When I heard their problems...

42 60
Avatar for Ellawrites
1 year ago

I actually don't publish by this time of the day, but what can one do when one's phone battery is low and there's just no means to charge it?

Special apologies:

This goes to the lovely writers who commented on my previous article, I'm very sorry I haven't replied yet, I'll definitely do justice to them, once my phone is fully charged.

Also to those writers who publishes their articles at night and whose articles i constantly read, like, upvote and leave a comment, I'm really sorry, my battery was totally low.

Today's blog.

Feeding.

I once complained of having to eat two meals a day, but when I saw a family begging on the street just to have a meal, I retraced my steps and humbled myself.

Clothing.

I remember the moment I thought that my life is just so bad because I could count the clothes I had, but when I saw a family that wore rags, I retraced my steps and humbled myself.

Transportation.

Those days when I envied those who had cars, I rebuked my parents for not working enough; so hard that it might have earned them a car, but when I saw the feet of a little boy all soiled and almost peeling off due to the hours of walk he had under the sun, I retraced my steps and humbled myself.

Marriage.

I was still single at the age of 35, I felt God wasn't doing enough, my mates were already married and here I was; fighting for a man to look my way, but when I saw a bride who lost her husband few weeks into their marriage, I retraced my steps and humbled myself.

Childlessness.

When I finally got married at the age of 37, it was hard to conceive, two years into the marriage, yet no issue, I was clouded with worries and anxiety, I questioned my faith, but when I saw a married woman whose faith was unwavering after 18years of marriage without children, I retraced my steps and humbled myself.

Joblessness.

I complained so much, when I had no job to fend for myself, the one I had wasn't paying enough, yet my mates were all abroad, but when I saw a lady of my age bracket, hawking under the scorching sun, with so much smiles on her face, I retraced myself and humbled myself.

Child birth and child death.

I gave birth but lost my child when my child was just 2weeks old, I cried and stopped believing, but when I heard of a woman who lost her child and lost her life during the process of giving birth, I retraced my steps and I humbled myself.

Shelter.

I complained of living in a house that's not big enough, I was ashamed of where I stayed, I felt so bad because I stayed in a room and shared the toilet and bathroom with other tenants, but when I saw a family sleeping under the bridge, I retraced my steps and humbled myself.

Accident.

There was a fire outbreak in the house where I lived, I lost all my properties but still had my life and that of my family, I couldn't get myself, I cried and lamented, I felt like it was all over for me, but when I saw a newly wedded couple who were also victims of the fire outbreak; dead and burnt beyond recognition, I retraced my steps and humbled myself.

And those days I'll cry to sleep, telling God; I was tired of life, the suffering was too much, but when I saw the dead; one who was way younger than I was, decayed and smelling, I realized: "I have my life to be thankful for."

I didn't have food to eat for the whole day, I got lost and habored hatred towards everyone who came by, but when I saw a person struggling to feed and poo, eating through a pipe, I retraced my steps and humbled myself.

This made me remember, the song we sang when I was smaller:

Some have food, but cannot eat.

Some can eat, but have no food.

We have food and we can eat.

Glory be to thee oh Lord.

Truly they say:

One would think one's problem is actually big until one hears the kind of problems other people are facing.

When I heard their problems, I realized mine was as tiny as a mustard seed; compared to theirs.

When I heard their problems, I realized my life was enough to be thankful for.

When I heard their problems, I cried and wept cause I realized I've always been an ingrate.

When I heard their problems, in my sober heart and with my weeping eyes, I knelt down and remembered all the good things that exceeded the bad things in my life.

When I heard their problems....oh when I heard it all...I raised my hands to the sky, begging God to forgive my unbelief, I became grateful for all I had.

Sponsorship renewal: it's one thing to have a sponsor and it's another thing for that sponsorship to be renewed, thanks an hearty lot to @Talon for the sponsorship renewal.

Till we meet again in my next article and in yours.

Thanks for reading.

23
$ 2.72
$ 2.06 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Tomi-Ajax
$ 0.06 from @Talecharm
+ 18
Sponsors of Ellawrites
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Ellawrites
1 year ago

Comments

The problem of late age of marriage is we attempt 30 years old for example and we have 3 years then after then 3 years so from 19 to 21 then from 22 to 25 years. After these years there is after master diploma getting doctorate then from 26 to 27 years and after at 28 years you have to search for work and work 2 years to prepare some money. That's 30 years old then after this, you have some cash you start digging for a husband means you will get married at 29 years or 30 years or 31 years old.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Gratitude is the first progress any man could make... Being thankful for the little you have and working hard to making a good living.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

This is true o and it applies to everyone, we should be thankful for whatsoever we have

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That song you wrote at the middle was the exact song we used to sing during lunch period back then in my primary school.

Back to the main thing, it's always good to appreciate God for what we have, if we complain that what we have are just too little, if we move further, we will see large numbers of people we are far better than, our present level is even their prayer point. It's even said in Bible that we should give thanks (be appreciative) in all situations we find ourselves.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yes Ayo, almost all Nigerians; sang that song during high school and junior school days.

