BCH-Nigerian-Forum Xmas Writing Challenge - Results

31 69
Avatar for Greatwolfman
2 years ago

There was a writing challenge sponsored by my Nigerian BCH promoters as a way of celebrating the Christmas holiday, behold the result.

To eliminate all forms of bias, certain guidelines were set as a way of grading each article as fairly as possible and an external judge with no affiliate to read.cash was given permission to mark each of them. (besides, if I were to be the judge, I will pull up some lines that will make even the great Simon Cowell shiver, just kidding)

I had to pleasure of re-accessing each article to ensure their authenticity and they all checked out, each writer had something amazing to tell, and the scores were really close. I think we have some ties.

A big thank you goes out to the sponsors of this challenge and all the participants, thank you for supporting this initiative, this wouldn't be complete without any of you.

Let's go through what each writer had to present, shall we?


An unforgettable Christmas by @Abhay

A 10 10-year-oldy wakes up one Christmas morning to discover everyone was gone, both of his parents had gone out, a fact he was aware of, but still, none of his siblings were around.

Trying to find solace in his loneliness, he goes to put on the TV to probably watch Superman kick Captain America ass but then the power went off (What the fudge is this - he must have wondered).

Suddenly, biscuit started to fall from the ceiling, the shocked and confused little boy thought it was manna from heaven, anyway, his siblings revealed to him that he just got pranked and they were responsible for the said "manna from heaven", they all shared a big laugh even as his parents walked in, an unforgettable Christmas indeed.

Best Christmas Ever by @Talon

This one had a little dark twist to it, somewhere in Nigeria, in a village, there is a thick forest no hunter or farmer dares venture into, only a few ever live to tell the tale of their experience.

It was the holidays so Talon and his family traveled to the village, Dad didn't believe in such superstitions so he went into the forest to get a good Christmas tree (Dad is so brave). Talon wanted to show he was a big boy so he tagged along only for him to back out later, at least he waited in front of the forest alone for almost 6 hours (hats off).

Wait, 6 hours, and dad wasn't back yet, he panicked and ran back home to inform the whole neighborhood (Ara adugbo, e bo si ta, nkan ti sele- a cry for help in my native language). His mother was scared and the whole villagers chickened out (get it? it's Christmas and they were Chicken, if you don't laugh at my joke, Santa won't visit you with gifts next year).

Lost in confusion, the hero arrives and the whole family was happy to see him and he was back with more than a tree, Talon now had a pet Rabbit for Christmas and he had also caught an antelope, meat for everyone people.

A Holy night by @Queen001

A very interesting read simply because I could relate to it. Back in the days the elderly women were revered and respected by the little ones simply because they told amazing stories.

At night, the little kids would gather in front of her hut, a small bonfire would get going as we all lay our mat to listen to their stories, but it so happened that Grandma passed on breaking our hearts (may her gentle soul rest in peace)

In this article, the Queen wrote of such stories Grandma told her about the holy night Jesus was born, I won't rob you of the opportunity, check it out for yourself.

A Christmas Miracle in Disguise by @Aimure

I won't deny that I loved this article the most, I think you should definitely check it out.

It passes along a message that we need to take with us even as we enter into the new year, "The importance of Family".

As little kids we would always expect mom and dad to provide us with clothes and shoes for the Christmas celebrations but have you ever wondered the sacrifices they make just to make that a possibility?

What if a time comes and they are no longer there to celebrate it with you? This was what a little child had to deal with in the article. Fear of loss has a way of improving maturity even in small minds.

Shadow in the dark by @The.Ada

If you want to make the world a better place then change has to begin with you.

This was a beautiful work of fiction that spoke about a little girl and the visit she got from Santa. The little woke up to discover she was all alone when Santa came to visit, a semi-conscious dream.

Santa passed along a message to her through a story, again, I would recommend you read it yourself.

Christmas is about giving and showing love, let's all try to do that in our way (however little), it's the thought that counts.

Santa Claus is Home from Rome by @Semaj2k21

I had a very good laugh reading this.

