for my loved ones. Having absolute control of how you spend your time is actually underrated.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Whatever opportunity we have to work and earn from our comfort zone should be well made use of. Thinking and writing is no small work. Nice write-up 🤗

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Working hard doesn't determine one success, there are lot of people that work hard and can't even earn enough to make a living.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I personally prefer to be self employed or be my own boss than be employed by someone. I admire people who run their own businesses. They are real geniuses.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Who says writing is not tedious? It's so hard to come up with a good topic to write each day. Lol. He wouldn't know it unless he experienced it.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

That's what I was thinking. It is difficult for you to come up with an idea every day, throughout the year, to write here ahah. It's very complicated.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hard work there ain't paying like smart work. In Nigeria today, people who enjoy the benefits of fieldwork are in the office.

When I worked as a supervisor, I get a 15k incentive when my team meets their target and they earn less than 10k for meeting their target. My Indian boss earns over 200k for incentives for sitting in the office collating results. If it was hard work, the people going around the streets and market deserve the biggest pay.

Not stressing yourself to earn doesn't mean you are not earning the right way and coming up with articles every day is smart but also requires thinking deeply which is also an hard work.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Working smarter, not harder means having a clear strategy to prioritise your most important activities so you end each productive day feeling satisfied rather than overwhelmed, overcommitted, frustrated, and overworked and also it improve your productivity and performance while increasing your overall job satisfaction. It can also make you a valuable asset to the organization for which you work, increasing your job security.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

There is difference between working smart and working hard. It’s a choice though. But the smart worker receives the more.

I always pray for less work and huge earn. Some see it to be impossible but it’s very possible.

$ 0.00
2 years ago