Yes, you're so right, our situation is done people's prayer point, and yes...this is so right, we need to be appreciative in all situations we find ourselves. Thanks for this lovely contribution.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

How nice you said my dear Ella, exactly until we don't hear the kind of other problems, we would think our problem is very big. When we hear the others problem, we realize our life is enough to be thankful for.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yes dear, thanks for this lovely contribution my dear friend Ellen, you're so right indeed.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

We should look at those who are junior to is in practical aspect of life. Once i was arguing with mom i have only two pair of shoes for university girls changed their shoes everyday and wear new one. Meanwhile a boy came to us he has no shoes at all . My mother said look at him he has not even a single pair and you have two. I was ashamed.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Wow! This experience of yours is really touching dear Tanain, I'm pretty sure after this, you retraced your steps and started appreciating more.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

We should learn to thank God in every situation we find ourselves because some people wish to have what we have.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yes D, some people wish to be in our situation, so we should always learn to give out an heart of gratitude towards our maker.

$ 0.00
1 year ago
$ 0.00
1 year ago
$ 0.00
1 year ago
$ 0.00
1 year ago

We should always be grateful for what we have, i read once that we should always look towards the peoples who are lower than us not those who have high standards than us, as gratitude is the act most liked by God, your article just made me remind once again to be grate, very well articulated dear ella

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yes dearest Aurora, we should always be grateful for what we have...thanks dearest friend

$ 0.00
1 year ago

When you extend a helping hand to such helpless people, peace comes to your mind.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yes dear sonali, peace comes whenever we extend an helping hand towards others.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Gratitude is the most liked Act by the God...it is better to be grateful for the things which we have then to take them for granted...he loves the people who count their blessings instead of counting their problem...your article is Worth reading dear Ella...

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Wow! I learnt this: "he loves the people who count their blessings instead of counting their problems" you're so right dear Gully, thanks for stopping by.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

There's particular part of the Bible that has a lot(in a summary) to say about this.

โ€œIn everything give thanks; for this is God's will for you in Christ Jesus. โ€ (1Thes. 5:18)

Even though we lost something, He's the reason we've not lost everything

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Wow! I love that last paragraph Kay, so real and so true, Christ is the reason why we lost something, but didn't loose everything...so all in all, let's learn to give thanks.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Life is full of blessings, we need contentment to see them, not a third eye.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yes dear Layla, we need to imbibe in us; the act of contentment

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hmm, we can't even complain because at the point we complain, there is always someone we are doing better than.. This song tells more about this article "Count your blessing, name them one by one, count your blessing see what God has done........" And it went like that

$ 0.01
1 year ago

"Count your blessings...name them one by one, and it'll surprise you what the Lord has done"

Powerful song Fash, you're right, we should stop complaining and start giving thanks more often.

$ 0.05
1 year ago

You finished the song๐Ÿ˜š๐Ÿ˜š๐Ÿ˜šawww.. Thats nice.. Yeah... More thanks more reason to live

$ 0.00
1 year ago

This sounds unique article. Those realizations of yours if understood by all christians, they could recognize themselves how grateful they are despite of lot of trials and problems.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Thanks alot Han, I'm glad you stopped by... Yes, if Christians understood this, they'll remain grateful and thankful despite all trials

$ 0.00
1 year ago

being grateful for what we have is a matter of pride because what we have is not necessarily owned by others.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yes dear rean, what we have isn't necessarily owned by others, so above all, let's always give thanks.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

We have to be appreciative of what we have and whom we are her, we are complaining that , my mate is this, my mate is that, I've we ever thought about our mate who are obituary? These are the things we don't remember when we start complaining. This is indeed a touching piece of writer up.... I pray that you'll have light over there very soon, I thought it's only me that is having This light issue, all this light supply agency can be crazy at times... Hehehehe

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yes dear Mary, we really should be grateful...life is too short and precious not to give thanks.

Lol, exactly!, The way they behave at times ehn, lol...

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I wish everyone will realize this

$ 0.00
1 year ago

We must be grateful to our Lord on what we have because hundreds haven't it. Then helping others is another great thing in humanity.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yes...you're right Sir Ali, we should be grateful and we should also be helpful towards those lacks what we can actually afford

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wow, @Ellawrites! Everything you say here is so true! Sometimes we are so conditioned to look over the fence, we forget the importance of being grateful for our own blessings. Thanks for this reminder.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yes dear Trifecta...we just need to be grateful for our blessings; no matter how little.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You don't the amount of Peace and serenity that's afforded to you until you see other people in even worse conditions.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Exactly Mekus, exactly...let's just be thankful even in the point of distress.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I remember one time that I thought my problem was big until I see someone that has a problem I can't even describe, I'm grateful to God and I hope I get over mine.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yes dear, sometimes we do feel like we have the worst problem, but upon hearing that of others, we get to realize ours is better...I hope you get over yours, my dear friend.

$ 0.00
1 year ago