Let's Talk about GOALS!

Avatar for Ellehcim
2 years ago
Topics: Goals, Sharing, Thought, Story, Journey, ...

10/02/21


There are some goals you can't just achieve, no matter how hard you tried. It makes you feel miserable. Then you even have the tendency to look at others; seeing them progress far better than you do even upsets you more. Why is it that we can't always get what we want?

Source: Unsplash

Have you experienced setting some goals? And you are sure those are pretty realistic and possible, because you know that you'll work hard for it, anyway. You've also planned out the things you should do to achieve those goals as soon as possible. However, at the end of every deadlines, you can't see any goal materialized. You did not reach some or all of your goals. You then look back and squeeze your mind identifying where you did wrong, finding nothing.

The truth is, not all goals are meant to be achieved as you planned. It's life. It's like a blueprint of life to always create situations you could not predict—instances that would make odds not be in your favor. Even you have seen and analyzed possible problems, there are just hindrances that will come your way unexpectedly.

The first sentence in the paragraph above holds true, but it does not end there. It does not mean that you can never achieve the goal absolutely. Instead of dwelling on the frustrations of your failure, I suggest you to accept the temporary defeat, move forward, and learn from the experience. Keep moving towards the same goal, if the desire is still there. Now, the fire will be stronger if you think of these setbacks as opportunities to grow.

Personally, I set some goals in my blogging journey. They are not really specific though, nor clear, and I did not keep these goals into mind. The simple mind objectives to earn a set amount for a period for example, or the plans on contents to posts, strategies for efficient stay in the platforms. I had many ideas, but I did not even organize these properly. The month has ended, and I am not fully satisfied with the results of my progress. Looking back at those tentative numbers I set in my imagination, I concluded that most of these desired results did not happen. I did not do a bad job, but I can't also say I did an excellent job. I made sure to do my best in writing alone, but in other areas, I slacked off.

Speaking of these experiences, it made me realize two things:

(1) That I may have set goals, but I did not work hard enough to materialize those, or

(2) I may have not set proper objectives at all.

I also love the idea of "just working hard, and not set goals so as to not disappoint one's self when those are not met." I have used this strategy, actually. But I discovered this does work, but NOT on everyone. I know some of the people that have this pronciple, and that it's effective for them. Sadly, it's not for me. While they need no goals because they are already working hard, I was pretty much the opposite. I also worked hard and did my best, but I have nothing to compare my progress with, so I become someone "contented with what I got", even I know I could have done more.

What am I saying? Generally, it is important to set goals, but choose what's best for you, because we have different ways to be more efficient.

I am not writing this to share some proven tips to achieve your goals, because, again, it depends on the person. But I want to tell you, that not achieving a goal is not a reason to be disheartened, nor to give up. Let the failure motivate you to work harder than before, and let the results just prove your efforts. More often than not, there is next time to everything. We have our own timelines. Reminding you of that again, in case you forgot, or no one has told you yet.

Being a blogger here for almost six months, I have seen different types of progress. (1) I have witnessed those who even joined later than me, but had way better progress. (2) There are also those who have been here earlier but hs not achieved that much yet. (3) And we also have those who unexpectedly rises to the top because he/she finally gets the recognition he/she deserves, and (4) those who went down instantly because of getting into the ladder through malicious ways. We are all different. I did not tell this to degrade those who may fall into any category above, but as an eye opener, that we have our own time to shine. It may happen tomorrow, or even now. Sometimes, it may occur next week, next month, or next year.

I am still out here, checking my goals I have set as early as April (almost six months ago), and realizing there are still more of them I am YET to achieve. For a few examples:

(1) Buying a phone with BCH;

(2) Buying a laptop with BCH; and

(3) Achieve 200 subscribers (this goal was set last May or June, I think).

Those are just FEW of the goals I set that haven't achieved yet. Who knows when I'll be able to achieve that? No one, not even me. Sure, I could go around encouraging everyone to go subscribe with me, but I can't control people. But, it still depends on them whether I could achieve this goal or not.

Stating that none of these goals are achieved yet, does it discourage me? No. Well, but did it used to? Yes. I used to be so critical of myself, which is a good thing in general, but bad when overdone. I used to compare my achievements with others, and make myself feel miserable.

Another thing I learned is this important lesson: The only thing you should compete with, is your past achievements. That is what I do now. Benchmarking is good, yes, but only when you know you have a reasonable basis that you can have the same level of progress as the one you're inspired of.

I look up to numerous authors here, especially those who've spent quite much time in this platform. Their ways inspire me in many ways. Their achievements motivate me. Do I feel jealous? Maybe, but in a good way. I use that bit of jealousy (or if there is a better word to fit this context, please tell me in the comment section, so I can edit this) to grind twice as much, or even more than that. You know that quote, "If they can do it, why can't I?"