Do you remember when you were little and your school would organize Christmas carol and they would have to fly all the way from Rome to Nigeria just to make that happen? Yeah, we were tricked.

James had to learn this the hard way when he discovered Santa Claus was his uncle in a mask all along. I still believe in Santa though.

This is my entry for the @greatwolfman's Christmas challenge by @Manjudeck

This article was filled with amazing Christmas pictures in a very peaceful environment (I love the one with the beautiful dog).

She really did the most to make this celebration wonderful for everyone around her, I wish I was there, I would have a plate or two.

She defined why Christmas meant to her by giving, Christmas is time to show love and there is love in sharing and giving. A clear message to everyone out there.

Under a Christmas tree - a Christmas story by @Jumper-01

This young man had lost his Christmas spirit (as have we), he wasn't even sure this Christmas would leave any fond memories until he went for a Christmas Carol and watched the little kids just having fun. That was enough push to awaken the Christmas spirit.

I was a little bit upset I wasn't invited but after watching the you-tube video clip and seeing those pictures, I couldn't stay angry again, I miss loving Christmas, I miss being a little kid.

Christmas as a child or an adult by @Esthery97

It would appear Esther and I both shared a love for food (especially the chicken legs), note the use of the paste tense -Shared.

Raise hands if Mom and Dad still buy you Christmas clothes - you can signify in the comment section.

As we grow into adults, we start to acquire more responsibilities and soon we start to lose interest in certain things. Sometimes it could be our Christmas spirit, other times it could be our love for Chicken legs.

Christmas gave birth to love by @George_Dee

I will come clean here, I used to be one of those guys who believed that Christmas time was the best time to fall in love (to be fair, just get a mistletoe and get a kiss from your crush, the rest would be history).

Pearl, a girl from a rich family was forced to get into a relationship with her father's business partner, but she disagreed.

To be fair, arranged marriages aren't really the best, it may have worked in the past but it's slowly fading out.

Anyway, Pearl and her gym instructor decided to fake being in a relationship to get Dad to shut up after he had threatened his daughter to get into a relationship before Christmas (Where are my feminist at?).

Long story short, Pearl fell in love with her gym instructor and they lived happily ever after. There are bits to this story that haven't been published yet so I'm hoping for a continuation to fill the holes.

My Christmas Story by @Deeepensiverse

In this article, she shared her Christmas experiences with us starting with getting new clothes and gifts and the wonderful memories she spent with her family. Those are the things that need to be cherished.

Of course, it soon got busy as soon as she listed out the chores she would have to carry out before, during, and after the celebration this year, more grease to your elbow sister, I can relate. I hope it turned out better than expected.

Celebrating together is always the best by @Oikawa

I used to think he was of Japanese descent with that username.

Before I summarise this article, if you had to choose between 100000 BCH and family, which would you choose? I will definitely choose family. I can hear Dom (From fast and furious) saying to me right now - "the most important thing in life is Family"

A young naive boy who thought having a Christmas gift was more important than family so out of anger he made a wish to have infinite Christmas presents in exchange for his family and the wish came through.

At first he was very happy but soon he realized having all the gifts in the world with no one to share it with is just so lonely, he cried and cried, fortunately for him, it wasn't real, he ran towards his family full of joy. Charles became a changed person.


Alright, I think I have done enough justice to each of the articles.

The winners are....(drum rolls)

1 - @Oikawa scored a high score of 18/20

2- @Aimure, the first runner up with a score of 17/20

3- @The.Ada with a score of 16/20

Really close scores.

Drop a comment below to get your reward, same applies to everyone tagged in this article, you all get something for participating.

Happy New year in Advance my friends.