Be assured that everyone, even the most successful author here, (whoever he/she is, tell me. I want to know his/her ways LOL) started from nothing, too. There is always a starting line in a race. Sure thing, there maybe cases that one has benefit or privilege that gives him/her the edge over the other, but that head start for them, is not everything. The rest, which is the most important, is you. Your efforts, your persistence, and your passion. You may not reach the finish line first, but is that really important? Doesn't just successfully going there matter more? Because you know, not everyone finishes the race.

There are some users here who are not active anymore. There are various reasons, one of which, surely, is because they gave up. They must have also set goals, buy just repeatedly failed to meet them. It must have discouraged them when they felt like their hardwork is not paying them enough, or less than they deserve.

At least, now you know that you ain't giving up. You're definitely pursuing your goals, right? Just be reminded of these principles, too:

(a.) That there are just goals you could not achieve, maybe because they weren't for you. For example, you wanted to be an author known for writing about crypto-currency, and you know you gave your 100—even 200% best, to achieve that. But it did not happen.

In one way or another, you may realize you're meant for something different. Maybe it's your main area to share to and inspire others through your personal experiences. You may have a similar situation with this example. Let me know if yes, and let's talk in the comment section.

(b.) That you kept on failing to achieve the goals because you are setting unrealistic ones. For instance, reaching a thousand subscribers within two weeks. Sure, why not? But you also have to think that it has a little chance to happen.

Showing that example, I suggest you to set smaller goals, and just upgrade them according to your own assessment of your own capabilities, and progress. I do this, and it works. It could be effective to you as well. Try it.

(c.) That you can't accomplish your goals because you are in the process of learning something. Maybe that goal happens not today, but next week, and by that time, you have been introduced to new wisdom you would not have gained should you have reached your goal earlier.

The three that I mentioned are just some of the reasons your goal has not been achieved yet. Whether to ditch that goal, adjust it, or wait more, it's up to you. Goals are not supposed to pressure us, or make us feel bad, nor encourage us to give up.

Goals are meant to motivate us, and give our lives direction. Knowing that we have milestones to achieve makes us more ignited to do our best, and unlock our potentials. Goals teach is to be better version of ourselves, improving our ways of handling things, and dealing with uncertainties and obstacles.

The goal of this article is to inspire you who reads it. I hope I was able to make you realize something important, or inspired you even in the"little-st way. Was I successful though? If yes, thank God, I am relieved. If not, okay. I will work harder to meet this goal next time.

Most of what I said here are based on my own experiences as a noob writer, and I genuinely hope I could be of help to you. I am also one to set my priorities straight, so I write this one to teach myself as well.

Do you have some remarkable goals this October that you're willing to share? Comment down below!

Thank you for reading this one. A like, upvoté, and comment will be appreciated. Much love, and until next time. ♥️

  • Shout out to my top 3 sponsors!

@Bloghound @Peter-Molnar @meitanteikudo

❄️ Read Next!

I am excited to see your name on my sponsor block. Thank you in advance!

Be a writer in this amazing platform right NOW! Register HERE ❤️ and let me know so I could guide you through.

Let's hang out on noise.cash! I also go by the name username.

#Club1BCH

To God be the Glory.

18
$ 6.93
$ 6.41 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.06 from @Khairro
$ 0.05 from @Jane
+ 9
Sponsors of Ellehcim
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Ellehcim
2 years ago
Topics: Goals, Sharing, Thought, Story, Journey, ...
Enjoyed this article?  Earn Bitcoin Cash by sharing it! Explain
...and you will also help the author collect more tips.

Comments

Love this Michelle! Setting goals is a good way to go forward. Goals kind of make you see where you are at. And it's a fact, that we start somewhere and our progress may differ from another but it doesn't mean we are failing. We just have to move on our own pace and just keep going.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thanks a lot for this comment! I apologize for readint this late, I hope you won't mind. 🤧♥️

And it is a fact, we have our own pace. 👌

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's okay Michelle, no worries :) I am still going thru my backlogs :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha, like what i am doing? Again 😂 3 days late. LOL!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I can say that I'm just an average user here, you are right some shine through more but I don't want to make comparisons, because if I do I would be stressing myself,lol! So, I'll stick doing consistently with what I do and Im good.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes you are right. There are just times my observant self just works without my control and I tend to observe waaay lots of things in a platform. But I don't do it now. And comparing is a no-no na din.

Thnks for reading !

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Been there! I used to compare myself from others before and it's tedious haha! With my dayjob I cant perform my 100% in here, mka burn out. Now, i love the pace I do, i have fun and i seem to have a balanced life so far.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes. Back to the daytime job na din ako. And I know it will never be the same as before nung nakaquarantine ako. From now on, I am no longer pressuring myself to be like the others, but I won't waste the chance to improve by working harder as I can.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Keep on pushing pa rin talaga sis I still do it too. Nahuhuli mn pero at least Im moving forward.. Kaya yan! God bless!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Nakakaencourage talaga, though ngayon ko lang nabasa. Perfect timing! ♥️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We need not to be sad because we didn't Achieve a goal. We won't actually achieve all but some which we can be able to achieve, we feel happy and fulfilled but that doesn't mean you should be sad because you didn't meet up with a particular goal. Tomorrow will always come. Don't give up. Thanks for sharing this wonderful Article.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

And I am also grateful for your insights and taking time to read this one.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

For one to achieve the goal, you should also have that driving force to make efforts for it to be achieved. I too have goals, but some are not yet achieve and with the 3 things you shared, I will evaluate again those goals. But for now, I will not unhold to the goal of having one BCH soon.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thanks for this, ma'am. I am also form that i will achieve my 2nd BCH soon. hopefully, withing this year. I still have 2 months.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I did my summary, at the end of the month, despite having only been here 3 weeks. My objectives are basic, I cannot ask for more than what is evident. Those who have been here for a long time always motivate us to continue and it is appreciated. Nobody started out having a resounding success. Success depends on the perspective that you get from each person. I feel very happy with the reception here by the whole community and I continue to do the best I can. I will never give up.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Indeed! I love your enthusiasm! It's what attracts success. Keep having that mindset, I am sure you'll achueve many great things. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh thank you for your kind words friend. I will do so. Hopefully the future is better for everyone. 🙂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Of course, it will surely be. 🤗

$ 0.00
2 years ago

like you I did set goals and I did have timeline, I could say, I did succeed in some still there is only one thing I wasn't able to succeed. I was actually frustrated but then as the days goes by, I realized that God thinks it is not yet the perfect time.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Oh yes. God is the best teacher of patience.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Setting a goal also means setting steps that direct you toward the goal :) That means adjustments. True that some goals aren't really achievable, to that also we make adjustments. We learn along the way. :) God bless you michelle in achieving your goals!!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Oh, how I love your words! May God bless you too, Pichi. ♥️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Setting goals is sometimes motivating as you will be inspired to pursue them. However, it can be demotivating as well when you fail to achieve them. So I prefer not setting goals haha..i want surprises.. Lol

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes, I was actually thinking of you while writing this one, because I know you are not one to make goals, but it's okay, because at least you grind everyday!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We all have our own strategy to pursue our goals naman 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes! It works differently for everyone.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I admit that I'm jealous of other successful authors here at first but now I have already realized that I should set them as my inspiration to make myself better, too. All that I'm always thinking is, "I can achieve my goals if I set my mind and put my best effort into it". If I don't achieve that particular goal, in my case, it will surely be because I don't give my best. Just think positive and set your mind to it, you'll just achieve it without even noticing it. Also, please also remember the Law Of Attraction. 😊

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thanks for sharing your thoughts and experience on this. I will also do it, focus more on the goal.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The most important part of setting and achieving goals is the process. Ask questions like am I becoming a better person whilst pursuing this goal? This way, even if you don’t end up achieving your goals, YouTube better than when you started. So the process is very crucial. And also, like you said, not all goals will eventually be achieved, so when you get something out from the process, you’d be rewarded nevertheless.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes! Some goals may just not work gkod for us, so assessment is very important.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Uplifting article dear. Yes, we cannot complete our all goals. But we can cherish more.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thanks for visiting here. <3

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Today I just want to hear about everyone's beautiful goal. Because they have set beautiful goals for their future. I pray that you reach your goal quickly.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thank you! 🤗

$ 0.00
2 years ago

There are still more time, Mich and I am sure your goals will be achieved sooner. 😁 And definitely, we should only look into our achievement and make even greater achievement than to compare what we have to others.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Oh yes. Thank you so much for the assuring words. I am touched. ♥️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sure!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I agee with you sis. Goals are there so we do have some path and direction of where we're going. It's like setting our destination., Without destination, we;'re just like a flying thing in the air.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Agree with you! Unless you are like the other people who are aware of their destination already, then you'd still need to have goals. Thank you for reading!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You'll achieve your goals soon! Just do hard work this time and take your goal serious and best wishes for you and have a great week or productive month ahead.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Oh, very first commenter today! Thank you for reading, and for the beautiful words!

$ 0.00
2 years ago