  • Lead Image Source - BCH Nigerian Forum Banner

24
$ 3.94
$ 3.66 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @George_Dee
$ 0.05 from @Lucifer01
+ 6
Sponsors of Greatwolfman
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Greatwolfman
2 years ago

Comments

Congratulations to all the winners and to those who participated for it these are good as they made a right path for Christmas or an contest qrticle,i really appreciate your that kind of contest you have made a contest for public

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow very amazing contest that was superb sir i was not there but i will participate next time and got 1st position, Congratulations to winners

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Congratulations to all the winners,I was absent from many days on readcash because we was going to a trip,i would not participate in this contest i can also win oohhh God may be i there and i will win eaisly

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Congratulations ada aimure and oikawa 😍😍😍✌🏼🎊🎊🎊✌🏼🎊🎊🎊, I am so glad that you guys won .. and thanks to the sponsors of this competition this was lovely πŸ₯° πŸ˜ƒπŸ€£πŸ€£πŸ€£ merry Christmas and happy new year in advance my read champs πŸ₯‚πŸ‘πŸ‘πŸ€©

$ 0.53
2 years ago

Really Happy for you congratulations for the winner f the challenge cause I also did it

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I loved the summary of all the articles, I'll definitely go and read them. Congratulations to the winners, you deserved itπŸ‘πŸ‘πŸ‘

$ 0.53
2 years ago

Wow, there was a lot of competition. Congratulations to the winners and also the participants. We go harder next year.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Wow! Wow! Again!! This is so wowing! Mind blowing articles. The winners are really worth it! I can't even decide on ma own.. this post made my evening. Beautiful one

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Congratulations to all of you. Will definitely try to join someday. Merry Christmas to all of us!

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Congratulations to the winners

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Many congrats to all the winners here and to you too @the greatwolfman for also fulfilling your sweet promise of dishing out these huge prizes to all the winners accordingly. Maybe, I shall win next time out

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I don't know why i didn't see my article here, cos I followed all instructions

$ 0.50
2 years ago

Wow congratulations everyone πŸ€—

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I've got to admit, I'm a bit sad, as I was really hoping to win. Congratulations to all the winners though. Kudos to all the authors who participated, wonderful stories everywhere

$ 0.50
2 years ago

It was a very close one, I loved all the articles, there was no way I could be the judge without being biased, the scores were really close

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Congratulations Winners and Partcipants.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Wow! Wow! Wow! I wooon! First runner up and that's hugeee. My first challenger. Special thanks to all the sponsors of this challenge, and to you too @Greatwolfman. Congratulations to @Oikawa and The.Ada and big ups to all the other participants. I am so elated right now. Some things to overshadow the pitiful man United display tonight. Thank you all, I appreciate πŸ€—πŸ€—πŸ€—πŸ€—

$ 5.00
2 years ago

Congratulations man, you deserve it, it was a very lovely article, as for Man U, why don't you join us at City, United is becoming old news

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hehehe I am loyal. United or no club. Better days ahead I suppose. Thank you once again

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Congratulations to the winners. You really deserve it.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I'm really glad I made you laugh reading my article tho....

Thanks for the opportunity

$ 0.50
2 years ago

I'm really sad you didn't win bro, there is always next year

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks a lot for giving us this opportunity to showcase our writing skills and talents and for my article to be chosen as one of the top ten is really so amazing. Thanks so much @greawolfman

$ 0.50
2 years ago

Congrats to the participants especially the winners. More grease to your elbows

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is very wonderful. Can't really believe I wasn't aware of the challenge. I would have participated. Anyways congrats to the winners. Much love. πŸ’πŸ’

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I'm sorry you missed it love, I made a lot of BC's about it

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you so much for giving us this opportunity! I am so grateful.

$ 10.00
2 years ago

Wow!!! You know what @Greatwolfman, you brought out the real meaning of my article, and I'm left wondering if I truly wrote it well. Thanks for bringing the story to life. Thanks for the challenge. And congrats to the winners. It was fun participating.

$ 3.00
2 years ago

Congratulations to the winners!!!!😍

$ 0.50
2 years ago

Congratulations to the winners. Oikawa, Aimure and The Ada. Yall wrote a nice story.

$ 0.50
2 years ago

I had fun participating and congratulations to the winners, their entries were super awesome. Thanks for organizing this, the challenge to be creative matters a lot.

$ 0.50
2 years ago